Mercedes-Benz Urban eTruck – electric truck with 200 km range for multi-drop tasks, aimed for 2020 launch

mercedes-benz-urban-etruck

Urban air pollution has been a key driver towards the development of electric commercial vehicles, such as electric buses. Next to take on electrification are trucks; enter the Mercedes-Benz Urban eTruck.

Based on the Mercedes-Benz Antos truck, the Urban eTruck is a fully electric heavy truck which operates at a total weight of 26,000 kg. The three-axle rigid truck is intended for urban multi-drop work, where each journey is relatively short and thus creates more pollution than steady-state cruising on the motorway.

“Electric drive systems previously only saw extremely limited use in trucks. Nowadays costs, performance and charging times develop further so rapidly that now there is a trend reversal in the distribution sector: the time is ripe for the electric truck,” according to Dr Wolfgang Bernhard, Daimler-Benz board representative for the truck division.

Three lithium-ion battery packs are mounted within the truck’s chassis, which sends power to the driven second axle, with an electric motor mounted next to each wheel hub. No output figures have been quoted, but a range of 200 km is claimed, making it usable for urban distribution deployment.

The manufacturer hopes to have the electric truck in production by 2020, by which time legislation for emissions will surely tighten up even more, particularly in its home market of Europe, where numerous automakers have come under scrutiny.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• This is the most biggest bodo piang Mesidis ever. Even more bodo than G class camo cuz this truck lagi xbleh pakai cuz they dun have confidence in their new vehicle. Everytime wanna camo test here, camo test there, camo test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Unlike P2 that dun need to test Bisa.

P2 shown the way of the future to sell new cars straight from prototype to showroom, yet others r still in 20th century need to test their cars on the road, kononnya for technology testing lah, or durability and reliability lah, however this is really just to tease here, tease there. Now thanks to spyshot camo of Mesidis testing their new truck, every1 knows Mesidis quality no confidence so better trust quality in untested Bisa.

So better buy Bisa than this Etruck cuz P2 have full confidence and no need test, while Mesidis have no confidence thats why need to test test test.

So remember mari mari mari beli Bisa dari saya! I gip u bestest complete pau package with my fren from Nirvana. We confident u will have confident driving from road to early afterlife. So bisa beli Bisa dari saya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Rinnegan on Jul 31, 2016 at 10:21 pm

@john;
      Does posting ultra retarded comments gives you a certain degree of orgasm? If it does, I offer you my condolences. There are much more finer things is life rather than wallowing in misery and spreading them around.

• Dun worry. If u wan orgasm, buy my Bisa. When u drive u get ogawa… I mean, orgasm. So dun wait, buy my Bisa now.
        Or u no confidence person kah? Then better go back to P1 lah!

• Ex tnb on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:02 am

Good effort from mercedes , if sell in Malaysia sure our lovely Tnb will increase takrif electric , reason membazir tenaga