Suzuki Ertiga Diesel – more details of Indonesian-spec

The Suzuki Ertiga Diesel is expected to go on sale in Indonesia very soon, and details of the new variant, which recently surfaced on AutonetMagz, give us a clearer look into what the republic will be getting, including a price – Rp 220 juta (RM73,000) on-the-road. Currently, the seven-seater MPV is only available there in 1.4 litre petrol form, the same one that is sold here as the Proton Ertiga.

In case you missed it, the oil-burning Ertiga is powered by a D13A 1.3 litre DDiS turbodiesel, linked to the Smart Hybrid Vehicle by Suzuki (SHVS) system. This mild hybrid setup includes a Integrated Starter Generator (ISG) in place of an alternator, providing automatic engine start/stop and regenerative braking, as well as assistance to the engine under acceleration.

The whole ensemble is mated to the only transmission option offered – a five-speed manual – as well as a larger battery. All in all, total system output stands at 90 hp and 200 Nm of torque, one horsepower down but 70 Nm up on the petrol. In India, the Ertiga Diesel’s fuel consumption is rated at 24.52 km/l in the local cycle.

Exterior-wise, the Ertiga Diesel, which will be fully imported to Indonesia from India, looks pretty much identical to the petrol models, with the exception of Hybrid badging at the rear. Inside, a beige steering wheel and gearlever (Indonesian petrol models get brown items, like ours) mark it out, as well as different fabric trim that is carried over from the Indian-market models.

Added kit over the petrol models include a manual-dimming rear-view mirror and a rear demister (yes, really), as well as a heater (this being Indian-spec). However, the Indonesian diesel model misses out on certain items that are offered on the range-topping models sold in India, including keyless entry, push-button start, a Bluetooth-enabled touchscreen infotainment system and a reverse camera.

So, how would a diesel Proton Ertiga sound?

GALLERY: Suzuki Ertiga facelift at GIIAS 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Since it can handle Indomee B20, so come here drink B10 is ‘mou man tai’. So who says B10 is bad? B20 shud be worse!

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 06, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Malaysia should intro the diesel here. After all, our petrol now is SUPER HIGH despite being an oil producing nation.

Don’t know why the Gomen is so reluctant to intro diesels here. It will help us a lot. Diesel cars normally give you DOUBLE mileage. So if this Ertiga gives 500KM full tank, Diesel will give 1000KM

Hope the Gomen starts caring for Malaysians by making our fuel last longer.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 06, 2017 at 9:02 pm

It’s such a pity some people is so good in impersonating me. Anyway, I am a Celebrity now.

• alldisc on Feb 06, 2017 at 9:17 pm

The diesel sold now is just as expensive. No savings if driven in city or traffic jams.. Only at highways.

By the way, the omission of rear windscreen heater is not really felt when it has rear wiper.

Unlike the daihatsu charade aura with 2 different specs. The lower one has no rear wiper

• thinkagain on Feb 07, 2017 at 9:10 am

Dude, with the same litre, Diesel will give twice Mileage…people like you dont have data, type and talk ONLY. im sure you are some AH Beng

• Ollie on Feb 06, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Dunno what John is talking about above.

Anyhow, seems much too complicated for a cheap daily utility vehicle. I would want my under-tree mechanic to be able to handle simple maintenance and repairs if I’m buying a cheap car.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 06, 2017 at 6:40 pm

nobody can understand what he says.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 06, 2017 at 7:33 pm

I oso can’t understand him. then again I can’t understand u even more..

• Mikey on Feb 06, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Kunta, the best part is john have more ‘like’ than all of us put together.

• dtctr on Feb 07, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Why you reply to your own dupe?

• tokmoh. on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:16 am

Diesel in Indonesia is B20 biodiesel rated. That’s 20% of the fuel coming from palm oil.

Here, we’re supposed to have 10%, yet postponed because carmakers complaint that’s too high and will ruin their engine.

• Mikey on Feb 06, 2017 at 6:38 pm

So SUSY is selling it’s ER3 in Indonesia NOT P1 with a D13A 1.3 litre DDiS turbodiesel, linked to the Smart Hybrid Vehicle by Suzuki (SHVS) system – That is a Good Engine.

The worst part is it is mated to the ‘only’ transmission option offered(a 5-speed manual). In short, U have to change gear with your own hand – Not the Best option.

In most M’sian driving condition, this is already NOT a good idea where most of our motoring is stuck in jam. I personally think this is NOT idle bcos most M’sian prefer an auto with at least 5-speed or CVT.

Anyway, it’s Only my personal opinion. Let our commentators tell if they prefer manual or auto/CVT in a people carrier. Happy reading & bashing folks. Cheers anyway.

• Ganeson on Feb 07, 2017 at 7:06 am

I think Malaysians should seriously consider manual diesels if you’re serious about fuel savings. Nobody using 9 auto here. Compared to the 4 speed auto in the er3, the manual when if 5 speed will save, the mechanic under the tree will be happier replacing your clutch than servicing your auto transmission on a cheap car, and it would be great for people commuting to KL on a regular basis and doing 100+ km a day going and returning from work. You only need it to sell 2% of tiv to be successful seller as a variant. Don’t need to appeal to all.

• horrayooi on Feb 06, 2017 at 7:25 pm

It has proper temperature gauge not like Vios,City, Polo, Axia, HRV, BRV and below whose engineers are damn dumb just to save some money. Make them look low cost budget cars with low specs.

• pro turn on Feb 07, 2017 at 12:44 am

terkejut aku tadi

ingatkan kereta proton ertiga

rupanya keta suzuki indon je pun

tapi kalau difikirkan logik pun proton bulan 4 nanti pun dah nak kena jual

enjin baru 2017 pong pang bising je lebih

enjin tak siap lagi pun dah kena jual

macai je syok cepat sgt

• It will fly on B7 diesel here. Proton bring this in with 6 airbags and electronic stability and it will sell!

• henry on Feb 07, 2017 at 10:21 am

Ok. Good to have diesel option. I would prefer dark/black interior.

• If proton can offer small diesel with auto gearbox then it very good idea… From my experiance, diesel engine very efision during idling (jammed) compare to petrol..plus almost double mileage compare petrol on same class.. Anyway automatic option is a ‘must’ nowaday..

• Captain gigi kuning on Feb 09, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Hey, better make engine for kerosine…
    Petrol and diesel mahal in Malaysia….