Stalled or damaged vehicles must be quickly removed from the roadside to avoid accidents – directive issued

breakdown stranded

Vehicles that have broken down or have been involved in accidents will have to be promptly removed from the roadside to ensure road users’ safety, said transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

He said that highway concessionaires and relevant government agencies have been directed to remove such vehicles and other obstacles on the road so they did not cause mishaps, The Star reports.

Liow said that with 489,600 road accidents and 6,706 fatalities last year, Malaysia was among the top 20 countries in the world with the highest traffic accidents. In light of the rising number of road accidents, the government recently announced four urgent, near-term initiatives to tackle the issue.

These are the implementation of AES and the Kejara Demerit Points system (AWAS), the standardisation of the maximum permitted weight of commercial vehicles, evaluation of road safety and accident investigation of the ECE 2 and recommendations on improvement and the execution of the International Road Safety Assessment Programme (IRAP) in Malaysia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Yes car breakdown side the road and out of nowhere you can already see AhBengs from workshops coming to attend you to rip you off even before you try reaching your insurance company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 03, 2016 at 5:35 pm

We won’t have this much problem if Wiras and Iswaras from the 90s are removed from our roads. But cars are so expensive we have to amortize them over 30 years. OK ah beng workshops win then.

• 4G63T DSM on May 03, 2016 at 9:36 pm

LOL.

Wiras and Iswaras are the car equivalent of the Energizer Bunny. They keep going and going and going.

Honestly I see a lot more new hardware stuck at the side of the road than these simple clunkers.

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:59 am

Agreed. Newer hardware just going downhill on reliability.

My 1985 Proton Saga and 1983 Corolla GL have less problem than a 2014/2015 VW/Peugeot/Ford/Toyota/Honda.

I don’t mention Nissan because, instead of break down at the left emergency lane, they usually hogs the right lane and causes traffic jams.

• Malaysian boyz on May 03, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Ah beng tow car always charge high.

Transport minister should come out the solution to prevent such thing occur.

Btw some toll highway did provide tow service . Eg plus highway

• Susukotak on May 03, 2016 at 4:23 pm

caj towing ada regulate tak?

• policeman on May 03, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Why image of Proton Persona? I’ve never seen a Persona broken down before.

I’ve only seen VW, Peugeot, and BMW by the roadside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • As long as park beside road shoulder, turn on hazard lights, place warning triangle at 10 feet to the back of the car, stay away from the car or if need to be inside turn on the cabin light and await rescue from authorised workshop, alwiz be aware of surroundings & oncoming vehicles. This shud be enuff.

• Tong Sampah on May 03, 2016 at 6:20 pm

damansara damai tons of road side car for them to tol away..

• Susukotak on May 03, 2016 at 7:29 pm

what about lorries & trailers. should they engage to any ah beng?

• Operation Manager on May 03, 2016 at 7:38 pm

>15yrs old car should removed from road. Make car price affordable, then TIV will increased 200%. HP loan 5yrs max only.

• Pitchfork on May 04, 2016 at 8:03 am

I sapot. This will kill proton as you know most of their buyers can’t actually afford a proton.

• Jobless on May 03, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Not only Vehicles but big debris, provide contact no for motorist to report these objects or tye highway operator should perfoem end to end checks more frequently, only yesterday ran into some bumper like debris in the night at LDP…PLUS provides number to call should motorist see debris on the road ..have seen old iswara abandoned at MRR2 nearly nightfall and dunno who to report, and many idiots dont bother to place warning cones at the rear

• Mr Fakta on May 03, 2016 at 10:34 pm

I would like to read ” stalled or damage minister must be quickly removed from the cabinet ro avoid accident”