Hyundai Veloster Turbo launched in Malaysia, RM148k

Hyundai Veloster Turbo Launch

We’ve heard about it for so long, and seen the car at KLIMS 13, JPJ and testing on the road, so with a big shout of “Finally!” we welcome the Hyundai Veloster Turbo to Malaysia. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) officially revealed the coupe (or hatchback, depends on how you see it) at its new Bangsar showroom this morning.

The Veloster Turbo is making its debut here in mildly facelifted form, along with a non-turbo version. But let’s focus on the more interesting proposition. Our Veloster Turbo is powered by a 1.6 litre T-GDi (turbocharged gasoline direct injection) four-cylinder engine with 186 PS and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.0 seconds while top speed is 214 km/h.

If you’re wondering, 186 PS/265 Nm is also what Europe gets, a slightly lower state of tune than the domestic South Korean market’s 204 PS and 270 Nm.

Hyundai Veloster Turbo 25

For the first time, the twin-scroll turbo motor is paired to a dual-clutch automatic gearbox. Introduced with the facelift, the seven-speed DCT is also found in the Sonata Eco in the USA as well as facelifted versions of the i30 hatchback and i40 sedan/wagon. Steering wheel paddle shifters are provided for manual override.

The 132 PS/158 Nm 1.6 MPI naturally aspirated Veloster carries on with a six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox without the shift paddles.

The Malaysian Veloster range will now have three variants – 1.6 Premium, Turbo and Turbo Sport. All Velosters ride on 18-inch alloys with 225/40 rubber, front McPherson struts, rear torsion beam suspension, front ventilated discs and rear discs. The steering system is electric, or motor driven in Hyundai-Kia speak. Six airbags, ABS, ESC and hill start assist are standard across the board.

Hyundai Veloster Turbo 33

Also standard for all are LED daytime running lights, panoramic sunroof, Supervision cluster, seven-inch touch screen stereo with AUX/USB/Bluetooth, keyless entry with push start button, Flex Steer, auto air con, auto headlamps, leather seats and reverse camera.

The Turbo model adds on paddle shifters, HID headlamps, ECO guide, powered driver’s seat and “pure leather” seats with grey “Turbo” side trim. Turbo Sport has all of the above, plus racing decals and orange side “Turbo” trim for the seats. Five colours are available, including the factory matte black “Young Gun” in the and Sunflower yellow.

The CBU imported from South Korea range starts from RM129,067 for the Veloster 1.6. The Turbo is priced at RM148,119, and the Turbo Sport RM151,746, all on-the-road with GST, without insurance. As usual with HSDM, buyers get a five-year or 300,000 km warranty.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• no manual? pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Message To Jealous People on Apr 17, 2015 at 4:28 pm

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time Sam Loo, De La Junk, Same Loor, therealmaserati and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 47
      • Bob_B78 on Apr 17, 2015 at 5:46 pm

First of all, everyone has their right to voice opinion regarding hyundai/kia, regardless is good or bad. It is not up to you call them pariahs or faggots, for I believe you also may have bad mouth other cars.

FYI, hyundai/kia were sued by the US federal government for proving misleading Fuel Consumption to their customer. In which hyundai/kia were made pay settlement to their customers. Google it and it is true

Can I call hyundai/kia pariah for cheating their customers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
        • Japanese coffin on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Well at least korean car don’t have cases like stuck throttle pedal like toyota or exploding airbag that kill the user. As compared to fuel economy, duh, most motorist can’t achieve the manufacturer claimed mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Bob_B78 on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:48 am

I agree with you that most motorist cant’t achieve claimed FC, but how come only Hyundai/Kia only got sued…….? If you want to say propaganda against the Koreans, why not target Japanese? If you are saying Toyota stuck pedal issue, that would be unforseen flaw in the system for ONE particular model only. But Koreans case is totally different, for every model was overstated FC, If only one model affected you can say is unforseen, but if it is every model then it is deliberate.
            Actually I’m not bad mouthing Korean cars, for I still think they offer the most bang for buck in terms most equipment list for the lowest price.

• you’re telling me this why?

• You’re a pariah yourself? It takes one to know one…

But the racial slur aside, you’re right. Korean cars can more than hold their own these days. Toyota and Honda and of course Nissan salespeople are just clueless on how to counter their Korean foes.

• Joe Hung on Apr 20, 2015 at 11:34 am

u salesperson for Hyundai simi dabi?

• cendol (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:21 am

This is a poor man’s sports car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Lance on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:37 pm

even poor men will not buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t see whats wrong with buying this. For less than 150k it’s not a bad alternative to the 208 GTi, Fiesta ST or a Clio RS. It may not be as fun as those 3 but it is a bit more practical than the 208, packs more gadgets than the Fiesta and cheaper than the Clio.

Also, this is meant to compete with the Pro cee’d GT in Europe. and thats not a boring car at all.

• huat huat on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:15 pm

I bought one for my son 20 year old, am i poor man?

• Why so defensive najib? on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:23 am

pfffft 8 seconds???? make me laugh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • bob_b78 on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:44 pm

You should roll on the floor and laugh until stomach cramped. For the performance is really behind ford, vw and peugeot at this price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • dr.terror on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:24 am

Renault Megane wanabee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • youw8m8 on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:25 am

Its an effin FROG !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • For this price and specs, it’s not bad at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Same L0rrrr on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:30 am

Come back to me next year, I can sell you second hand at RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 17, 2015 at 4:02 pm

2014 Camry 2.5 registered in July 2014 is now going for RM100k and below. One forum reader confirmed buying this for 100k. I hear now, can even get RM98k.

Amazing. Accident free car, only done 22k km and lose RM80k in just 10 months!

What Same Loor, the realmaserati and De La Junk trying to lie to the people about Korean cars bad RV?

Please lah, stop lying to us all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • therealmaserati on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:39 am

Shit car. Koreans always overstate the car specs.

In real life, it drives nothing like how the spec sheet reads.

Besides, who is so stupid to pay 150k for a Korean car when you know Korean cars still are lacking behind the Japs .

They are probably on par with China makes yet they price this so freaking high!

Pls lah Korea, keep your thrash back in Seoul whr they belong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
    • Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 17, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Maserati is a jealous Toyota salesman. For years he has been bad mouthing Korean cars out of jealousy. look now, God punish you, Toyota got ZERO sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Same LOrrrr on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:58 am

Maserati is our cleaner at ump showroom, no need to bother him. You can see him at toilet everyday do cleaning

• Stevee on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:41 am

Another rocket on the road :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • applegreen on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:43 am

century sprint at 8.0 sec, this 1.6 turbo engine better than proton suprima s super supreme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • hkstimer on Apr 17, 2015 at 2:45 pm

This one got direct injection + twinscroll turbo, no wonder

• Josh Ling on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:44 am

kudos for at least bringing in the model! price is a bit steep for even a Hyundai, but at least it shows the commitment of Hyundai to Malaysia and the importance of Malaysia to Hyundai. Glad to see we have more choices these days!

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:49 am

Finally….
    Cheaper than a GT86 (over RM200k), this car also got turbo, but sadly it’s FWD :(

• Thats a very greedy price tag !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Abu Sayur on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:52 am

Da fk damn cheap right….So when scumbag UMW gna reduce the 86 price??????

• shawal on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:57 am

For a niche product that packs a punch, it is reasonably priced and equipped

• aRVee on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:57 am

Veloster Turbo or Scirocco DSG?

• rm148k??? crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 17, 2015 at 12:24 pm

RM15 after 15 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
  • Overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Hyundai_Rocks on Apr 17, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Another dual-clutch. Comments? Any salesman

• Hyundai Sam Loo on Apr 17, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Please come to our showroom and see the car. The handling, gosh, just can’t describe it. You have drive it yourself. You will get attracted by its performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • brazbuz on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Can’t wait for the driving review from paultan team

• guys your information please, so far hyundai’s twin clutch has it been as problematic as VW’s?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 17, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Even if Hyundai has perfected it, it will still have no RV, simply because its is rotten cabbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • VW is not problematic. it’s all start with the DSG issue and people start to create story to make VW looks problematic. Also, the DSG issue is ady solved long ago.

• bob_b78 on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Ford fiesta st or Peugeot 208 GTI would be a better buy. Though both are manual, you have less worry when compared with a dsg type gearbox

• Not worth it. They can’t even solve my Tucson undercarriage noise!

• wth is with the rear fog lamp. designer getting lazy? look so generic

• Hor Shen Hau on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Hope the Suprima S R3 will be 200+ horsepower.And maybe a Head Unit that have a Android system in it.Don’t forget the interior,please make a big improvement!Anyway,good job Hyundai!This car I very nice.Ignore the haters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • BM Technica on Apr 17, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Did u know BMW engine designer recruited by Hyundai.
    Did u know Audi designer recruited by Hyundai.

• karipap on Apr 17, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Kia, when are you bringing the Kia Proceed GT ?

• sepul on Apr 17, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Yeah more choice with more power.

But rear multilink? Are you sure? Last time it had torsion beam.

• carazy on Apr 17, 2015 at 3:24 pm

No manual? Thanks..

• Sammy on Apr 17, 2015 at 3:28 pm

ok mah the price.
    A-Class 1.6 charge 200k mah…
    I tell you, this is A-Class competitor lah.
    Find me a model that offer factory Matt paint in Malaysia…
    I hear you say Rolls Royce? How much again?

• decent car with good day to day performance and fresh design..like it

• samlok on Apr 17, 2015 at 5:14 pm

poor handling car.

• ayooo on Apr 17, 2015 at 6:08 pm

The buyer of this car’s logic must go somethin like this….I dont want the legendary 208 gti, I dont want the exquisite renault clio rs or the excellent ford fiesta st. Instead, I wanta 0-100km in 8 second car with virtually no motorsport pedigree and probably made by kpop artists that didn’t quite make it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Samad Jain on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:13 pm

the car looks really cacat.

The price made it worst.

• Mrpoppyplants on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Lol. Good luck selling the “turbo sport” at this price.

Despite the problems that a Polo GTi might potentially have, its performance figures are much much better than this which makes it a no brainer if one wants to get a small hot hatch at this price bracket, just top up slightly for a Polo GTi.

• Steve Kok on Apr 17, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Tested the NA Veloster a while back.
    Sports car look but MYVi handling.

Hopefully the Turbo model is better than the NA.

just my 2 sens.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:07 pm

V-very
    E-errogant &
    L-lansee
    O-Orang Kurang Upaya
    S-severely
    T-traumatised
    E-everytime
    R-rejected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8