BMW Malaysia updates 4 Series Coupe, Gran Coupe with new engines, prices start from RM297,800

New BMW 4 Series Malaysia official 4

BMW Malaysia has officially introduced the updated BMW 4 Series, with both the coupe and four-door Gran Coupe models benefiting from engine improvements. A total of five variants will be offered, including two M Sport versions, with prices starting at the RM297,800 mark.

The most significant change here takes place under the hood. All variants now receive the B48 2.0 litre aluminium four-cylinder petrol engine featuring BMW’s TwinPower turbocharging technology. A ZF-sourced eight-speed Steptronic torque converter automatic transmission. The powertrain update is similar to that done on the 3 Series LCI.

In terms of output, the base 420i Coupe’s powerplant provides 184 hp and 270 Nm of torque (unchanged from before), good for a 0 to 100 km/h time of 7.5 seconds and 236 km/h top speed. Fuel economy is rated at 5.5 litres per 100 km following the EU test cycle.

Next up, the 430i Coupe, which replaces the previous 428i Coupe has 252 hp (up by 7 hp) and 350 Nm of torque at its disposal, reducing the century sprint time by 1.7 seconds while the top speed is up by 14 km/h. The B48 makes the same output in the 430i Gran Coupe, with the 0-100 km/h time just one tenths slower than the 430i Coupe.

New BMW 4 Series Malaysia official 5

As for equipment, the 420i Coupe gets 17-inch star-spoke light alloy wheels, Dakota leather upholstery, Satin Silver Matte trim, leather-wrapped steering wheel, a 6.5-inch display monitor with BMW Radio Professional, USB and Bluetooth connectivity and a HiFi speaker system is fitted here.

The 420i coupe can also be specified with an optional Sport Line package, which tags on 18-inch double-spoke alloys, high-gloss black kidney grille bars and M Sport suspension. Interior changes include high-gloss black trim with Coral Red accents, sports leather steering wheel with paddle shifters and sports seats.

The 430i Coupe Sport meanwhile, features the Sport Line package as standard (exterior and interior), with an optional M Sport package available as an upgrade. The M Sport package brings with it 18-inch M double-spoke light alloy wheels, Adaptive M Sport suspension and the M Aerodynamics Package.

Cabin highlights of the 430i Coupe M Sport include Aluminium Hexagon with Estoril Blue highlight trims, an M leather steering wheel with paddle shifters, sports seats and BMW’s Comfort Access keyless entry system. Additionally, BMW’s Navigation System Professional and BMW Connected Drive suite (Intelligent Emergency Call, BMW Teleservices, Concierge Services and Remote Services) are available here.

New BMW 4 Series Malaysia official 2

Finally, the 430i Gran Coupe comes as standard with the M Sport package. The four-door sedan thus benefits from the same equipment as the 430i Coupe M Sport, although instead of the HiFi speaker setup, a Harman Kardon surround sound system handles audio playback instead. The infotainment system and supporting services are similar to the 430i Coupe M Sport as well.

Price-wise, the 420i Coupe is priced at RM297,800, and RM317,800 should you opt to include the Sport Line package. Moving up the ranks, the 430i Coupe Sport retails for RM356,800, while the optional M Sport version will cost you RM386,800. The 430i Coupe Gran Coupe M Sport meanwhile, will set you back RM416,800.

All the prices mentioned here are on-the-road, without insurance. Included in the price is a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, free scheduled service programme and 24-month BMW tyre warranty programme (applicable for BMW-approved star-marked tyres). The tyre warranty covers the fitment and balancing cost.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• selva on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:13 pm

In another 6 months –
    BMW Dealers offer pre-reg 4Series starting from RM180k. Grab then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Never ever buy a brand new BMW. This is because, BMW themselves throw prices and you will cry at your 2nd hand value.

Do you know BMW Malaysia is now selling a brand new F10 528i for RM280k? Down from RM420. Car is Brand New. And this is done even before the G30 is launched in Europe also.

Be careful about buying a brand new BMW. Because BMW Malaysia throw prices, you will cry when you sell your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
      • sick&tired on Jun 30, 2016 at 7:44 pm

bull$hit! the f10 528i are pre-reg 2015 stock. And the price is RM298k. And new price of a f10 528i is RM378k not RM420k. With the G30 about to be release,it makes sense for BMW to give discounts. Even Mercedes were giving discounts for the w212 just before the w213 was released.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
      • U talking about RV??? Lexus NX200t new price 345K. One year old selling 250K. Close to 100K lost.

• That’s what I said last year. But it didn’t happen. The 4 series holds its value a lot better than other BMWs. If you want cheap coupes then go for recond Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Murah gila. Janji Ditepati. Dulu Kini Selamanya.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 4:33 pm

c class coupe is higher spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • sick&tired on Jun 30, 2016 at 7:46 pm

might be higher spec, but the 4 series is a better looking car! Just saw a c300 coupe, and while it looks good, I still prefer the 4 series.

• Toyboy on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:56 am

People who care for ‘higher spec’ wont buy a two door car la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Roadside stranger on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:25 pm

No 440i ?

• Sammy Loo on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:10 pm

you can always consider the brand new UMW Toyota Vellfire, else you can get a Fortuner 2.7 plus a Hilux 2.8, all of them are coming with full safety features including VSC, 7 airbags, good reliability and RV than this German coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Amriji on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:27 pm

But the handling for the UMW Toyota cars suck big time. Can only dream of matching this German Coupe

• Sammy Loo on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:22 am

no use if the German coupe stays in workshop most of the time

• Chan yik hang on May 22, 2017 at 1:11 am

Do you even own a German coupe ? Or do you even own a Germany car bro. My a class and my 5 series just do normal service everytime and doesn’t give me any big issue before.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Funny thing is the bigger X5 plug-in hybrid (which is locally assembled) is actually cheaper than the imported 430i GC M Sport (since there’s no “base” GC model to bring the price to below RM400k). Of course, X5 is a completely different type of vehicle (it won’t handle as well as the 4 Series, but is far bigger and more luxurious). But its still an interesting comparison.

• Headlights are different from face lifted 3 series, more like 5 series LEDs

• Tong Sampah on Jul 01, 2016 at 5:05 am

BMW lately will suffered from Similar face for all series…from 2, 3, 4, 5, x1 till x whatever all looks similar outside and inside!
    how boring is that..
    further more, MB is killing them with price and spec locally…at 300K, the GLC is whip off all x3 series
    at 200K range, the c class whip off 3, 4,

I am BM fans, but I think the new 5 series will be just too similar and wont bear the E class..

• 4 series? The cina will not buy this. lol

• Nenek Kau on Jul 01, 2016 at 1:05 pm

BMW Adaptive suspension is enough to justify BMW is better than MB, which come without dynamic suspension. Let alone the 5years free maintenance from BMW

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:16 pm

This 4 series “LCI” is disappointing. While the 3 series (330i) gains LED headlights and HUD, the 4 series doesn’t have those niceties. So except for the 7 hp difference, there is really no point of getting the 430i instead of the 428i.