Hyundai i30 facelift debuts with new Turbo variant

New i30 Turbo  (1)

If you want to buy a sporty turbocharged Hyundai hatchback, you won’t be limited to the Veloster Turbo any longer because Hyundai’s mid-life facelift for their i30 hatchback includes a new variant called the i30 Turbo.

The ‘Nurburgring-tuned’ (Hyundai’s own words) hatchback has a 1.6 litre turbocharged T-GDI Gamma engine that does 186 PS at 5,500 rpm and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500-4,500 rpm. It’s mated to a six-speed manual gearbox. Along with the sportier suspension tuning, there are 18 inch wheels and a more direct 2.78 turn lock-to-lock steering ratio. It also has a new exclusive colour called Jet Black.

New i30 Turbo  (10)

Aesthetics-wise, the i30 Turbo has a new radiator grille, front and rear bumper with red detailing, new front LED design, and twin exhausts. In the inside, it gets sports front seats, sports instrument cluster and contrasting red details on the steering wheel, gear knob and door trims.

The regular i30 has also got some updates with the mid-life facelift. The 1.4 litre Gamma petrol engine option has been replaced by a new 100 PS, 135 Nm Kappa engine that is lighter, more fuel efficient and less polluting. It’s available only with a 6-speed manual. There’s also a 1.6 litre Gamma engine doing 120 PS and 156 Nm, available either with a 6-speed manual or a 6-speed automatic.

Diesel-heads can opt for a 1.6 litre diesel engine with two different tunes – 100 PS or 136 PS. These engines make identical torque of 280 Nm at 1,500-3,000 rpm when equipped with a 6-speed manual, but opt for the new 7-speed dual clutch transmission and the diesel engines get a 300 Nm tune at 1,750-2,500 rpm.

Although designed and marketed as a car for Europe, the i30 is available in selected countries outside the region including Malaysia, where it’s available with a 1.8 litre engine from RM124k. Find out more about the Hyundai i30 in Malaysia at our car research portal CarBase.my.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Abang on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:49 am

I feel sad about that global car Proton Iriz. Don’t ya think so Ah Beng? :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:16 pm

The purpose of the Iriz is not for driven, that’s why you hardly see any Iriz on the road.

Instead, it is built for HAPPINESS. Tun proud, govt happy, Proton fanboys excited. That’s all.

That’s why you see a lot of people happy (even paultan editor), but no one actually buy the car.

RM500mil spent for happiness. Is it worthy? It is subjective, I leave you to decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 50
      • trollolol on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:52 pm

proton proton…when are you gonna catch up to hyundai standard ? 60 more years ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
  • gaviny on Dec 11, 2014 at 10:52 am

” if you want to buy a turboed Hyundai, YOU CAN’T”

Sime darby doesn’t believe malaysian deserve any proper engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:01 am

The i30. One of the most underrated car in Malaysia. Most people don’t know that it sits in the same league as the Golf, 308 and Focus. In its present CBU form, the price is not attractive for a korean C-segment car. Which makes it very rare… even rarer than the Veloster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Can blame Slime Darby for uncompetitive pricing and poor marketing.

• Protiga on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:39 am

1.8 litre from RM124k. Its a rather ridiculous pricing for a Korean car. There are so much other choices for these price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • I want…I want..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • roxas on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:48 am

why it looks like the myvi facelift T^T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Chyan on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Correction. Why does the “Myvi Facelift” have the same look as this.

Welcome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:24 pm

I’m crying for your eye’s problem TT_TT
      Too sad to see your comment.

• JB_KIA on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:58 am

u can never get this car here coz it IS a manual…

• The i30 is a very handsome car, and is in fact my favorite Hyundai but the price is just too steep for a car that size.

If Sime Darby brings the price down to 75k range, the Jazz will have a headache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • The front has Peugeot feel and the rear has KIA feel.

• Boleh on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:45 pm

If remove the badge, sure no one knows what car is this

• No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:26 pm

No KIA is like this, and no peugeot is like this. Oh yes, tell you what, I definitely know this car is i30 even though the badge had removed

• alldisc on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Hyundai i30 is actually a Kia Cee’d (european model)

• Eyes problem….

• Aaron on Dec 11, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Say what you want; it’s powerful, reliable (coughs) and looks great (for koreans) but these things are subject to the individual’s demands and taste. I must say even 100k is ridiculous, and it isn’t worth up to satisfy those demands. If you’re paying premium price for the 300Nm shy of torque, forget it. You should consider a Mitsubishi with small tweaks of your choice and it will still cost less than this hatch – all with twice the power. Parts are way easier to find and are cheaper than a Hyundai too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • yakashami on Dec 11, 2014 at 3:03 pm

If you haven’t try to drive the GDI engine, you should. At least i did. You would not believe how smooth and powerful the engine runs. I love my i40.

• Malaysia euro 2 petrol wil break down your gdi engine. Better get iriz

• Meh,I won’t buy this car.I will wait until next year for the upcoming Proton R3 sport carWith the six speed manual,Turbo engine,angry face.It’s gorgeous!!I already see it.It will launch on _ _ _ _ _ 2015!!!Those who want the pics,this upcoming car spec,comments your email below.

P.s.-Please Proton haters,don’t comments here if you want to critics Proton

#ProtonAwesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Why need the R3? THe Iriz can tapao any car out there, including your soon to launch Proton R3 sport car. You can buy it now. So go buy it now.. why wait till 2015?

• Megan on Dec 11, 2014 at 5:51 pm

You want some lubricant to syiok sendiri?

• Proton!

• Mr.trollolol,I suggest you do eyes checkup.And can I know where do you live?In a cave?I,in Subang Jaya USJ 12 already see 30 Proton Iriz,plus my family car,Proton Iriz.Are you blind.OK,I suggest you get out of your cave and go check your eyes and make a spectacles,if you must to use it.And after that,go and see the world clearly and count the Proton Iriz one by one.OK?Cheers!

#GoGoProton

• Hey Proton Haters,not impossible if Proton can be the one among the popular car brands and the among of popular car.Because Proton already enter US market and many people buy it there.I know you people don’t believe me because you didn’t see and Proton didnt tell you.Because if Proton tell also,you guys didn’t believe or just making fun,of it.Hey gguys,just wait and see Proton success and that time,you guys will regret.

#LoveProton

• No more Value on Dec 11, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Audi is ruling the world of front grill’s design

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 11, 2014 at 8:25 pm

nurbrug tune for a car that nobody will bring to the track

• Where suprima s manual turbo?

• funny la u all, dis post talk about hyundai car u all go comment n argue bout proton cars.

• You guys are all morons.