April 2016 Malaysian car sales down 13.6% from March, 6.7% lower than 2015; year-to-date down 19%

IMG_1995

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released production and sales figures for the month of April 2015, and it seems that after a brief resurgence in March – following a weak showing in January and February – it was a bleak situation again for the local automotive industry last month.

Here’s the full breakdown of how exactly the market fared in April – a total of 37,893 passenger vehicles and 4,284 commercial vehicles resulted in total sales of 42,177 units. That’s 6,623 units (-13.6%) down from the 48,800 vehicles that rolled out of showrooms in March.

What’s more, that total figure is 3,010 units (-6.7) less than the sales mustered during the same period last year, despite the latter being significantly affected by the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) on April 1, 2015. The year-to-date sales figure up to April 2016 of 173,432 units is also 40,134 units lower than the year before, a drop of some 19%.

The reason given by MAA for the lacklustre showing was due to a more stringent hire purchase loan approvals, along with a more cautious buyer sentiment. Don’t forget, 2016 has seen widespread price increases due to the depreciation of the ringgit, so it’s to be expected that consumers are still a little wary. Sales for the month of May 2016, MAA expects, should remain around the same level of those last month.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• All waiting to buy new Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 17, 2016 at 10:09 am

All are scouring junk yard to buy half cut Wira and keep their 22 year old Wira for as long as they can. Padan muka Proton and government. High car prices backfiring now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • topkek on May 17, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Why dragged in gomen and p1 only?
        All moving coffins you dun say pulak

Topkek

• Same L00 on May 17, 2016 at 4:15 pm

The car won’t be coffin till you DRIVE it. Go bang the tree with 80km/h on your awesome Proton, you family need to buy you a coffin also.

Proton car safety is only Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Before the Proton safetry feature activated, you already tow it a few times for major repair.

Don’t play play with Proton quality!

• If Proton provides discount for bumiputeras, will there be more people buying it?

• Operation Manager on May 18, 2016 at 12:04 am

WHO compile the chart without UNIT MEASUREMENT & WHY…??? WHAT is the UNIT MEASUREMENT for VARIANCE …???

• Operation Manager on May 18, 2016 at 12:06 am

This SPM level chart, SPM SCHOOL TEACHER never teach to include UNIT MEASUREMENT …???

• Jimmy on May 17, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Have you read the test drive or reviews?
      Have you look properly at the interior?
      What about the dashboard?

Fantastic car, right?

• camtakpro on May 17, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Just hold on to new Civic purchase, maybe later will have Honda Sensing included.

• Wiwiwiwiw on May 16, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Bagusss…
    The govt, MITI, MAI, cronies, AP holders, all now panic. People don’t wanna buy car. Padan muka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 1
    • hailthepurist on May 16, 2016 at 7:23 pm

this is another way bolehlanders show the crooks whom can’t keep their promise..

• ColaBear on May 16, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Let’s unite n hold longer…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 1
      • year-to-date 40k car sales down…if average rm100k per car, that’s mean gst collection less by about rm240 millions…lol…we unite, they fall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 16, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Proton is so going to postpone Accordana to end of next year. “Low loan approval rate” excuse can’t be used again, so Proton bean counters please start cracking!

• Albert on May 16, 2016 at 10:53 pm

“WHEN THE BUYING STOPS,THE PRICE WILL DROP”
        iF U STILL NEED to buy new cars,hold until 10 days before raya.
        At the meantime ,go to car websites and treat yourselves to half a million units of preowned units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rr on May 17, 2016 at 8:03 am

Where the data sales for Proton, Volkwagen & Chevrolet?

• WT Fuchhh on May 17, 2016 at 8:56 am

Kami menanti penurunan 30% harga kereta seperti di janji kan oleh BN.

• john is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 8:16 am

People power!…not cronies & AP, u will go down!

• angah on May 17, 2016 at 7:00 am

“The reason given by MAA for the lacklustre showing was due to a more stringent hire purchase loan approvals, along with a more cautious buyer sentiment.”

There are still in denial. They still did not want to acknowledge our car prices just simply too high compared to our salary. The equipment level in the car is also not worth for the high price. AP system and high exsais tax…

Lets continue to hold our purchase of any new cars. Whatever they do and whatever they say will become irrelevant, if we are not buying… Remember, customers are king, and please treat us like one.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
      When we work together, we can win this…

• Yup. If the price is right, MY people will surely take loan to by car. But to think that most of us have to take a 9 years loan for a simple n modest everyday car, it is ridiculous. The policy must change. Even BNM said car loan is the biggest % for most MY people household debt. It is not because MY people like to take loan that much for our car, but we are force to. Please, increasing the loan interest will not help. Abolish and replace the policy that so long had harden MY people life.

• OMG…i saw them so scared until jumping like hell…hahaha

• Janji di capati..during GE13 they promise to decrease vehicle prices,but what we can see now vehicle prices increase. Let them panic so they will know the power of pengguna.Harga kereta di Malaysia extremely expensive..

• hailthepurist on May 16, 2016 at 7:18 pm

keep the promise of cheap car prices, stop politicking..

• camtakpro on May 16, 2016 at 7:29 pm

All Toyota new models still 2 airbag VSC-less.
    Proton still producing ugly butt.
    Perodua still producing facelifted facelift’s facelifting facelift;
    Nissan still producing out of balance car.
    VW still producing boring Protons.
    Peugeot still producing more beautiful Protons.

• Kambing on May 16, 2016 at 7:41 pm

More discounts and rebates coming!

• Zamim on May 16, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Good. Hopefully more discounts are offered and perhaps, the government would reduce the import and excise duties also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Tong Sampah on May 16, 2016 at 7:58 pm

stop buying APs car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on May 17, 2016 at 8:03 am

Yes.. this i agree.. stop AP cars.. Buy New brand Toyota better.. no recond..

• camtakpro on May 17, 2016 at 11:07 am

Brand new Toyota ain’t brand new either. 2 airbags and VSC-less.

Only Honda is new enough, but not everyone would buy Honda.

• AP or not, it is still the same. All business involving cars are monopoly. Grey importer or authorize dealer are all the same. Open the market, abolish the ridiculous tax, and then MAA can do the talking.

• Henry on May 16, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Putting food on the table comes first. A new car can wait.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
    • Sammy Zaik Loo on May 16, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Even if i really can afford a new car (with short term loan that can be fully settled in 3 – 5 years time), i will rather wait as well until the new cars that i aim are properly equipped. Oh, there should be additional criteria when i shopping for a new cars, first it MUST have stability control (that means most if not all brand new jamban UMW Toyotaik junks already out from my shopping list), ISOFIX with top tether and if possible, 6 or 7 airbags. Things such as leather seats, projector headlight with DRL, reverse camera and keyless entry with push start button for me can be optional (but it’s always good to have).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 9:18 am

than u can wait till the cow comes home or build your own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • No need to wait till the cows come home or build your own car. It is our right to demand, even more if we look at the price of our car today. It’s customer like you that make these greedy car dealer can maintain their low spec car but keep on increasing the price. Because they know there are still “tak apa” customer out there.

• your dream is possible, just need Malaysians to boycott all carmakers for one year (new and used)

• Ratz6120 on May 16, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Last month , MAI said April figures will show marked increase. Instead its heading south. These Govt people never get a grip with reality. Hidup makin susah lah ooiii!! You are destroying this country!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 0
  • BAMyouhaveAIDS on May 16, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Good sign, less traffic on road, i dont have to wake up earlier month by month to get to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 16, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Halfcut Wiras will sell like hot cakes. Sambung and you have a reliable car with coldest aircond in the world. Traffic jam continues to worsen.

• Byk hutang on May 16, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Byk yg x byr ptpn kena blacklisted, lagipun byk bank kelulusan semakin sukar sb rule diperketatkan..but mereka ckp tada bila didepan media

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • applegreen on May 17, 2016 at 9:37 am

blacklisted? no worries, we can get grabcar and uber haha

• Haahaha..very funny. But people did not paying their PTPTN loan not because they do not want to, but they can’t. And it is not a good sign.

• Goldie on May 16, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Even though sales figure for 2016 is much reduced, the car assemblers already reduced their vehicle output in anticipation of poorer sales. The number of surplus stock is much less now compared to last year. The bad news is the dealers are less likely to throw prices end of this year. Pity the car salesmen.

• Gonggok on May 16, 2016 at 9:07 pm

This year car sales turun 25%, house sales also. Kita sudah hutang banyak sangat since 2010.

• hothotchickyshite on May 16, 2016 at 9:17 pm

No worry. Be happy.
    Our beloved govt will surely give BR1M for car purchasing.

Syukur ada Govt yang berperihatin….

• tadalaku on May 16, 2016 at 9:20 pm

My crystal ball indicate that the following month sales figure will surely drop even more.

The next wave of the problem is glut of new cars.
    The the glut of unwanted used cars.

Maybe the end of the year, there will be offer of sales like “buy 1 car, free 1 car”

• Ong Chee Boon on May 16, 2016 at 9:26 pm

The Governemnt,MAI and MITI should have seen this coming, but they didn’t admit only.

This is the typical story of a stupid fool having a goose that lays golden egg. Instead of rearing it nicely and having golden eggs in the long term, he killed the goose, trying to get more golden eggs in the short term. But instead he gets nothing.

GST implementation, corruption, injustices has taken a heavy toll on us, the rakyat. We could no longer bear the suffering anymore.

Say no to overpriced vehicles without proper safety features. This is the only thing we can do now. (not that we can choose anyway)

• good news… more discount expect to come..

• We don’t want discount. We want cheap car price without all those high tax n double tax.

• Nancy on May 16, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Silent protest.
    Let’s do it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • hashim JB on May 17, 2016 at 5:34 am

Proton please read the writing on the wall.
    Demand is slowing so please stop all the spyshot R&D and put on hold your future product launch.
    Time to consolidate & to speed up the restructuring.
    Idris Jala and team , start chopping and reduce capacity as unsold units are increasing stockpile by the day.

• Good job rakyat Malaysia!

• rosmah on May 17, 2016 at 8:40 am

Wait until P1 launch the new perdana, saga, persona. Sure figure will go up again. Later when rebadged ertiga is out, go up even more! Thank you Proton, Tun M, DRB-HICOM, MITI, cronies. You guys know how to screw us the tax payer.

• Same L0rr on May 17, 2016 at 3:24 pm

No launch the model, no talk.. Buy Toyota better.. have best discount ever..

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 8:43 am

Our economy ok. Still growing. 4% ma. hahaha… Typical menteri’s statement is a laughing stock. Vietnam and Philippine make a 6-8% GDP growth still say Malaysia 4% is the best in the region? They should go back to school and learn math.

• From my point of view.
    The main reason sales drop due to slow economy and direct to the consumer (no money).
    Soon more worker from automotive sector may lost job after oil and gas.
    Don’t just accept what the mainstream TV said.

• xoxox on May 17, 2016 at 9:11 am

yea, keep dropping…till end of the year :)

• thepolygonal on May 17, 2016 at 9:12 am

We just simply can’t afford them… discount or no discount… we prioritized bread and butter.

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2016 at 9:19 am

consumer will hold until all car manufacturers launch drop everything promo.

• brutus on May 17, 2016 at 9:26 am

Best that this situation persists a little longer. The car industry has been too arrogant the last couple of years as the TIV keeps improving. This is a unfamiliar territory for many car makers.
    Let us wait and see what kind of special incentives they able to churn out in view of the coming Raya.

• civic_EK on May 17, 2016 at 9:50 am

stop buying and eventually the price will drop!

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 10:26 am

Stop buying and all the car and parts factories also closed down. Then people get retrenched. No more money to buy anything.

• john is otak batu on May 17, 2016 at 11:18 am

the whole M’sia close down & no job??!!
        FYI, Msian have been spoon feed these bunch of your so call “factory part” ppl more than 30 years. Wake up!

• azrai on May 17, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Yeah..the whole Malaysian since Thailand has become the Detroit of Asia, Indonesia become the next favourite and not forgetting for left handed car, Vietnam and Myanmar is carmakers choice nowadays. Read about economy, it is all about demand and cycle and how to manage scarce resources.

• vincent on May 17, 2016 at 10:46 am

In general, economy outlook is bad, period. Despite gvt try to tell us how good is the economy, etc. a lot of businesses closed down quietly.

• Henry on May 17, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Two things really impoverish Malaysians: 1) a car and 2) a house. So, always “measure the hole” for depth before you jump in. You may not be able to climb out.

Perhaps with lower car sales there is also a lower number of people going bankrupt.

• sylinder on May 17, 2016 at 12:33 pm

to me, this is good news.With this statistic we know, less car will be on the road and traffic jam will end. ekekeke.