2016 Proton Persona officially launched, RM46k-60k

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-3

It’s finally here! The new Proton Persona makes its official launch debut today, the second entry in a four-model resurgence for the national carmaker that began with the new Perdana.

The Persona arrives in a total of three trim levels – Standard, Executive and Premium – all of which are powered by a 1.6 litre DOHC four-cylinder VVT petrol engine. You’ll also get a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating regardless of your choice, thanks to the safety kit fitted.

Before we jump into the details, you can read out first impressions test drive report to find out what we think of the new Persona, to get some idea of what the sedan is like. Now, without further ado:

Iriz platform, tweaked design

Based on the Iriz platform, the Persona shares the same 2,555 mm wheelbase length as the hatchback, as well as its width (1,722 mm) and height (1,554 mm). Obviously, the sedan body style sees an increase to the vehicle’s length, which measures 4,387 mm, an increase of 467 mm from the Iriz. This also allows for a more spacious boot at 510 litres compared to the Iriz’ 215 litres, which can be expanded further by folding down the 60:40-split rear seats (except on the Standard).

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-17

In terms of design, the Persona is very clearly based on the Iriz hatchback, but with a few small revisions. The headlamps and grille are slimmer on the sedan, while the lower grille features a redesigned number plate holder section. On models with front fog lamps, they are circular in shape as well. With the extension at the rear, the Persona also gets its own tail lamp design separate from the ones on the Iriz.

Moving inside, most of the Iriz’ interior panels have been carried over, including the “stitched dashboard, the pod-like centre console and instrument binnacle, three-spoke steering wheel and door cards. However, much like the exterior, there are a few differences to note.

For starters, CVT-fitted models receive a new gearlever featuring a side-mounted release switch instead. More noticeable is the light grey colour scheme – a contrast to the all-black interior found on the Iriz. Proton says the palette choice is meant to increase the impression of space, and to tie in with the design theme of “stylish executive.” On lower-spec variants, matte black trim accompanies the grey for a dual-tone look, while titanium chrome is for higher-spec ones.

Iriz engine, adapted for use

Under the hood, the Persona comes with only a single petrol engine choice – the 1.6 litre DOHC four-cylinder VVT unit lifted from the Iriz, which produces 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to front wheels via a five-speed manual (Standard only) or a CVT. Although mechanically similar, Proton has done a few changes for the engine’s application on the Persona.

The Persona’s engine uses three-point engine mounts (instead of four), which is said to offer better refinement (claimed to be six decibels quieter than the equivalent Iriz). Additionally, the car’s ECU has been calibrated for the sedan, a new exhaust system made by Faurecia – reducing boominess at low revs – has been added, and the Punch CVT has been tuned to offer a more linear power delivery than before.

Following the car’s ECO Drive Assist indicator (standard on all trims), the Persona is capable of consuming up to 5.6 litres per 100 km with the manual transmission and up to 6.1 litres per 100 km with the CVT, at a constant speed of 90 km/h.

While some might question why Proton decided to leave out the 1.3 litre VVT from the Persona’s engine line-up, despite it being available on the Iriz, the company has said the decision to so was to create a clearer distinction with the new Saga (which will only be available with the 1.3), its next introduction.

Proton Persona pricing and equipment

The high-spec Premium trim will set you back just under RM60k, and comes with all the bells and whistles, including steering-mounted audio controls, front fog lamps, two rear USB charging ports, remote trunk release, leather upholstery and a 2-DIN touchscreen infotainment unit. The latter comes with DVD playback capabilities, GPS navigation, Bluetooth connectivity and accepts USB, AUX inputs.

Proton_Persona_Premium_Int-19

In terms of safety, all variants of the Persona come with ABS (with EBD and brake assist), electronic stability control (ESC), traction control, hill-hold assist and ISOFIX child seat anchors (with top tether). The airbag count stands at six for the Premium, while the Executive and Standard will have just two.

There are six colours to choose from – Midnight Black, Sterling Silver, Cotton White, Graphite Grey, Fire Red and a new Carnelian Brown. Prices for the three trim levels, on-the-road including insurance, are as follows:

• 1.6 Standard 5MT – RM46,350 (solid), RM46,800 (metallic)
  • 1.6 Standard CVT – RM49,350 (solid), RM49,800 (metallic)
  • 1.6 Executive CVT – RM55,350 (solid), RM55,800 (metallic)
  • 1.6 Premium CVT – RM59,350 (solid), RM59,800 (metallic), optional bodykit is RM1,000 extra

Here’s the variant breakdown in detail:

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Standard MT/CVT

• 1.6 litre VVT engine
  • 107 hp at 5,750 rpm, 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm
  • 5.6 l/100 km for 5MT (at 90 km/h)
  • 6.1 l/100 km for CVT (at 90 km/h)
  • Ecodrive Assist
  • Reflector halogen headlamps (height adjustable)
  • Rear fog lamps
  • Front and rear parking sensors
  • 15-inch wheels in grey (with 185/55R15 Silverstone Kruizer tyres)
  • Unpainted side mirrors and door handles
  • Power adjustable wing mirrors
  • Body-coloured B-pillars
  • Remote key fob and manual key start
  • Single-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
  • Fabric seats
  • Height adjustable driver’s seat
  • 510-litre boot with space saver spare tyre
  • Isofix child seat anchors with top tether
  • Two airbags (front driver and passenger)
  • ABS with EBD and BA
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Hill-hold assist
  • Front disc brakes, rear drums

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Executive CVT

Adds on:

• Front fog lamps
  • Body-coloured side mirrors and door handles
  • Rear bootlid spoiler
  • Double-DIN head unit with Bluetooth
  • Gloss titanium chrome centre console housing
  • Rear USB charging ports
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats
  • Fabric door trim

2016 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium CVT

Adds on:

• 15-inch wheels in silver (with 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurance tyres)
  • Black B-pillars
  • Keyless entry with push start button
  • Touchscreen head unit (Android-based) with Bluetooth and reverse camera
  • Leather seats and steering wheel
  • Leather door trim
  • Power retractable wing mirrors
  • Six airbags (dual front, side and curtain)
  • All-around dual-tone bodykit (optional)

Browse full specification and equipment of all Proton Persona variants on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium with optional bodykit

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Executive

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Standard

GALLERY: Proton Persona official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lockhart on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:10 pm

ada 5 star, ada persona, ada style, ada amoi.

goodbye vios and bezza

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 271 Thumb down 50
    • Dr Mamak on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 255
      • Comment on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Tekan turun…tarik naik.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 13
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:16 am

Proton better get their act together. I think since Proton has taken our RM1.5 billion, they should update us every month about their sales by models. I want to see how the 3 new models are doing.

no more cover ups Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
      • John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:39 pm

@Dr Mamak. My sister has owned an Iriz for 1 year now. No problem with the windows except for a slight problem with the driver’s side. In the manual it says it should automatically wind down with 1 press of the button but sometimes it takes 2 presses of the button to automatically wind down. So far my sister hasn’t complained about this to Proton’s Service Center yet so still pending. So how? Wait and see lo how.. Which is more important anyway? Power window or your life? Buy base model Vios or Boxza, etc, la hor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
      • beemah on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Ady history

• im punch man on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:13 pm

dude… are you still living in 90’s? basi already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
      • s.roma on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:50 am

u live in a cave? 10 years warranty la

my myvi 4 years already broken its power window

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:14 am

Last year Proton sold 100k cars. This year, since got 3 new launches, can they sell over 100k? If not, then, better just close Proton down. Malu if cannot sell 100k cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:19 am

Proton got no more power windows problem. It is oil leak and gear box problems now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • Not Potong Fans on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Duduk bawah tempurung ke? Seriously noob.

• helmi on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Wow, Proton tak main-main this time. Safety feature, design, exterior, interior is nice & very good

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 11
      • I really like the rear headlamp, long signal lamp but it’s not too thick like on cerato. Just nice like those on luxury cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Like my 9 year old H-line Neo, it’s going to sell for just RM8k after loan all paid..after the thousands wasted for unnecessary repairs and bad fuel efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
      • Heng Lee on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:21 am

And what is the point to pay 25k more and get only 10k more after loan all paid?

• Lawak la kau on Aug 27, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Beli neo, tapi nak sembang jimat minyak. Hahaha. Masalah la kau ni mat. Kalau salah beli kereta ni. Neo tu mmg sedap lenjan. Nak jimat, amik la kereta cc rendah.

• apatuu on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:10 pm

nak jimat amek cc rendah? LOL
          my naza citra is 2.0 cc much much much jimat than proton saga flx 1.3cc la.
          lawak la kau hahahaha

• Lampoi on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:26 am

Nak jimat minyak amik kereta yg tinggi kapasiti drp keperluan. Kalau pakai kereta underpowered kita akan force rpm naik tinggi utk compensate low torque. Sama mcm manusia berlari tp bila dah sampai top speed kita suruh dia guna langkah kecik2. Inefficient.

• Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Dear Proton, I commend your effort by launching your second sedan this year. However, a quick check at your corporate Web page to get more info on the new persona was diverted to the www.newpersona.proton.com, a micro site intended to promote new Persona and yet the site shows a new Perdana instead.

get your act together lah Proton. these maybe seen as a small matter, but imagine how many customers you might lose because of this blunder. aku nak sokong kau orang sebagai Malaysian, tapi apa pun tak boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • LimAhPek on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:33 am

Design manyak teruk, I thought vios is ugly, this one lagi fugly. dashboard looks dirt cheap. why cheap car must make it so teruk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
    • OMG…another Ford Fiesta sedan adik….hahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • driver on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:22 am

Test driven it yesterday, albeit a very short drive it manages to impress me. Cabin NVH is at par with City.

Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Basheer on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:09 am

Was seriously considering getting the Bezza but drove behind one once and noticed that you could actually see the ugly underside. Its a bit like seeing the plumber’s butt crack when he’s working under the kitchen sink. Looks disgusting.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Oh I got confuse just now. It’s was Proton Saga launch yea not Persona! Thumb Up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 69
    • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 152
      • Persona (Iriz Sedan) sekarang kereta B-segment ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • im punch man on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:17 pm

why sir? you sounds like very worried about new persona? new persona must be not good enough… hmm.. then i should consider to buy bezzatonggek then… what do think sir?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Go back to school. Your english is terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Darshan on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:13 pm

I dont understand the SE spec…anyone can explain .-.? My english is bad

• SE is just the optional All-around dual-tone bodykit. It’s limited since they are only producing 200 sets of the body kit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • citizen on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 311
    • Sack designer on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 181
    • amonrei on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 182
      • Ford power on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:39 pm

I’m sure you find the Bezza more appealing.. Lol..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 8
      • im punch man on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:20 pm

yes.. agreed with you.. this persona makes bezzatonggek much appealing to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • hmmm, i wonder who pay u to comment on this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 14
    • Lee Nazir on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:12 pm

First of all, It’s not booth, but boot.
      And even a non-proton staff I say your comments are not Malaysian kinda type. You are not being supportive and such a shame to even claim being “citizen”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Why must a citizen support everything Malaysian? When it’s bad, we need to say it’s bad. Malaysians’ taste in cars seems to have declined in the past ten years, after the introduction of the dugong Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Palahotaklu on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:55 am

When something is bad you say it’s bad, bar a number of situations. But still, are we literally being made to pay 60 000 k for this tin can. Do you know what you can get for that kind of price in the usa? We have been sabotaged, used by the government of the past, and the present to pay exorbitant prices for a quality car which happens to be, in almost all cases, imported cars. I’ll give you a hint. In the usa you can get a civic base model for just 78000k. It’s even more depressing to compare their median income to ours. Perodua have their cars engineered by japanese companies, daihatsu in the past toyota in the present. So the engine has quality to it compared to proton, but guess how many options they give you for perodua? Myvi and alza. Lol. A japanese made sedan will outperform and outsell anything proton have or will dish out in 20 years . For that reason alone we are being robbed of our money to keep proton alive. By the way, do you know that myvis are being sold on the uk for 35 k only?  Bet you missed that one too. All this talk about supporting national cars are no more relevant. It is time to protect the people. But hey. Who cares. When government tells the working class to do something, you do it, to help the country, while you have to absorb all the shortcomings and the ruling people reap the benefits and circulate it among their friends and families. This country is sick. The people have absolutely no power at all. Sorry for the political talk, but this is the reality. Proton is not malaysia. Tens of years of completely taking out affordable quality buying options from Malaysians have not resulted in the improvement of proton products. The national automotive protection policy has to be revised.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:27 pm

many proton SA here to give thumb down. I can’t take the design where tyre frame is seriously unmatch the body, the car simply look like big body with small limbs. Very odd looking and the designers should be sacked. Top safety is great thing but apparent should come top priority. For me both new Bezza and Persona are out of shape and “ugly”, if I have to go for one I will choose the Japan tech Bezza rather than this new Persona. I am more confident on P2 QC and after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
      • Peordua on Aug 31, 2016 at 6:51 am

Many thanks Mr. “Perodua SA” sir for clearing that up..

• I agree with you 100% about the exterior design. It seems our local companies are both obsessed with big boots at the expense of good looks when it comes to A and B-segment cars.

• anak kau on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Booth? Phone Booth?
      What booth?

• Vincent on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Errr… what is your FC meaning when it only mean to be at 90 km/ h? If cinvine town drive.. 50/50…would it be 12 L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • s.roma on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:56 am

fyi

if u drive 90kmh non stop, u will get 5.6L for 100km

but, if u drive more than that speed, likely to be maybe 7L for 100km

• Don’t ever expect the fuel economy that you will get in real life will be what is advertised. The fuel economy figures are just for you to compare with other cars. How you drive is probably the most important factor when it comes to fuel consumption.

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Overall i think its very well packaged although 16 inch wheels should be offered for premium models. it looks outta shape, a bit like bezza.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • SoChunn on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Doubt it will sell as well as the Bezza. Basically you’re just paying extra for a 1.6L engine which doesn’t look very exciting to be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 100
    • John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Hey SoChunn (bodoh in Cantonese), I have a used cardboard box I want to sell to you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:16 pm

better than Bezza, confirmed!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 21
    • Better doesnt mean better sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 21
      • John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Malaysians only know how to buy cardboard box.. Active safety features? What is that? (I’m paraphrasing Paultan’s article about Electronic Safety Control.)

• im punch man on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:23 pm

yess… better flood our road with bezzatonnggek… gogo, achieve your sales target!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Ali Setan on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Bezza – A segment
      Persona – B segment
      Bezza should compare to incoming new Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • T KHENG ONG on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Nice looking car but pricing quite steep for its intended market in my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 39
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:06 pm

The standard variant is actually similar to Persona SV (RM46-49k). Nothing change..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Looks good…surprisingly clean rear design which is very hard to achieve in a small dimension car….this over Bezza any time…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
  • Kamunting on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:18 pm

I have no comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • anyone know the function of the little screen below the air con knobs?

• Bozzo on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:19 pm

nice.. :)

• sohhai on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Any one knows if the Persona qualifies as an EEV?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:41 pm

No. Like first gen CamPro, the VVT is thirsty for petrol. Bad engine, bad Punch transmission. You own a Proton for pride, at the expense of everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
  • curicuriprotong on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:20 pm

nampak bezza jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • LeeCWsupporter on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Cun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Akmal Azhar on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Acceptable spec and price. Nicely done proton. Hope this major improvement will continue to all of your line up rather than just a facelift bodykit and extra bag.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
  • curicuriprotong on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Nice protong!
    Nampak bezza jer nih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • I’m not a proton fan but the car feature looks better in the segment. Only sales volume of this car will answer to all proton critics….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
  • How much smaller / cheaper can the upcoming saga be? I’m expecting it to have maybe no more than 2 variants to avoid overlap with the Persona

• Suggested pricing on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Saga 2016 is expected to be starting from RM30K – RM47K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • kudos to the person responsible for the tailamp design…..
    One of the best non led units on d market….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
  • mesinrumput on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Why rear torsion beam?! Proton fanboys will hurt so much about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • palehotak on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:26 pm

silver cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • I’m not sure if any of you are familiar with Pusheen cat, you should see it as a Facebook comment photo. Small Grey little cat with the most microscopic of feets. Well that’s what it looks like with those wheels. I’m actually suprise they were 15″, my old three-box Saga has 14s and they look as if they belong there whereas this looks like someone fitted car wheels onto one of those quarry Dumptruck. Aside from that, the design somewhat pleases me. There’s no over design, everything is straight forward and sensible, you have to give proton credits for being rather handsome especially the back, this is in comparison with all the cars they’ve Churn out since the preve. They really have to fix proportion tho.

The interior is typically proton. I’ll take my experience from the iriz on it, most of the buttone and knobs don’t feel like they can last past the warranty. It’s by no means a bad interior, not a fan of the upright pod design, but the two tone paint at least airs the interior up opposed to the iriz where it feels like you’re in a Russian Gulag in Siberia. I’m sure Paultan has given a justified review of the Punch CVT which was absolutely disappointing In the Suprima and im not sure how much they’ve tweak it, but hopefully is enough to justify it.

All in all is a good car with a good looking body on one of the smallest proportioned wheel wells I’ve seen on a modern automobile, I mean it got worse and worse from preve, to iriz and now this. But it’s really not a car that proton should be making in a time like this, mainly because they have the iriz and I believe the iriz is slightly cheaper. For a company loosing cash I really don’t see what justifies its existence in the protons lineup now they have the preve. Perhaps this could be the car that finally Win proton. Perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
    • fatBcar on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:09 pm

yes. its 8cm tall then vios. and with 50 side profile tyre. But, i thought all B segment design are fugly nowadays. they all same, tall and small tyre so they can maximize the space inside.

For me, the design already comparable with others J manufacturer. good job proton, now work on tranny and better efficient engine. thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:53 pm

OK la strike silver this time around with this Persona 2016. Maybe the next Persona iteration (another 6-7 years’ time) can win gold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • mdhafizh on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Persona is actually cheaper than Iriz. The cheapest 1.6 Iriz is 53k, and Persona is 47k. The Premium variant for Iriz is priced at 62k while Persona just 59.8k.

• Gujimiao on Sep 24, 2016 at 7:59 pm

I tested drive today, quite up to expectation, all is well

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:28 pm

P1 and P2 can’t be more different:

P1 Good points
    01. Fun to drive
    02. Solid build quality (compared to P2)
    03. High(er) specs (compared to P2)
    04. Cars high in safety (6 airbags, VSC)
    05. Affordable to buy (with discounts)

P1 Bad points
    06. Poor fuel consumption
    07. Shitty engine and powertrain (people want reliable Japanese technology)
    08. Very bad after sales
    09. High maintenance costs (expensive spare parts)
    10. Poor resale value (no demand, no value)

P2 Good points
    06. Excellent fuel consumption
    07. Reliable Japanese engine and powertrain
    08. Good after sales service
    09. Reasonable cost of maintenance and spare parts
    10. Excellent resale value (because of the demand)

P2 Bad Points
    01. Boring to drive
    02. Plastic toy car build quality
    03. Low specs (compared to P1)
    04. Tin milo safety (2 airbags, no VSC)
    05. Expensive to buy (overpriced to P1)

Which one are you better off with?
    It is no wonder people rather live with P2

If you combine the both good points…
    You will get the Honda Jazz, City or HR-V

P1 Good points
    01. Fun to drive
    02. Solid build quality
    03. High specs
    04. Cars high in safety (6 airbags, VSC)
    05. Affordable to buy (Compared to its rivals)
    P2 Good points
    06. Excellent fuel consumption
    07. Reliable Japanese engine and powertrain
    08. Good after sales service
    09. Reasonable cost of maintenance and spare parts
    10. Excellent resale value (because of the demand)

No wonder they’re the best selling non-national cars!
    Toyota? They’re just like P2. That is why people choose Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 19
    • William on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Sorry, not all people choose Honda. There are still other cars like Mazda which are better build quality and more fun to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:37 pm

@William if only Mazda cars aren’t so expensive. They should consider selling base variants to compete with Honda since most of their cars sold here are high specs

• Korean Fan on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:53 pm

If you don’t mind throwing some money for the fun to drive, safety, then go for P1. If you are kiasu and want every penny out of your money, go for P2. Or you can go for P2. With all the money you saved, you go to modify your car and then race at Duke highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • musclemuseum on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:28 pm

is the key fob need to be inserted in a slot like preve or not? if still need to do so, then I think it defeats the purpose of push start button. that’s one of the factor I dislike about current preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • muhammad nasruddin mustaffa kamal on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:01 pm

no i just normal keyless like honda and toyota

• hayenadeblue on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:37 pm

They have Iriz with proper keyless (not like Preve). Takkan la nk patah balik ikut Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:29 pm

everyone sure very good very nice…but end of the day its all cybertroopers commenting nobody actually buys it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 31
    • youjelly on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Semi-value is jelly old car owner

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Already bought an Iriz last year. I think the Persona is a good car, but I’m not in the market for it. I’m single so I don’t really need the extra space. The Iriz is good enough and the specs are not that different. The main difference is my Iriz is 1.3l while the new Persona is only 1.6l. But for a sedan at that price, the Persona is a really good car. But unfortunately, Malaysians will probably buy more Boxzas, with or without ESC due to negative perception and general ignorance. If you try to explain to the average car buyer what is ABS, how it works and why it is important, they probably wouldn’t understand. Try then to explain all the extra safety features the new Proton cars have. That’s why there are still so many cars sold in Malaysia without ABS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Temberang on Sep 01, 2016 at 10:36 am

It is not the people don’t want to buy abs equiped cars but rather the gomen tax structure and restriction impose on the manufacturer. The people have not much choice choosing their dream car according to budget. Malaysian people have already supported proton even not buying proton car. Some people have to forgo new cars and instead buy second hand clunkers because of proton incapability prices of cars tripped price. We Malaysian paid taxes, to support proton. It is not due to their worldwide sales and profit that they can launch this car. This car should be launch 10 to 20 years ago.

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:09 pm

They will just keep repeating, “Power window power window power window. CVT. Campro.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:53 am

Exactly. Proton spent a lot of money on cybertroopers nowdays, as can seen by the comments here. Last time where got. But after a few weeks, the real comments will come in when paid cybertroopers contract is over.

LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Ahmad on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Impressive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • johndh on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Looks nice!

• The rear seats doesn’t come with adjustable head rest?

• Cvt higher fuel consumption than manual?

• This looks like the first proper car to come out from Proton (Not a rebadge) if they can iron out the Iriz gearbox problem.

Good luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Hj Bakhil on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Much better than bezza , honda city & vios dugong , hahahahaha thumbs up proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
  • UMW TOYOTA on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:34 pm

my toyota TRD VIOS more valueable than this pesona..with free reverse camera free bodykit instead of rm1000..give you merdeka discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 71
  • Congrats Proton for the newly launched baby. ^^v

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • ThumbUpSafety on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Proton set a benchmark for other local car industry as to incorporate 5-stars safety features an affordable price and apply to every variant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
  • Hardcase on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Amazing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Firdaus on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Hmmmmm… I… Don’t know what to say…

Mixed emotions…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Susukotak on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:36 pm

nice

• Raimi on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Price is still pretty steep. 50k for an A segment size sedan entry level. Almera is still the best deal, Kia Rio too. Top up a little more Vios and City are best in B segment class, offers more legroom, more better quality, power, fuel economy and brand name and of cos resale value and most importantly, peace of mind. If persona price between 42-52k I’m sure it can archeive as good sales as Honda City or Vios. Will skip this Persona and wait for the facelift City or Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 86
    • Persona is B segment… Saga is new segment..
      so this car will compete against the likes of Vios Dugong, Almera, and City..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • CarGuy on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Persona belongs to B-Segment. A-segment from Proton will be Saga. Read more before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • LittleMin on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Bro, this is a B segment car.

And I don’t know how you calculate, but this car is cheaper at least 10-15k cheaper than all those cars you mentioned, and you still feel the price is steep?

You compare the full spec 6 airbags price with Almera SV kosong spec after rebate price kah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • go test drive first laa.. baru tauu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • hayenadeblue on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Yo Raimi,
      Compare highest spec dgn highest spec la. Almera plg murah pun RM68.5k. 2 airbags je. Tarak ESC bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • B-Unggul on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Not entirely true.

Even better, a baseline Almera came with only SINGLE airbag (for driver only).

Thought that was unbelievable in the first place, until I’ve scrolled the specsheet on their official page.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:17 pm

“wait for the facelift City or Vios.” Kakaka.. Proton bashers are the funniest. As usual, resale value more important than own life.

• Nope, you will skip this persona, the facelifted vios and the facelifted city. Just buy the 1.0L axia, man.

• lilytan on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Those rims is just ugly. Probably slightly better than satria neos rims, the ugliest rims of all time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Thats why the tyre is small, They want you to buy new and bigger size. If they do it for you the cars gonna cost more.

• rudy_tan on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:40 pm

well done proton, i can see a lots improvement in term of safely for the car, but how about the reliability issue of the car? such as the engine and gearbox? if this issue never address, the market share will shift to bezza rather than this persona. (just my personal opinion), good luck proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Kotembad on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:40 pm

When can test drive?

• Azlong on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Tak de org komen lagi ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Shut up and go photocopy textbooks at section 2 shah alam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Style Design, the specs and Price is perfect..This part Proton has nailed it…now waiting for the test drive..is it worth with all the engineering tweaks their have yelling about…can’t wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Killer on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:45 pm

Surely can beat vios now, toyota must be worrying now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • NoName on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:45 pm

thumbs up proton!!

• Smart on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Look good at reasonable price. 16inch tyre surely looks much nicer.

• Lim Jh on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Nice.

• azrai on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Look solid. Now Proton line-up (not cannibilasing each other’s sales anymore):
    A : Saga = Bezza, Axia
    B : Persona, Iriz = Jazz, City, Yaris, Vios, Almera, Vento, Polo
    C : Preve = Altis, Civic
    D : Perdana = Camry, Accord, Teana
    Small MPV : Ertiga = Alza, Livina
    Medium MPV : Exora = Stream, Wish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Horizon Sailor on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Congrats to Proton. And well done by making a clear grouping of their product. Persona = 1.6…Iriz 1.3..I hope that they will continue like this trend in the future. Different car use different engine size..Many thanks.. Perhaps 1.8 Exora then..? Looks like their listening some of reader opinion on a few previous thread.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Preve desperately need a good facelift, the front was damn ugly. Who designed it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • thumbs up

• Laksmana on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:49 pm

I have to say, it is a very nice looking car indeed. Kudos to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Kotak Katak on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Car looks ok. Hope the basher don’t come here simply just bash. Hope no same copy paste proton story from same boring basher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • crash on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Too bad no rear disc brake. The old Persona had it even in SV variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Advantages on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Is there any advantages of rear disc brakes if this manages to stop better than Last-Gen all-disc brake setup?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Actually yes, if you in traffic jam then start to clear and you driving fast to a emergency brake. The drum brake will not work as good as it suppose to be when over heated during jam.

• s.roma on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:59 am

the braking distance is better than even with drums, rather than all disc with persona elegance

• grimmjaw jaggerjack on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:55 pm

this prsona brake distance better than old prsona bro even its using 4 disc brakes..,

• Because old Persona is a C-Segment car, this Persona is a B-segment model.

• s.roma on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:00 am

yes, but the weight is only 40kg difference compare to persona elegance

• Hot damn! I thought the car would have extremely awkward proportions due to its hatchback nature but boy was I wrong. Very good job by proton’s designers. Hats off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Iyoyo, below RM 60K can get a Nissan Almera already. Why chose Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
  • kirko on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Is it just me to realize that the rear tyres looks a bit smaller that front? O_o

• Lazada on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Looks good n price also reasonable… P2 now should consider add on VSC for all of their models…

• azrai on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:53 pm

2016…rises from the ash..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • wira96 on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Feeling optimistic that this new B-segment city sedan could repeat the success of the Wira in the 90’s thus gain back the market share that Proton has lost over the last decade only if Proton manage to tackle the bad percepetion problem amongst Malaysian of it’s own brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Why the RM6,000.00 difference between the Standard CVT and Executive CVT version?. The notable difference is the front fog lights and the 60:40 split. The rest are just astactic. It should not cost so much more. Perhaps those in the auto. line can comment.

• Very Nice. I will consider Booking the Premium with Bodykit. Red or Brown ?

• kereta_lembu on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:54 pm

I find the somewhat bulky body of this car makes the wheels look super tiny. This was already the case with the old Proton Savvy.

• just another driver on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:57 pm

nice car, next coming test would be the assembly quality & long term reliability of it. We all knew Proton’s weakness is in the long term reliability as well as the assembly quality.

too bad it doesn’t achieve EEV status, perhaps it just miss it by a bit, finger crossed Saga comes with EEV status, see below page for info.

http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/

• P1Owner on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:58 pm

I’m quite skeptical on their fuel consumption figures compared to the exsiting iriz. Even though it now has a new eco mode function, to get a 6.1L per 100km for the CVT is quite an impressive feat. If this is just an update to the ECU hopefully iriz owners gets the same treatment.

• Ootai on Aug 23, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Test the door knob, open & close, 999 times before you make your booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • do they cancel the dual tone rims? I saw them on their safety video

• Rodimus on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Nice design by Proton, keep up the good work P1.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Until the brand can be reaccepted to export to UK, please reserve saying “nice design”. Syok sendiri, sendiri puji sendiri bakul angkat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Dash board identical to Iriz.
    Leftover stocks???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
    • Advantages on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:20 pm

It’s a sedanized version of Iriz. Of course it’s going to use the same parts if possible. What do you expect????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • expect noticeable difference like bezza,but since they are focusing on safety features and affordable prices that’s ok I guess

• VW Vento dashboard identical to VW Polo hatch. Leftover stocks???

• Unknown on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Wait until late 2017 or 2018 for the new GDI engine, then it will be perfect. Modern engine, good safety kit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Whatever Proton gives, it is directed by the Government. Since this car got ESC and so high spec, it shows, Government cares for the rakyat. This is another proof that BN Government care for the rakyat. Isn’t it time for us to support BN and our PM Najib full heartedly? Why listen to gossip from foreigners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 47
    • They launch this at the tail of 2016. If the Persona is going to get the new engine, I reckon maybe 2019 at least.
      I believe they’ll put the TGDI in the facelifted Preve or next gen Exora

• Tyres look small.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Johorean on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Good Job PROTON!!!
    Very attractive car, most importantly the price is very affordable with the safety features offered…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Yap Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:09 pm

I admit it better than before

• Good job Proton! 1st class safety features for that price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
  • Carlover on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Wow!Awesome car..Good Job Proton!Market it right, you win this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • Peter on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:15 pm

I see. From now on, Persona ~= Vios. Become B2 segment stock. … talk abt RV (that’s scary). Recall selling my Gen2, really, just enough to buy a motorbike (humble 1).

• monakribos on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:16 pm

nice design..price also reasonable for the specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
  • ZAIMIE on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:17 pm

Tahniah… new product of Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Anti-P1 on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:22 pm

As an anti P1 road user, this car really did impressed me. Especially the price, 60k with such specs. *thumbs up*

• Aaron Wong on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Nicely done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Guest on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Impressive! Let’s hope the quality lasts long-term.

• CrazyMobilo on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:26 pm

In our family , we do have an Iriz so i would say its a decent car to drive around. Its true that there would be few problems with its player & windows but overall it good. But tis persona might share its fame & most importantly… the price is slighty higher than Bezza!!!!
    Very very compatative… well done on the prizing .. lets see how it performs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • It is certainly a better looking car than bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rr on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Hmm.. Still same Campro VVT engine & CVT bising Punch Powertrain! Bad RV! Buy Bezza better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 71
    • policeman on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:21 pm

But Bezza maintenance costs more. You know, when you skid and crash. Or when you make a turn and flip. Repairs will cost a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • hayenadeblue on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Bro, go study what is Campro and what is VVT. Both are for the top engine/valves timing. Those 2 can’t co-exist. If we somehow take a waja Campro engine and change the top part to VVT, it is a VVT engine, not a Campro anymore.

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:39 am

Another stupid Potong macai. VVT has been in Campro since CFE.

They just took out the turbo out of the CFE and you have a ready made Campro VVT.

Go search Wikipedia if bodoh.

• Honestly on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Side doors should have been more sedan like. Maybe 16″ rims as standard would be nice. And perhaps asking for a proper exhaust on that “diffuser” might be too much to ask? But overall, I hope this car beats all others in its segment. As for quality, we’ll have to wait and see. Proud of you proton. Please listen to your customers and continue improving the design and ride. I know it might take time but I hope it’s worth the wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Ootai on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm

16″ wheels for next facelift. Somebody in P1 said 2017-18 model will take into accounts all market feedback. Of course, if a foreign firm take over P1, then some other story.

• No one comment?

• That rear wheel sure looks way out of proportion against that giant slab of metal.

• passion on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm

good. now we wait for 1st batch to go through.once all probs ironed out we are safe.

• Chingu on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm

I did not notice on Iriz that the rear wheel arc is smaller than the front , but on Persona it really caught my attention… i don’t really like it. But it just ugly, people cares about safety after all…

• Johorean on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Good Job PROTON!!!

• Great pricing. Will undoubtly sell well. I’m waiting for Saga launch to decide 1.3 or 1.6 for my alternative car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Holalalala on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:47 pm

How many booking already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • aabbabc on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:55 pm

niceeeeeeee

• Local Car Owner on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:56 pm

And the highest specs add-on bodykit are cheaper than the iriz highest specs?? At least this time Mr MO1 doesn’t showup at the launch or else it will end up like the perdana that nobody want the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • bmpower on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:44 pm

It’s common hatchback car price higher than the sedan bruhh.

• kanazai2001 on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:57 pm

price price price…
    y u always cannt get the right price…
    slightly 3 ~ 5k lower for all da models…
    u can GRAB da market but storm dy…
    @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:24 pm

The price is quite decent. if u compare the price of last gen persona it quite similar but have more feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • kanazai2001 on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:26 pm

may b u r right…
        but they hav “downgraded” it from C to B…
        it makes sense to downgrade da price as well ~ <3

• So your logic is, smaller the car, cheaper the price? How about the safety features?the accessories? All free huh? Vios is also b segment, why dont you point out tht price too?

• Finally P1 on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:58 pm

exterior design is nice for this range. Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • sudanese on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:00 pm

TAhniahhhhh! good luck proton.

• zidanetan on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:03 pm

The tyre rim look smaller compare other standard sedan car

• mr1031 on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:32 pm

which sedan deriving from a hatch platform looks nice?? certainly a few does, but most of them don’t

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Now this proves what our Ministers have already said, Proton is better than Volvo and BMW. This car is superb. Only a dumbo will buy other car brands. Proton, you have done it. I am proud of Proton and I am proud of BN, which has given us Proton!

Malaysia is indeed a wonderful country with a clean and efficient government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
  • carlist on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:07 pm

What an impressive looking!

• One question, why could they not provide Jatco CVTs on this model, instead of still relying on the Punch CVTs units.. ? Although proton has stated that they have made improvements with this model, the fuel economy figures are adequate, there is still much to improve…Good effort but there is still much to be done….

• shere khan on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Contract with mitsubishi already ended. Wont outsource the jatco gb anymore.

• IrizX on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Jatco is Nissan, not Mitsu. Mitsubishi merely use Jatco’s gearbox.

• shere khan on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:27 am

I didn say mitsu own jatco. R u blind?

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:44 am

You certainly indicate that in your statement. Guess you phailed English as well.

• Anonymous on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Good job Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Nice…..better than my expectation….well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • what killer on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Iriz was the myvi killer as bragged by Paultan. So what killer is this model? Iriz killer???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • WANTHEBOB on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:17 pm

WONDERFUL CAR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • pembela anwar dan najib on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:18 pm

already 2 hour post article. but still no comment

• Hebatt Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • two ugly cars launched this year, bezza & persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
  • why proton?! why!!

why the wheel/body so out of proportion?! so cacat.
    cant they somehow design it better? smaller arch gap, bigger wheel? lower side panel?

but it’s not like bezza any better, have u guys seen it from rear? fuking ugly with the boot so high up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Some blind people keep saying this thing looks “nice”, “lawa”, etc. What angle are they looking at??? The underbody???

I saw this thing a few times, it makes the fiat multipla look like a supermodel. That is how hideous this takpersona is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • fatBcar on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:57 pm

i think almost all modern A and B segment cars looks fat,chubby,ugly and out of proportion. this car actually 2cm wider then vios, length is 2 cm less then vios..just much more tall, at 1554mm vs 1475mm of vios. its’ 8.0cm higher then vios.

thats why the wheels looks small plus its use tyre with 50 side profile, compare to vios 60, almera and city 65 side profile.

the design of front and rear lamp also more sophisticated compare to bezza. actually for me its same level as other B cars from others manufacturer. rear lamp resemble mitsubishi atrage. front and side design same level as vios.

just remember this car use a lot of HPF parts and have tons of passive and active safety features.

• There will be no cruise control available across all variants?

• no cruise control even in the premium model?

• Jason Ding on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Wtfugly thing is this. No new features after 10 years and and and… same fuel consumption as 1st gen proton gen 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
  • Dr Mamak on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Looks funny with a fatso body sitting on those tiny wheels.

• Haziq on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:43 pm

aik? xde org komen? wow.. 1st time saya org pertama. good live feed from Paultan… Proton?…ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • That design….. Why wheels are so small one?
    Gen2 -> Persona
    Iriz -> Persona
    Hmmm I don’t get what is the P1 strategy for their line up.

• gOOsh on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:56 pm

lawa lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JB_KIA on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:56 pm

another tall car with small wheels…

• fatBcar on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:03 pm

all modern B car looks fat nowadays. they looks narrow and tall. this car almost 8cm taller then Vios. and its use tyre with 50 sideprofile, thats why.

• muhammad on Aug 23, 2016 at 3:58 pm

impressive i must say

• Not bad, can consider. But quality will always be questionable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • krik krik krik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • shamsez on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:13 pm

1st?specs looks good.will try a test drive to say more

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:16 pm

How is it that the manual version is more fuel efficient than the CVT? CVTs have unlimited “ratios”, thus the “top” gear can be as low as possible, even lower than a manual.

• Ohm Ohm on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Design ok esp front, but car too high until the wheels look like kaki tenggiling or Munchkin Cat. but the car proportionate look weird la. maybe bcoz they wanna make more space so need to sacrifice the design.

• normal_user on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Function over form. Practicality over design. Designers are mulling either to please the eyes or the body of their buyers. You cant achieve best of both worlds. Consider the handsome Civic, yet it is still less practical cos the seating position is low & bit of hassle during entry/exit.

• applegreen on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Kereta cantik sesuai beli untuk isteri. Tapi handbrake panjang sangat takut nanti isteri tersalah tarik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Knight E on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:29 pm

the price is same with previous persona and the specification is better than other brand and more safer…good job proton….

• sardin on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:31 pm

ok lah jugak! i don’t like proton anymore. but this one ok lah jugak! got money i still buy second hand non-proton.

• nobrainer on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:33 pm

wohoo…surprisingly,after test drove it, far better than iriz esp the NVH. very good job there mr proton.

• mr1031 on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:34 pm

at least no fake exhaust tip like the ‘premium’perdana..

• shere khan on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Not bad. Not bad at all, proton. Albeit a few flaws. Lets see how well it fares.

Still, paultan, in 4th para, u said 60:40 folding rear seat for all except executive? I think u mean standard? Coz down in the breakdown below, u mention exec got it over standard.

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Sorry about that. Thank you for pointing it out.

• really don’t understand those who complain about the cruise control, it’s not like you MUST have it. does the Myvi have it ? If it does, and you own a Myvi, do you use it everyday? When you go on longer trips like KL to Johor do you ALWAYS think ‘Thankfully i bought a car with Cruise Control otherwise i wouldn’t be able to go Johor’???? It’s amazing that Proton can design such a car and market it at such a price but there’s still immature people out there nitpicking, sometimes it is not the carmaker’s fault, more like we just have dumb buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • frossonice on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:15 pm

As a basher, one must find something to bash about never mind whether it is really important or not.

• hayenadeblue on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:51 pm

It is not must have. Depends on people and usage. I drive in a car with cruise control for long journey in PLUS, Karak and LPT. Yeah, I manage to reach my destinations in my Iriz but it is tiresome compared to the other car.
      BTW, kudos to Proton for this new Persona but I would like to re-iterate: Cruise control mana??!!!

• KontiKinte on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:43 pm

If the one who need to shout louder it sould be me… Mine is 150K++ car but without auto cruise demm

• Damn, you might be right there. Maybe tht’s the problem, too many dumb buyers. For example, how many of us who would want to buy vios just for the sake that it symbolises successful life (especially gov. servants)? I bet, many.

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:37 am

Cruise control is a very useful feature, much more than useless Android touch screen. Potong fanboi keep potekting as usual.

• Owner Bezza Advance yang Menyesal on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:43 pm

TAHNIAH PROTON! Jangan beli Perodua Bezza, biar beli Persona ni even baseline. Perodua bezza A segment yang tak sedap dipandu langsung. Body terasa sangat ringan dan tak comfort..macam bawa Viva sahaja. Good job Proton.

JANGAN BELI BEZZA, MENYESAL X SUDAH!!!!

p/s: aku xde kena mengenas dengan proton langsung ok, aku kerja kilang je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • poyo je owner bezza tu on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:42 pm

haha.. dah tau ringan n xcomfort buat pe bodoh sgt beli bezza.. haha

• Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Started with Waja, then Gen 2, Savvy, Satria Neo, Persona, Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima, Iriz and now Persona 2nd Gen. 11 Malaysian design and made cars! More than 30 years ago Malaysian only dreamt that they can have own car marque and now we have gone a long way and still the only one in the region to have a complete package car manufacturer. No doubt the journey is still long but I doubt Malaysia can have a car marque if we start today. Automobile industries are becoming more complicated and very much technology driven. Congrat Proton! We the people will keep bashing you cause we love very much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Honda City better la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Bontot kereta PROTON paling cun setakat ini. Tahniah PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • FIST (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm

like the front end. but the 3/4 rear, have that Attrage and Peugeot 408 effect.

• FIST (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:06 pm

BTW isn’t the engine mount used is four instead of three..?

• Paul Tan on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:24 pm

For the Persona, changed from four to three.

• Paul, may I know if the existence iriz can be changed the mounting and exhaust manifold like the persona? Maybe u can ask p1 about this. Besides, about the tweak they did in the CVT of new persona. Can it be done in Iriz?

• salahuddin on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Sudah menyesal beli Iriz.
          No matter how you tweak it,
          its still a lame engine.
          Whatever is on the Persona cannot be done for the Iriz.
          Same will happen when the new engine is introduced.
          All potential buyers will face this same engine lag problem.
          And the Silverstone tyres is a major let down. At least get some eco tyres ie Bridgestone or Continental.

• YprotonY on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Will all the features and value for money, why very poor interior and exterior aesthetic ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • normal_user on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:18 pm

They should make the bodykit as standard. Because my eyes bleed seeing those smallish tyres (185/55!!) fitted on a vehicle body this tall. Almera suffered from same problem, yet with bodykit & thicker (185/65) tyres, it looks better than the stock standard car.

With bodykit, it changed the illusion of the lanky side proportion. Looks way better with bodykit.

• Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:20 pm

My early comment is the car look nice for front and back but the side looks a bit awkwardly fat. But I guess the design team has improved much but unfortunately the interior design still needs to buck up (learn from Honda) even though maintaining Iriz’s as a way to reduce cost. The tyre size is Catch 22 situation. For B segment normally is 15in but if the size is more than that its gonna cost more. But I guess let the owner upsize it if they wanted to. The seat behind looks rather flat, firm and it’s gonna be uncomfortable, but it’s the same with Bezza, Forrester, CX 5 and other costlier models. It looks like a new trend emerging but why P1 need to follow? Other than that so far so good.

• payah nk pnuhi citarasa rakyat malaysia nii..nk murah, canti, lawa, hensem, kacak bergaya, macho, tahan lasak, tahan maki, kalis peluru laaa..tp snang cita naik texi la bradah..stimpal hrga..brg pn x runsing klau rosak..ko mmpu amik bezza..ko mmpu amik persona..amik jela..xyah nk typical sgt la..btw..gud job Proton..dn juga Perodua..all new design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Comment on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Terlalu banyak penganalisis permotoran tidak bertauliah di Malaysia. Kita kumpulankan semua mereka dan suruh buat sebuah kereta yang boleh memenuhi citarasa semua.

• Boleh ke mereka? Nanti nak spec macam Rolls Royce tapi harga macam kancil. Meletup kepla semua!

• headligts better than preve on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:18 pm

not too bad looking. only thing the car looks quite tall with small tires. the headlights look nice, so much better than the plain looking headlights in the ‘higher end’ preve. I am disappointment with the preve headlights. proton should have given the preve headlights a ‘sculpted’ look, make it wider and don’t make it look very flat and plain.

• Marican on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

No matter how good you wanna say about this car but Proton quality and reliability is stilla huge question mark. Many buyers will still prefer the tested and proven platform and quality of Bezza. Although Bezza is smaller, but not that small in every aspect. In fact you can’t really tell the difference once inside. However the quality of Bezza and engine, CVT transmission quality is way better than the decade old Proton engine and CVT. Proton will definitely see sales improvement but only slightly. The Bezza and new Myvi, Alza will still dominate the Malaysia car market. Proton need to do 200% better to earn back the lost trust and loyalty. It need to revamp it’s entire engine line up and show Malaysians that it can make acceptable and decent cars. The current line up including the Persona is not enough to win our hearts back. To me, the new Persona and Saga is still a huge failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • “No matter how good you wanna say about that bezza, perodua quality and reliability is still a huge question mark.” That’s better.

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Without the Iriz the Boxza wouldn’t even have ESC, at top range model only….

• This fugly junk proof that WAJA CPS is the best designed car ever delivered by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Triplestreet on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Nice try…

• Slaimx on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:09 pm

My father have new vios. If park side by side with this new persona. I think persona is a little more beautiful. Personal opinion only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Really like the rear light. Looks sophisticated with the inner chrome lining.

• My thoughts on the new Persona:
    -Body structure is pretty hard/durable
    -Really comfortable back and front seats (both the passenger and driver seats)
    -The speaker/audio system is phenomenal (4 speakers for Premium and Executive version and only 2 (front) for standard version) (great bass, clear sound, good mid range frequency, decent sound stage)
    -The space between the back seat and the front seats is a little cramp but it’s still roomy
    -Beautiful design especially up close (tires doesn’t feel small when you view it up close)
    -Roomy rear boot
    -Hard plastic dashboard but beautiful design (kinda like Proton Iriz).

P/s: I just visited the nearest Proton Showroom at KK, Sabah. I haven’t test drive it tho.)

• I have visited the nearest Proton Showroom at KK, Sabah and got inside the car. One thing I like about this car is the sound system (speakers) are phenomenal. It has great bass, good clear mid range frequency and a decent sound stage. There are 4 speakers for the Executive and premium version and only 2 front speakers for the standard version. Music lovers will love this car in my opinion. Also, the seating are comfortable for both the passenger and driver’s seats. I haven’t test drive it tho.

• 2 years down the line this car value would be less than 30k. i would say this car will be great used car consider its safety and performance. at least many people can afford not too old good value used car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • 8sg7ls on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Honestly, they did a better job at this persona than what they did with the perdana. Much cleaner looks especially at the rear end. Only thing that is cringe-worthy is the small wheels on this car. Looks so out of proportion with the body if looked from the side. Anyway, best of luck to proton. Let’s see what the rakyat’s perception of their cars are right now

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Everyone agrees that the Perdana was a bad attempt. They signed a bad contract with another car maker (again, as usual) that didn’t allow them to add features like ESC to the 2.0 Perdana. Not even Proton supporters can vouch for that car. The only good thing about the new Perdana is the looks but that is subjective. I think they fixed the fake exhaust issue by painting it chrome so from a far it looks like real exhaust pipes? Hmm..

• lazada on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:17 am

Perdana interior failed!!!!! Overall Persona is more value for money…..

• The only gud thing on Perdana2 is… P1 din have to spend too much development money on it and din count on it for its revival.

• lazada on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:19 am

Arm rest, projector led headlamps, led rear lights then perfect!!!!

• lazada on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:23 am

Rear air blower or air con if possible…. H city got it….. Must spec better than all B segments

• The Bezza is using a 4-speed auto, not CVT. And despite Perodua’s claim of improved build quality, there are still inconsistencies. Some cars are trouble free, while some are plagued with dashboard rattles and uneven panel gaps.

• Casmen on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:40 pm

I came here just to read comments…
    Popcorn please….

• John L on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Their tagline should be, “It’s not a Boxza!”

• Come on guys. How can you not love the design over the bezza? Look at it, especially with the sportkit one, absolute beauty!

• tokmoh. on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Need 185/60/R15 or 65 profile to reduce kecik tyre look. May even make it more fuel efficient and comfy.

• Mohamad Khairin on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Wow so good. Rush to get one. Wonder if done this work 10 years back. Weldone proton. Right track .

• No kiasu in Proton fans on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Nice…. Bezza better….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • GTR36 on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Looks handsome, but dislike the punch CVT grearbox.

• back seat non adjustable head rest? isnt that a safety thing we need?

• lewis on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:30 pm

If you guys think this is ugly, then give me the privilege of saying that the Almera is hideous, the current vios has a fat ass, the current city is cheapo, and the Bezza is boring. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Caleb Kan on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:58 am

I agree. Many cars look a lot uglier than the new Persona but seem to get a pass. While not being a wholly original clean slate design, I think they added touches here and there that look really original.

• Sometimes, it is just so hard for people to ackkowledge proton. Because today, bashing on proton is just the coolest thing to do. But most of them are just wannabes, or people who are so deep in debt for buying japs just so that they can be with the cool kids. So bashing proton is a great way to let off some steam.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:35 am

This!! All the B segment cars u just mentioned have truly hideous designs. Including this car and bezza as well. I wonder what the designers smoke/drink when making them.

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:51 am

Actually, almera exterior looks better than this. Although i can’t say the same for Almera’s interior.

This Iriz hybrid is just fugly.

• Jolobak on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:12 am

I have already owned a Honda. I want to make this Proton Persona as my second car. Love the nice design and it is value for money.

• Jolobak on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:13 am

I have already owned a Honda. I want to make this Proton Persona as my second car. Love the nice design and it is value for money.

• Proton enthusiast on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:47 am

Dear proton,
    Your effort to be a global player is utterly palpable. Yes, we can see that.

Safety-top notch.
    Specs and accesories- cant ask for more.
    Engines- new ones coming in!

But design?..it’s a total letdown!
    The side profile of this new persona is undeniably disproportionate. The wheel arc in relation to the body size is really not easy to the eyes. It sores.

Chrome bar at the boot? No, please. Not to mention the black coloured body kit at the rear which adds unnescessary broken view of the car from the rear. The fascia design is not appealing. Again.

Well proton, it’s a high time for you to make changes in your design team. The all new persona is just another proof of design failure. A car with such a well equipped specs and safety is not justified by it’s looks. Look at hyundai and kia. The car sales soared up after changes in the design (the team as well of course. You know who). Sales tops europe and the states.

Change it, please.

Proton enthusiast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:47 am

You will be bashed by the hordes of Proton salesman and paid macais here for insulting Potong.

• Excellent standard safety features – good work Proton. However, it is just another horrible looking car like the Bezza. Too chunky and not streamlined enough. IMO the previous generation Persona looked better. Another thing, why use a 1.6 litre engine just to get 107 HP (torque is OK though)? A smaller engine may have given it almost the same power but better fuel economy.

• sulaiman zainudin on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:24 am

Congratulation Proton. I think its a nice car though many people are right that the wheel can be bigger. Must thank Tun Mahathir for ensuring the car is looking nice just like the Perdana.

• Blom cuba on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:58 am

Until Malaysia government make it a legal requirement to have all the safety features, it will remain as premium features for some cars or variants

• iamstig on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:12 am

Nissan Almera is more ugliest cacat car design from japanese manufacturer puihh..

• I think the big body small wheel configuration is the result of Proton trying to give consumer big space but on a smaller platform (cheap). Same goes to Almera. Nothing wrong with that unless u expect Proton to sell C seg size car with B seg price.

• ArjenRobbery on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:54 pm

My thoughts exactly, but not sure if it can be solved by changing the wheels. Need to wait for some car enthusiast to modify it and show us how it looks with bigger wheels.

• persona supporter on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Best value with top feature.. Kipidap proton.. Hopefully they’ll come with new mpv with the same platform and same prices.. toyota & perodua..bye bye

• IrizX on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Nowadays, Proton has learnt the lessons of their failure.

So they hired scores of macais to click “Like” in paultan.org to support their crappy products.

Well done Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
    • MyNama on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:23 am

Ohh ye ke.. how about the so looong longg time hired MACAIs just to dislike and spread out hatreds, slanders to PROTON?

just go inside the public toilet..and mirror ur own face inside the toilet bowl… tadaa…!! see la ur face! SAMAA maaah!

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:35 am

You need to pay people to dislike Proton???

That could caused all the competitors to bankrupt you know.

• It should cost below RM40000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Mee Soup on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:54 pm

This car actually makes me consider buying a car from Proton. I would buy this.

• Technology sudah basi, pelakon hanya mahu cari duit.. bukan car expert

• Muhammad Haziq Bin Zailani on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:25 pm

the only thing that i dun like is the disproportional size as it based on a hatchbk. everything else just fine.

• Car User on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Dear Proton,

First of all, after few month/year designing new car body concept, is this the best design your designer can produced for proton persona? His/her taste was very outdated and no imagination at all in term of appearance. I suggest you to fired your current designers and hired the better designer! Unfortunately, creativity now become so hard to find. Remembered, you just copied Honda. Now new design is so disappointing us. What is your designer actually doing? First thing customers will want to find out what is the appearance instead of the features. You failed to win customers at the first stage and dont expect they care what features that you have. Yes, appearance is the top priority after the safety concern. Its like you have a big body with 4 cute little legs seriously?? grr. One more thing, if you want malaysian to buy your car or to support your sale, pls, REDUCE THE PRICE !

Regards,
    Car user

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Steven on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:52 pm

I went to showroom just now. The dual tone interior is standard across all variants. If there is an option for all black that would be good.

• MyNama on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:29 am

brief review at Paultan.blog (when PROTON entries popped up)

PROTON haters now cannot cari makan maah..payment as MACAIs here seem not so worth anymore for their lord of MACAIs to pay them as many years back. when PREVE launching time.. they could made it.. sent out their macais to sabotage at the showroom floor!

But today..they can’t accept world has changed, PROTON also moving better, supporters are coming more and more.. just to psychologically counter measure these situation.. simply said all good comments on Proton were paid/ hired as them.. the fu*king anti-Proton rba macais-chauvinist! why because they scared of their own shadows!!

• Oh dear. Persona non grata

• buyporton on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:49 pm

clever perodua, launch bezaa before this, more than half of their potential buyers already took their bezza, shameful and stupid strategy by proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • toobad on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:09 am

sorry to say that if this is not A PROTON car I would consider to buy it. If they change the badge to toyota, this car will conquer the b segment sedan market in malaysia….too bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • IrizX on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Yep. The Proton name so busuk and stale. You give Ferrari for 40k also people won’t buy.

Just Lingkup Proton, sell to Perodua or Honda or Toyota.

Instant sales +1000%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • funny malaysian on Aug 27, 2016 at 1:12 am

why many of you guys so concern about proton
    sales as if you are the shareholder etc? You want to buy car or do sales analysis? I don’t give a s**t whether proton will make more sales or not.Just go for test drive lah to see whether its a piece of crap or not.

• ArjenRobbery on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Honestly I thought the old Persona looks more original. But the fact is those who are very concerned with looks are such a small portion of the market. Otherwise, we would have seen more Mazda2s than Vios on the road now. If this car was made by Toyota, everybody would buy it and say it is good. The brand trust issue means Proton will always face uphill battle and a lot of criticism even when they are only trying to follow what the Japanese are doing. The only way is to make calculated gamble on something original that will standout from the rest, like being the first to introduce hybrid or cruise control for this low budget segment or something like that.

• Err.. old persona looks more original? copy from gen2 oso can consider original?

• Ciku UiTM on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:13 am

When Bezza came out I thought it looks ugly, like a shoe box. But when I saw this, it was like a metal dugong, utterly horrendous… I bet the designers must have graduated from UiTM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
  • Ir Dino on Sep 04, 2016 at 9:39 pm

I opted for Proton only on the basis of Lotus driving. It is very fun to drive Proton cars previously. However, when they started to introduce CVT gearbox, the fun is lost. There are still many out there who do not like CVT gearbox. Can Proton give option to customers, CVT or conventional? MyVi is using conventional, look at its sales. When using CVT, people afraid to press hard and afraid of costly repair. Waja sales ok, old Persona sales ok, Preve CVT sales not ok, Iriz CVT sales not ok. Don’t Proton see this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • oledi test drive this new persona, the drive i must say that it is at par with vios if not better. this is really impressive. all the best proton.

• Syukur Alhamdulilah on Sep 14, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Nice Job Proton! I’m still proud of you rather than rebadging PERODUA. At least 100% RnD, Design, Engine from our beloved Malaysian! Not like PERODUA tak pernah keluar their own chasis even engine even a shame on you! You are more than 15 years in the industry but still the same! Whatever people talk about you they are racist believe me! Last word, PERODUA ada pernah dalam F1 team ke? At least last pun….but PROTON pernah juga ada nama oiiii.takyah cite banyak.dah shuuuuuuu…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • this car makes the bezza looks like tin kosong..well done proton

• Mana Bolih on Sep 16, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Very important question/comment LEFT out:-
    Is it BETTER to buy a Belt Timing or a Chain Timing Driven Car?!… read up folks elsewhere:- Belt Timing Driven Car Versus Chain Timing Driven Car!

• Pokok/Kelapa Tua on Sep 16, 2016 at 11:17 pm

The Battle Of The Century:-
    Proton’s New Persona 1.6 L with 6 Air Bags, Belt-Timing Driven, priced at RM 59,350.00
    versus
    Perodua’s Bezza 1.3 Advance with only 2 Air Bags, ‘Regenerative’ Stop Start at Stop-Look-Gos, Chain-Timing Driven, priced at RM 50,800.00
    WHO will win

• Kepala H'otak on Sep 16, 2016 at 11:39 pm

‘Battle Of The Century’:-
    Proton’s New Persona ‘Highest Trim’ 1.6L provided with 6 Air Bags, Belt -Timing Driven priced at RM 59,350.00
    versus
    Perodua’s Bezza 1.3L Advance with 2 Air Bags, with ‘Regenerative’ Stop/Start, Chain Timing Driven, Priced at RM 50,800.00??!!

WHO will win??!!

• Think lah Carefully/Wisely! on Sep 18, 2016 at 1:35 pm

WHO in his/her RIGHT mind want to pay so much for a STUBBY pontot boot??!!

• Otak Chain-Drivern on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Lol…Is it WORTH buying a Belt-Driven vehicle when one tends to 4get to change it at specified time??!!

• Gujimiao on Sep 24, 2016 at 7:46 pm

i’ve owned a Satria Neo manual for 8 years, no problem so far. I consider buying this premium version due to increased size need in my family

• peminat kete tempatan on Sep 30, 2016 at 1:54 am

2×5 ngn bezza..kan bgs klau lebar skit..rupe da cantik..tp skali tgk atas jalan..mcm bdn saiz xl tp pkai baju saiz s..lg cantik persona lame..kan bgs pkai spec body lame..pastu upgrade facelift ngn tech jek..

• ayoyo on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:53 am

ayoyo bang… pakai body lama mmg x dpt lah 5 star safety rating tu bang. abang kene lebih byk membaca pasal dunia otomatif ni bang. kereta bukan setakat enjin saja, chassis tu pun ya jugak.

• OneDeen on May 13, 2017 at 12:10 am

old persona 3 star crash test only, same as waja. new persona based on iriz, new chasis which can support esc as well. if reuse old persona chasis i wonder they can fit esc or not, because esc not easily plug n play with all chasis. like last time heard perodua model only bezza / axia can fit esc. alza -no, myvi -no

• selipar on Jan 29, 2017 at 2:49 pm

I laugh everytime i stop behind bezza… Who would buy a soap box design :p

• Tang YM on Feb 12, 2018 at 11:50 pm

my persona premium registered July 2017, after 3 months noticed the steering surface is wearing off (getting smooth), lightly chance this batch hv issue of quality….guys better check….for info am waiting for replacement. ..