Riding gloves mandatory in France from 2017 onwards

dsc09189

Reports from the previous month stated that EC-approved riding gloves will be mandatory for motorcyclists in France from 2017. This is in an effort to stem hand injuries resulting from motorcycling accidents, where abrasion and impact damage saw riders sustaining what were deemed to be preventable injuries.

“Yes, it will be mandatory from 2017 that all riders in France will have to wear not just the EC-approved helmet, but also the gloves while riding,” said Jean-Marc Autheman, export and racing manager for French riding gear manufacturer Furygan.

Currently all riders sitting for a motorcycle licence test in France are required to wear a helmet, jacket, gloves and shoes – all with EC-standard markings. Autheman said that a concerted effort is being made to have moped and scooter riders – predominantly comprising of younger riders – treat wearing proper gloves while riding as second nature.

It is hoped that this will translate into young riders wearing proper gear as they grow up and migrate to bigger and faster machines. “When I ride my motorcycle, I feel very strange if I am not wearing proper riding gear, especially my gloves,” said Autheman.

“I feel like there is something missing,” he said. “Furygan makes EC-approved gloves from the top-level for racing use, to riders who want a value-for-money glove for street riding,” continued Autheman, “with a range of styles and colours.” Prices for Furygan gloves in Malaysia range from RM250 to RM650.

According to Autheman, what is important is that riders realise riding without gloves may cause injuries that can be life-changing, in the event of a fall. “A small injury to your hands, if you fall, can mean that you cannot work for maybe one or two weeks. This can be a loss of income which could be prevented if proper gloves are worn,” Autheman said.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• krejin on Oct 27, 2016 at 5:31 pm

put as mandatory also here, we have to make France as example.

• France oso upcar uber car. So shud we followings as example?

• Take care of your country instead of speaking of things that you know shit about…

• krejin on Oct 28, 2016 at 8:45 am

as long as can put “benefit” to the government.

• Gloves r mandatory, crash pads r not. Viva le France!

• Because those two are the MINIMUM safety equipments that are mandatory and apply to ALL motorbike. My question: when you ride a 50cc motorbike in France(really slow bike), do you think we should force you to wear full gear? But as a develop and civilized country most of the biker with big cc bike are wearing full gear, not like those kampung bikers that you see in Malaysia wearing a simple shirt and speeding like crazy. Also for your education: “Viva” is a Spanish word and you say “la” France and not “le” France. Hope that an ounce of education will not make your brain melt too much.

• sub_zero on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:27 am

your so arrogant when commenting about the “vive” part

when both are romance language and “vive” are just as culture significant word in france as do in spain

and 50cc in those region aren’t slow

since it’s 2 stroke carb, it can pass 125cc 4 stroke with ease

• taxla labudada on Oct 27, 2016 at 5:45 pm

In malaysia riders wear jacket terbalik. Many foreneir smile. Adidas nike naza etc can design new style jacket terbalik for malaysia mtorist.

• sub_zero on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:16 am

you don’t know what the purpose they doing it don’t you?

while what they did is reasonable in my view, better to have it wear properly and get better jacket with pad

• Riding gloves should be mandatory everywhere. A decent branded pair of armored leather gloves cost 250-500 and it will definitely be worth it doesn’t matter if you’re riding a kapchai or superbike.

• erwinkarim on Oct 27, 2016 at 6:30 pm

should educate people here about wearing protective clothing during riding. until you see the effects of people falling from a high speed bike, and got their skin burned and sand off until the fatty/boney part, a lot of people won’t understand the importance of protective gear…

• armandd on Oct 27, 2016 at 7:01 pm

I’ve read somewhere in the event of a high speed bike accident, falling of the bike and scraping the road will shave 1mm of body tissue for every 1 meter distance travelled while sliding on the road.

• crash on Oct 27, 2016 at 7:36 pm

I agree. Riding gloves should be made mandatory just as wearing helmets. Besides that, it should not be taxed at all to ensure all motorcyclist can afford it.

• Painter on Oct 27, 2016 at 9:49 pm

In developed countries, government impose one thing, everyone just follow.

Not sure whether to praise or criticize.

• Kunta kinte on Oct 28, 2016 at 9:03 am

No dont impose the rules here, let those rempit suffer, bikes are the major accident contribution, they are lawless and not clever enough.

If Pakatan win the next election, for sure i will propose to raised up the motorcycle tax for this lawless community, we pakatan care for the peace loving citizen.
    summore, this is the way the gov suck rakyats hard earn money, u dont wear glove, got saman, see how it goes?.

We at pakatan knows how to solve the prob, – eliminate the root cause – banned those pesky lawless rempit on road, be it kapchai or those arrogant big bikes.
    simple maa

• I presume there is 0% non-bike accident, 100% motorist beside bikers are so clever in My by reading you comment. Total BS.

• Mikey on Oct 28, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Agree with the writer that gloves are important for bike riders. The only setback is the price. At RM250 to RM 650 how many of these bikers can afford ??!

My suggestion is buy a pair of cheaper glove made of synthetic leather from your neighbor hardware shop that cost only RM15. That way, most if not all can afford to wear & save your hands from scars.

• Mr. DIY customer on Oct 29, 2016 at 12:28 am

There are some cheaper choice(riding glove from RM30 TO 50), can buy from Mr. DIY. Although those are not so good but better than nothing IMO.