VIP number plate series approved, on sale in 2017

rr vip plate

Want to show the world how important you are, and have your vehicle registration plate reflect that? Well, good news for you then, as a new VIP vehicle rego set is due to be available next year, The Sun reports.

The report indicates that Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai has approved an application by the Pahang Tourism and Cultural Council to auction the special vehicle registration numbers VIP 1 to VIP 9999, in conjunction with Visit Pahang Year 2017.

The Pahang government will have to pay RM1 million to the Road Transport Department (JPJ) for the right to sell these vehicle registration numbers, according to a dispatch issued by the JPJ on the subject.

While Liow could not be reached for comment, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi told the publication that the VIP plate series is similar in nature to other such vanity vehicle registration plates such as Patriot, G1M (Gagasan 1Malaysia), 1M4U (1Malaysia For Youth) and Perfect, with profit from sales going to NGOs.

“This is similar to G1M with sales proceeds from the number plates used to support the Kelab Explorasi 7 Benua Malaysia expeditions to Mount Everest, and 1M4U for the 1Malaysia for Youth movement,” he explained.

The report asks the question as to why the ministry – or JPJ – has allocated the rego set to an organisation instead of tendering the VIP series itself to make money for the government coffers. As always, share your thoughts on the subject with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gumbal on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:53 am

Ministry of Transport really knows how to make money…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
    • hailthepurist on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:47 pm

desperado..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Black Dog on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:08 pm

The VIP 1 plate will already cover the 1 million for JPJ, the rest all profits!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • Same L00 on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:13 pm

When I saw VIP number plate on a new Perdana on the road, i will laugh till next morning. That is Sendiri Syok to the max!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • donno on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:10 pm

A VIP plate on a Honda ex5 is way more hilarious. By the way those pahang connections now has 2 special number plates for them. The SAS (the initial of the ruler) and now VIP?

• Sam VHL Loo on Jun 21, 2016 at 6:54 pm

When I saw VIP number plate on a new Myvi 1.5 Advanced Sohai Edition or new Vios Tolol Retard Dumb Sportivo, both with ‘Lexus’ emblem on the road, i will laugh till next morning. That is Sendiri Syok to the max!!

• Tokok on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Why laugh ? At Perdana or EX5… it only shows the owner is so well off and has little regards to what others think … but it does prove how shallow you both are..standing by the road laughing like vagrants. . . Sometimes think before barking … it may avoid embarrassment on yourselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:21 pm

It is okey if JPJ wants to make profits but the problem is, a few corrupted individuals will makan the money.

I don’t mind if the money collected goes to the Government to build more schools and hospitals but unfortunately, we know, the money will go into one or two pockets.

The whole of Malaysia know that JPJ is the most corrupted organisation. Everything is money there. Do you think they will remit the money to the Government? Of course not, they will sapu it for themselves ie the few elite corrupt ones.

If PDRM was given RM12 million to pay ransom but the kidnappers only got RM8.8 million, rest assured, our JPJ is worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Boring Samy on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Why the kunta and samy not here to give copy and paste political comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:15 pm

I am here bro. Please go back to sleep. That is your culture. If MAS Union can say it is alright to sleep on the job, you are now permitted to go back to sleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…no $$$, so need find ways to cari makan lah…I think slowly will have Fancy plate like Fxxx, Sxxx, VVIP, John , Ali ….lol

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:54 am

Hmm ways of getting money is getting more sophisticated. You mau contract ar? You buy my number plate for RM1m la

• GTR 2.0 on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Hahaha… I thought V for KL.

• spongewai on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:11 pm

what about PM number plate?! Will it goes on sale as well too?!

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:17 pm

$$$$$$

• Better tag’em when born,like caste system.

• VIP anyone..
    How about RIP…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Katy Berry on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Don’t forget VVIP, MVP, 1MDB and NAJ1B !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Moving Forward on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Regardless of everything, it’s all about, money, money, money.

• JB_KIA on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Law of supply and demand is still applied. When there are too many fancy numbers are available, people would not want to pay much. Back to square one….

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:50 pm

“Small Minds”.

• lets add the following to the fancy number plates;
    DATO 1-9999
    DATO SERI 1-9999
    TAN SRI – 1-9999
    TUN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Bijan sell the country on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:15 pm

they sell whatever they can sell now. sighhh…

• kereta_lembu on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:15 pm

To be honest, I don’t care who buys these special number plates or how much they spend on them. What I’m more concerned about is how the money collected is used. We are talking about millions of ringgit that will be raised through these number plates. If the money can somehow be channeled back to the rakyat, that would be awesome but more often than not, we can’t see where the money goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • AdamR on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Would be nice to know where these millions go to?? :P

• So much for not having the letter “I” on numberplates

• thats the thing I am interested to clarify.
      Is it Vip or V1P..??
      We did have the first “i” in “Patriot” thou.

• Tax the rich kau-kau so can still syukurrrr.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Frankly I don’t give a shit. But if the money generated are to be used for good causes, then why not.
    I doubt that any of the number plate bidders are bidding with charity in mind though… :) kidding.

• wahedenator on Jun 21, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Wondering how other counties’s policy on number-plate

Never saw unique Singaporean plate-number, all of them 8 figures (SGD 1234 X)

And yet JPJ says our WC 1234 A is too long, and start making new aphabet, V, F, and now VIP.
    Not to forget PATRIOT, 1M4U, G1M, etc

Something wrong here and there.
    Should be corruption, I believe 99% is true.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Douchebags rejoice!

• EM DEE BIE on Jun 22, 2016 at 6:46 am

there’re debts need to be settle a.s.ap

• AllAboutMuka on Jun 22, 2016 at 8:40 am

It’s all about “muka”. Those rich Malaysians love to show off “muka” too much!

• Duit rakyat on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:13 am

ai yoh…macam macam in boleh land– all they want is your $$
    Becareful guys….

• Henry on Jun 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

If the JPJ were to auction this series themselves they will definitely more the the one million. What kind of a deal is this?

• When does the tender start?

• AndyChan on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Vip 5557