Honda CR-V – bookings reach 5,000 in three months

The new Honda CR-V continues to surpass its targeted sales numbers – Honda Malaysia has revealed that orders for the fifth-generation model has reached 5,000 units, well past double the monthly sales aim of 700 units the company has set for the SUV. Out of the total, 3,080 units have so far been delivered to customers.

In July, it was reported that the three 1.5 Turbo variants accounted for 80% of the sales, led by the range-topping 1.5 Turbo Premium 2WD model at 40%. Next was the 1.5 Turbo 2WD at 31%, with the 1.5 Turbo 4WD contributing 9%.

According to the company at a briefing yesterday, the trend continues, though traction for the base 2.0 i-VTEC 2WD naturally-aspirated model is steady. At present, the 1.5 litre Turbo models make up 75% of the sales volume for the CR-V.

The 1.5 Turbo variant is powered by a retuned version of the Civic’s 1.5 litre turbocharged VTEC mill, with 193 PS and 243 Nm for output numbers. The 2.0i VTEC 2WD meanwhile is powered by the familiar R20 naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre i-VTEC engine, offering 154 PS and 189 Nm Both are paired with a CVT, which replaces the previous five-speed automatic gearbox.

The range-topping 1.5 Turbo Premium 2WD is the first Honda in Malaysia to come with Honda Sensing, which includes Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW), auto high beam and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low Speed Follow (LSF) function.

As previously mentioned, pricing starts at RM142,400 for the base 2.0 i-VTEC 2WD, rising up to RM155,700 for the 1.5 Turbo 2WD and RM161,600 for the 1.5 Turbo 4WD. The top-of-the-line 1.5 Turbo Premium 2WD retails at RM167,700. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 1.5 Turbo Premium 2WD

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kiddd on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:05 am

If 7 seater..
    it will go up to 15k booking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
    • Potus on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:58 am

Buy sushi, sure happy :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • 7 seaters lah on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:42 am

their market study said people in Malaysia prefer 5 seaters. who the respondents i don’t know. but i am very disappointed for not having 7 seaters!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
      • DRB honda survey. Kih3

• waters on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Well, their sales numbers seem to prove that this is the case.

• balldisc on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:44 pm

there is always X Trail.

• DontLikeUncleCar on Oct 18, 2017 at 2:08 pm

I dont need 7 seater. Im using X-trail 7 seater and to be honest. The 3rd row seat is useless since its too small. Even more useless when it makes trunks space shrink even though folded down.

• carazy on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Yes indeed, if it 7 seater.. i’ll be more than just 5000 booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • ayoyo on Oct 06, 2017 at 5:46 pm

if 7 seaters, the back seat really can sit comfortably or not? besides, the seat fold down take up some cargo space.. then how? like Xtrail. stupid mah..

• Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:18 am

Hmmm maybe its time i change from Camry to CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • iamlejen on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:30 am

Meanwhile a National car maker said no SUV market in Mesia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • But basher says no 7seater means it failure wor. So is basher says truth?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • Takumi on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:59 am

3saloon sama segmen, epic phail !

Preve, persona, inspira lulz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Rightwinger on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Not the engineers fault…

• Pls define epic phail when all 3 r plenty on the roads.

• ayoyo on Oct 06, 2017 at 5:52 pm

plenty because its cheap mah.. you Malaysian or from where? you still dont know why people buying proton? plenty dosent mean it is successful also. imagine you have 3 similar model competing each other. you probably have miss maximize each model sales. while the cost spending on another model also facing same case. you understand this theory??

• Persona is in B segment, preve and inspira same segment different origins.

• talldisc on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:48 pm

persona was a C segment when it was launched in 2007. almost all C cegment cars at that time have wheelbase of 2600mm including waja, corolla altis, civic ES. during the years C segment grew in size following Civic FD. Came Inspira, Sylphy and Preve (which is supposedly to be renamed Waja or Persona – replacement)

• johnnas on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:34 am

Nice…looked a lot like USDM CRV.

But still a Gold encrusted ‘diaper’ car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • fadzili Rahman on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:39 am

his shows Honda will be the main contender in this segment. if Proton introduce the Geely SUV next year, it will not be successful against the CRV or CX-5. another wring segment for them. same as hugely failed Perdana. Honda realy knows how to fight and do it properly. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • karam singh on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:33 am

Honda Japan calling the shots here so no problemo.

• Diff customer needs, dude. Boyue will be quite popular here considering all the bells & whistle, low pricing and basher statement that having 7seater means sure victory.
      I belip in basher truth.

• 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:46 am

At this rate, it might overtake Proton’s total sales!!

Better to close Proton down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • basherlogic on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:34 pm

By your logic better to close down every car makers that using takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • ANOTHER BS FROM HONDA on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:07 am

Thre u hve it …5 thousand missiles firing at all direction at u everyday…!! U believd this BS…u mean they got RM800 million in 3 months???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • kuntekunte on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:08 am

this kind of low quality slides come out from one of the biggest japanese company? low quality staffs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Hondaman on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:50 am

The principal, Honda Motor Japan majority owned 51% of Honda MY. Best-selling top non-national again!

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:09 am

After test drive 1.5 turbo version, sorry to say that feel like underpower, 193ps not kick like continental turbo version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • Honda Fan on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:12 am

Malaysia is Honda territory, whatever model introduced by Honda will sell like hot cakes. Not because Honda is the best but the competitors are with none performing dealerships.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Guess, it’s more like Honda listens and responds to the market requirements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • paultan, can this figure trusted
    its look like merely marketing to boost people
    i was in mutiara rini honda
    looks normal only. few people at showroom.
    so who are those 5000 human? in KL ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • CH-R still in the dark…

• Toyota is too slow introduce it, but if CHR same price as CRV, better go for CRV…

• well, the sale will be better if they are selling the 7 seater CRV.

The good sale of 5 seater CRV will drop by end of Oct and discount to be given (at least RM 6K) by Nov 2017 because they need to complete with their 5 seater competitor especially the new Mazda/Tucson (1.6/2.0 turbo) beside the good 2.0 Xtrail/Sportage.

They have lost 1 sale from me due to the 5 seater car. Now, eyeing 8 seater Kia carnival to replace my ACR 50 Estima haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • It doesn’t matter since the already have 5000 booking… enjoy ur kia boy…..

• ayoyo on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:02 pm

hahahaha! dont reply like this lah… hahahahaha.. KIABOY.. hahahaha.. why turn down a beauty to SO ~ LIAN ~ TOH..

• Wow!
    5000 x RM150,000 on average, RM75mil business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • thakuminc on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Pls learn how to calculate first… It’s RM 750 million for heaven’s sake. #fail

• P Tan on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Pls learn how to write first. It is good if the comment can be edited for anonymous user, need not for the sake of heaven. #fail

• Ben Yap on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:54 am

Honda one day will beat Perodua in sales. their models are hot selling. in near future, honda salesman will earn more than pilots and doctors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • 1.5 engine will be a fuel guzzler with such a heavy chassis. Honda taking adv on profiting 1.5 engine selling a premium prices… if its a 2.0 engine at current prices then its ‘worthy’…but again, pairing turbo w cvt gearbox.. good luck tp the buyers! Turbo + Cvt = RIPD

• Crv owner. on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Mine is CRV AWD1.5 Turbo. Already drive for more than 5000 km. My other car is Civic FD2 2.0. So far my CRV found more powerful and better fuel milage than my civic.

Infortainment is not that good. Sound system is lousy.

• But it comes with turbocharged, higher hp, higher torque. So no definition of underpowered and gas guzzler. This 1.5 turbo engine gives the power of 2.5 engine but cheaper road tax and better fuel consumption.

• ryder0707 on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Lucky HM dont sell the 7-seater version because i might have booked it and regrest for paying premium SUV price but without 4WD. What a joke!

I have booked the new Toyota Fortuner VRZ 4×4 instead!!! Bye bye HM!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Henry on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:20 pm

Wow! No other SUV can come close to the CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Henry,
      you must be kidding to yourself or perhaps you had not read much

CRV is just a non Premium SUV .

CRV cannot challenge those from conti Premium SUV like Q5, X3, XC60 , GLC, EVOQUE. Why say no other SUV can come close to CRV OR Perhaps should be the other way round whereby CRV just cannot close the gap compare to those conti premium SUV >> sounds more rational and comprehensible then

• Henry on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Don’t be a smart aleck. CRV outsells all those models combined. That’s what I meant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:30 pm

The title says 5000 bookings in three months. Can’t you read?

• You had not been specific formerly in your comment until now

Let me remind again in terms of performance , comfort , safety and styling , CRV is way behind those conti Premium SUVs design quality and parameters aspect.

FYI, most well off buyers looks for better quality not better quantity.

• MOHAMAD SUPIAN BIN ISMAIL on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:14 pm

But Honda service is very poor…worst than Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • ayoyo on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:06 pm

honda service is bad.. agree.. proton service is good. because you always need to go back and repair .. thats how they earn . lol

• If thus is 7 seater SUV, I grab it for my family. Make it 7 seater so that the price is worthy for 6 to 7 members of family.

• Reejal on Oct 07, 2017 at 6:50 am

Should offer 7 seater version as what the Aussies & our neighbours are getting. Mazda is already proposing CX8 for our market.
    Anyhow too late now, 1 less potential customer already…

• oliver on Oct 10, 2017 at 4:34 am

It shows that with the right pricing and specs , a five seater SUV can easily sell better than any seven seater SUV from X-Trail.

Anyway the extra two small seats from X-Trail could hardly fit any adult except small children.