MRT fare structure announced – rates begin from RM1

mrt-station-kwasa-damansara

Rapid Rail, which will be operating the MRT Sungai Buloh–Kajang (MRT SBK) line under the Rapid KL service brand, has announced the full MRT fare structure. The fare starts at a nominal fare of RM1 for a single stop, on a cashless structure, and RM1.10 on a cash basis, the rate being for a ride between the Pasar Seni and Merdeka stations.

The maximum fare, meanwhile, will be RM6.40 based on the cash fare structure, and RM5.50 based on the cashless fare structure, the rate covering the full 51 km distance between Sungai Buloh and Kajang, across 31 stations in the line.

As for MRT feeder bus services, the nominal fare is set at RM1 per trip. Rapid Rail said that 120 MRT feeder buses covering 26 routes will be deployed to cover all 12 MRT stations opened under Phase 1.

mrt-train-1

Phase 1 of the MRT SBK line is slated to begin operations from December 16, and will cover 12 stations between Sungai Buloh and Semantan. The remaining 19 stations – between Semantan and Kajang – will be operational next July in Phase 2 of the programme.

Rapid Rail said that during the initial stages of Phase 1, the MRT SBK line will be operating independently without integration with existing LRT and monorail lines, and as such will only be accessible through cash token or Touch n’ Go cards via the service’s automated fare collection gates. The usage of MyRapid cards – which are being used in the Rapid KL LRT, monorail and bus services – will be introduced in phases prior to the opening of Phase 2 next July.

Rapid Rail CEO Datuk Zohari Sulaiman said the fare structure has been approved by the government and is based on the nominal flag fall and cascading rates for every four to five km travelled, similar to the fare structure of LRT and monorail services.

mrt-sbk-fare-table-cash
mrt-sbk-fare-table-cashless

Click to enlarge the fare structure tables.

“Similar to the practice in the Rapid KL LRT, monorail and bus services, we will extend a 50% discount on the cash fare to senior citizens, students and people with disabilities (OKU) who travel on the MRT and the MRT feeder bus services. They can purchase red-coloured concession tokens from the Customer Service Office at each MRT station,” he said.

Zohari added that senior citizens, students and OKU only need to show their NRIC, student card (if not in uniform) or OKU card when boarding the MRT feeder buses to enjoy the 50% discount. Meanwhile, children below seven travel on the MRT for free. The full fare structure will also be displayed at all MRT stations for commuters’ reference.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mark Cheng on Nov 15, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Kutak kotak on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:20 pm

Our ex proton operator yet to come here to shoot proton for such a high fare

• Got ticket for the same station, charging RM0.80

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 16, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Will the Government be able to also give RM1 cheap fares for the ECRL? After estimating RM55 billion cost (final cost will be RM100 billion), can they recoup the cost with ticket sales?

Some say it has to be few hundred ringgit per ticket to KL if ECRL is to recoup cost.

East Coast people are already poor. How are they going to afford to buy ECRL tickets?

• ECRL not even start, you complaint the tickets will be expensive.

• syamness on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:53 pm

name me one rail operating company that can recoup costs purely from ticket sales in this world. i guarantee you there are only a handful, if any, and most likely they are very special cases and not sustainable. That’s not how the business model works. The money is made through shop rentals/station related revenue. And even this would be minimal, just to keep it running. Ticket prices is just used to control ridership

• Kudos! Now thats what I meant! Gov is finally listening to me, and make public transport cheap to travel. Now all they need is to have frequent user promo & diskauns.

Oso make private transport more expensive to use via ERP to CBD, congestion tax to Wilayah num plates, compounding incremental long time parking charges, and other measures to strongly discourage pipu driving into CBD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 34
    • Who compel listen to you, Jamal? we glad if able to operate consist of quality and punctuality.

• Cuz i gip constructive criticism and ideas, deswai they listen to me. Meanwhile u zombie bash bash bash, deswai they dun gip F about what u say.

See the difference? Geddit?

• Ah Kow on Nov 16, 2016 at 8:09 am

Fix the bus efficiency first.
      And also for the sake of Mother Earth, demolish all current Metrobus that release black smog.

• BreakDown on Nov 16, 2016 at 8:32 am

Cheap Things Never Good, Good Things Never Cheap …

• winter on Nov 15, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Very good rate vs other transport mediums, at last something good for rakyat. Hope this will gain popularity.

• travel time on Nov 15, 2016 at 11:21 pm

what is the estimate travelling time from Sg. Buloh to Kajang?

• rosmah on Nov 16, 2016 at 8:24 am

well i still we need to start new fare structure. why not charging time-based fare. i think it would encourage more people to take the mrt.

• In-before someone said fare will be expensive because cost to built is expensive. Hope that gov will ensure the contract are fair enough to gov and rakyat. Don’t be like ERL and highway, more customer paid for their service more expensive they become, gila.

• karam singh on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:58 am

can you all selfish drivers for once stop driving into bukit bintang and use this MRT instead? i am different because i have my honda ex5 and not contributing to traffic jams in anyway whatsoever.

Honda – The Power of Dream

• A little odd. Sg Buloh-Phileo Damansara RM4.00, to next station RM3.80, to future TRX also RM4.00

• it is a reducing rate system, mean the longer you travel, you will be subjected to a lower per-km price. your scenario just means that between the two stations the distance has reach a lower price bracket

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:44 am

Ticket prices are reasonable for now, but to SLOW THE PACE OF EVENTUAL UPWARD PRICING, there must be competition or even travel options.

• Great pricing from Rapid Rail. I hope they will do a better job running the MRT service compared to the LRT. Can’t wait to ride the MRT!