Honda City facelift now open for booking in Malaysia – standard keyless entry, push-button start, VSA

Just weeks after the car’s debut in Thailand and its sighting over here, Honda Malaysia has opened the order books for the facelifted Honda City starting today – the B-segment sedan receives a number of tweaks inside and out, plus added kit.

At the front, there are redesigned headlights, joined together by a new chrome bar inspired by the new Civic; the grille also gains a new honeycomb mesh and a chrome strip. The front and rear bumpers have also been reprofiled, and the top-spec V trim gains LED headlights and fog lights, new two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels, a ducktail spoiler with integrated LED brake light and LED tail lights – the last two are not available in Thailand.

No mention of changes to the interior, but we should get the darker gunmetal trim, redesigned seat fabric (with the Civic’s centre stripe) and LED map and room lights offered on Thai models. All models now get keyless entry and push-button start, while the V variant finally receives a multi-angle reverse camera.

All models retain the 1.5 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine, mated to an Earth Dreams CVT transmission; although outputs have yet to be announced, expect them to stay the same at 120 PS and 145 Nm. Safety-wise, all models now come with Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), with the V variant adding six airbags as before.

GALLERY: Thai-spec Honda City facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Susukotak on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:16 pm

vios should cry by now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 11
  • Mr.SA on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:17 pm

New facelift? does it come with full disk brake? I mean rear drum upgrade with disk? hope to see that in the new ct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Does disk brake perform better than drum? Or it intentions is for cosmetics only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • Ollie on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Not a major difference for rear brakes, but obviously easier to maintain and better reliability

• Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:18 pm

In terms of performance, disk brake perform better. I guess that is the main reason most high end car have disk brake all round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
        • Drum perform better. Why heavy duty vehicle used drum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
          • Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Bro Elv, I think we are talking cars here.

• Why racing cars use disc brakes? They stop better. Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • City and Vios not high end. Drum rear brake is enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Mikey on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Bro Ali, my very old Alfa sud 1.5 has all round disk. Trust me, a car or any car for the matter with all round disk perform better. It is easier to tell when U need to change the brake pads too.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:15 pm

u dont need 4 disk brake , the car is relatively light…front disks/rear drums more than sufficient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
      • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Honda wants to reduce cost, old city got all around disc brakes. Honda is spec their cars like Peroduas now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • 12yrsold on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:02 pm

You may be right here but you can see if the disk-pad need to be change if it’s worn out with a disc brake.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Rear Drum brakes? Sohc engine?
    Good that all cities comes with VSC now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • what wrong with sohc engine..it gud for short distance driving especially around town n traffic jam

• Ahmad on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:02 am

SOHC engine is less efficient compare DOHC..

• Having single cam as compared with dual cams does not mean that it is less efficient. There are pros and cons:
          1) single cam means lesser engine parts, less complicated and lower possibility of parts failure.
          2) with lesser parts, engine’s weight is lighter. Also less engine load in rotating the parts. Therefore better fuel economy, especially in city driving.
          3) Sohc usualy has better low-end torque, while dohc usually has better high-end power.

• Biasa la.. Most ppl here take things literally..Sohc means lousy than dohc. Disc brake sure lousy than drum eventho the car or even the tire could not even fully utilize those drum brake power..

that why it takes car makers here so long to make safety as std, instead like to put those blink blink things that fish shallow minded fellows wallet here and it works so damn well.

• peanut on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:27 pm

you!i like you!and the way u think!

• Iloveturbo on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:24 pm

V should consider for a 1.0T engine, makes more prestige like the top range civic wit 1.5T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • 1.0T make the car prestige? lol.. Even Honda did not market their 1.5T as high end, but their Type R is. Know the difference.

• halimi on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:04 pm

I’m seeing myself driving this car in the next nine years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Dogbert on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:45 pm

because loan max 9 years ? In this economy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • If u need 9 years loan, u shudnt get this car. Its way over ur budget. Get Persona2 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Shafiq on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Price?

• Mathu on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:37 pm

LED headlamp, DRL, ducktail spoiler with LED brake light, LED taillight and reverse camera all in not bad Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Waiting for BRV facelift..
    So disappointed with the current high spec BRV.
    full spec axia seems better equipped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • 12yrsold on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:53 pm

It will be interesting if PT.org can do a comparison on the Vios & City facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Ducktail spoiler? Seriously?
    What’s this? 911 2.7 RS?

• ballb on Feb 01, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Its already 2017, still using old SOHC engine from 2009.
    Come on Honda Malaysia , upgrade to DOHC Earth Dreams 130hp engine like the Japanese Made Honda Fits, sales will definitely increase like nuts.
    Impressive equipment overall for a small sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • horrayooi on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:24 pm

No close-up photo of the dashboard for us to see the instrumentation. So I doubt the is any temperature gauge.
    May be still the 2 blue and red temperature idiot lights. Low cost like Axia dashboard. They are not interested to equip the damn car with temperature gauge. Paddle shifters or triptronic (+-) also absent. What a letdown, Honda. Proton Ertiga and Persona is installed with temperature gauge though they are 4 speed auto and CVT respectively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Susukotak on Feb 02, 2017 at 8:34 am

chill bro… brv not even have any indicator for engine temperature

• transformer on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:11 pm

I owns car with both drums and disc brakes.
    Personally i prefer Disc brakes.

-Disc brakes are more expensive than drums in cost per unit in manufacturing cost, this incudes servicing cost and replacing consumables too.

-Main benefit of Disc brakes is effectiveness to dissipate heats faster than drums(eg: city driving won’t see differents as compared to a frequent Genting Highland traveler.

-weakness of Drum brakes, pad dust buildup inside drums will reduce braking effectiveness. Frequently(depending on brakes usage), need to service by removing drum cover to blow clean(remove dust).

-Single test(or even 2x or 3x) of braking distant won’t find much different but multiple continuous(or repeated, after drum gets hot) braking test will show degrading effectiveness of drums brakes(due to drum brakes weak at heat dissipation)

-example a city car like Saga, Axia, Myvi uses drums(save cost) where as Altis, Accord has disc(C segment and above, suitable for intercity and premium cost). Unless the manufacturer willing to spend extra cost onto this particular city car by installing Disc brakes.

• VSC as standard equipment. Good for all the buyers.
      Why not consider bringing in the hybrid variant as well ? There was a test unit in M’sia. How come don’t wanna sell hybrid variant ?

• lets see what equipment for the lower 2 variant…finger crossed the DRL stays at all variant ^^

• Ben Yap on Feb 02, 2017 at 9:35 am

Honda City useless upgrades:
    1) Duck tail spoiler
    2) LED Rear lights
    3) LED fog lights
    4) Dual tone alloy wheels

What HOnday city needs:
    1) All round disc brakes
    2) Pedal shifters
    3) Electronic brakes
    4) Standard 6 airbags across all variants

• Dream on lah, how to maintain costs. Bodoh..

• timothylee on Feb 02, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Bro you missed out the ‘ KEY’ Upgrade, the RED Type R emblems on the steering wheel, grille and boot.
      Added 1000hp from 120hp outdated 2009 engine! LOL!
      Available at abang and ah beng workshops at Sunway.

• you’re the only one who doesn’t want it.

• Yes, standard VSA! City is a no brainer over the Vios.

• omg did they remove the paddle shift?

that means they r bringing in the SV spec from thailand and repackage as top spec in malaysia? (instead of SV+)

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 04, 2017 at 5:37 am

Thinking about buying a car with keyless go? Watch this:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AHSDy6AiV0

It has already become a serious problem in Germany, where these cars get stolen regularly. The device to steal these cars effortlessly and without any risk of getting caught or noticed (the thief looks like the owner) is available commercially or can be built easily. Don’t think Malaysian thieves are too stupid for this.

• notwhatiwantwhybuy on Feb 10, 2017 at 10:43 am

since not official yet will just state a bit,
    if no changes in;
    – rear wheels to have disk brake
    – paddle shift (not everyone are into F.C.S. or E.E.V.)
    – rear sensor qty 4 (not f**king 2)
    – rear Cam (optional yes or no, no problem)
    – Android Auto in H.U.D. (WTF you give carplay for? not everyone are ifag user)

then better look at other options.

• Tan Yann Hwa on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:38 am

I was wondering if the Honda Malaysia will bring in the latest Honda City 1.5L with 6-speed manual transmission to our country. As we know that our neighbour country might have offered the 5 speeder H.City in their line up. Don’t let the M/T fan-sie get annoyed by most new cars will none manual transmission in the line up. Yeah, and I’d expect comments such as MT is outdated la and upgrade your mind la bro, I’d still be an enthusiast of manual transmission until the day the manual transmission dies, perhaps. Hopefully the next generation of Honda City may bring in Honda’s 6-M/T City for the manual enthusiast. Just my humble opinion, please leave your thoughts which I’m always glad to be reading through. Cheers

• sohail farooq on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:38 pm

what is the procedure to get this car in pakistan?????????????