VIP number plates up for tender until September 30

image1

We’ve previously reported on the Pahang Tourism and Cultural Council’s application to auction the special vehicle registration series VIP 1 to VIP 9999 being approved by the transport ministry.

Now, tenders for the the number plate series – which have generated significant interest, with cosmetics entrepreneur Datuk Seri Hasmiza Othman, better known as Datuk Vida being among those interested in a plate – have officially been opened.

Unlike the “F” and “V” number plates, the auctions of which were handled by the Road Transport Department (JPJ), bidding for the “VIP” plates – which commemorate Visit Pahang Year 2017 – has been entrusted to the organisation itself via a company called Digital Tourism. Bids can be placed at a counter in Anggerik Mall in Shah Alam, open from 9 am to 6 pm, and applications close on September 30.

rr vip plate

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi told The Sun that the VIP plate series is similar in nature to other such vanity vehicle registration plates such as Patriot, G1M (Gagasan 1Malaysia), 1M4U (1Malaysia For Youth), Perfect and the recent NAAM (New Affirmative Action Movement), with proceeds going to NGOs.

“This is similar to G1M, with sales proceeds from the number plates used to support the Kelab Explorasi 7 Benua Malaysia expeditions to Mount Everest, and 1M4U for the 1Malaysia for Youth movement,” he explained.

So far, the “PATRIOT 1” number plate is the most expensive to be sold in Malaysia, fetching RM1.308 million to an undisclosed bidder. The costliest standard series number plate so far is the recently issued “F1”, which went to Sultan Ibrahim Ismail of Johor for RM836,660, topping the RM748,000 he paid for “W1N.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• old horse on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:00 pm

donate the $$ to the poor, charity, or some start up that create real productivity to the country in fact..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Easy money for cronies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Insaf John
      What about “SYIOK 1” NUMBER PLATE?
      My Rolls Royce buyers can easily fork out 1 million Rm and above to outbid the poor Proton fanboys.

• MR RIGHT on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Camna tu…. asyik jual no plate aje…. gov dah tak ada duit ka?

• hailthepurist on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:11 pm

very inappropriate practice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • PlastikMan on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:22 pm

How much MOF1 will cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 5:39 pm

and all of this coming from a certain state…just saying…

• Henry on Aug 30, 2016 at 6:56 pm

This is getting to be ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • This is the power of belief. Convince enough people that it’s desirable. it becomes expensive. Diamonds come to mind?

• Jimmy on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:44 pm

Make sure you are really VIP; otherwise shameful lah.

I am always proud of myself; I don’t have to be a VIP, Datuk etc; I pay 100% income tax, I run business properly–no cheating etc bullshitting stuffs, I behave reasonably, I don’t want to sleep with my pretty young female personal assistant, I know black/white/grey, and I started from zero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • TheDean on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:49 am

This reflects poorly on the rich Malaysians. Spending a lot of money just to have a VIP plate adorned on their cars. So pretentious, immature and insecure bunch. And these are supposed to be the ‘success’ of the local communities?

• Oscar lee on Oct 01, 2022 at 12:44 pm

Is this can be used on normal malaysian?or only for those who related to politician