Budget 2017: PM Najib Razak announces RM29 million allocation to upgrade Federal Highway motorcycle lane

The dangers of the Federal Highway bike lane

A stern warning was issued by the police that all motorcyclists must use the dedicated motorcycle lane along the Federal highway.

Bikers claim that the motorcycle lanes are unsafe to use – the lanes, specifically the tunnels, were poorly lit, and prone to flooding.

We decided to see if there was any truth to these claims. You won’t believe what we discovered…

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Tuesday, 28 June 2016

During the announcement of the Malaysian Budget 2017 (Bajet 2017), prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced that RM29 million will be allocated to upgrading the motorcycle lane on the Federal Highway.

This includes enhancing the drainage system (to prevent flooding), as well as building two overhead ramps, as part of efforts to make it safer for motorcyclists who use the route. However, he did not disclose when the works will start and by when it is expected to be completed.

As we revealed in our feature story, the Federal Highway motorcycle lane can be quite dangerous for those who use it, with poorly maintained roads, lack of proper signage, construction works, and poorly lit tunnels.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dear PM, repeat after me. More expensive cars and motors, cheaper public transports. Now say it on TV this instant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Only 29 million? Are you serious. Millions of moto guys risk their lives everyday and you give ONLY 29 million?

But park you allocate RM650 million and your tallest tower PNB says cost RM7 billion.

But poor motocyclist only get RM29 million?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Nizzan on Oct 21, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Don’t happy to fast. This could end up only 20% channel to project, 80% inside the minister pocket.

• Kunta the thumb thumb kid on Oct 22, 2016 at 12:39 am

Wah busy thumb up again. No life.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Jib spends RM500 million for a brand new plane despite having 4 good planes in the hangar.

Jib spends another RM30 million to put softer Alacantra leather to sit on.

Jib’s wife rents a plane for RM98 million just to fly to and fro Turkey.

And Government gives RM29 million for the safety of our poor bikers????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Yes. KTM Komuter & ERL now offer a 20% discount.

Dan seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga 2017.

• Kan dah cakap tak mau harga lebih murah! Mau lebih mahal supaya kurang keta & moto kat jalan! Semua duit lebih kasi up public transport!

Itu pun ni orang tak tau buat!

• Rusty33 on Oct 22, 2016 at 3:17 am

I actually appreciate the fact that the government is looking into enhancing the motorcycle lane in Federal Highway, thumbs up and good job on this!

But aside to that, I would also like to take this opportunity to request for paultan.org to actually cover another route for motorcyclist, from Rawang to Selayang and towards Dataran Merdeka. This time around, I believe there isn’t any motorcycle lane.

I am not sure if there are any proposals or on going plans to build one, but I sincerely hope that our government will look into this for our motorcyclist.

The amount of users are significant (both cars and motorcycles) using the same road and its quite dangerous for the motorcyclist, especially with cars cutting in and out during morning rush hours.

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Oct 22, 2016 at 10:21 am

the budget announcement is fully of hot air only…..
    As expected.

more worthwhile watching paint dry on the wall.

• Gerard Lye,
    you are famous for wrong numbers…as for Passat B8 PS & Nm…and still is wrong.

• Bernard on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:46 pm

So what if the lanes are upgraded? Will the Rempits use it?