Proton partner vital for new tech, larger market – PM

Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has had his say on Proton’s current situation, where the national carmaker is currently evaluating foreign strategic partner bids from China’s Geely and France’s PSA Group. To no one’s surprise, the “father of Proton” is against the idea of ceding control of the carmaker to foreign parties, even blaming the current PM for Proton’s predicament.

Now, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has aired his thoughts on the matter, defending the government’s proposal for Proton to have a foreign partner. Proton must look for a strategic partner, but this does not mean the company is being sold to foreigners, he said, reported by The Star.

“This (finding a partner) is so there will be an injection of new technology and a larger market. When there is a larger volume of sales, there will be more jobs in Pekan and Tanjung Malim. The people are the ones who will benefit from this,” Najib reasoned at the opening of the Negaraku: Komuniti 1Malaysia programme in Pekan over the weekend.

“We do not play using emotions and fake news. We do what is best for the people,” he added, saying that a former leader had committed many mistakes in the handling of Proton. “I do not want to talk about it, but we want to fix it,” the PM said.

For a recap of the current situation and Tun M’s views on the matter, click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• matt farrel on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:58 pm

despite the fact PM Najib Razak can’t hold his promises he made to you guys….for once i feel that he is right…Proton is dying and the only to save it and save you guys’ money from being taken away is to find a strategic partner..this way they can get international presence, which means more cars produced and they can achieve economies of scale where they can be profitable once more…

but more importantly…the cars that they build can be better in terms of quality…right now their heading in the right direction as i could feel the improvements they’ve made to the 3rd gen Saga…hopefully similar or better build quality can be achieved with their cars in the future…also with a partner..they can finally design new engines and transmissions to replace the ones you guys complain frequently about…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 15
    • Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Disgraceful when you kutuk someone older than you, especially when you yourself come without clean hands.

Proton as well as Proton staff should be ashamed for allowing Tun M to be kutuk like that. Tun M was Bapa Proton. He looked after you all so well.

If not for Tun M, Proton would have been closed 15 years ago. But as Tun M was the PM, he made sure he gave Proton as much money as possible whenever Proton needed it. Mahathir took money from Petronas with one hand and gave freely to Proton with another hand. This is why Proton is still alive today.

Very shameful now, not even a single person in Proton’s 60,000 workers can stand up and defend him now despite he loving Proton with all his heart and soul.

And even more disgraceful that for the last 4 launches, not even a single person called Bapa Proton to launch the new Perdana, Ertiga, Persona and Saga. Proton made a conscious effort to disgrace Tun M by not inviting him.

In overseas, every company always invite their founder. For example, When Steve Blamer was President of Microsoft, every product launch, he called Bill Gates as the Founder to bless the launch. This is respect for our elders.

Everyone, just threw the 90 year old man into the tong sampah, and forgot all the good he did for Proton. It is very sad that we have forgotten our Asian culture of respecting the elders. The word “hormat” orang tua is not in Proton’s dictionary.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 11
      • Not Bad on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:00 am

New Persona thumbs up …. Pls make new Satria

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 50
        • Sama L00 on Mar 01, 2017 at 4:15 pm

They really think foreigners will come in give free cash and free technology without getting back anything substantial?
          Give me a break! Stop the clown drama!

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Najib talk big but Najib and his other ministers were in the cabinet now for 20 over years. Why they did not speak up then? Last time keep quiet only.

No balls then?

• The same problem cannot be solved with the same management running over 3 decades. For 30 years, rakyat have been buying low quality crap from Proton in the name of national pride. Enough is enough. Why should the rakyat pay for inefficient Nasi Lemak management of Proton? Kick those people out and replace with capable people, not people with the same kind. Those people can only indulge in self pride and are a disgrace to our country. The problem with Proton is the attitude of their people

• Albert on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Kunta
        I memang hormat orang tua.Dont get me wrong.
        But cos of this failed experiment called Protong,we r forced to buy Saga,Wiras until we cannot tahan the

• Albert on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:58 pm

kUNTA
        HORMAT.. we got no problem.But P1 has resulted in us suffering high car prices for 3 decades.We buy Japanese cars cos we cannot tahan Plotong’s wretched quality.
        If P1 n2 did not exist,most of us r driving Honda s as Toyotas without thinking twice.
        PROTONG IS THE WORST MALAYSIAN BUSINESS VENTURE.IT IS THE BIGGEST CORPORATE FAILURE.
        NOw,the botak is happy with GEETON.

• “If not for Tun M, Proton would have been closed 15 years ago. But as Tun M was the PM, he made sure he gave Proton as much money as possible whenever Proton needed it.”

You are correct. You said it. That’s part of the problem here. He should have let it die instead of wasting our taxpayers money on keeping a dead horse alive. Sorry but stupidity to the extreme.

I am not supporting Najib but in this case HE IS CORRECT.

• Ollie on Feb 28, 2017 at 3:17 pm

Why should we accord respect to the person that supported mediocrity for decades and fed billions of RM in rakyat’s money to a failing pet project?

• You have barely scratched the surface.
        TDM is the main reason for Proton failure. The management has for last few years been seeking foreign partners for expertise to get foreign market. They know cannot survive like this.

TDM wanted to hold 51% and ask the (dumb) VW to pour in billions. Hello, VW not dumb, that money will go into his crony pockets.

TDM wanted control so his crony parts suppliers who have been supplying since day one can continue. They source the CHEAPEST PARTS and sell at inflated price to Proton. This is reason why Proton cannot sell overseas.

All the manufacturers know this, so who wants to pour money into drain….so until now NO VENTURE.

No partner will agree to 49% share, not Sorhai la pls!!

So TDM has scuttled all the probable JVs, and he asked 3 billion from the govt, so that can be channeled to his crony suppliers. He doesnt give 2 cents about Proton, only money money money!!

Same with the Tenaga IPPs, toll roads, etc etc.

Once the foreign partner comes in, they will appoint their own suppliers, quality parts at a known price.

They will give a fixed margin to suppliers, aiyo all the suppliers and manufacturers know the price la.

Yes gave money to Proton to give to his cronies. Same for MAS, all die

• Amran on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:05 pm

CamPro VVT & Punch CVT right?

• Open Letter to Proton Directors on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:23 am

Last time when Tun was adviser, everyone cium Tun’s tangan and kipas his buntot. All worship him. All the directors ampu bodek him, cium him everyday.

Now, the same directors, as well as the 60,000 workers who always cium him, just drop him like a stone. Nobody come here to defend him.

This is Hippocrate behaviour. The same people are still in Proton. Don’t you guys all feel shy? One day Tun feeds you and give you food on your plate, another day, you chase him like a dog and not a single person dare to defend him

• The only promise PM gave was a fighting chance to P1 if; they can settle outstanding debts (with 1.5B), come out with attractive models (which they did), find a big bro (finding), and increase economics of scale for use of both factories (via that partner).

PM wun gip free lunch to Tun pet project anymore. But a fair chance, yes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:39 am

I cannot understand one thing. Gomen always say Proton is PRIVATE but Najib himself wearing Proton uniform with DRB Hicom written on it.

Isn’t this conflict of interest? You said Proton is PRIVATE??

• So what? Donation also goes into Najib’s private account yet is public’s fund

• camtakpro on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:17 am

PM will use Proton as a platform to siphon more pocket money.

• If he really wanted to korek, he wud have done the same as 22years dear leader did and maintain the same tongkat trajectory.

• Not Enough? on Feb 28, 2017 at 4:19 pm

30 years + RM1.5B not enough?

• Sack designer on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:39 pm

The first thing for new partner to do for Proton is: Sack the designer!

Yes!!! Sack the designer! Sack the resigner! Sack the designer!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Silthice on Feb 28, 2017 at 3:53 am

Actually for the new engines, they already have the GDi engines with aisin gearbox. Just that I can’t understand why Proton don’t make use Lotus light body framework expertise to help Proton produce a safer car with less weight. For instance, the weight of a persona is almost similar to the Ertiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • lilytan on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:40 am

Lotus uses aluminium chassis. Very pricey. Even the current n upcoming proton engine also is not aluminium block. No money. Whos gonna pay the supplier?

• camtakpro on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:57 am

Just disband the Proton logo, batch and company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Proton is No 1 now and Proton will always be No 1. Who wants BMW or Mecidis when you can own a good Proton?

• Prabanathan Loo on Feb 28, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Poodua is No 1 and will always be No 1. Who wants Toyolta or Lexus when you can own a ‘lightweight’ Poodua with ‘powerful toyolta’ engine? Mari, mari, whatever good or crap, just buy it as we dunwan their top gun ‘mengamuk’ due to lack of sales.

• basherlogic on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:39 am

So desperate want to use other’s nickname?
          Lol pity, you must have a very low life.

• Sigh… P1 live or die is no more essential to Gov. All that matters is building more public transport it seems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:34 pm

None of the 60,000 workers coming forward to defend their Founder? How to help a company like that? Their own founder also, who gave “birth” to them, kena put down maximum.

How to help a company that is so ungrateful???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Cash is king on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Sell it off to Geely China company!

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm

if we sell then what will happen to all the jobs at Proton?

Better don’t sell. Our workers need the job!

• Pride is King on Feb 28, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Malay can’t manage it now need the Chinese to save it?

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:09 pm

beli lah Proton, guna tanpa was was…oh wai!

• hari hari mau on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Current buyers beware.
    Wait & see what transpires from this new JV.
    First thing to ditch is the VVTI / renamed Campro
    Already SC getting plenty complaints about rattling dashboard and exhaust sounds.
    This all boils down to the unbalanced engine due to only 3 mountings.
    Good luck Proton we hope your marriage will be everlasting unlike the previous failed marriages. U are getting old so the options are now less.
    Hahaha !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Bodoh! on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Potong itu la… potong ini la… tutup la… makan duet rakyat aje….tak guna.. bodoh mcm nasi lemak!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Jeffrey Ng on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Bosch, ZF-TRW, Denso, Continental and Autoliv.
    The world’s TOP automotive suppliers are all here in Malaysia and are ready to supply advanced technologies to local car companies.

Anyone that works in the local automotive manufacturing industry (not just assembly) will know that “injection of new technologies” is just an excuse.

Advanced technologies such as Gasoline Direct Injection, Diesel Common Rail Injection, airbags, Slip Control Systems (ABS, ESC), torque vectoring control systems, Electric Power Steering, digital cockpits, advanced connected radio systems and etc are readily available but the real problem lies with the fact that local companies (some with very low level of design/manufacturing process technologies) continue to be awarded supply contracts just because they know some people with honourific titles.

These lobbying services most probably do not come free and all these may add to costs. How is Proton able to adopt advanced technologies that naturally cost more and at the same time maintain a healthy margin when the lower tech components already have added costs that squeezes the margin further?

Just like some or perhaps most Malaysians, I would love to see Proton do well. However in my humble opinion, availability of advanced technologies is not the problem. Selling Proton in exchange for advanced technologies do not address the real problem.

Volume of scale is a real problem. Profit margin is a real problem. Proper sourcing is a real problem.

Realistically, if Geely were to own Proton, probably most of the components would come from China. We will lose more jobs and that’s assuming that Geely has technologies to offer in the first place. They own Volvo which itself is famous for safety technologies such as high tensile boron steel. Proton already have their in-house high tensile hot-formed steel which is quite similar. Volvo uses a lot of airbags from Swedish supplier Autoliv. Proton buys its airbag ECU and airbags from Autoliv Malaysia (yes, they have a factory in Malaysia). In fact, for critical technologies, Proton use the same above-mentioned suppliers as the world’s top carmakers.

If a decade ago Proton were instructed to award supply contracts purely based on supplier capability, I’m sure the perception of its quality would have improved tremendously. Its build quality would have improved tremendously. Its sales would have improved tremendously.

Why is Proton in such a predicament? Maybe it is because that politicians think they know how to manage big corporations. Maybe it is also because they probably think that rent-seeking is fine. The harsh fact is that most of the politicians have not even worked in private corporations all their life. Most may not even get a job with private corporations if the hiring is based on merit.

I emphatise with the hundreds of thousands of people who work in this industry. Their survival and future rest with people with no real experience in troubleshooting and management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
    • hassan on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:16 am

Not as easy as said.
      This is not a plug & play rojak business.
      If it sounds so simple , we don’t need to get any foreign partner & any Tom Dick & Harry can produce a car.
      Proton just needs new blood and a total revamp. Enough of National Pride & Ego.
      Its better to have a hard reboot rather a soft one and face the same problem 2-3 years down the line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • waters on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Well, technically with the right tools, and TD&H can.:P

I would really want to make one of these if we could buy them here:

http://www.factoryfive.com/kits/project-818/

• Jeffrey Ng on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:20 am

Been there, done that. I didn’t say it is simple but I’m telling you that it is not impossible. It’s doable.

• Jonn Dol on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:19 am

Whoever wins the bid for the Proton’s FSP venture, parts sharing/commonization with the FSP will surely take place in order to achieve economies of scale. There’s a possibility Proton might need to scale down some of their in-house activities..

• lilytan on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:47 am

Spot on. Potong is full of parasites. Perhaps the best JV is with a pest control aka SPRM.

• Ollie on Feb 28, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Spot on. And it is easy to do with the availability of suppliers in the market

• muya rynn on Feb 27, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Just a question i have:

Where has syed mokhtar has been?

• Mohammad on Feb 27, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Hello that Dr M just shut your mouth. You should apologise to the whole of Malaysia and especially to Najib. You are now sucking the taxpayers 1.5 billion ringgit to sustain your pet car which nobody wants to buy. Because of you the automotive industry in Malaysia cannot be liberalised and be competitive. Because of you and Proton and protectionism Malaysians have been paying extreme high car prices for better foreign cars. Proton is extremely lucky to have bidders such as Geely and PSA. If Proton is that good then stop begging the Government and the rakyat for money. Sell your cars overseas la. How many cars you sell overseas per country per year? Tell the whole nation Dr M. Why silence and keep quiet? Don’t dare to tell the whole nation izzit? Why so secretive? No transparency? Why blame Government and Najib? Why blame Malaysians for not buying your cars? Your car is much cheaper than the foreign cars right but still nobody wants to buy. Why? What car you and your family drive? Huh?? Answer these questions. Tell the whole country how many cars you actually sell per model per country per month per year. Don’t put blame on others but yourself. Let the country and nation judge you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
  • Albert on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Actually come to reflect on P1,it is the BIGGEST CORPORATE FAILURE IN BOLEHLAND….APART FROM MAS.
    Like semi value said…PROJEK MEMBAZIR WANG.
    P1 has undergone chemotherapy and radiation non stop.
    The white knight will not want to inherit the huge debts.They may want a clean sheet to start with,buying this rotten company for rm1.

• Ah Kow on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:16 am

The problem lies over here ….
      (3rd para) “When there is a larger volume of sales, there will be more jobs in Pekan and Tanjung Malim.”

They only care about CREATING more jobs but forgot about EFFICIENCY.
      Haven’t even make improvement to their vehicle, already wanna talk about “large volume sales”.

No wonder P1 sales is far behind P2.

• Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:13 pm

I don’t care if P1 is sold or Not. I just don’t want Rakyat $$$ are used 2 bail out P1 anymore. Is that so difficult to understand Mr Najib & Tun M. Enough is enough la. How long more are we going 2 suffer bcos of U two Egomaniac.

• N is not egomaniac. He will get the money back by hook or by crook. Why else the loan is cap at 1.5B and not what P1 demanded? Hint hint assets.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Look at the headlights of the Preve in that pic. The Preve headlights are flawed. It looks too flat and small with sharp edges. The Preve needs a facelift, now.

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Give and take.

You win, I win.

• xem6861 on Feb 27, 2017 at 11:58 pm

As long as the Proton management still feed proud with their Raja Kampung mentality,they wont go elsewhere in the international arena. Even during Dr M reign, if he abolished tax on Proton brand and carefully handle its suppliers. I dont think situation could be much worse now.

• I don’t mind if the potential future partner i.e. PSA to take majority stake in Proton if Proton can build and sell us 308 equivalent at below RM60k. Why not?

• iampetergriffin on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:58 am

I hope Geely got the bid. Their acquisition of Volvo brand has been very positive lately.

• Mr Fakta on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:00 am

Some say Proton is a private company now, why the freak Najis is still involve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Kow on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:06 am

True true, dia buat apa kat sana? Bukankah P1 dah jadi “Private”

All the lies (last para), “We do not play using emotions and fake news.” ….konon~

• Low Budget on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Some unseen strings attached?

• minyak on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:35 am

petrol price going up or not?

• hazzif on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:45 am

i think what is more important is the business for proton must make money, doesn’t matter who the partner is. what is good of being national but losing money everyday. in this case i think geely is a better choice for long term than psa group.

my 2 cents only.

• Anonymous on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:49 am

Lets start with better public transportation… efficient and enhanced
    connectivity. Then P1 should concentrate on smaller, efficient EVs or hybrids… this will be the trend in the urban near future. What happened to all the r&d on evs n range entenders…? Why new owners DRB-Hicom does nothing to apply these research…?

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta 2 on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:32 pm

P1 Engineer A : Eh nak mula buat research untuk EV tak?

P1 Engineer B : Boleh, tapi I sikit lapar skarang, nak makan karipap dan minum teh dulu, baru kita mula.

P1 Engineer A :Jom!

~ 2hours later~~~

P1 Engineer B : Lepas makan ada sikit penat ni, mari kita tidur kejap.

P1 Engineer A : Okay la macam tu kita tidur kejap baru mula buat research.

~ 3hours later~~~

P1 Engineer B : Eh eh bangun, dah pukul 5 ni, mari kita balik la, besok baru start.

• Ah Kow on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:03 am

Referring to the last para “We do what is best for the people”

Increase 20sen petrol is best for the rakyat or best for you yourself?

• BbalingBiru on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:15 am

When more and more countries pledge to have ONLY ZERO (0) IC cars in very near future as soon as 2025, what should an automaker expedite now?

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:29 am

With or without foreign partner, P1 is doomed. The Malaysian culture, work ethics, 30% mentality, cronyism, want something for nothing et al is the problem. The only the fix is a serious hard reset of these issues and then and only then will ANY industry flourish here. You can buy the best hardware but if the software isn’t up to par, maximum potential cannot be reached. Frankly, it won’t happen IMHO. The rot has ingrained so hard that no new culture can be learned nor be innoculated.

• Sparcov on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:35 am

I still say the most failure in Proton is to ditched Mitsubishi as a partner by thinking they are proud enough to start the campro engine development during the Gen-2 era. they are simply not ready.

the partnership with mitsubishi over 20 years is strong enough to use their technology and getting inhouse design.

Look at Chinese Car manufacturer, most of the engine they used come from Mitsubishi 4G series.

• yogendra on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Pekan? Didn’t know they had a plant there…

• John Geli on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:58 pm

I hope Proton will choose Geely. Same Asian people culturally fit.

• Mat sentol on Feb 28, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Lama dah proton aniaya rakyat malaysia..sbb proton kita x mampu pakai kereta berkualiti,, proton eksport model high class..rakyat sendiri pakai..hampeh..harap2 dah join venture dgn china tu dptla atasi masalah..cuma barang made in china banyak pakai buang..contoh chery..hehehe.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 28, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Looking at various car model posted. It looks like Proton is late to the strategic-alliance-party.

• workhard on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:21 am

Got a lot of ccheapo used jepunis cars out there, still cannot afford ah? Nobody forces you to buy p1 / p2. Haiya

*Faceplam*

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 01, 2017 at 8:05 am

Please sell all to foreigners and not half heartedly because history had shown all half heart decisions end up as failures. Too many bosses and nobody knows who to follow just like current situation. DRB although is the owner, but have to take instructions from bosses who are in the govt. DRB cannot make the product to become succcesful because it knows it doesnt own the product at all. On the govt side, they dont run the business but decides on key decisions. This sort of recipe doesn’t work.

• Mentega on Mar 01, 2017 at 8:10 am

Why does najib keep mentioning fake news like it makes him sound credible? Has he forgotten that his mouthpiece utusan has lost many lawsuits for publishing fake news?