2017 Yamaha NVX/Aerox ASEAN launch at Sepang

2017-yamaha-nvx-24

In conjunction with the Malaysian MotoGP, and graced by Valentino Rossi, Yamaha held the ASEAN launch of the 2017 Yamaha NVX, which will also be named “Aerox” for some markets. Based on the same model family as the 2016 Yamaha NMax, the NVX is not a replacement, but is instead part of a range of scooters under-pinned by Yamaha’s 155 cc Blue Core engine.

Using the same liquid-cooled, SOHC four-valve single with Variable Valve Actuation (VVA) as the NMax, the engine is rated at 14.8 hp at 8,000 rpm and torque is claimed at 14.4 Nm at 6,000 rpm. Driving a CVT gearbox, the NVX features bulkier styling than the NMax, notably in the fairing.

Rolling on 14-inch wheels, the NVX cuts a very aggressive stance, helped by the faired-in turn signals and curvy profile of the bodywork. A 25-litre storage compartment is found under the seat, and there is a small glove box on the right side of the dashboard for miscellaneous items.

A key feature of the 2017 NVX is the keyless start system, which lets the rider get-on-and-go, without having to fish around in pocket for the keys. The NVX also has engine start-stop, which will cut down on emissions and noise, somewhat.

The instrument panel is an LCD affair, which displays key information on a clear, legible screen. Fuel is carried under the floorboard in a 4.5-litre tank.

2017-yamaha-nvx-11

First launch of the Yamaha NVX – where it will be known as the Aerox – is in Thailand and Vietnam this December, while Indonesia will see the official launch of the NVX in January 2017. This will be followed by launches in other ASEAN markets, including Malaysia.

As for pricing, Yamaha was mum on the issue, saying only that the NVX will be competitively priced to suit each market, with an estimated production of 300,000 units per year, region-wide. The 2016 Yamaha NMax is priced at RM8,812, including GST, excluding insurance and road tax.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ootai on Oct 29, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Budget extra cash for maintenance when using skutercai. The belt, bearings, etc cost and worn more than the kapcai chains, etc.

• Soontobe NVX owner on Oct 30, 2016 at 1:30 am

I own a yamaha ego for abt 4 yr plus now..no problem with anything..now only im hvg prob with the pulley (after 4yrs+)..i hv to change one whole set with a new belt..takpe..puas hati..i hentam the bike kaw2 already..Scooters are well made n much2 more durable now especially by yamaha..

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2016 at 9:31 am

if you travel 25km a day it is equivalent to 600km a month (working days) or 7,200km in a year. if you travel 100km a day (example live and work in seremban/KL) you will be doing about 29,000km a year. or 60k in 2 years. and this is why your scooter can last longer. it is not about saying yamaha is better or modenas is worse.

• “The NVX also has engine start-stop, which will cut down on emissions and noise, somewhat.”

Err start stop should help in reducing emissions & fuel consumption. Not noise. It’s a scooter remember, not an harley. Where got noise …

• Hafeezul Ahmad Bin Roslee on Oct 30, 2016 at 9:54 am

I guess you never ride a single kapcai scooter, the CVT and Engine noise demn bising !
      At least there an effort to reduce noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Sorry i have a scooter. Cheap one. Mz scorpion 125. Where got bising? Senyap je.

• Scooters dun look like scooters anymore

• Paijo on Oct 29, 2016 at 10:08 pm

How to subscribe this website?

• Soontobe NVX owner on Oct 30, 2016 at 1:36 am

NVX and Aerox are two different bike..Aerox is smaller with a 125cc..NVX i think its much alike to Force 155..

• The side picture clearly stated the Aerox is 155cc

• Soontobe NVX owner on Oct 30, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Betul..betul..u r right..i just pelik..because aerox tht i saw on youtube is a 125cc and very different from this one..

• Rear still drum brake. Honda cup already got disk brakes. Dear yamaha What year is it?

• Nmax owner on Oct 30, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Nmax has rear disc brake, why nvx dun have?

• alldisc on Oct 31, 2016 at 9:36 am

if a bike is light in weight, giving rear disc brake is not a good idea – unless u have ABS.

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Oct 30, 2016 at 10:49 am

Syukur nikmat our scooter is still below 10k in price…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on Oct 30, 2016 at 12:24 pm

During my riding days, the smallest bike(kapcai) is from 50-70cc. Nowadays, Scooters are the way to go & may i say in STYLE. It’s good looking & comes with much more storage space for small items & can store helmet too.

With a 155cc liquid-cooled, SOHC 4-valve with Variable Valve Actuation, this scooter have power to go with the looks. The keyless start system make me envious bcos my older Japanese car do not have one.

Yamaha is smart to use the Malaysian MotoGP to promote this bike knowing that 9 time world champion VR46 is around town to give it a Thumbs up. Viva Rossi.

• Launched In sepang but malaysia gets it later?
    ceh… shame on you Hong Leong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • GlbrtGbrl on Oct 30, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Philippines pls launch this NVX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Michelin on Oct 31, 2016 at 1:07 am

Harga sure dekat2 harga PCX.. YAngMAHAl

• henry on Oct 31, 2016 at 10:07 am

Anyway, it looks good!

• Saitam on Oct 31, 2016 at 2:46 pm

While it looks nice, I would prefer the NMAX as it has 2 foot rest positions.

But if this one comes with ABS and softer suspension, I would take this.

• Anthony on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:36 am

i want NVX and Nmax both

• Lugina seguira on Feb 05, 2017 at 7:27 pm

How about here in the philippines when it will be launch ?

• NVX Lover on Feb 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm

So, when will Malaysia gonna have NVX? Cant wait any longer..

• michelin on Feb 28, 2017 at 5:26 pm

For the extra 5cc, how much is the road tax gonna be? Anyone knows?

• WILLY WONG on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:58 pm

I trade-in my LC135 Sports for a Yamaha Nouvo LC after riding a Yahama MIO GTX in Chiang Mai. My Nouvo LC is 5 years old and has clocked 60,000km. Changed belt twice and pulleys once. Rode it to Hatyai from Taiping and back .. day trip. No problem.
    Rented a NMax in Jogjakarta for 4 days… lots of power and pickup but stiff rear suspension. Still it’s awesome..
    Time to retire my Nouvo LC and hopefully get NVX or NMax.. one fine day.

• willy550428 on Mar 03, 2017 at 12:09 am

I traded-in my LC135 Sports for a Yamaha Nouvo LC after riding a Yahama MIO GTX in Chiang Mai. My Nouvo LC is 5 years old and has clocked 60,000km. Changed belt twice and pulleys once. Rode it to Hatyai from Taiping and back .. day trip. No problem.
    Rented a NMax in Jogjakarta for 4 days… lots of power and pickup but stiff rear suspension. Still it’s awesome..
    Time to retire my Nouvo LC and hopefully get NVX or NMax.. one fine day.

• Halim on Mar 09, 2017 at 1:34 pm

When the 155 scooter arriving in Malaysia thats all.

• Budak Muo on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:31 am

Still waiting for this scooter NVX 155 when will be launch in Malaysia???Hopefully this year 2017

• vraiment 155 c bien mais j’aime pas le dessine c’est comme un robot et déjà nous voir cette style dans le moto stunt donc mieux de aerox reste dans le style ancien comme aerox 2010-2013

• JomMakanDurian on Jun 09, 2017 at 1:17 am

Bla bla bla bla..till now not on market yet…honda also same lah….

• kaung htet on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:31 pm

When will got to Burmese , and how much will be the price Aerox 155 Cc.

• I went to book 1 today, was told yamaha only give ONE keyless remote.. seriously?? Big trouble & hassle when u lose that one… seriously yamaha…?

• Per Reinhold on Oct 24, 2017 at 12:48 pm

I need a manual in English.. can i have a link ?