GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 2.0 Executive, RM116,388

The new 2017 Hyundai Elantra was quietly launched earlier this month by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM). The company had a buka puasa event yesterday, which gave us a chance to get up close with the 2.0 litre variant – we’ve already brought you full gallery of the range topping 1.6 litre turbo model, and it’s attached below along with some new images of it in Blazing Yellow.

This 2.0 Executive is where the Elantra AD range starts. It’s powered by a 2.0 litre Nu MPI four-cylinder engine that we’re familiar with. The naturally-aspirated unit develops 152 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, and is matched to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission. The 1.6 Sport’s turbo engine does 204 PS and 265 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

Engine aside, the 2.0 NA and 1.6 turbo models also differ underneath, with this car getting torsion beam rear suspension instead of the turbo’s multi-link items. The front ventilated disc brakes are also slightly smaller, 15- vs 16-inch. All Elantras roll on 17-inch alloys and 225/45 tyres, but each variant gets its own rim design.

Standard kit includes automatic halogen projector headlights, LED positioning lamps and front fog lights. There’s a 2.0 Dynamic variant that adds on an aftermarket bodykit with LED daytime running lights in place of the Executive’s foglamps.

Also included in the base Elantra are keyless entry with push start; suede and leather upholstery; an auto-dimming rear-view mirror; cruise control, manual air-con with rear vents; front and rear parking sensors, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, a reverse camera and a tyre pressure monitoring system. Six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), ESC, hill start assist and ABS are standard.

Opting for the 1.6 Sport gets you HID headlamps, factory LED DRLs, full leather seats, dual-zone auto air con, paddle shifters, auto wipers (rain sensor) and active safety features such as blind spot detection and rear cross traffic alert.

Styling wise, the Sport comes with a unique grille (chrome slats aren’t full width, discreet ‘Turbo’ badge on one side), larger bumper air intakes and a more elaborate headlamp design. Its rear comes with a diffuser, twin exhaust tips and a ‘Sport’ badge. Inside, there are red/black leather seats and a flat-bottomed steering wheel from the Ioniq, but with red accents.

Seven exterior colours are available. HSDM’s usual five-year or 300,000 km warranty applies, and the Elantra also gets a free service package for 50,000 km with a three-year validity. There’s also 24-hour roadside assist service. This Elantra 2.0 Executive is priced at RM116,388 on-the-road without insurance. The 2.0 Dynamic with the bodykit and LED DRLs is RM4,200 more. The 1.6 Sport is yours for RM131,488.

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 2.0 Executive

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Sport T-GDi

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vivox on Jun 21, 2017 at 10:36 am

Hyundai Elantra (Like).
    Hyundai Ioniq (Dislike).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • If only they took out the technology from the ugly Ioniq and put it in the dated design Elantra. Then you would have had a half decent product to compete with the runaway success that is the new Civic introduced last year. Would have probably sold more than the rest of hyundai’s lame range here. Can you believe they forgot to facelift the aged grandpa that is the SantaFe?

• You wrong, even Hyundai sell cars like what you were mentioning, Malaysian wont buy it. No image, no RV, they said

• Meter not even digital like Ioniq, how to compete with cheaper Civic? DoA except for kimchi fanbois

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • apa Ran jxao pun kena GST on Jun 21, 2017 at 10:40 am

WTF price tag?Sime Darby, with 130k,u know u are pushing ur customer to get Civic turbo Premium instead of your overprice Elantra. Come on,slash ur price like year end discount say RM15k rebate now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:02 pm

the article say RM116k. The RM131k is for turbo variant same as civic turbo price but with bigger HP n torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • karam singh on Jun 22, 2017 at 1:06 pm

Bigger torque & HP , all on spec sheet.
        How about testing both 0-100kmh, their BHP On-wheel.
        talk about efficiency, put them on Dyno machine.

Well, talk about being same priced as Civic Turbo.
        RV,reliability,FC,Safety & others equipment.
        But I think next Civic facelift Honda gonna include the Honda Sensing. Hope others will follows too,

• Bernard on Jun 21, 2017 at 12:46 pm

This car got RV? Also how is the after sales service….as good as Nissan, Honda, Toyota? The price seems rather high.

• about RV, this car just been launched a week or so, u cant really tell how good the RV will be let say 5 years down the road but u can predict based on current trend for kia or hyundai cars. For example, a Kia Rio which cost brand new 80k in 2013 is now listed at around 45k in mudah which is a rather normal given that most cars would drop around 10k per year even for the RV master japanese cars. Im just feeding either a troll or a brainless twat here :)

• karam singh on Jun 22, 2017 at 1:15 pm

RV is more to % of the original price, not 10k/year
      what car did u compared to ?
      the Old Honda Jazz 1.5 still priced around 30k
      year 2004-2006 , Kia Rio 2003-2005 now priced 5-6k only
      2013 Kia Rio price 42-44k
      Well, as you can see the fact here used Kimchi car price will always getting lower while some Japs car can retain its value & only slight drop over the years.

• Rebadge on Jun 21, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Of course must put high price, then only can give high rebate

• camtakpro on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:39 am

So the actual release date of the car is at the year end since the price by then would be reduced accordingly.

• B segmenter on Jun 21, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Why the trend now all new car with “semi” leather seat that the seating part are fabric only non seating part are leather? Prefer whole leather cover really even it’s a PU leather material.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 22, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Using a quick & dirty RV calculation (based on a LYN member who tabulated various Japanese, Korean & Conti car depreciation), after 5 years Elantra 2.0 estimated RV be RM59,500 (from RM116,388 without insurance) vs Civic 1.8 estimated RV be RM64,900 (from RM110,426 without insurance).

Just a very rough estimate but it gives you an idea what you can get back after 5 years of ownership.