SPIED: 2016 Proton Persona – Iriz sedan undisguised!

2016-proton-persona-iriz-sedan-5

Now what do we have here? Why, it’s the 2016 Proton Persona, in the flesh, completely undisguised! The Iriz sedan has been spotted in Kuala Lumpur by paultan.org reader Arvin R ahead of its official launch later this year.

In what appears to be a photo/video shoot done out in public, we can now have a very good look at the next-generation Persona, which is clearly based on the Iriz. The A-pillar quarter windows, door-mounted wing mirrors and 14-inch wheels are taken straight off the B-segment hatchback.

Everything else seem to be unique to the new model, though, with a sharper face featuring slimmer reflector headlights (with very intricate inner graphics, no less), an almost Honda Civic-like “floating” chrome grille and a revised lower bumper design. It’s a rather handsome look, especially from the front.

2016-proton-persona-iriz-sedan-1

Moving back, the Iriz’s sideblades on the bottom of the doors have been retained, but they now extend past the rear wheels, into the rear bumper section. A subtle character line above the rear wheelarches neatly lead into the new almond-shaped tail lights, which are mounted high on the short boot.

This particular model appears to be a base variant, fitted with unpainted door handles, wing mirrors, body-coloured B-pillars and small wheels. You can expect higher-end models to have the necessary upgrades, along with either fog lamps or LED daytime running lights up front.

The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the 2016 Proton Persona at launch, but we’ll know more in due time. So folks, do you like what you see here? Tell what you think in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• wtf is that rear end?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 48
    • Topkek on May 15, 2016 at 4:52 pm

If jepunis cars , even hideous bashers say it is very nice, if p1 even nice bashers say it is ugly.

Topkek

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 7
    • Have u seen almera? I think almera have much worse look at the rear.. Dis look ok what..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 1
      • Ongtk on May 17, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Hey, I thought the latest incarnation of the Almera looks much better from when it was first launch and from afar looks similar to the Lexus ES grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • RavenAii (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Wah the grille on the rear is it? The latest Almera rear still looks like the old one which appeared to be weird designed.

• mike kile on Jun 05, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Wow it’s cute

• Almari on Jul 15, 2016 at 8:27 am

Almera or almari? Hahah

• Sack designer on May 15, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Sack the designer!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
    • WT Fuchhh on May 15, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Looks really good ….for once. Surprisingly from P1. Looks like a real modern design look. Except the fitted wheels looks weird in that archwheel. This needs improving.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • rizal on May 15, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 115
      • Kau ni lagi bodoh. Seronok ker menaip jadi haters.. Taip kat sini boleh sorok muka kan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Boring Samy on May 15, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Just be positive. Like or dont like is personal choice. Hope the boring Samy dont copy and paste same comment here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rr on May 17, 2016 at 10:53 am

Proton = Bad RV..
        But if still using CVT Bising Punch Powertrain, can balik kampung tanam jagung la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Mr Fakta on May 17, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Really nice exterior design, good job P1. But something’s weird about the wheel. I still like Preve design, so sad if it’s not for the quality and engine performance.

• OMG….This car rear and side view macam the Ford Fiesta Sedan lah…. look so ugly lah except the front only

• Why has it got casters for wheels?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on May 15, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Looks like dwarf with those tiny minute alloys.
      It needs larger rims.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
    • 1JutaAxiaSedan on May 15, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Better wait for Perodua Axia Sedan.

#1Juta Axia Sedan
      #Kipidap Perodua
      #Dongidap Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 73
  • pakcik on May 15, 2016 at 4:16 pm

The front and rear looks nice to me, not the side profile & those tiny tires tho

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 1
    • I agree wit u on that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • rizal on May 15, 2016 at 6:00 pm

lampu depan persona baru tu memang sama sebijik macam design lampu depan iriz yg aku hantar kat proton 2 tahun lepas… tapi design lampu depan tu aku buat khas untuk iriz ..untuk kereta compact… bukan untuk kereta sedan.. apa ka bodo potong ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 72
    • Pininfarina on May 15, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Designed by budak sekolah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 44
    • RavenAii (Member) on May 15, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Yes that’s true. Having Iriz(1.3) at home, I realize that there’s more room inside the wheel arches. It just makes me wonder why Proton choose to put not just smaller Rims but also smaller Tyres! We can simply change the wheel size but it will greatly affect the odometer and speedometer. Please lah Proton equip your vehicle with larger wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • inspira owner on May 16, 2016 at 9:54 am

Its baseline model dude………. so that harga boleh murah………… just get the premium spec….. problem solved..

• RavenAii (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Not that lah what I meant. Yes it is true that smaller wheels to get lower prices. The 1.6 Premium also had quite small tyre, even it have bigger rims compared to the 1.3 Executive my family have (not my car). This is mostly due to the high rear windowline starting from the B-pillar all the way to the rear C-pillar causing an illusion that make the Iriz and the future Persona looks oddly porpotionate (huge gaps between window line and wheel arches) when equipped with small rims. For comparison the B segment Myvi (just as comparison don’t rage on me!) doesn’t look very weird even if it is equipped with small wheels; because the vehicle design is well balanced and there’s not much space between the rear door window and the rear wheel arch. Like I said it is due to optical illusion.

• Jolly_idiot on May 15, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Not a terrible looking car. But being a proton. I’ll skip it. Thanks for the offer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 98
  • Zuraidah on May 15, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 200
    • Movingcoffin on May 15, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Spec wise Iriz is ady cheaper than moving coffin myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 7
    • VSC and ESC are the same thing, Mr Zuraidah, Halimah whatever your name is. Go drive your P2 with no ABS and VSC because frankly I don’t think you care about safety. A bodykit is probably more important to you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 6
      • Pemalas on May 15, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Work hard and buy Honda City or Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
        • NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Hahahaha ok if you a say City than i might agree but sorry a VIÌIOOOOOSSSSS Hum if am not mistaken vios doesnt even have BA of even EBD let alone VSC So nooo…..

If you would have said Work Harder to get Ford Fiesta or even better Citroen Ds3 than it would be ok but but a VIOS HHAA sorry go hell

• do your homework before commenting. Vios equipped with B.A and EBD.

• Albert on May 15, 2016 at 7:16 pm

datin seri Zuraidah,
      Protong will price any piece of garbage ABOVE COMPETITOR’S & MARKET PRICE.
      wHY? They equate premium pricing with QUALITY.
      If they price it less than P2,they tend to believe that their product is inferior.
      S0,in the final analysis,they will price it around the existing persona price or slightly higher to give it a UMMM FEELING.BUT all of us know,their pricing is artificially high and counter productive.
      Thats why Roti Jala has to monitor them and come out with another rm 1.5 to 2.6 Billion next year to bail them out again.
      Prootong is the only company that has not chopped any staff so far,even after gasak 1.5 B.AMAZING!!!
      Petronas,all major banks,even Naza ,oil and gas outfits have chopped close to 20,000 staff to date.
      The saddest part is others have launched facelifts,new models kao kao while even the HOndana is not ready.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • They launch facelifts, not new model. weee… Even Japunis new civic takes time to launch. I mean ‘new’ not ‘facelifts’. Just change colour to two tone with extra bodykits sure can take only one month to launch.

• buat sendiri kerete kalau nak murah

• Stanley Free Makan on May 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 170
    • Nosushi on May 15, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Much better than frog tapir and dugong japunis inspired cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
    • PenjilatToyotaSejati on May 15, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Even fugly almera got people buy, this one ofcourse people will buy too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • Nur Zahdi on May 15, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Cant wait

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
  • azmi ab rahman on May 15, 2016 at 4:23 pm

The tires look a bit small for 14 in

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • DPCraft on May 15, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Copy mazda’s slide lines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
  • This is surprisingly good for a hatchback design brought forward to a Sedan. The thing that needs to be changed is the wheels, it really looks small, Proton should consider putting bigger rims into it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
    • We'll See on May 15, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Bigger rims? Hope so, but unlike P2, Proton never listen to customers. Proton designers will insist this is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
      • Rims can be changed. HPF, 6 airbages, TC & ESC cannot be added. So which product values their customer lives more?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • It’ll be on the next enhance model like se elegance plus sv SiR wrx gdi doublevanos pdrm sprm etc

• Mamat on May 15, 2016 at 4:29 pm

tyres look too small.. should name it iris sedan.. not new model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • mohsin on May 15, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Good work Azlano!
    Respect you
    Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Mustang on May 15, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Good work Azlano?
      Yeah. If he and his team are the one really do this design 100%

Mehhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Cheapskates on May 15, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Only clowns would like this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • Piupiupiu on May 15, 2016 at 4:30 pm

14″ wheels? Seriously Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • roxas on May 15, 2016 at 4:31 pm

honda jazz 2019 front end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
  • Ultraman Orb on May 15, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Najmi Faiz Rosni on May 15, 2016 at 4:31 pm

16″ R3 wheel should make it look perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Fugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
  • Hazman on May 15, 2016 at 4:41 pm

My 3 year old said “oh my goodness, buruk gilee”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 68
    • NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Of cause a 3 year old would say it looks ugly !!! As for them only a Lamborgini would look cool or The Batmobile(The Really dumb ones)…ooppss no hate on kids there as i love kids

• Looks terrible. Side profile looks like a kid designed this thing, look at those wheels…lol it’s like they don’t have the word ‘proportional’ in their vocabulary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • Nexto on May 15, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Still cannot beat fugly almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Its a tall hatchback turned sedan with a short wheelbase. So far no automaker ever has managed to do a proper convert w/o stretching the wheelbase.
      Just look at Mazda2 which is arguably the best so far, and its still disproportionate.

• B-Unggul on May 16, 2016 at 12:28 am

Even Kia Rio Sedan looks abit off compared to its hatchback cousin.

So kudos Proton. This looks so good.

• neonceejay on May 15, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Design is good. but proportion all wrong. Bigger wheel arches and take over the rim from 1.6 would helps…..

Even so, the front quarter is designed as a hatchback in mind. if they do some modification to suit sedan’s proportion will be too costly for them.

Imho, not bad. Still far from pretty. Don’t screw it up like most B seg sedan’s.

I know comparing iriz to axia is inappropriate but, if perodua sedan would look like this (probably too), Jangan haraplah the sales can be good if the karma meets again. No matter how well it drives, how much safety feature in the ar, people in Msia still tend to choose Perodua due the hyper reputation….

Let’s see what comes around turns around end of this year then have my word lah.

• Did I really just see the word “handsome” being used to describe this disgusting looking thing?

Hafriz, jom gi Focuspoint. Got sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
  • Maran on May 15, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Proton should :

1. The pricing of this should x exceed Myvi pricing as their new sedan might be slotted between axiA and Myvi.

2. Proton should Make sure the consumption and handling should be better as buyer on this segment gives emphasis on fuel consumption and practicality.

3. Most probably the Perodua sedan will be a rebadged Toyota Etios.

• arepchepha on May 15, 2016 at 4:57 pm

OMG, looking at this, makes me hoping for the facelift preve.. it will be closer to the concept.

people are bashing about dispropotion, which will be solve by upgrading the rim. overall,kudos proton. Maybe my first car.

• Vikneswaran Rajan on May 15, 2016 at 5:02 pm

ugly at no extra cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • P2 listens to its customers? Don’t make me laugh! Then why still 14-in alloys on the Myvi 1.5 when customers demand different design and bigger size rims than Myvi 1.3?

• fkradzi on May 15, 2016 at 5:07 pm

proton improve its design . well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • I tot this is nw saga lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • farghmee on May 15, 2016 at 5:10 pm

nice overall design:
    1. clean strokes at fender, side n shoulder,
    2. elegant front bumper n bmw-ish boot.

I guess bigger tyres would make this car Ohsem-looking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
  • AhBeng (ori) on May 15, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Too late, already booked Vios the Ultimate Ah Beng Machine. They should had shown us long time ago instead of disguise after disguise, this is not the 80 or 90s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
  • Viktor on May 15, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Hideous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Jobless on May 15, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Tis should be the new Saga instead of Persona (downsized)…the old Tiara based Saga should be sold as junk and scrapmetal. Nowonder losingmoney non stop everyyear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
  • looks quite ok actually. just those small wheels make it look weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • ring41835 on May 15, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Not bad design but pls don sell the lowest variant with those tiny tyres.
    I’m pretty sure Proton will sell this car starting at RM55k
    If yes, Proton will close shop.
    This is a PROTON (a car tat will get old 75% faster than any car on earth) and hence, they need to have starting price at RM40k and highest price RM55k.
    If not, God bless Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Wow 40k for a B-seg Sedan that is in front line battel with the Ford Fiesta Sedan , Toyota Vios and Honda City wow just wow …..hummm

IF you really think its expensive than i think its not for you …..hum maybe an Axia is more your thing hahaha

• kwtan on May 15, 2016 at 5:18 pm

look good. but the wheel is too small, doesn’t match the “thick” body.

• Malaysian dugong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • Car looks imbalance liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • people might like it eventually. just how people got used to honda city’s front face.

• Brace ur self guys. Its the dugong and jitty’s rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • well done proton. the design is very impressive. except please give us more safety and comfort quality. that’s all what we need. proton dulu bukanlah sekarang.

• Macam iriz kena tarik dari depan & belakang xD

• TATA NANO look better then this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Seriously on May 15, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Any china cars are simply better looking than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • tatu880 on May 16, 2016 at 11:45 am

You mean the Hafei Lobo a.k.a Naza Sutera is better looking than this? Check your eyes please.

• They got the design right but the proportions wrong

• sohhai on May 15, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Since we’ve seen it in the flesh undisguised, please no more camouflaged spy shots anymore after this

• saggirudwin bin baharudin on May 15, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Whatever models PROTON produce, it still irrelevant as long as there is aint much of stability of its parts, bad service and futhermore worst after sales service.

• To create awareness among the people to protect the lives of dugong

• DPCraft on May 15, 2016 at 6:08 pm

That slanted body thou http://paultan.org/2016/05/15/spied-2016-proton-persona-iriz-sedan-undisguised/2016-proton-persona-iriz-sedan-7/

• Ketuk on May 15, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Who buy this model after this can go shop and ketuk the wheel drum to fit bigger wheels huhu

• Wan Ismail B. Wan Mohamed. ALK KPMP on May 15, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Pelancaran kereta versi 2016 patut dibuat pada suku ketiga atau keempat 2015 membolehkan kemeriannya bertahan lama. Pengeluran bermula januari 2016.

Rasanya elok Proton tukar plan kepada 2017 sebab 2016 sudah berjalan hampir setengah tahun.

• Koenigsexx on May 15, 2016 at 6:16 pm

wow can i stance it

• Josh Ling on May 15, 2016 at 6:18 pm

it’s a nice effort by proton, but i hope it would have been slightly more unique-looking and grown up, and has a more cohesive front and rear look instead. the front looks squar-ish and angular, but the rear is all about round shapes. they don’t blend well together, especially when the profile is actually Iriz’s more “edgy” profile. and it looks too much like a saga-replacement, rather than a persona-replacement.

• Policeman on May 15, 2016 at 6:21 pm

This is a B segment basic sedan. A small sedan for a family. Why do you morons want 15″ wheels? The 14s will be better with the bad roads in KV, offer better fuel consumption, and lower maintenance cost.

Asinine generation. All they care about are looks and fashion.

• At last, a proper comment for the tyres. From most of the comment above, you will know why some car company can sell their crap car. MY people prefer cosmetic more then functionality.

• To those who only know how to condemn Proton.
    You want cheap.. you want good.. make it by your own self… I also don’t think so if you able to sketch a single good design.
    I believe if designed of this car claim by others maker, surely you will praise it till sky…

• Looks fine to me. Hopefully, proton knows what they are doing by introducing this car next with the new saga. Hope they differentiated both cars well and of course with the iriz too.. Need to know their market.

• The proportion looks like mazda2 and fiesta sedans’ proportion.. It’s weird but still sell

• Kumar on May 15, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Too late P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Walauweh on May 15, 2016 at 6:38 pm

It seems like baseline model since side mirror and door,is in black color/non colored, plus missing fog lamps. No wonder the rims are pretty small

• Megane on May 15, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Proton should streamline its product line up as the pie is shrinking . Just launch this as your new Saga and spec them well . Ditch the old Saga .

• TLLMCCB on May 15, 2016 at 6:44 pm

The key success factor for this car would be it’s pricing. Let’s hope it cheap.

• kkchai on May 15, 2016 at 6:49 pm

IMHO, its design does not very appealing to me…

• Rear boot lid was inspired from BMW E60. Front is from City 4th Gen. Window belt line from Hyundai fluidic sculpture design element.

It managed to improved the awkward dugong design of 4th gen City. Overall, need to see in the flesh before making judgement.

• Rann Ault on May 15, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Wow! What a beauty!! Almost as beautiful as the Nissan Almera. This proton beauty, the Nissan Almera and the Fiat Multipla are surely the most beautiful cars in the world. Great job Proton design team. Keep it up! You guys will surely be the death of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Ghaz Baharein on May 15, 2016 at 7:04 pm

I think most of you guys are prejudiced about Proton. I’ve been to the engineerein facility at Puchong, centre if excelence, and saw what they are doing to ensure safety and quality. Put a Proton Iris head to head with a Produa MyV and it will tear it to bits, in terms of safety. The handling is by Lotus, and also another safety feature. These new generation Protons are not like before. It is much better then the Koreans or the Chinese cars. It is eaual to or better then the japanese. Take my word. Ive seen the vars, including the new Perdana and the Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Hum so may i ask is there any difrence in design ie for the interior for the Saga

• faisal on May 15, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Looks like the old honda city to me

• Since this is elongated version of Iriz, would it retain it’s 5 star NCAP (safety) ratings?

• NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 4:49 pm

You dont really have to ask this question as everyone know whan it comes to Safety Proton is always better than than most japenese cars except Honda& Subaru

• Unknown on May 15, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Larger rim please….look so bad

• Low spec for this new persona should be with 15″ rim..the higher end should be 16″

• Potential Proton Customer on May 15, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Design wise, I can already tolerate Proton’s design, looks good, but what I still cannot tolerate is its small wheels!! In my opinion, the car has a nice sleek modern look, but the wheels, come on, even Volkswagen Beetle has a bigger wheel than this

• john is otak batu on May 15, 2016 at 7:41 pm

This design P1 tells M’sian 2 things
    1. Who cares what customers think, take it or leave it
    2. Will borrow gomet 15bil in coming years when fail again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • wahedenator on May 15, 2016 at 7:51 pm

This should become Saga replacement
    Eliminate Persona since Proton already have Preve.
    And also eliminate Inspira for the same reason.

Proton’s Sedan Lineup
    1. Saga (Iris sedan)
    2. Preve
    3. Perdana (Accordana)

Proton’s Hatchback Lineup
    1. Iris
    2. SuprimaX (Preve Hachback)

Proton’s MPV Lineup
    1. Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Nice looking car..a bit look like new elantra…

• Momok Tomok on May 15, 2016 at 7:56 pm

It’s beautiful actually. If I have to guess, I thought this is Ford.

• Not bad.

• I❤️Miao on May 15, 2016 at 9:23 pm

OMG, all the wheels are seriously tiny, and the car design is ugly. I better stick back to the hatchback variant, or just buy Hyundai Elantra.

• tatu880 on May 16, 2016 at 11:39 am

Very smart, comparing a local entry level B-segment to a C-segment which has a double pricetag

• Honda city 1.5v on May 15, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Why proton? Why? Front end 100% iris…. the back end looks like a mazda or ford.. why call it persona even? Its clearly an iriz… why not built something based on the previous generation of persona or gen2.. this is just too lazy of you proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Jongos on May 15, 2016 at 9:51 pm

The exterior looks good. Need to change to bigger size tyres though. And hopefully they put the new logo design.

• Johnson on May 15, 2016 at 10:03 pm

actually i just like a front design & the back was unperfect,
    better proton preve..

• hanep on May 15, 2016 at 11:37 pm

i still confuse with proton’s car segments. isnt persona supposed to be in C-Segment while Saga in B-Segment? and if iriz-sedan this is, isnt this supposed to be saga? (like polo sedan, fiesta sedan, rio sedan, mazda2 sedan, even vios, etc).

isnt persona as the same segment as 3-series, civic, focus, altis? my guess is waja also belongs to c-segment, and perdana D-segment.

didnt understand what proton past plan by having so many same segmented car.

• Lazada on May 15, 2016 at 11:56 pm

That rims….. looks awfull….. yacks

• Bigger RIM please on May 16, 2016 at 12:05 am

BIGGER RIMS PLEASE!!!!!!

• Bigger RIM please on May 16, 2016 at 12:07 am

BIGGER RIMS PLEASE!!!

• Banyak juga yg komen dgn guna bahasa konon2 diri tu pandai dlm permotoran. Kalau setakat nk kutuk design buruk tanpa ada technically reason silalah berhenti mengutuk. Condemn here n there tp sebenarnya gagap ttg whole knowledge pasal permotoran. Meluat aku dgn org mcm gini. Kagum sgtlah tu dgn brand luar padahal keta luar berlambak yg masuk bengkel, yg baru kena panggil balik pun banyak.

• Annoynimouse on May 16, 2016 at 12:41 am

Looks unique and not bad, but those wheels are so small the car looks like a shopping cart.

• Aero (Member) on May 16, 2016 at 12:59 am

This is a very brave design from Proton… compared to the sedated, classy, timeless, European-influenced Prevé, the new BH Persona looks far more extrovert, modern and in trend. I’m sure the Premium spec BH Persona will look far more alluring… just like the Iriz 1.3 Standard and 1.6 Premium, a world of difference.

As with all B-segment cars these days, the wheels look tiny, but as Hafriz mentioned, the example above is fitted with the Iriz 1.3’s 14″ alloys… the top-spec models should get 15″ rims, maybe 16″ ones too, who knows. Either way, it will probably still look undersized, and too tall for a sedan… doesn’t look nice yes, but you can expect increased interior space.

It is my hope that all BH Personas will come with ESC as standard. I hate to repeat this, but I must; Proton cannot afford to mess up QC, reliability and long-term refinement with the new BH Persona (Perdana and new Saga as well). I have an Iriz 1.3 in the family, and yes, I will be brutally honest here, one power window did fail (now replaced)… and there’s quite a few other issues as well. After all those promises, Proton somehow managed to disappoint me… so no, I am not going to stick my head out for Proton now as I had in the past. Continue to support Proton I will, but not fanatically and without-question as I once did. I expect Proton to deliver on their promises this time, I want to see what Proton has learnt in the last 2 years. Surprise me, surprise all of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • sgt.vic on May 16, 2016 at 5:56 am

Design looks just OK for me. nothing special especially d front copy paste iriz face. I suspect this is not d full production version hence d tiny rims, but then again it’s already out of camo, so shame on them if they really using 14″ rims. based on d good impressions of some of my friends iriz, I think p1 is moving in d right direction even if slowly. but y all local cars so tall?! so disproportionate..

• inspira owner on May 16, 2016 at 10:07 am

Tall sebab rakyat malaysia nak interior luas.. kang comolain kalau sempit

• middle end on May 16, 2016 at 10:59 am

For me the car is ugly, body very fat but the leg very thin, u know what is the legs I mean?

• shryzl on May 16, 2016 at 11:01 am

So the interior of this car will be larger than iriz?

• pokmang on May 16, 2016 at 12:12 pm

ok theophilus, your turn to slap on the 16 inch wheel on your rendered iriz sedan image

• namanama on May 16, 2016 at 1:24 pm

I would say it does looks good.QC wise I’ll admit, I’m still skeptical.

• mohdfaiz88 on May 16, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Ask Peter Schreyer to design next generation Proton cars

• Manok Besi on May 16, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Looks like someone skipped its leg day

• Manok Besi on May 16, 2016 at 2:40 pm

It seems like someone just skipped its leg day huehuehue

• NIEKO on May 16, 2016 at 3:43 pm

The car actually look ratter good …….hum I think the camo in previous spypick is working

• Sepul on May 16, 2016 at 5:07 pm

X memPERSONA la kreta nie. Eishh..pe nk jdi

• Slayer on May 16, 2016 at 5:34 pm

The wraparound taillights mounted on the stubby boot is reminiscent of the Tata Zest.

• Alex (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 7:48 pm

It’s really sad… the original Saga is a C-segment, 2nd gen Saga is a B-Segment. 1st gen Persona is a C-segment contemporary of 2nd gen Saga. Now the 2nd gen Persona will be a B-segment. 3rd gen Saga to be an A-segment? This is not progress… This is suppress.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 18, 2016 at 9:04 am

As usual, launch new models, sales will be bad & still cant payback the “Govt Loan”. Then another new management change. Then ask for money again…

• at least 15 inchers.

• Ah Loy on May 20, 2016 at 5:03 am

demmm…
    too much haters and anonyomous car designer/engine/safety engineer…
    *grabs popcorn*

• ahmad on May 31, 2016 at 12:52 pm

kalau lebarkan sikit cantik aaa kete ni…

• hiii…. i don’t think that is Persona replacement, look to the body size, that is new Saga :)

• Tingginye body kereta ni…design mini mpv ke?

• Idk why people says it is hideous.. But if this is a sushi or kimchi made, people says it is nice. Haiyoo. With this looks (exterior) plus a reasonable price for Malaysian, I personally think this would prolly be a great move from p1