Proton Ertiga name confirmed for the rebadged Suzuki

The name for Proton’s new MPV, which is set to be officially launched this month, has been confirmed as the Proton Ertiga. The Ertiga is a straight rebadge of the Suzuki Ertiga MPV that’s made in Indonesia (knocked down kits are exported to Proton from there), and so is the name. This marks the first time that a Proton is not born with an original name.

The Ertiga name features in the teaser video above, which Proton has just put up. Starring Fazura, Zul Arifin, Zahirah McWilson and Aeril Zafril; the video is a continuation of the action movie-style video series produced by KRU Studios for the carmaker, as used for the Persona and Saga launches.

The front end of the Proton Ertiga is shown in full in the video, and it confirms that Proton’s new three-row MPV is based on the Suzuki Ertiga facelift that was launched in Indonesia last August. The Ertiga shares a platform with the Swift and has a 2,740 mm wheelbase (Perodua Alza 2,750 mm, Proton Exora 2,730 mm). It is powered by a 1.4 litre engine with 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque. The K14B motor is paired to a five-speed manual and four-speed auto in Indonesia, and there should be no technical changes.

Suzuki Indomobil Sales expects orders of 1,500 units per month from Proton. The company exports the Ertiga as a CBU model to the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam to the tune of 800 to 1,000 units per month, but this is its first CKD export order.

GALLERY: Suzuki Ertiga facelift at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the ad for all new persona was nice, and maybe due to the success of that ad the followed saga as well as this ertiga one feel like overdone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Naomi on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:01 pm

I have a Sienta. I have an Alza. Uhh! Ertiga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
  • Tiger on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Bhondo co Bhondo products bhondo strategies.bloody shit.took our tax payers money n doing rebadging job later defend as well this country is now joke for whole world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 60
    • Pls dun use google translate then copy pasta here. Me no understandings, u understandings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Tiger on Nov 19, 2016 at 10:11 pm

I know very well that’s y wrote here.bhondo means bloody idiot for ur info

• Colin Wong on Nov 21, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Actually such rebadging is not uncommon. Even the big boys do it. In Japan, US, Australia and many other major markets. This is done when the product is not expected to have the volume but there is a need to have a complete range.

I am quite sure as a tax payer, this is a cheaper way than to close down Proton or not to develop Proton’s own MPV without confidence of volume.

• Ben Yap on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Honda BRV is a better car and buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 36
  • Mikey on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:22 pm

For a starter, this Ertiga with its 1.4 engine & 4-speeder auto is already behind time. Need i say more !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Mickey mouse on Nov 19, 2016 at 7:55 am

If put 1.8ltr 7 speed, can you afford? Need i say more

• Better closed down Proton……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
  • Audi Faliq Ibrahim on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:09 pm

The printed paper, we can decode;

1st line – ER3 (Proton Ertiga)
    2nd line – 24112030 (24 November)
    3rd line – GPS coordinate?

• maman on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:33 pm

the coordinates :
      n5.4380 e100.3882 ,translates to a spot in butterworth …

• Det. Conan on Nov 19, 2016 at 12:10 pm

It’s the launching date and time; 24th Nov, 8.30pm

• IronConical on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Wow , stabbing own wound. So edgy!

E.R. the third – dunno if anyone notice it or not. No offense okay. Look , look!

E.conomic-R.ebadge. 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • stewiegriffin on Nov 18, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Wow.. This time they don’t even bother to re-badge the name! Excellent!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Reliable Toyota alza 1.5 selling RM 50K.

I think this 1.4 Ertiga should be prices around RM 45K to outsell the Alza.

• More importantly, hows the safety kit?

• it looks exactly like Ertiga…. i guess they just changed the rims and logo…. just for the sake to compete with Alza i guess. Proton, You can do better than this….

• objectsubject on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:19 pm

It would be much more legit if the advert is more family oriented with a sense of safety and comfort as the selling point, rather than vague action based genre, plus its a MPV after all. No doubt that Proton wants to do make some kind of a storyline begins with the Persona, Saga, Ertiga but doing a car advertisement has to relate between the object and its subject, i.e. the car and its occupants.

• ridiculous car price on Nov 18, 2016 at 4:24 pm

shameless, just like somebody the whole world knows……

• Mikey on Nov 18, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Like or dislike all U want. Ultimately, the sales will tell us if this will be a top seller. An Exora with CVT & 1.6 turbo will still sell better when they face-lift it with at least a HID/Led head lights.

• If price below Exora, it will complement it nicely for P1 to cover both segments MPV with their offerings. All they need now is rebadge Grand Vitara, then use its platform to develop own model aka Perdana2. Thats a gud stepup.

• dobolstended on Nov 18, 2016 at 6:36 pm

here we go again, hate for the sake of hating proton. you don’t even buy the damn car but you kept complaining? I swear it’s like a Malaysian thing to complain on everything and blame it on others.

• Will R3 come out with a souped up E.R3?

• Shark on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:16 pm

What a shame.

• ridiculous car price on Nov 18, 2016 at 8:36 pm

jangan selalu ciplak dan dedak. jangan jadi orang atau otak kurang upaya. erti kah?

• SAM12345 on Nov 19, 2016 at 10:47 am

Ertiga plug and play 1.6 M16a MPFI VVT (Swift Sport) 125 hp @ 6800rpm..

• Rebadge lagi on Nov 19, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Proton’s new slogan “Dare to re-badge”.

and Proton should give free decals for all protons owners…

Keep Calm
    and
    Keep Rebadging

• Bernard on Nov 20, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Copy paste and proud??

• Encik Nobody on Jul 09, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Ppl who dislike about rebadging knows nothing about how the car industry work. Chevy rebadged from Isuzu same goes to Ford rebadged Mazda. Even Merc rebadged Nissan Navara for its upcoming medium size pickup truck. Personally i like the rebadged car from Proton, most if the rebadged car quality is better and easy to maintain. Its hilarious to think that Proton and Suzuki owner seat on the table having some teh tarik yet you guys shouting to each other. Lol