Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid in Malaysia: CKD, 7 airbags, from RM100k; RM111k with AEB and Smart Cruise Control

hyundai_ioniq_hevplus-16

At long last, the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid has finally made its launch debut here at the 1 Utama Shopping Centre. The model was first shown to us in left-hand drive guise in May this year, before being put on display as a proper right-hand drive model earlier this month.

First, the headline details: two variants are up for grabs here – HEV and HEV Plus, priced at RM100,328 and RM110,828 respectively (on-the-road without insurance). The EEV-certified Ioniq Hybrid is also a locally-assembled (CKD) model, handled by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors at its Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah.

Powering both variants is a 1.6 litre Kappa GDI four-cylinder Atkinson cycle direct injection engine, which produces 105 PS at 5,700 rpm and 147 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The engine is paired with a six-speed dry dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT), as well as a permanent magnet synchronous electric motor.

hyundai_ioniq_ext-8

Said electric motor provides 32 kW (44 PS) and 170 Nm, and is powered by a 1.56 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery pack located under the rear seats, accessible via a service slot on the right side. For the curious, the regular 12 V battery is placed in the boot on the right side.

All in all, the combined system output here is 141 PS and 265 Nm, with drive being directed to the front wheels. In terms of performance, zero to 100 km/h takes 11.1 seconds, the top speed is 185 km/h, plus Hyundai claims a fuel consumption of just 3.4 l/100 km (almost 30 km/l), along with a drag coefficient of just 0.24.

The 240 V hybrid powertrain here offers two drive modes – Eco and Sport. In Eco mode, the car will automatically run in EV mode (up to 120 km/h) when there’s enough charge, and will call upon the internal combustion engine (ICE) if needed. As for Sport, both the ICE and electric motor will be in play concurrently to propel the vehicle, complete with a unique red theme for the instrument cluster (HEV Plus only).

hyundai_ioniq_ext-37

The powertrain components rest within a new dedicated platform that employs aluminium in various areas (hood, tailgate) to keep the weight down, with high strength steel to provide rigidity. The suspension setup here is made up of MacPherson struts at the front, while at the rear, you’ll find a multi-link system with dual lower arms for better ride comfort and driving dynamics.

On the exterior, the HEV variant gets a gloss black radiator grille, projector halogen headlamps, bulb-type rear combination taillights, chrome door handles and electric side mirrors, blue and/or grey highlights (depending on body colour) and LED daytime running lights are standard across the range.

The top-of-the-range HEV Plus, meanwhile, gets a chrome grille instead, additional sensors on the badge for the extended safety kit (detailed below), along with HID bi-xenon headlamps, LED positioning lamps and LED rear taillights. Both variants come with 17-inch alloy wheels shod with 225/45R17 Michelin Primacy 3 tyres (with a full size spare in the boot) and all-round disc brakes (15-inch ventilated front, 14-inch rear).

Stepping inside, you’ll find fabric seats on the HEV variant, whereas the HEV Plus adds on leather for the seats and steering wheel. Also exclusive to the HEV Plus are eight-way adjustable power driver’s seat (with two-way lumbar support), a 7.0-inch TFT-LCD digital instrument cluster, 7.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system, Qi wireless charger and electro-chromic rearview mirror.

The standard HEV makes do with a 4.2-inch TFT-LCD Supervision cluster, manual rearview mirror (day and night mode), no power driver’s seat and a smaller 5.0-inch LCD audio system. However, both variants come with keyless operation, dual-zone climate control, cruise control, rearview camera, rear air-con vents, along with blue interior accents.

Safety-wise, the Ioniq is equipped with seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), ABS, brake assist, hill-start assist and Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) as standard. Get the Plus, and it adds on blind spot detection, autonomous emergency braking system (AEB), lane keep assist and adaptive cruise control (Smart Cruise Control), all available for the first time in this price range.

Other details? There’s seven exterior body colours to choose from – Phantom black, Aurora silver, Polar white, Marina blue, Platinum silver, Phoenix orange (HEV Plus only) and Iron grey. Each Ioniq Hybrid also comes with Hyundai’s Care Plus package – a five-year or 300,000 km warranty, plus Safe Drive 24/7 roadside assist.

Those concerned about the traction battery will be glad to know that Hyundai is offering an eight-year (unlimited mileage) warranty on the traction battery, and should it need to be replaced after that, there’s a guarantee that the cost of the battery replacement will be below RM10,000.

As part of an introductory offer, Ioniq customers will also benefit from a three-year or 60,000 km free service package, three-year guaranteed automotive protection (GAP) insurance coverage and interest rate from as low as 2.28%.

You can also browse full specifications and equipment of the Hyundai Ioniq on CarBase.my.

Hyundai Ioniq HEV Plus

Hyundai Ioniq HEV

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• omegle on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:46 pm

this is unbeatable value at this price range!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Sincerity, good.
      Bukan airbags dua biji.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:38 am

Makes the civic hybrid looks bland and ridiculous. And by the way, how far can the car be driven in EV mode? Definitely not 120km. If driving at 120kmh, I doubt it can do 2km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:19 am

So shocking Hyundai has done it. A brilliant Hybrid. All car manufacturers are moving towards Hybrid and EEV. Except one company. That is our famous Proton, who takes billions our Ringgit to keep itself alive but no innovation or inventions.

Malaysians have been waiting 8 years now for the Proton Hybrid that Proton promised then. 8 tahun tunggu. Where lah Proton is this Hybrid you are talking about?

Then you took hundreds of million of our LHDN money telling gomen you need to do Hybrid research.

Then 3 years ago u paraded the Iriz EV. Again you told gomen you needed billions to reseach on EV. 3 years have passed and no EV all

Where is all the money going to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 16
      • Tax the rich so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • hamas on Dec 01, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Come here to read about Ioniq, some stup*d people talk about Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 11, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Let it be lah, coz their Pookeedua can’t achieve their sales target this year (later their sales division personnel kena bombarded and heavy scolding by their MD and botak CEO), so need to attack protong at any cost.

• So funny that people want EV so much that they forget how to charge the car. If you go for a long drive how can you sustain the energy without charging ports? And do you know how long to charge the battery of an EV? As long as the infrastructure is not there, you cannot make EV easily accepted here. Of course, don’t even compare with other countries that use EV a lot because they already have decent infrastructure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
        • oh mak lu cina on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:24 pm

lagi stupid. this is hybrid vehicle not an EV. Why are you talking about EV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Nizzan on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:29 am

Korean car is like the property in Malaysia now. Great value but no demand. New months down the road you will all sort of promotion event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Wet Armpits on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Why does everyone thinks that paying over RM 110k for a Korean hybrid is good value ?

Last I checked, Lexus M’sia was clearing off their CT200 cars at about RM 150k — similar fuel consumption, similar segment, similar performance but a much more stellar badge. And better built.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
      • Dimitri Payet on Nov 30, 2016 at 3:15 pm

True also la. I paid 160 for my CT 200h and it averages 5 litres per 100km instead of the claimed 3.8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:43 am

Boo ct200h more expensive no adas system whatsoever..so old already become fungus now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Your Grandpa on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:54 pm

wth is adas system mamat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • lolpanda on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:37 am

Advanced driver assistance systems…look it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
          • tippty on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:24 am

people really need to Google before they comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • champagne supernova in the sky on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:02 am

RM 150 ~ 160k and you expect to have ADAS pre-installed? Quit making everyone laugh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
          • lolpanda on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:29 am

erm…the RM110k Ioniq has ADAS..adaptive cruise control, lane departure, etc. are all part of an ADAS system.

to be fair the CT200 is indeed a relatively old model hence its losing out in the equipment department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • malita on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:35 am

ignorance is bliss eh? Google/Wiki before you speak..Ioniq has ADAS..autonomous braking, lane keep assist, that’s all ADAS. Plus at that price…they did good on this one.

Some people are just going all out to bash because they don’t like a brand? come on, use facts. Lexus couldn’t put ADAS in a RM150-160k car but Hyundai managed to fit it in a RM110k one…nobody’s laughing here. Hyundai just met the people’s expectations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
      • lolpanda on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:43 am

what is it with Malaysians and the love for “badge value”…it’s a different story if you’re saying get the CT200 at a premium price because it comes with a better drive/much more equipment etc. Instead, you’re saying get an old stock-clearance CT200 for RM40k more for what is essentially a similarly equipped car as the Ioniq.

plus, you’re comparing a new car price vs a stock clearance price on the CT200. Comparing apple for apple, when the Ioniq goes on its “stock clearance” price, it’ll still be much cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
        • lickyboomboomdown on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:05 am

because they are more interested in “face” than actual motoring.. which sums up 90% of the readership here based on my observation..can’t reason with ignorance my friend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
        • champagne supernova in the sky on Dec 06, 2016 at 11:08 am

correct me if i’m wrong but regardless of clearance or not isn’t it silly to spend above 100k for a Korean make to begin with?

Folks are bashing Lexus owners because they pay a slight premium on top of what a BMW or a Merc would cost – but the CT200 owners are receiving similar bashes although they paid peanuts for a Lexus and come what may, probably less than 15% premium on top of a top-of-the-range Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
          • lolpanda on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:24 am

i guess it boils down to what one’s looking for..if you’re looking for “face” and care about what others think of what you drive, then leave the decision to others and buy what “wows” them (even if it’s a crappy car).

from a neutral perspective: the Hyundai/Kia lineup has seen vast improvements over the years but it all comes down to individual opinion on what price to pay; one my think it’s silly while others might not.

from the perspective of a motoring enthusiast: nearly all Korean + Jap cars are relatively rubbish to drive; only because it’s never really been their core focus.

the Koreans focused on beefing their cars up with all sorts of features, sometimes to a gimmicky level, appeals to some perhaps.

The Japs on the other hand took the reliability route which in turn sometimes means holding on to old tech longer than they should.

there are wild cards and lemons within all makes of course so buy what you wish at the price you feel is appropriate. it’s everyone’s individual choice ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
          • malita on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:34 am

there’s no right or wrong price…it’s a supply/demand factor…if people are willing to pay the price they will; if they’re not then shop elsewhere.

that’s why we have choices guys…if you don’t like it it’s OKAY, you can choose to buy something else.

at this price for this level of equipment, it’s quite a good bargain compared to what is available today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • No reverse camera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • lolpanda on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:37 am

if you need a reverse camera to drive you shouldn’t be on the road.

including the other safety options and omitting a reverse camera is a welcomed move to maintain the accessible price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Yes, very true indeed.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:53 pm

funny this car higher spec than tucson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • EEV loophole – can put more options at much cheaper price

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:39 am

Moredoors than 160k veloster.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:28 am

Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton. And yet, Hyundai got their perfect Hybrids and sells 9 million cars globally.

Proton, just sells 57,000 cars anuually and that also, bulk of it is ordered by the Malaysian Government and Ministries as a “sedekah” to help Proton out

57,000 cars vs 9 million cars. Something must be wrong in Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • If Proton or Perodua makes a hybrid car with good specs, then you will say it is too expensive.

Try asking Hyundai to make a RM40k car. Do you think they will put up good specs? And even hybrid?

Sometimes it is funny to see some Malaysians wants a cheap car but wants it to be as good as expensive car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • lolpanda on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:49 am

what ‘decent’ Proton can you buy for RM40K OTR these days apart from the bog standard Saga?

Considering it’s a local make, Proton cars aren’t exactly cheap for what they have to offer.

Yes some genius will come here comparing specs with an import make saying it’s similarly specced but costs more than a Proton…but that’s because of taxes and our weak currency.

Looking from a local manufacturer business model, Proton’s cars are sold for much more than they’re worth IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
        • Chan Sang Yin on May 08, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Please don’t forget tax. If u don’t charge tax on foreign, probably they are ALL cheaper than proton (I call it potong saga. Saga of potonging ppl)

• vincent on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Very well priced given the safety features offered by Hyundai. Altis can go and fly kite.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Dec 23, 2016 at 7:44 am

Altis? Hmm… didn’t even bother this car exists. Already flying kite. The last Altis I remembered was 2003 Altis 1.8G. Anyway I saw more new Civic than current gen Altis lol.

As for Vios, I only remember it has bright direct-to-driver rear fog lamp.

Soon there will be more Ioniq than Altis. Well unless Hyundai screw up again lol.

• alvin on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:55 pm

I worry about the transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
    • BeemerFreak on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:13 am

I worry more if it is Japanese….remember? Takata? How many lives claimed in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Please on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Please do a walk around tour. Thx.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • dry dual clutch gearbox huh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • webe new postpaid line from TIME/TM on Nov 29, 2016 at 4:03 pm

wow fall in love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 4:10 pm

For a Hybrid, this ioniq sure looks sporty when paired with 17-inch sport rims. What more, it comes with 225/45R17 Michelin Primacy 3 tires & all-round disc brakes.

In the safety department, with seven airbags, ABS, BA, HD assist & Vehicle Stability Management as standard, this ioniq is at par with any C-segment cars.

Get the Plus, & it adds on blind spot detection, autonomous emergency braking system (AEB), lane keep assist & adaptive cruise control, that is available only in the Premium section.

Toyota, be afraid. No i mean be Very afraid bcos the Koreans are coming for more than a slice of your pie.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 6
    • On one corner is toyota, the other is honda, then kimchi, and next P1. All 3 r tag-teaming to bring down toyota. Albert & sammy r peeing in their pants now. No bonus this year, no increment next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:42 am

Hyundai is trying a different strategy. Previously selling sonata at 160k thinking it wasa Camry beater. But didn’t work well. Cheap price suits hyundai image better. Just like the good old times.

• Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:45 am

Its cheaper because of gov eev incentive for hybrid ckd. Knock off 30k just like that. Get your facts right brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Sounded very much like a great bargain; but once I calmed myself down, I realised the same amount of money could buy the HRV as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 105
    • Andrekua on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Honestly why do people spent so much on a B segment anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Krasher on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:17 am

Just get a HRV. You will not regret when you trade in for a new car in another 5 years. (From: A Hybrid owner)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • lolpanda on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:59 am

i’ve got nothing against B segment cars, in fact their usually nippier to drive. Although, i’m a niche segment in this side of the world..in Europe you hardly see any large cars.

But here in good ol’ Malaysia…this is where Malaysians of all ethnicities unite under a common chinaman trait: “bigger is better”. it’s not ok to spend RM150K on a driver-oriented performance hatch, but ok to spend that on a mid/large-sized sedan which drives like crap with age-old tech hogging up more space on the already-congested roads.

So on that note, my beef wouldn’t be “why spend on a B segment”…but instead, why spend the same money on an HR-V which is quite frankly…not the best crossover in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
      • tippty on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:26 am

you’re not alone! all for downsizing here too! (: which is a global trend. A segment is the new small car, B is standard, C is ‘large’..D segments are hardly seen anymore

• Nice!

• there he is on Nov 29, 2016 at 4:17 pm

TAKE MY MONEY – BOOKING

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • within that price range, It’s truly the best car in malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Finally, a reasonably priced, well equipped offering from Hyundai sime Darby…..better late than never….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • one tank of fuel can run approximately how far? Anyone know? How big the tank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:44 am

A 40 litres tank enough to take the car 600-700km

• Danny L on Dec 02, 2016 at 6:52 am

It says 3.5l /100km,so if basic 40l full tank should give 1200km!

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 4:27 pm

This Hyundai ioniq must be the first Hybrid to use a six-speed dry dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT), as well as a permanent magnet synchronous electric motor bcos most manufacturer uses a CVT transmission.

• Good introductory price with good packaging. The distributor needs to ensure after sales service is good to ensure upward trend in sales.

Knowing Sime Darby, even a water pump will take months to arrive. Please rectify stocks issue for the models which they distribute.

They will throw in ore discounts soon and also its a wake up call for Toyota in Hybrid segment as well.

Please improve or else you are dooomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Andrekua on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Parts will eventually arrive.

My primary concern is their technical know how. I’m driving a Sonata and I was let down by Sime Darby Hyundai in Glenmarie. I used to have problem with mice getting into my car a/c filter area. Instead of finding out how they got in, they told me to get pest controller. LoL… I eventually found out how the mice was able to get in by accident. They also let me down by saying a/c not cold while stationary is a fuel saving design. I wrote a lengthy unsatisfactory feedback on Hyundai Korea website and guess what. Hyundai Korea instructed SD to change my compressor. My a/c is now as good as those Denso powered Japanese. So much for their bullshit claims.

Their car is good but I’m afraid the Malaysian attitude in local sc would be a let down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 0
      • I agreed on this but it’s not only Hyundai in Malaysia problem it’s the same experience with all other automakers after sales in this bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • shaun on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Andrekua, mind to share which model of Sonata u own.
        Please PM which email u send to korea HQ. I need that too. got my love letter for them.

• Andrekua on Dec 01, 2016 at 9:54 pm

I do not have their email. I simply went to their website, filled in a feedback with my car VIN etc. I’m surprised that Hyundai Korea really cared about oversea customers satisfactions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • You should thank Hyundai Korea for replying as they have the sense towards their customers, unlike Peugeot France and Volkswagen Germany. Both car manufacturers is not bothered about customers from Malaysia especially and with their hopeless distributors and service centers. Nonavailability of parts, time consuming for parts to arrive, incompetent technicians for repair and servicing and unreliable parts/components and most importantly poor after sales service is the major issues with Sime Darby (Ford & Hyundai), Naza (Kia & Peugeot) and VW.

Only consolation is the Koreans are responding to the complaints from Malaysia. That’s positive.

Hope Peugeot and VW will learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Andrekua on Dec 01, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I did return the favor later. I dont know I’m just lucky or what. At least it did solved my biggest headache FOC while I can still live with the slight rattling from the sun roof when driving on bad roads.

Anyway, I did bought a Kia Rio because it is a sister company. The car again is great for the money. I’m really surprised that NAZA again is the culprit. I went to the Kota Damansara branch and was told they only had junior technicians. I was literally speechless. Luckily someone recommended MPV and JD Auto to me. These guys are more professional than the one operated by NAZA.

• pak atan on Nov 29, 2016 at 4:47 pm

new-gen Proton Gen2 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • copied myvi lagi power rear bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • camtakpro on Dec 23, 2016 at 7:49 am

Copied my KE70 having four wheels and four doors. Fuhh…

• Hafidz on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Not bad..what you think guys?? Need experts opinion on this

• Expet on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Hi, expert here. My advice is: you have money, you buy. Otherwise go work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:47 am

I booked 1 already. If hv more money I mustve buy one more my wife too. Great bargain. Nothing in comparison by far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Hi, is this DCT in use in any other model? Wondering about its reliability. The gearbox I think is the only chip in the armour of this otherwise near perfectly species and priced car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:48 am

This car shares platform with kia niro. Both selling well in UK. Hv u heard the tranny broken down so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • Your Grandpa on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:47 pm

hey keyboard warrior have you even been to the UK to warrant such statement?

• thepolygonal on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Hmm.. should I replace my old Prius with this.. hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:49 am

This car shares platform with kia niro. Both selling well in UK. Hv u heard the tranny broken down so far?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • TongHoi on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Fuyoh…i will wait full specs discounts until below RM100K…then only decided. Better wait for 2nd batches…hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 1:51 am

Wrong action. 2nd batch will be 5k more expensive. Korean cars succeptible to USD flunctuations. Want 1 buy now. If not gigit jari later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Sorry “specced”

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Wow 110k for all those kit is indeed a steal, doubt many will opt for the base spec since they are losing out on many kit for 10k lesser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • 6 Gran Coupe on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:32 am

At about RM 114k inclusive of insurance? Not such a wise buy when one could’ve gotten the Lexus CT at RM 155k (after disc) less than 3 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
      • Can bring back ct200h at 155k or not now? Cannot right..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
        • nipples69 on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:13 pm

dimwit he clearly said 2013, that would mean that 114 for a Yundai is not worth it now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
          • To be fair, if the Lexus was still around now, you think new models would still be priced like how it was in 2013? Confirm will be closer to RM200k in 2016 rather than being stagnant at RM155k.

In any event, buyers have to consider the market we’re in NOW. I don’t see how anyone can say that the Hyundai NOW isn’t good value.

If want to compare with historic data, I can also say that I can buy a Merc at 50k 15 years ago…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Dimitri Payet on Nov 30, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Got mine at 160k and am very happy with it. Cons that I can think of are:
        1) 3-year warranty instead of 5-year by this Hyundai
        2) 5 litres per 100km fuel consumption instead of this 3.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • people are different. RM 160k vs rm 110k (it is a huge difference for a middle class person). In my opinion, this is the best competitively priced car at rm110k. If you could name just one other car at this price with these specs in Malaysia, I would give you a military salute.

• Dr.Mx5 on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Much wiser than some who opted a base model 3 series…or less stupid, well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Iconic spec on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Very comprehensive spec car at a bargain price. Good job Hyundai. Adaptive Cruise Control, Autonomous Emergency Brake, Lane Keeping Assist, Blind Spot Detection is not even available in RM200-300k cars in Malaysia. If only Malaysians can accept the typical “low RV Korean car” perception, it would be a best-seller

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Thoo Chin Wee on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Loving this !

• Dry Clutch ???? nice design …

• Shaoran on Nov 29, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Atkinson Cycle?..mean it a different engine from conventional one?

• Expet on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Yes. The great part is: it is designed by Mr. Rowan Atkinson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysian Driver on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:31 pm

It means it uses a different combustion cycle from the normal oto-cycle internal combustion engine that we always see.

In an Atkinson cycle engine, the compression stroke is deliberately delay by opening the intake valve a little bit longer. Hence you get a shorter compression range but you get a full explosion during the power stroke. Hence, you only conpress partial range of the piston travelling stroke but you get a full stroke of kinetic movement of the piston during the power stroke a. k. a. explosion.

To put it simple, think of Bruce Lee’s one inch punch: is like you retract only very little of you arm travelling lenght (compression stroke) to save energy for your full lenght punch (power stroke) , while other boxer contract their full arm lenght (compression stroke) before extend their punch (power stroke). Now try to visualised Bruce Lee’s one inch punch as Atkinson cycle and normal boxer’s punch as the conventional oto-cycle combuation engine. See the picture and difference?

Because the piston travelling lenght (during power stroke) outweights the compression psiton stroke’s travelling lenght in an Atkinson cycle engine, hence you get higher efficiency. But the paid price is you get very weak torque compared to a normal oto-cycle engine. However, in hybrid application, this is not a problem because there’s always the instantaneous torque from the electic motor to back-up the torque deficiency in an Atkinson engine. That explains why Atkinson engine is almost exclusively used in Hybrid cars.

Another notable exception will be Mazda Skyactiv engine. Although not hybird, Mazda’s Skyactiv actually uses Atkinson stroke during low rev appliaction, and when you need power, the extremely brillant VVT and ECU will immediately transform the combustion cycle back to an Oto- cycle stroke to give you more power and torque, that explains why Mazda’s Skyactiv is able to beat many contemporary NA engines and trashed all downsized turbocharged engines in fuel efficiency (downsized turbocharged fuel saving is a hoax, if you have read what I written before in this car blog). So in effect, Mazda’s Skyactiv is actually a dual combustion cycle (combine Atkinson and Oto cycle) NA engine, this is a very priced technical achievement from the Boys of Hiroshima that even Toyota is willing to trade its fuel cell technology for. Something not many people know of. Happy motoring and cheers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 3
      • 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Good write up. But a few bones to pick.

Mazda’s system is called Miller Cycle, not Atkinson. First seen in the 1997 Mazda Millenia albeit with a supercharger. Similar in operation but slightly different. Both are done to reduce pumping losses (compression of air takes energy).

Actually, most of the efficiency of the Skyactiv engine comes from how it manages to reduce intake charge/combustion temperature enabling it to run much higher compression ratio than other engines.

Where Else Atkinson cycle engines use a hybrid electric motor to boost torque across most of the rev range, Mazda’s Miller cycle only operates on light throttle loads (not rev dependent as you mentioned).

• toyota’s new engines can do the atkinson and otto switch i think. the 2.0 vvtiw and the 2.0 turbo

• U know, this kinda infor u can google/wiki it urself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Mikey on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:57 pm

j, U jealous that Malaysian Drive give a better explanation than U isit !? The least U can do is appreciate the effort taken by MD. Thank Q Malaysian driver.

• Nice enough design. Good price to start with. Plus a move that will help electrification along locally. Congrats Hyundai.

• Learn Ping on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Great specification and price.

• Henry on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Wow! Just look at the spec and price. This car will sell.

• sick&tired on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:02 pm

why dct!! somemore dry clutch!! DCT should be used only in sports cars. For normal sedan’s, a normal torque converter automatic will do. Anyhow the pricing seems to be reasonable and the car doesn’t look too bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Fishquency on Feb 11, 2018 at 10:27 am

Calm down my friend, the motor on the gearbox completely eliminate any friction when vehicle wanted to move from stop, thus when there’s no friction no heat, so you don’t need to worry when you’re stuck in the traffic jam cuz actually in that situation your engine is completely stop, the only thing that move your car inching is only then motor, you know well motor doesn’t need to be have idle speed do you

• mnecmonic on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Guys i don’t see any flaw first impression, pricing is right, fuel consumption is good, design good, safety and spec is there. I don’t need a car getting 0-100km/h in 6sec, i just want a comfy ride for my family. Initially thinking of HR-V…but this offer seems irresistible. Any advice ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • BeemerFreak on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Forget the HRV……why do you want to drive a car that your neighbour is driving. Furthermore your family or children will be safer in this. No Takata airbag, which to me is more dangerous than an unreliable DCT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • azhar on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:45 pm

HRV dont used takata airbags laaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • BeemerFreak on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Says who????? All Honda cars use Takata airbags, even the new ones, just a different model…..which doesn’t mean to say it will not kill me. Not that kind of risk…..

• david kam on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:09 pm

This is going to sell like hot cake…

• SoChunn on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:27 pm

So much kits available at 111k is very tempting. Exterior & interior design looks pretty good too.

• Aragon on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Why all hybrid/electric car has to look ugly. Why not design it like normal car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • Is this a good deal or what? Habis lah Cerato, City and Vios after this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • In b4 the best deal will come in 1 year after. They will give huge discounts. Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Good luck waiting for it.

Chances are they can’t even keep them long enough in the yard to warrant any discounts.

• A lots of wow factor from the packages offered with the price. A great rival to civic and sorry..KO altis.

• future on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:05 pm

So many blank button around the gear level,
    why don’t just add in the electronic parking break,
    it will look and feel better too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • David D on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:26 pm

The blank buttons? Those are for the seat warmers and ventilators. Looks like they arent specified for our market, but who cares, when its specced pretty good for the $.

• Bobby on Nov 30, 2016 at 6:39 am

Those blank button around the gear knob are meant for seat heater which is no need for Malaysian market which is always hot and humid all over the year… If you ever drive Hyundais car overseas such as the new Avante (Elantra) you will notice the buttons..

• Moving Forward on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:12 pm

With this price tag it’s mind blowing cheap (relatively) for the list of bell and whistle they offer. Too bad I have to retain my manual hatch and no budget to add the first hybrid to my fleet.

• Albert on Nov 29, 2016 at 7:37 pm

IN 3 years,the resale value of this car plummeting to easily rm 20-28K.
    If u dont mind waiting,dont buy new.
    RV of Hyundai cars in Bolehland ,..quite low compared to other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
    • I think you have not checked the RV of korean cars lately.If you can get me a Korean car above RM100k at less than RM30k after 3 yrs, I’ll buy from you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • Krasher on Nov 30, 2016 at 2:25 am

Selling price & trade in price 2 different story lah.
        I think you have not checked the used car dealer lately.

• Albert neighbour on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:52 am

Why not try buying a 100k car from hyundai, and wait for 3 years. At that time the trade in price value is only 30k. That is how much Albert will offer you.

• Therealmaserati on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:36 am

Plenty dude. Go and find from used car dealers. U squeeze them they will give u a better price because they are desperate to clear the junk.

Korean cars dont drive well. Thats why they dont sell well. Technology and refinement cant compete with the Japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
        • Takhabis2 dgn toyota kau on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:01 am

What year are u living brother? Go test drive and then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Nov 30, 2016 at 3:21 am

Overpriced korean LOW RV crap. At 100k, Better to get the new improved vios TRD anytime. You won’t regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • Andrekua on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:18 am

Yes, resale value does plummet. The fact is that only in malaysia that T and H holds its value. If you browse the car market in general oversea, many are losing 50% off their value around 4th year. Why Malaysia was able to retain T and H value so much higher? One car dealer told me it’s the making of the crony. Car buyer need loan and when the loan was approved, that’s the market value of the car. The fact that banks would rate T and H value so high could be down to one reason only.

• “Cost of replacing the battery is less than 10k”. Can we pay by installment basis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • john is otak batu on Nov 30, 2016 at 7:53 am

Wow. Battery alone is 10% of car price

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:27 am

I believe should have no problem offering installment since they will request end user using their “credit card” to pay and make a “zero interest” installment plan over 12, 24 or max 36 months. Just like we go to buy a massage chair some banks are offering zero interest over 36 months installment.

• aaron on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Good pricing, generous specifications, will sell like hot cakes.

• kelvin on Nov 29, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Interesting especially the price!

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:18 pm

This Quote by Sashi Kumar make my day. I will Still Sell Hyundai Even if my Boss Giving up Hyundai Franchise:

“I own a Hyundai. 12 years now. Paid off in 6 years. Using for 6 years without repayment. I don’t care about resale value, as I didn’t pay extra 30k for similar car and add interest to it, just to sell back at slight higher. Money well spent. But, This new hybrid definitely looks good…”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Can’t wait to hear the driven/ road tour experience review soon,
    Hehe..

• Sammy Loo on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:24 pm

The engine is paired with a six-speed dry dual-clutch automatic transmission (DCT)…..

key point for the entire article is here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Francis Ket Hon Ho on Dec 02, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Exactly.. Came to Paultan to check what kind of DCT they are using, some forumers start to complain 2016 Tuscon 1.6 AWD DCT giving failure incidents.. I wonder are they the same box? The whole offering and pricing actually attracts very much not until when I saw the wording “Dry DCT”..

• French Fries on Dec 08, 2016 at 9:55 am

Bro, this one use 6 speed DCT, Tucson 1.6 share same gearbox and engine with Veloster Turbo which is 7 speed DCT.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Finally a Hyundai worth considering

• TOK adi on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:48 pm

3 years free service, 3 years insurance coverage, loan interest from 2.28%…good bargain or not?

• mystvearn on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:12 pm

This maybe the best car for full time Uber driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 04, 2016 at 5:42 pm

no way for this car with the dry dual clutch gearbox, it will be sitting in the workshop from time to time

Reliable uber cars are the Proton Iriz since you can get discount for ride sharing and definitely the facelifted Vios with EEV status

• Fishquency on Feb 11, 2018 at 10:48 am

Don’t listen too Sammy’s loo, he doesn’t know what the technology, i know dry dual clutch is noticeable suitable for traffic jam etc etc, but this completely different when the gearbox paired to the a motor, motor issue directly connected to the gearbox hence no friction during stop and go, so no friction not heat hence a reliable dry dct gearbox

• Ben Yap on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Good pricing. But performance sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
    • autodriver (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:22 am

It is hybrid and buyer should not expect they are going to get a powerful car. There are not many people complain Vios is no power when it clocking 0-100km/h at 12sec, Ioniq 0-100km/h is about 11sec and you said it was bad performance.

Toyxta Prius 1.8 0-100km/h is 10.7sec, 0.4sec faster than Ioniq but Prius is 200cc higher than Ioniq.

• Dimitri Payet on Nov 30, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I agree! When I decided on my CT 200h four years ago I surely wasn’t looking for a powerful car. Besides, how much power can you unleash on Malaysian roads?

My car hits 100kmh in 10.3 secs and I couldn’t care less. What’s important to me is the mileage return; at 5 litres of petrol per 100km driven. That’s less than sepuluh sen per km.

Speed all you want I’m happy driving at an average speed on the middle lane lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • autodriver (Member) on Dec 01, 2016 at 8:58 am

Well said! Those who looking for powerful car shouldn’t look for hybrid since it means to save fuel rather than speeding. And in fact the acceleration of hybrid is actually faster than NA engine but yet save more fuel than NA car.

Hybrid is good for those who used for burinss like Grxb car or Ubxr surely they can save more fuel generate more income. Cheers!

• oh mak lu cina on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:25 pm

This is loser talk. Car slow then justify a reason for it being slow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • Kelvin Kong on Nov 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm

VERY VERY NICCCEEEE!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • feul consumption of ioniq claimed to better than prius. can get 58mpg that is around 25km/ltr or 4 ltr / 100km. Good buy with this price.

• claimed can get 58mpg that is around 25 km/ltr or 4 ltr / 100km. Not bad.

• dashboard look like Peugeot 408 ethp.

• passion on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:05 am

very good. more choices for us!

• Nizzan on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:26 am

Japan design beat you lousy interior Kimchi design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • turok on Nov 30, 2016 at 9:50 am

Low resale value some1 said huh? Well, u cn prove tis by sellin ur Ioniq aftr used few mths at super low value to me.. I wil take it anytime. Myvi gud resale huh? R u sure tis stil happen aftr launch of axia, bezza n new saga alike? Anyway 11sec 0-100 is not wat i expect fr a 265Nm hybrid. Disappointing, omost same with my 1.6Forte. Aduh! shud b under 10s.. Something wrong there

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:07 am

This is just unbelievable value of money model from Hyundai. With such a long list of spec and it priced at 111k, it is a good buy. VW should have to learn about pricing stragegy unless they still dreaming their car can sell well like earlier.

• wkaka on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:17 am

Shows how much Toyota really whack their customers previously, Hyundai’s pricing makes the previous Prius look like a joke.

• Jt curious on Nov 30, 2016 at 11:56 am

The battery replace pricing is guaranteed to be lower than RM10k. Just curious, what is the average price for hybrid battery replacement at the moment?

• hamas on Nov 30, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Over priced for a Hyundai brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
    • camtakpro on Dec 23, 2016 at 7:51 am

Try to have similar features for a Toyota Altis, I bet it will go beyond 200k.

• The good news is bad news on Nov 30, 2016 at 6:27 pm

The car’s name sounded like some isotonic drink name…..

• In my book, this is the 2nd Korean car that has successfully storm our car market after Kia Forte … Good job Hyundai

• In my book, the 2nd Korean car that successfully storms our car market after Kia Forte … Good job Hyundai

• Bernard on Nov 30, 2016 at 10:17 pm

The question as always is the after sales any good?

• PHEV version coming soon?

• This hybrid is good for short distance travel when the electric part is used. Longer distance travel diminishes the advantage, similar to fuel consumption of good fuel efficient cars. Is it then worth the RM10k batteries after 8 years probably, or the higher charges (unsure) for a hybrid engine repairs and service when needed after the 3 years.

• blaster88 on Dec 12, 2016 at 12:55 pm

wow! wow! wow! for this kinda of price, accessories and drivers’ assistance add ons plus 5 years unlimited warranty…its a steal by MY standards. BTW, its going for about 20K pounds in UK….when was the last time our car prices are comparable to UK? Even high end german margues do not come with this kind of configurations in bolehland…well done Hyundai!

It tells you what the other brands are doing to make more money…including their EEV range.

• passion on Dec 19, 2016 at 2:47 pm

someone once said that korean cars are gorgeous but lack soul. i am not sure if it is true. i will try and see.

• passion on Jan 04, 2017 at 5:19 pm

comes with michelin tires. 225/45/17. wow!!!

• passion on Jan 05, 2017 at 9:35 am

i do hope that hyundai handles better than kia on the road.

• domainicus on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:48 pm

Straightaway check this machine when knowing fuel price gone up again.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Can someone tell me what is the battery-only range for this car? In the US its quoted as 112 miles – around 180 km. That is amazing. Disappointed Paultan didn’t include this information.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:33 pm

No such range has been quoted. But “plain” hybrids such as this usually have a very short all-electric range. As in under 5 km.

The 180 km range you’ve quoted is surely for the Ioniq Electric, which is not available here.

• This is a joke. They should bring in Plug-In Hybrid version, where is can use both petrol and plug in electric. Then more ppl will buy.

• stop complaining and just buy if you want. if not just use a cycle.

• T.P. Leong on Mar 20, 2017 at 10:29 pm

“….Those concerned about the traction battery will be glad to know that Hyundai is offering an eight-year (unlimited mileage) warranty on the traction battery, and should it need to be replaced after that, there’s a guarantee that the cost of the battery replacement will be below RM10,000….” My checking shows that there is actually no such guarantee that the hybrid battery replacement cost will be below RM10k after the 8 year warranty period. The said ‘guarantee’ is for a different situation. Hope can get reviewer’s feedback. Thanks.

• hyundai santafe on Aug 18, 2017 at 10:45 pm

bagi sya kreta smua sma sja.tda bezanya pun.sya ada myvi dri malaysia,isuzu dmax dri jepun dan hyundai santafe dri korea.skli pandu sma sja cranya pun.smua maju depan,undur belakang.tda yg jln mcm ketam pun…peace no war