New Hyundai Elantra Sport T-GDi previewed in M’sia

It’s finally out in the open, officially. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) is currently previewing the new Hyundai Elantra at Mid Valley Megamall. Not the easiest of malls to reach, so if you’re not looking forward to braving the crowds, here’s a live gallery of the soon-to-be-launched C-segment sedan.

UPDATE: The new Hyundai Elantra is now open for booking in Malaysia.

The car on show in Mid Valley is a red Elantra Sport. In the Elantra AD’s case, ‘Sport’ does not mean just a bodykit – there’s a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine that puts out Civic FC-beating 204 hp and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

In South Korea, the Avante’s Gamma T-GDi is paired to either a six-speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the auto here. Variations of this blown motor also power the Tucson SUV and Veloster Turbo in Malaysia.

The Sport comes with a unique grille (chrome slats aren’t full width, discreet ‘Turbo’ badge on one side), larger bumper air intakes (note the C-shaped chrome element with LED daytime running lights) and a more elaborate headlamp design. Its rear comes with a diffuser, twin exhaust tips and a ‘Sport’ badge. Different 17-inch rims from the regular car, too.

Inside, there’s plenty or red. The seats are more red than black (‘Sport’ stitched on the front chairs), and the “sporty colour” is repeated on the door cards, steering/gear boot stitching and edges of the floor mats.

The flat-bottomed steering wheel is the same one seen in the Ioniq, but with the hybrid’s blue band swapped for red. There’s also carbon fibre-style trim, dual-zone auto air con, keyless entry with push start and cruise control, among other goodies. Delete the sunroof and this is pretty much the launch spec for Malaysia, we understand.

Not all will want (or need) a turbo engine, and there will be a non-Sport Elantra expected to carry a naturally aspirated 2.0 litre Nu MPi engine with a six-speed torque converter automatic. The Elantra GLS can be had up with an aftermarket bodykit that’s very shouty, even more so than the Sport. We’ve had a glimpse of this optional kit courtesy of spyshots from last week. Anytime soon now.

GALLERY: Hyundai Avante Sport, Korean market

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra Sport, US market

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 5:21 pm

See how the Koreans have progressed. Once upon a time, Kia and hyundai were known as pariah brands. If you drove a Hyundai or a Kia, people would laugh at you.

Look at them today. Totally transformed. Hyundai and Kia sell about 10 million cars per annum. And in US and Australia, they are now TOP No 1 brands.

Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton started. And yet, one sells 10 million cars worldwide and the other sells 70,000 cars locally only.

We need to work hard like the Koreans.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 250 Thumb down 207
    • Why work hard when the rakyat want to gip u money? That’s called working smart like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 11, 2017 at 7:14 pm

for once you are right john. This is why Proton don’t work hard. Got free money. 1.5 bil habis, already asking RM1.8 bil

All workers got guaranteed jobs for life. No need to look for jobs in jobstreet like most people who have been retrenched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Yes. And we can start with u. Work harder and dun be lazy. When customers walk into ur toyota showroom, serve them properly and humbly instead of just sit there and non-stop posting nonsense in PT. I knows u can do it, I belips in u!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 224 Thumb down 226
    • factualize on May 11, 2017 at 8:08 pm

They dont sell 10 million cars per annum. You got it confused with VW and Toyota. Those are the only two car makers that sell 10million cars in the world today. Hyundai sold 4 million plus cars last year, while Kia sold about 3 million cars, both of which declined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Good comment there. And ironically…. the koreans are now even capable of buying u up if they wanted to.

Btw… does anyone know the outcome of the supposed strategic partnership deals of proton??

• PHILIPWOO on May 18, 2017 at 2:44 pm

It will never happen.

• TGDIpower on May 11, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Now elantra already got GDI.. Proton when can come out with GDI???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 11, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Proton GDI
      G-Government
      D-Duit
      I-Injection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 42
      • Proton Geli on May 11, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Proton might upgrade its current 1.5 GDI to 1.8 GDI

• Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Bro, I Like your GDI man. Like that also can. That’s a GUD one. Hehehe. Cheers…

• But P1 is likely to use TDI moniker instead, so…

• elantra fan on May 11, 2017 at 5:34 pm

I’m guessing the price is RM135k. Probably the kits offered will be better than the Civic turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 5:40 pm

At last, the Koreans has put a Turbo into its mainstream car that will make the Japanese stand up. Looks like this Elantra have set a benchmark in terms of Horse Power/Torque for the rest to emulate. Good job Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Wiralama on May 11, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Hek elehh..P1 CFE turbo God job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • safety 1st on May 15, 2017 at 8:58 pm

actually kia/hyundai have a big range of engines from 1.1, 1.6turbo, 1.7 turbo diesel, 1.8, 2.0 turbo, 2.0gdi, 2.2 turbo diesel, 2.4 gdi, 2.7, 3.3 gdi, 3.3 turbo, and all the way to the range topping 5liter for their flagship k900.

• iRobot on May 11, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Because proton is manage by those who “…mudah lupa” and “tak apa lah” kind of people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Zoom Zoom on May 11, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Can see the japanese & Korean are going toward turbo powerful engine now… Nissan & Toyota still sleeping stucked with N/A engines..targeting uncles.. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on May 11, 2017 at 11:56 pm

Your username….you forgot to mention one other japan carmaker that sticks to N/A but still good power and efficiency.

• The interior from the 90s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • safety 1st on May 11, 2017 at 7:08 pm

this new elantra receives good reviews from overseas car journalists….mostly due to its handling dynamic and steering feedback, all thanks to the guy behind the BMW M division albert biermann… the european design influence….by peter screyer paired with the powerful 1.6 turbo gives the car a complete package all show with go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Hammonds on May 11, 2017 at 7:24 pm

and Hyundai cheat on fuel consumption figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Someone on May 12, 2017 at 10:06 am

I am currently driving 2012 1.6 Hyundai Elantra which full tank petrol(45liter) can go at most 420km written on the paper. But the truth is I only pump Shell vPower97 and my Elantra could easily go on more than 650km with full tank petrol.

• hyundai89 on May 12, 2017 at 11:23 am

Hey hyundai sales, shud be more than 900km with full tank petrol…

• lolol on May 11, 2017 at 7:28 pm

Hey, Proton… another target model for rebadging. Quickly make a deal, so we can have this for half the price! Ceeeepppaaaatttt!

• Gaviny on May 11, 2017 at 8:52 pm

Thinking that this car would have quite a high risk profile = expensive premium .

• Retro design from the early 2000’s by Hyundai. Local dealer headed by the dato social media will probably sell about 27 units a year.

• Ken C on May 11, 2017 at 9:48 pm

This car actually won 2016 International Design Award. I have seen this car on the road in Singapore. It looks way better than the current Civic. The current Civic looks like it was designed for ah beng & bad boy while Elantra was designed for man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • ray goh on May 11, 2017 at 10:23 pm

no plug in ? else would be selling like a hot cake for sure

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 11, 2017 at 10:48 pm

sorry la i think the seaweed turbo is still a better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on May 12, 2017 at 9:51 am

can this car really beat a civic? it might on the straight but never on the total sales volume.

• WongYC on May 12, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Not in all countries Honda is selling better than Kia/Hyundai. Go to Singapore and you will see more Elantra (excluding their i40 taxi) than Civic on the the road. And in Australia Kia/Hyundai sales is much more better than Toyota/Honda too. Travel away from Malaysia and get wider perspective, then you will probably more willing to accept different brands and things.

• WongYC on May 12, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Not in all countries Honda is selling better than Kia/Hyundai. Go to Singapore and you will see more Elantra (excluding their i40 taxi) than Civic on the the road. And in Australia Kia/Hyundai sales is much better than Toyota/Honda. Travel away from Malaysia and get wider perspective, then you will probably more willing to accept different brands and things.

• Avante on May 12, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Agree with WongYC… Even in Saudi Arabia and at some Arabs countries, it really hard to see Honda otr… Most cars there are GMC, Kia, Hyundai and Toyota… Even Honda representative said there, Malaysia is the countries sells more Hondas in ASEAN region besides Thailand and Indonesia.. At some countries, Honda are not selling well, and if I’m not mistaken, Honda is not that popular in Latin America..

• Andrekua on May 21, 2017 at 10:09 am

Hyundai/KIA did exaggerate their fuel consumption, so did everyone else. I think why it looks so bad on them is because their highway versus city driving fuel consumption really differs a lot, and I do mean A LOT!!!

For example, what I’m currently getting from my 2.0L 2012 Sonata YF (Stock) is between 380-400KM for a full tank when I drive it around Kepong (work-school-home). When I did a trip north earlier this year, I managed to get 680KM on a full tank. Even when I was driving a Vios, the difference between highway vs city driving is 580KM vs 450KM.

Technological advancement aside, if there is one thing I prefer on Korean cars is how they position the seat. It is really more comfortable for both driver and passengers. There is a downside to it though. I used to fetch elderly clients and they found it a bit hard to get out of the seat.

• While a comparison should be done on say a camry with 2.0 engine to be sure, but i have a strong feeling it is simply because of a larger capacity engine burning more fuel at idle plus heavier body that needs to be accelerated over and over again in stop and go traffic that impacted your city driving fuel economy.

I’m driving a Japanese 3.5 liter SUV giving me 15-18l/100km in the city, while highway i can get 8l/100km.

My other 1.3liter car gave much closer city-highway fuel consumption spread. 7l/100km highway vs 9l/100km city.

• Just spoke to my wife, she used to own a kancil 660 during her uni days.

Above 100kmh, that car uses more fuel on the highway than city.

So I seriously think its CC & weight related, not Korean-Jap. D segment cars with NA 2.0 engine are usually underpowered, so that explains high FC in town.

• WhyRedSeat?! on Aug 02, 2017 at 12:19 am

At first, on the paper, this car really outstood in competition. But something chicky and not necessary strikes hard, when I first saw the show car at the local showroom. Why red color seat?! The red seat ensure the resale value of this model of hyundai continue to be low.