Shell Helix High Mileage – an engine oil for older cars

Shell Malaysia has introduced a new engine oil tailored for older, high mileage vehicles. Its Shell Helix High Mileage 15W-50 synthetic technology engine oil is said to offer customised protection for engines, especially those with more than 100,000 km on the odometer.

The new oil has been specially formulated to address common problems in high mileage cars such as a dirty engine, reduced engine performance and oil leaks from worn seals, gaskets and parts. Its thicker formulation helps prevent oil leaks from ageing seals and gaskets and worn parts.

The oil is said to have exceptional low evaporation loss to reduce oil consumption and great oxidation stability, to prevent oil ageing and burn-off. Specially formulated with Flexi Molecule Technology, the company says that Shell Helix High Mileage offers up to 40% better wear protection to help prolong engine life.

The formulation’s proprietary Active Cleansing Technology also results in a cleaner engine by preventing the accumulation of sludge and other damaging deposits, and has been proven to be able to help remove up to 34% of sludge in the first oil change, on average.

The recommended retail price of a four-litre pack of the new Shell Helix High Mileage is RM148 in Peninsular Malaysia and RM150 in Sabah and Sarawak. A one-litre pack retails for RM40 in Peninsular Malaysia and RM41 in Sabah and Sarawak.

In conjunction with the launch, customers who select Shell Helix High Mileage 15W-50 for an oil change service at participating workshops will enjoy RM25 off for every four-litre pack from the invoiced amount. The promotion runs from March 15 until May 15.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Iswara on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Maybe should give it a try for my Iswara that’s about 500k km.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm

WOW, 500k km already. P1 should give U a New Saga as a token of appreciation as replacement for using their car 4 such a long time as testament of reliability & Goodwill.

• I’m closing on to you.. My Waja is currently 460k hehe.. Overhauled once at 340k km only.. Those older Mitsubishi engines really do lasts..

• Head Hunter on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:17 am

Ha, same here. Except that I owned a 1991 Pajero Lo47 doing 520K still without major overhaul. They sure last now do they?

• alvin on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:06 pm

That’s good, it shows Malaysian made cars if taken care well will last long

• Ben Yap on Feb 17, 2017 at 1:17 pm

100K km is considered high mileage? i thought that’s normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Douglas Lee on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Which are the participating workshops??

• 200K+ milage on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:12 pm

If 100K is high mileage, then looks like my car is under Super High mileage category!

• They never mention about service interval for this oil?

• frankC on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:55 pm

rule of thumb for earlier cars is still 5000km and not more than 7000km… 100k km is just barely half life of a car engine… normally should last till 250k km

• michelin on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:57 pm

hmm, would like to try this on my 16 yrs old wira.

• Ong ET on Feb 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Can use for kenari?

• can use for kenari. one of the 1st batch user is a kelisa year 2003.

• My 12years car. Millage 200+. Which one is suitable between HM 15w50 or HM 10w40. What are the different?

• Oilleaks on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Valvoline invented the high mileage oil formulation more than 10 years ago.
    What’s the big deal. “Fake news”

• Idzone on Feb 18, 2017 at 12:26 am

I hope shell well produce for fully syn (shell helix ultra) 5w50.

• Allen on Feb 18, 2017 at 1:54 am

Look like a mineral oil to me. Nothing special actually, and damn expensive.

At that price, i could get my car service with Germany semi synthetic oil + oil filter + labour at RM130, and rm200 for fully synthetic 5w40 Longlife + oil filter + labour.

Never know 15w50 could be so expensive, and it’s too “heavy” for most cars on the road in Malaysia.

Many are switching to 5w30 now

• Rhys Millen on Feb 18, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Should have also used some older brand ambassadors to go in theme…. They might really need the shell helix high mileage…

• azrai on Feb 20, 2017 at 8:50 am

This is for older man lubricants ka?

• Adriel D.K on Mar 01, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Gonna try this on my myvi 1.0, mileage at 380k plus km now lol

• My Y2000/2004 harrier 2.4L mileage at 340K km. Still running fine…its good to change to Shell 5w-50.

• My Proton Wira SE 2005 465K KM. Engine still running smoothly. Just have a problem the wiring system sometimes.
    Should i try for my wira?

• plantin on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:16 am

old car need use so expensive meh

• Winston on Aug 28, 2019 at 9:59 pm

Just tried it today for 850cc Kancil with 129k km. The mechanic was shocked to see i bought this. Said to me it is wrong engine oil to buy and too thick. So far it is not noisy