Volkswagen’s nationwide ‘Vento Turbocharged Tour’

Instead of trying to get punters to showrooms, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) will be bringing the Volkswagen Vento to the people with the “Vento Turbocharged Tour”, a nationwide roadshow that will be held at 11 locations across Malaysia.

VW says that its cars are better experienced than explained, and the Vento tour will allow participants to personally feel the power of the Vento’s turbocharged engine. It’s not all about the car though, as there will be courses on basic car safety and driving skills. This includes proper sitting and steering wheel position, emergency braking, defensive driving skills and also slalom courses. There will also be stunt demo sessions.

Launched in May 2016, the Vento is the latest incarnation of the Polo Sedan, now with Passat-inspired styling. Under the top 1.2 TSI Highline version’s hood is a turbocharged direct injection four-cylinder unit that puts out 105 PS at 5,000 rpm and 175 Nm of torque, made between 1,550 and 4,100 rpm. It’s mated to a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission. There’s also a 1.6L MPI NA option with a six-speed auto.

The Vento 1.2 TSI comes with ESC and a five-star ASEAN NCAP rating. Roadshow participants can put this active safety feature to the test in a controlled environment. Other VW models will also be available for test drives, and there will be special offers for bookings made during the event. Everyone with a valid driver’s license is welcome.

The Vento Turbocharged Tour starts this weekend (March 18-19) at Aeon Bukit Tinggi, Klang. It will then move to Mydin Ayer Keroh in Melaka on May 13-14, before heading to Stadium Darul Makmur in Kuantan on July 29-30.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bernard on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:45 am

Great car but the publics confidence in the brand is not there yet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta Sisters on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Thats why my boss drive BMW 7 series. Better quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • Mikey on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Comparing a Vento with a 7-series. U must be joking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
        • Operation Manager on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Even everyday doing tour & demo also *useless & waste money. Below suggested 2 solutions will help VW beat even Honda Toyota make VW to become 1st *people car choise of malaysia. VW still don’t know what Msian need… Over here make up from 95% of slave serving 9yrs car loan… they have no choise but been force to be slave by gomen on tax duty of mininum by 1/2 of the OTR car price. End-up all monthly expenses is planned & should predictable. Problem:- (1)afraid of purchasing a car that will trouble later. Solution: give 9yrs warranty all parts of both engine & transmission. (2)afraid of sudden spike in expenses. *previous FB posted a black & white quotation from VW dealer of RM52K for a repair of wiring set of a VW car, which cost of a new car price. which tell VW dealer is totally uncontrolled & ridiculous. Solution: standardize all dealers for reasonable service package & price for a nine years service, included periodically spare parts change cost, put all into official VW my webpage for 30millions Malaysian reference iwning a VW car expenses.

• Astroboi on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Ramai golongan pendapatan rendah suka kereta Jepun sebab Tidak perlu risau tentang kos selenggeraan yang tinggi.
        Tidak perlu risau tentang komponen gantian mahal.
        Kebarangkalian kereta rosak tengah jalan amat rendah. Jadi boleh memandu dengan hati yang tenang dan senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Terry on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:50 am

Actually this is what VW needs to do to quell the bad press about the dry clutch DSG. Even though the problem has been resolved about 2 years ago, Malaysians keep having the perception that buying a VW car equals to a visit by tow truck operators, many of whom are regular contributors to this site.

In reality, unless your car is a 2014 or below model dry clutch DSG VW, you dont have anything to worry about as all models 2015 onwards have new gearboxes with new mechatronics and lubricant use, which would mean the gearbox are longer lasting than even conventional autoboxes.

So please all those out there who are still spreading hate, please stop bad mouthing cars that are far more reliable than many Japanese makes out there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 49
    • Mikey on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Agree with U Terry. Those tow trucks drivers are now too free bcos there is less towing(VW) hence they have too much time to troll in PT site. Most if not all post 2015 VW cars are reliable. Unfortunately for most VW owner have this syndrome call “Once bitten twice shy”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • Night Hunter on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Far more reliable than mang Japanese makes… Sorry but no…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Gopala Krishnan Marimuthu on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Sounds to me like a VW Salesman here trying to clean the image of VW. In forums and facebook page, owners with 2016 models also having DSG issues.

What do you have to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
      • Truman on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Says who? People like you are the ones who spread rumours. Friend’s freind’s, my datuk, my friend in OZ. If you really dare, go and speak to the owners directly and get first hand info rather than being a person who spread lies. For your information, all CKD models are completely reliable. You are just being a retard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
        • Shamsul Annuar on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:28 pm

I have sat many times in VW Glenmarie. I got a Volvo that I service next door. Every single customer in VW Glenmarie there say it is their biggest regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • Bash Basher on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:42 pm

There are also alot of people who spread rumours for other cars as well. How come I don’t see you defending them?

Who are you to confirm all CKD models are completely “reliable” ?
          You Quality Surveyor ke?
          Or you VW saleman?

For your info, i have got nothing against VW. They make great cars. But your statement is little too much. Control your hormones brader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Rohaizad on Mar 18, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Actually they never own one,just heard the rumors.

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:01 pm

what little hope left there for Volkswagen – tackle the 80-90k market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Shamim on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:27 pm

VW Vento BEST Deal @ 70k^^

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:59 am

wow. volkswagen realises it cannot even compete with other car makers at 80-90K segment for sure kalah. so targeting at preve and myvi extreme sales instead.

• DrLim on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Fyi Malaysian market is not really big. Its only about 0.001 % of global sales. If they want, they can leave and just focus on Indonesia and Thailand. It will make them the biggest in SEA. But they are giving you face. So please dont say silly things about their market share or their capacity etc. They are really big. They just spent more than US$10 billion in the US market and pledged another US$20 billion for US and global markets. Other car companies would have collapsed if they spent that much. In the case of VW, it only affected their profits, and yet they did not make a loss. Learn from them, stop thinking big when you are not their level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:31 pm

This is one of the best way to show/advertise to M’sian by allowing those with a valid license to “Feel” the solidness of a German engineered car. IMO, it is one of the Best damaged control solution by VW. Bravo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Longkai on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Customers entitled to Free Service & Defect Repair(parts and labour) for Life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • Noah Thiruchelvan on Mar 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm

Its a pity that consumers dont have confidence towards VW. Drove one for test drive, this is an absolute gem. Proper German car with proper performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Ashley on Mar 16, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Price between RM68-76k max yes. Anything above Volks can surrender their polo to City, Almera and Vios

• ChongST on Mar 16, 2017 at 7:29 pm

The fundamental difference between VW and its fellow German car companies is the “extra attention to detail”. In Germany a car company has to produce cars that are not just better than its competitors around Europe, it also has to be better than its peers in Germany. Thats how Germany views quality. Although several issues have recently brought VW in a bad light, essentially it is still a better car maker than all its competitors in Europe and even in Asia. VW cars are solidly built, engines last forever. Only the troublesome dry DSG was a trouble for it in Asia. Even the diesel emmision scandal was something all car makers in Europe that pushes diesel technology are guilty of. A case in point, Opel is also made in Germany, but because it is an American owned company, the attention to quality detail is not as strong as its peers in Germany, which are German owned. As a result, Opel is the first German car company to be sold to a foreign maker since World War 2. In comparison, all the other German car companies are stronger than all their competitors in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:42 pm

Yet, go to car throttle, etc sites with European consumers, they always joke VW = check engine light. A VW isn’t VW if CEL never on ie always got problem.

Though since mostly drive manual, the car can still move on most of the time.

• Owner on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:59 am

No car is perfect. Even new Volvo XC90 T8 Hybrid having problems with ABS malfunction Light ON, very worrying.

• waters on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:30 pm

This car has nothing going for it except the turbo engine. It’ll be hard to pull people away from the City or Vios. Especially the City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • C. P. MOHAN on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Mikey agreed it is a good damage control solution, but added to this, quoting Proton, ‘it’s in the drive’.

• NIGHTMARE on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Joy of driving yes. Maintenance/Reliability is a NIGHTMARE! So please get advise from current owners and then sign on the dotted line.i wonder how many current owners will buy another VW! ONCE BITTEN TWICE SHY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Truman on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Yes get advise from real human being owners who really exist and not some tale made up from a fictious character. All CKD models are reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • William on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:46 am

I won’t be sitting in the service center once a month if it’s realiable. Maybe u r lucky, but not for me who travel pg-kl regularly

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Vento is the only turbocharged B segment car there is. VW is the pioneer in turbocharging technology. For all thos souped up Ah Beng Altis, civic, almari, lancer cars, you all can just imagine in your head and have a cheap thrill driving NA cars. VW Vento can bungkus all the B segment cars out there and it has the highest torque in its class. Don’t take my word for it, just drive and compare yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Better wait for 1.0 turbocharged engine from p1, much more reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • alldisc on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:26 am

how can the vento bungkus all other cars when it is stuck in traffic jam? NO WAY!!

• No. This Vento is not the only B segment car with turbo. Ford Fiesta Ecoboost is also a B segment with turbo and more power than Vento even though only 998cc. If this Vento has the 1.4L twin charger engine, then yes it is very powerful. However, this is only the turbo 1.2L, early rpm is quite lively, enter more than 4k rpm the power drops off, the engines feels like out of breath

• tokmoh. on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:45 pm

Actually the Swedes Saab and Volvo are the pioneer of turbo. They’ve turboed their cars decades before it was cool.

Sked DSG. After sales also famous for wrong reason.

Tak yah pening, tak yah fikir, beli je Japanese.

• you come also people dont want to buy, why you cant see the only solution in Malaysia is to use non dsg gearbox, you put conventional gearbox today tomorrow people will be coming to your showroom, your perception is no value because not your own money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • timbuktu on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:17 pm

with people like @enal around, no wonder there’s no progress. pls keep buying your beloved vios with 20 yr old gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Prof .x on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:44 pm

i donno wut is once bitten twice shy.. but i know once bitten shy my foot..

• Every car make has their share of problems especially those who market their cars on high technology. It’s a give and take thing. If you want simple reliable tech and mundane drive go for the T brand. Even Honda has problem with airbags and worse it has taken away lives!

Just need to set your expectations right. To keep cars like this best to know the technology and how to look after it. I have owned hydraulic Citroen and turbo Peugeot cars and enjoyed all of them.

I now drive a 2014 Passat and yes I will gladly switch to VW again or another Euro make for my next car.

• boooooo on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Noone wants problematic car. Car has to be moving on road, not stuck in SC

• tokmoh. on Mar 17, 2017 at 12:24 am

Good for you.

Except for most households, they can afford 1 or 2 cars only. Gambling reliability, premium parts replacement, service cost, play waiting game is not an option for them.

Anyway those boring Japs are catching up on safety, so good for people.

• ugly interior and looks way outdated

• Ryan Yap on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:19 am

I’m owner of vw Jetta…bought 2016 until now mileage almost reaching 60k…visit sc for battery changing…how says for those who complain dsg failure?

• TokGuru on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:27 am

Good for u. But I still will never go vw again.

• Jetta owner on Mar 17, 2017 at 3:43 pm

All talk nonsense. Mine is a Jetta year 2014, the car is completely reliable. Only had some rattling sound on the passenger door, and that was solved FOC in sg. Besi centre. All these clowns are just fabricating stories. None of them are owners.

• polo owner on Mar 17, 2017 at 12:15 pm

At the 3rd year, lower arms, engine mounting and absorbers need to be changed. no warranty. wear and tear items. coolant tank showing signs of rust since SC uses tap water. need to flush whole system.at the 4th year car needs to be parked at sc overnite for aircond compressor replacement and jerking issues. need to use public transport till then.
    At that very moment i wished i had a more reliable car. would i buy a vw again? i will provided i have a standby car at home.the decision is purely yours to make guys.

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Mar 17, 2017 at 1:37 pm

VW cars will rosak tgh jalan…….Buy it at your own risk.

• test drove one earlier… Superb car with awesome power with equally good handling. The only thing which made me not happy is lack of armrest at rear seat. It is a family sedan but why the simple creature comfort was opted out?

• Paul Wong on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:32 pm

It is depend which models u drive in . U maybe tested in Tradeline models, Comfort line & Highline

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Everytime i see this car, i see a Saga. The resemblance is just too close for me to fork out 70k for it. If its a totally different look would have bought it.