Use of speed limiters on buses to be enforced – Liow

bus crash bernama

All express and intercity buses will have to be equipped with a speed limiter with immediate effect. Announcing the mandatory move, transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said the ruling was already in place and should already have been implemented, The Star reports.

“We are very serious. This was introduced a few years ago and I want it enforced,” he stated. The action won’t only involve intercity and express buses, as speed limiters will eventually be installed on all types of buses, Liow added.

He said that the installation of a speed limiter was not a costly affair, and there should be no reason for companies or operators to raise ticket prices. “It’s minimal cost to them and they should not raise prices,” he explained.

Bus-10-Cars-NSE

Liow said that the Road Transport Department (JPJ) – along with the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) – will enforce the law with regards to the use of these devices, and Puspakom was to ensure buses had them installed.

The action to enforce the use of speed limiters on buses follows on the recent incident where a runaway bus rammed into 10 cars on the downhill stretch near the North-South Expressway’s Menora Tunnel. The bus was on its way from Penang to Kuala Lumpur when the mishap occurred. No one was seriously injured in the incident.

Yesterday, it was reported that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) had suspended the bus company for a month, following an audit of the company’s fleet, which found non-compliance of mandatory safety requirements.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Proton Selimut on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:07 am

Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha oh hee hee ha ah ooh hee ha ha And I thought my jokes were bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:41 am

You can have speed limiter, it makes no difference. JPJ, Puspakom and PDRM officers all take money and let the offenders lose. This is why Malaysia has 3 million drivers and motorcyclist with NO LESEN. The past 20 years, Polis have been taking so much of money from offenders ie duit kopi that the figure has balooned to 3 million now

In this bus accident, the PDRM and JPJ are solely responsible. Do you know that this particular bus has got 60 summonses that are not settled?

How did they renew the road tax?

You got the answer. It is duit kopi. The lazy JPJ who are corrupted should have long gone and arrested the owner of the bus company many years ago. 60 saman over the past few years for one bas is shocking.

Our lazy PDRM officers also should have gone and sent a team to investigate how come just one bus can have 60 saman.

My advice to PDRM and JPJ, instead of eating nasi lemak, relaxing in the office, looking for aweks and having 8 tea breaks eating kuih lapis and kuih talam, please take the initiative to prevent accidents.

This accident could have been prevented. 60 samans for 1 bus is not normal

Hundreds of lorry hantu kill people in Malaysia every year. Whenever JPJ or Polis catch these lorry hantu, the illegal Indon driver just give duit kopi to settle the saman. So, the driver continues his illegal driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Next time you will see express bus travel at 80km/h on highway, hahahahaha

• Maslan on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Speed limit in politician car please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • More wayang kulit from Liow Teng Lai. Everytime after road disaster will have lip service saying will do this and do that. In the end everything will quiet down and remain the same until next road disaster.

• horizon sailor on Jul 15, 2016 at 7:25 pm

1. bus company will rent speed limiter before going to PUSPAKOM

2. inspect by PUSPAKOM , brake ok..light ok…speed limiter ok…

3. once exit from PUSPAKOM , bus company will return back the speed limiter to the owner..

4. bus driver happily speeding again…

to PDRM JPJ SPAD, please make strigent enforcement if u want to implement new regulation.

• Mr Fakta on Jul 15, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Speed limiter aka bus black box was implemented like 20 years ago and like so many government programs and projects in Malaysia, it die of natural cause. Now is the time to appoint crony for the job again. Just like VEP for JB customs.

• finally baru nak terfikir ?
    after 10 innocent cars dah kena rammed from the back.

• bobby on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:13 am

every year also macam-macam idea come out when have an accident like this..but every year the same shit happen. Remember last time the idea of ‘black box’ to be installed? what happened to that huh? Come on la ministers….implementation is important…jangan dang ding dung aja… be responsible….we are paying your salary not to talk only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Like how the speed limit is enforced.

like how emergency lane usage is enforced.

Like how driver’s license penalties are enforced.

And so on, and so forth.

• Mahacronies kata TABOULEH! INI AKAN AFFECT PROFIT KITA! KITA MESTI SELAMATKAN MY DARI BNGOV! KITA SUPPORT PARTY HARD!

• applegreen on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:39 am

It doesn’t make sense. Enforcing speed limiter but that bus got braking failure? It is like u got high fever but u take viagra for precaution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • kazanixm on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:40 am

Speed limit can be enforced when GPS is properly installed, “PROPERLY” (get my point?)

Emergency lane watch can be enforced if there are HiRes cam installed at the high way (current cam can only sees car traffics but not the car plate it self, can be done if place it correctly)

driver penalties is hard to do because they will always HUMAN ISSUE (you`ll get my point)

Eay Goverment! I`ve done some of your works! now give me my money! :D.

p/s: of course all of this will involved moneys which some your peoples will get some along they way (go figure)

• sohai on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:50 am

I need to ask some stupid questions…
    Is speed the biggest problem for our express bus in contributing to those fatal accidents?
    Or is it the monkey behind the wheel?
    Or is it the condition of the bus and road?
    Or is it the lack of enforcement, such as this case where some bus with 50 summons are still allowed on the road?
    Or is it an incompetent ministry?

Today we have a major bus accident and your knee jerk so much to start enforcing the old rules. Yesterday someone died on a motocycle and you say please go take your license on discount. But year after year, things repeat and repeat like a pointless Kardashian reality show get renewed every season.

• Typical Malaysian on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:52 am

Here we go again , knee jerk reaction. after 2 months, everything goes back to ZERO.

The speed limiter was a requirement few years back, what happen to that ? The companies spent money installing the devices and fares were increased to cover the so call cost.

• Wong Mun Keong on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:11 pm

er.. can someone tell me the logic of:
    SPEED LIMITER
    VS
    downhill with non-working brakes?

• Ollie on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Its a long story but I’ll try to keep it short and understandable.

The roots of the problem: Malaysian inter-city bus routes are govt-regulated and licences are limited. Most licences have been given out through non-official means and misused as usual.

The effects: As licences are limited, competition is stifled. No bus operator can start overnight and transport passengers. Case study: Aerobus and Skybus – when they started giving the super-cheap and efficient service from KLIA to KL Sentral for RM8-9, SPAD/JPJ came after them for operating without licence, and refused to give them a licence for so long.

The ugly: Due to lack of competition and fixed profits, bus companies don’t care about the passengers, its just a matter of selling many tickets. The good companies exist, but their tickets are limited too. The bad companies know that once the good tickets are sold out, the passengers have to buy the bad tickets anyway.

The solution: Deregulate. Once there is fair competition, bus companies will compete to provide the best service. Consumers need to educate themselves too – look for bus companies that guarantee buses with good maintenance records, speed limiters, ABS, guaranteed fixed hours for drivers, and comfort. Aeroline is one of them – but tickets are expensive as they cater to premium travelers.

When the government steps out of the game, true competition will take place and consumers will win. Safety standards will increase because consumers demand it. This applies to all markets – including cars.

• Wong Mun Keong on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:21 pm

All those rules/laws for what when enforcement is kaka?
    http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/07/158325/suspended-bus-firm-still-making-trips

• Sparcov on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:48 pm

monkeys year ago, SPAD imposed black box for all the bus after the incident killing 17 passenger.ever since i thought all bus equipped with black box that will be able to track the speed of the bus? straight they will know whether the bus is speeding or not.

Ofcourse speed limiter is a bus for all bus and public transport

sticking a 70/80 km/h at the back of the bus will not prevent accident or the driver to drive at 130 km/h

• cars in germany all speed limited to 155mph…that’s like aeons ago…

now only think speed limiter…

please implement on lorries too if proceed

• IGP mom on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Enforced, then forgotten, then accident, then re-enforced. Keep cycling this again and again.

Last time, from speed limit to black box, to gps, and now back to speed limit …

• AKoNGz on Jul 15, 2016 at 2:41 pm

This idea again?? Every year talk about the same idea but never implemented. Story passed from my father generation to me; eventually i’m going to pass it to my son. Fairy tales.

• They should really limit them…. and best of all please learn to use system such as those being use in the Europe, limiting the driver driving time, and speed through use of a system recorder on the bus. Then all the police need to do is wait at the exit of the toll, go up the bus and check the system they can know whether the driver has been driving non-stop for how many hours a day and also have they been speeding.

• common sensor on Jul 15, 2016 at 5:41 pm

I’ve heard about this about 20 years ago, but never implemented. Just do it and stop bullshitting the public please.

• TheWraith on Jul 15, 2016 at 6:05 pm

But how will Keanu Reeves keep it above 50 then?

• Basheer on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:28 am

PDRM should patrol the highways and chase and stop those heavy vehicles that are speeding, hogging the middle and fast lanes and driven dangerously. Once stopped if the driver as much as twitch then just taser them, just like in the US.

• Mutiara pahim panji panchor on Jul 16, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Dulu sudah buat masa mass death masa zaman naeila, mutiara accident dekat gua musang dan lain lain tempat, lepas tu jadi gajah putih saja projek ni. Lagi mau repeat buat ke.

• Kopi manis manis sedap on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:19 am

Just blame Anwar, la OK?

Problem solved….

• minister and gang of 3.85 on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:26 am

bunch of jokers and incompetent from the ministry…

We Malaysian never seem to be short of these useless ppl.