2017 Porsche 911 GTS models make official debut

The Porsche 911 range has been expanded with the introduction of the new GTS models, which include the Carrera GTS, Carrera 4 GTS (Coupe and Cabriolet) and Targa 4 GTS. These join the facelifted 911 Carrera and Turbo models that were revealed earlier.

For power, a 3.0 litre turbocharged flat-six engine churns out 450 PS and 550 Nm of torque, which is 30 PS more than the 911 Carrera S and 20 PS/110 Nm more than the previous GTS models that employed a 3.8 litre naturally-aspirated flat-six. The blown mill is mated to either a seven-speed manual transmission or optional Porsche Doppelkupplung (PDK).

Porsche’s Active Suspension Management (PASM) system comes as standard here, with the GTS Coupes benefiting from the PASM chassis enhancements as well, which lowers the ride height by 10 mm. Also standard is the Sport Chrono pack, which adds on dynamic engine mounts and a “Launch Control” function.

All GTS models (including the rear-wheel drive ones) also use the four-wheel drive 911 Carrera 4’s all-wheel drive chassis, giving them a common width of 1,852 mm and wider track measurements than standard 911 cars.

If you’re looking for the fastest sprinter of the bunch, the 911 Carrera 4 GTS Coupe is the one to have, which will complete the 0-100 km/h sprint in just 3.6 seconds. Porsche adds that all GTS models will have a top speed not exceeding 312 km/h, with the manual 911 Carrera GTS being the quickest among them.

Setting the new 911 GTS models apart from the regular 911 models is a unique front bumper that appears to be inspired by the more powerful 911 GT3, as well as a modified rear spoiler. These are part of the Sport Design exterior package, that also include new mirrors, 20-inch central-locking wheels and GTS logos.

911 Carrera 4 GTS

In other areas, there are smoked taillights, gloss black air intake grille and central black twin tailpipes of the sports exhaust system. On rear-wheel drive models (those without the ‘4’ in its name), there is a black trim strip between the taillights, while all-paw GTS cars get a characteristic light strip trim in said area. The Targa bar is finished in black on GTS models as well to create a distinctive look.

Inside, you’ll find GTS logos on the headrests, while the steering wheel rim, armrests and centre console are all trimmed in Alcantara. Finishing touches can be found on the instrument cluster, where there are now brushed black aluminium trim strips.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Jan 09, 2017 at 12:46 pm

In short,
    1) these 911 GTS uses a 3.0 liter turbo flat-6 engine instead of the 3.8 liter NA flat-6.

2) It also gain 20-30 PS & Fatter torque over the older 3.8 models.

3) The new GTS also boasts lower consumption & emissions at a claimed 34 mpg on the NEDC cycle, giving it a CO2 rating of 188g/km.

4) They also all flaunt the 4-wheel drive 911 Carrera 4’s aluminium body shell while it also gets the Sport Chrono Package as standard equipment.

If this is NOT good enough for you. There is still the 911 Turbo plus that will put U at the top of Supercar league.

• Just another model to squeeze money out of the customers with extra power and “limited” production (compared to regular 911 and 911 S).. but not prepared to pay premium price for Turbo model.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:44 pm

This car sure RM1.5 million when it comes to Malaysia. How to buy? Unless you take dedak, very hard to buy this car on your own.

• Dun worry. Just be CM north, and u can get for undervalue very cheap. Opening will soon be available.

• rahman on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:33 pm

There are a couple of car sites I frequent and reading the comments really do highlight the quality of the visitors. I usually scoff at the biggoted, ignorant, bias/racist comments but this one I had to post something. Leo have you driven a porsche before? Let alone a turbo, “s”, or gts model? You claim they “squeeze” money out and they are “not prepared to pay”. I’ll let you know alot of people that can afford a turbo still opt for a gts. Evidently you’re not sure, two letters “N/A” and turbo lag come into mind. I’ve driven both and have owned both before and I tell you both are just as enjoyable. Turbo for the G-force kick when you floor it and GTS for keeping high revs.

• I don’t know why you’re so offended.. if your so called bigotted, ignorance, bias/racists comment was targeted at me, then I can assure you that I’m not in anyway like the above. I understand that there are many people who can actually splurge their money on the high end model but choose to get the model that interest them the most, in your case the GTS model.. 991.1 GTS perhaps is the last model to have the N/A engine before it’s replaced by the turbo-charged 991.2 GTS. Porsche has done a good job in minimizing the turbo lag in their latest turbocharged 991 models.. but to me “nothing beats displacement”. I love reading automotive news from time to time.. but I didn’t try to be provoke any argument in this site. Can’t help to see others posting sarcastic comments though.
      Bro Rahman.. chill! I do drive a Porsche…

• Hot dog on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:42 pm

No one is racist here….! Trust me no one ! everyone of us Car craziest ever !
      I do drive porsche boxter s , cayman s , cayenne turbo , 911 turbo s , panamera turbo , macan s
      Others like .. mclaren 12 c , california , 430 , 458 superlegera , LP 700 , 570 , bentley supersport, cls 63 , m3 , m5…and manymore..haha ! Fun ! Sorry …is ferrari 458 speciale..

• stupid rahman didnt read the article. the new GTS is also turbo so why are u still ranting about “N/A” or “high revs” ?

• 0-60 in 3.6!?, sacre bleu~!

• nazmi on Nov 28, 2018 at 6:13 am

by wise dont be judgemental,rahman talk with positive people and positive way and that’s way he talk to you not to the others people who had conservative mind like sta and kunta kinte.don’t feel provoked when what he pointed not mean to.or otherwise u the same.