Mazda CX-5 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel launched – RM162k

Power generation wind power generator on the asphalt road.

Alongside the Mazda 6 diesel, local distributor Bermaz has also launched the new Mazda CX-5 2.2L SkyActiv-D today, making it one of the few diesel-powered unibody SUVs offered in the country together the Kia Sorento 2.2 LS and Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi.

Pricing for the locally-assembled (CKD) oil-burning CX-5 is RM161,529 (metallic paint RM161,929), putting this two-wheel drive variant smack in the middle of the two CX-5 2.5L petrol models – RM155k for 2WD and RM171k for all-wheel drive. Included in those prices is a three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package.

The wunderkind here is the 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D twin-turbo four-cylinder diesel engine, which makes 173 hp at 4,500 rpm and a healthy 420 Nm at 2,000 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission sends drive to the front wheels.

Picturesque landscape scene road

The most notable aspect of the engine is that it features the world’s lowest compression ratio for a diesel mill, at 14.0:1. This allows for a lower weight, improved fuel consumption and reduced nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions compared to a traditional diesel engine. As such, the diesel CX-5 meets stringent Euro 6 emissions standards – crucially, without the use of expensive aftertreatment systems such as urea injection.

Local cars retain a diesel particulate filter to weed out soot and other diesel particulate matter from the exhaust, making it one of the few diesel models in Malaysia to do so. Berjaya Auto CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh said that it was “advisable” to fill the car using Euro 5 diesel; cars using the high-sulphur Euro 2M may require shorter service intervals, while the use of B10 biodiesel could void the warranty entirely.

Specs-wise, the diesel CX-5 is nearly identical to the 2.5 litre petrol variants – the exterior gets adaptive LED headlights with LED daytime running lights and auto levelling, LED tail lights and 19-inch alloy wheels.

CX-5 Interior

It’s the same story on the inside, with keyless entry, push-button start, an i-Stop auto start/stop system, cruise control, auto lights and wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, dual-zone auto climate control and an MZD Connect infotainment system with navigation and six speakers all shared with the 2.5.

The biggest differences in spec compared to the rest of the range is in terms of safety – the CX-5 diesel is the only one to get a range of i-ActivSense driver assist systems, including Smart City Brake Support (SCBS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA). This adds to the CX-5’s already comprehensive range of standard safety equipment, including six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), ISOFIX child seat anchors and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

We’ve driven the Mazda CX-5 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel in Thailand recently – you can read the review here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:55 am

I hope buyers buy this because of the diesel torque and not buy this car to get diesel savings.

If you are buying this to save money, you will lose more. Firstly, a petrol CX5 OTR and after discounts is RM125k. That is about RM40k cheaper. Are you going to use RM40k worth of fuel???

Secondly, as with any diesel car, it depreciates steeply. 2 years down the road, when you sell your petrol CX5 which you bought for RM125k, you can sell it for about RM100k

This diesel which you bought for RM162k, you will have to sell it for RM80k. A depreciation of RM82k. Don’t believe, go and see the Santa Fe diesel prices.

So, you will have to fork out about RM40k just to top up your loan with the bank when you sell your Mazda Diesel

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 9
    • Much better than Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:05 am

Europe already phasing out diesel engines cause they realised, past 20 yrs of promoting diesel engines were wrong. Its emissions are indeed bad and its fuel economy a bit dubious.

Even France now says its banning Diesel cars. And mind you, Peugeot, Citroen and Renault 90% produce diesel cars.

So, now, the Japanese have found a new dumping ground for their old stock diesel engines already manufactured.

Yes, that is Malaysia!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • LimAhLek on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:25 am

the petrol version NVH already lousy, now diesel lagi teruk…420NM for what purpose? 240NM not enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
      • Looks like Malaysians can never understand what’s modern diesel is all about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • A potential buyer on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:05 pm

From this article, East Malaysians are not encouraged to buy this simply because no Euro 5 diesel. Can your staff double confirm with Bermaz that is it suitable for Euro 2M diesel in terms of long run? From your previous article, Bermaz were using Euro 2M diesel for their test unit with no issue reported.

• to drag race with hilux

• Lek Ah Lim on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:33 pm

to overtake people like u, that loves to hog the fast lane..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • hello on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:30 pm

when there is no diesel, u all complaint underpower. now have diesel, u complain too much torque? go and suck urself la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Lance on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:46 am

Same old school mentality.. This diesel model is priced close to 2.5 petrol which is around 6k different and where on earth can you get a 2.5 petrol for 125k??? Even the cheapest CX5 is priced at 128K which is a 2.0. Are you going to compare a 2.0 with a torque of around 200nm with this 420nm??? Santa Fe? You are comparing a CRDI and TDI. Go figure out what’s that.

• Overpriced cheap brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • Not many people sell at 2 years age. Just because YOUR Honda SUVs don’t have a diesel option, why say such things…
      The Santa Fe RV has more to do with badge snobbery rather than it’s diesel status. Look up the petrol versions of the Santa Fe… also has poor RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • DPCraft on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Kudos Mazda, bringing in i-ActivSense while Honda Malaysia still stingy with their Honda Sensing which they could’ve brought in when launching 2015 Honda CR-V, but they choose not. New civic also should have gotten Honda Sensing…

• hello on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Kunta, u talked so much, i wonder what car are u driving

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:21 am

thumbs up for iactivsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Safety wise, this diesel variant is up to date.
      Good move.

Price wise, when can we buy cars in international price tag? CX-9 2.5T is selling at rm125k in the Land of Kangaroo. rm150k, you can get E350 in ‘Merica.

• Mazdafan on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:36 am

So many fl n variants on this old 2012 model. Seems like itll really be a while more til the new cx5 comes to msia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Leafable on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:43 am

Well done Mazda. At least they now on par with Advance countries spec.

• Henry on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Advance countries? What are you talking about? They are now ditching diesel cars like nobody’s business. I suppose manufacturers can now dump it to Third World countries like ours.

• domotomo on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:38 pm

mazda not on par with advance countries
        mazda is ABOVE PAR
        They ditching diesel engine because they failed to ‘meets stringent Euro 6 emissions standards’ n mazda already prove it on the road

• perfect on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:32 pm

the brand, the model, the specs, the power, the price…all just perfect for me

• gaviny on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:06 pm

best company car for sales rep

• Leonard on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Where is AWD variant

• Still 3 years warranty? Come on Mazda u can do better..

• 5 years with unlimited mileage. Your can should be at least on the par with T brand.

• what a trouble for owners, they have to use euro 5 diesel only, not many stations offer euro 5 diesel right now.

I have waited for this cx5 before i decide whether to buy cx5 diesel or kia sorento diesel, about the same price but kia can use euro 2 and bigger, awd.

So, i am going to buy a kia sorento diesel, naza just take out the convenience features

• embee on Jul 20, 2016 at 12:58 pm

What do you mean by “the CX-5 diesel is the only one to get a range of i-ActivSense driver assist systems”, is the Mazda 6 equipped with its full range as well?

• Good…Please put this diesel engine into CX9. I am waiting for it…..

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Woot finally a FULL spec CX-5!

• Great Specs.. But, whats with that Warranty ? three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package.???????????????? Nonsense !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Elchino on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Care! Check what they mean by free service package. For most car dealers, free servicing means only the labour is FOC!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Noneedbringwallet kind of free service. Like Ford. Mazda not stingy like T, H, P1, P2!

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Is it the same 2.2 diesel as the BT50?

• Not same. Mazda’s own 2.2L in the CX-5 is much more advanced and powerful than the Ford’s 2.2L in the BT-50.

• Kelvin Chin on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Definitely not a nice car for my son.

• Can run on B10 ?

• Diesel I like it! on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:36 pm

I prefer diesel 4×4, not 4×2.
    So high torque need more traction control

• Rennie A Ghani on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:37 pm

True, a diesel engine is hardy and with the enormous torque, 4WD will come in very2 handy

• LowOctane on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Genting taxis should all change to this

• B10 diesel lover on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:26 pm

can this SUV run with B10 diesel? if cannot, then it’s not recommended

• diesel buyers tend to want an suv with awd as they job might require some light offroading or site visit..if you dont need that might as well go for the 2.0 fwd which is 40k cheaper..why would you need to pay a premium of 40k for a diesel and yet fwd which would struggle to put that 420nm in good use..plus be useless on slippery surfaces..

• Paultan, is there any information in your hand from the Mazda indicates the suitability of using B10 into the tank of this CX5?

• Eh now got rear aircond lah…

• Kelvin Kong on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:45 pm

The 2.2 diesel is good but no AWD system…sorry