2016 Yamaha NMax M’sian price confirmed – RM8,812

Hong Leong Yamaha has confirmed the price of the 2016 Yamaha NMax scooter as RM8,812. This 155 cc liquid-cooled, SOHC four-valve single with Variable Valve Actuation (VVA) scooter, running through a CVT gearbox with belt final drive, was launched in Genting Highlands last January.

Designed as Yamaha’s “global scooter model”, and using Yamaha’s “Bluecore” engine, this scooter is targetted at the young, urban market. The NMax’s engine is good for 14.8 hp and torque is claimed at 14.4 Nm at 6,000 rpm. ABS will not be included on the CKD NMax, but braking will still be with 230 mm diameter discs front and rear. Fuel injection will ensure optimum power and peak fuel efficiency.

The official price of the 2016 Yamaha NMax is RM8,812 after GST, without road tax and insurance, and will be available after April 2016. This places it well under its class competitor, the Honda PCX 150, which retails for RM11,990.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• urban rider on Mar 08, 2016 at 4:37 pm

A lot cheaper than PCX150. I’m sure people will opt for this scoot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • taboogen on Mar 08, 2016 at 4:53 pm

what makes manufacturer feel abs is not important in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Shaekey on Mar 08, 2016 at 6:03 pm

It’s all about cost which translates to the final price of the product. Even cars take awhile to have ABS here. Heck, there’s probably some low end models that are not equip with ABS as standard still (I’m not 100% sure and too lazy to verify).

Anyway, for motorcycle it adds about 2k for the ABS which is a big percentage of the bike price. When many riders don’t really wear helmet given the choice, then probably not many will fork out the extra 2k for the ABS. For more expensive model yes, ABS could probably sell but not likely for bikes priced less than RM10k.

• calcutta on Mar 09, 2016 at 1:57 am

ABS module does not cost RM2k on a scooter where you get your fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • pakcik on Mar 08, 2016 at 5:45 pm

They cut the ABS and still an expensive price tag? Indon mark the price at RM 7500 with ABS, and it sold like hot cakes!

This one is faster than PCX, but unfortunately, PCX is much more comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • u pernah drive ke pakcik nmax ni?how do u know nmax is comfortable or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • pakcik on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:40 am

My son have one imported from Thailand. The suspension is relatively stiffer than PCX but it’s more powerful (155cc with VVA vs 150cc without VTEC)

• Nathan on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:14 pm

You try yourself la.. nmax rear suspension macam batu je, too stiff

• Bernard on Mar 08, 2016 at 5:56 pm

If its 250cc and sold at RM15k, it will sell really well.

• Well… In my honest opinion, some parents might buy this (or PCX) for their kids’ first bike, to commute to and from school. So for me, they should’ve at least added in the option for ABS.

• Don’t buy Yamaha. They think Malaysia’s consumer is stupid.

Honda and Kawasaki provide 2 years warranty (or 20,000km) and this Yamaha only give 1 year warranty or 10,000km.

Boycott them.

• ai like on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:10 am

im interested with this bike. did survey. nmax at oversea is almost half price of pcx. looks like here, it’s cheap but not differ alot than pcx.

• James on May 13, 2016 at 9:36 pm

An owner of this NMAX?
    Please share your review here. Thanks a lot.

• Yamaha can maximize the profit by not add in ABS.

Whereas in other Asian countries yamaha must add in abs due to competition