Mechanical Automated Parking System (MAPS) in KL

The heart of Kuala Lumpur is set to receive a premier parking tower on Jalan Tun Razak soon, aimed at solving the perennial shortage of parking spaces in the city centre. The Mechanical Automated Parking System (MAPS) towers will be able to meet the needs of consumers with the diversity of services offered, said M.A Intelligent Parking (MAIP) chief executive officer Datuk Seri Dr Muhammad Isa Kasim.

The multi-storey car park uses an integrated multi-level parking system from Japan, and includes valet services, as well as provision for seasonal parking and premier parking. The multi-level parking system consists of an array of hoists which allows parked cars to be stacked one atop another, thereby populating the car park vertically in a more space-efficient manner.

When the parking tower opens to the public within two months, parking rates start from RM13 per entry, and RM2 for each subsequent hour. The parking tower has 199 parking bays and operates 24 hours. Efficiency of space is an advantage of the parking tower, as this particular building takes up just one acre of land, Isa said.

“We will use our expertise, as well as our counterpart in Japan to implement the system all over the country. The project revolves around places like hospitals and shopping malls where parking is in demand,” he added, saying his company has already started similar multi-level parking building projects in Kedah, Perlis, Pahang and Terengganu. According to Bernama, MAIP aims to build 20 MAPS in the country next year, at an investment of RM1.8 billion.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• engdau on Oct 20, 2017 at 1:34 pm

The proposed parking fee is terrifying. I wonder why Malaysian Ringgit has dropped significantly and no more value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 22
    • Ur parking in the heart of KL CBD. Try parking at CBDs anywhere in the world. It has nothing to do with what ur implying here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 541 Thumb down 446
      • Mike Sim on Oct 20, 2017 at 5:54 pm

I happen to work at the icon where this parking is adjacent to…..there is plenty of space in the open air parking that lets you park for RM10 whole day. So, i for one wont be parking at this ridiculous rate la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
        • Rightwinger on Oct 21, 2017 at 2:27 pm

I would agree to some extent that the fees are quite hight, but in return you car will secured, away from prying eyes and potential break-in, sheltered from damaging UV rays and the weather. It has its plus points too, for a price…..

• Camtakpro on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:42 pm

M.A Intelligent Parking (MAIP) is another glc…Oh waii

• Money Come on Oct 22, 2017 at 9:53 am

Money game ke ni? Tiap2 hari ade format baru… Mcm tipu jer

• Our parking fee rate is one of the cheapest in the world, so cukurlah we have a caring Gov!

• Autobahn on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:26 am

13 per entry and rm2 sunsequent hour…better park at klcc still a lot cheaper and easy to get teksi grab or lrt

• Roland on Oct 21, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Value of RM got co-relation to parking charges. Cause it is like rupiah now. So that is why parking is so high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
          • No, the fact is our Gov needs more income. Else how to fight PH?

• peja508 on Oct 22, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Msian so poor cannot even afford top up rm30 Touch n go. Summore now evryday parking RM40++

• Nasser on Oct 21, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Fed up with john’s fake postings and fake likes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 41
          • But the discussions were more saner b4 samydupes came back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 43
          • Hamdan on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Benci betul dengan fake dupes john. Pls keep our blog clean

• Ghaffar on Oct 22, 2017 at 11:41 am

All old timers in PT are fed up with john. Simply slows down the traffic to PT when you refresh 500 times. I hope Paul Tan puts a ban on him as I find it slow to open PT pages nowdays

• Salleh on Oct 20, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Nobody is talking about the world here. We are talking about parking in Malaysia. Btw, aren’t you the person who said parking in Malaysia is free?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 419 Thumb down 426
        • Shanmuga on Oct 21, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Mr Malaysia has free parking has liked himself 300x times!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 132 Thumb down 128
          • And Mr putar belit likes himself 93 + 284 times, so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 34
          • But I get the same amount of likes as u did. Strange, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 31
          • Hamdan on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:01 pm

john, pls keep our blog clean. We can see your fake likes. Play your games elsewhere

• Ismail on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:22 pm

“But I get the same amount of likes as u did. Strange, no?”

Please grow up. We are all fed up of your pranks here John

• That means i’m luving myself

• Ghaffar on Oct 22, 2017 at 11:42 am

john, this is not the place to play your antics. It slows down PT site when you refresh so many times

• face → mirror

• Lim See Ong on Oct 21, 2017 at 12:23 am

yes I remember, this is the guy who says Malaysia got free parking. Ha Ha ha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • Gibrain on Oct 21, 2017 at 9:46 am

Wait a darn minute, before you said whole of Malaysia have free parking. Now you putar belit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Hamdan on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:03 pm

admin, pls ban this john abang. He is making a mockery of our clean blog

• Harun on Oct 21, 2017 at 11:38 pm

Yes, I recall john saying Malaysia has FREE parking compared to Japan. Can you pls elaborate on this john?

• Do share how much is hourly rates to park at home. We r very interested to know.

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 20, 2017 at 2:34 pm

If you daily park, it won’t be as expensive. Daily parking fees in the surrounding areas can cost up to RM 40+.

• Joey zuriani on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Someone plzz remind them. DBKL considering scrapping parking bays in city buildings to discourage car use, reduce congestion.

Connect –
        https://paultan.org/2017/05/17/dbkl-considering-scrapping-parking-bays-in-city-buildings-to-discourage-car-use-reduce-congestion/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Mech parking may complement DBKLs agenda as more parking spaces is used for other purpose, those remaining lots will have to go upwards as space shrinks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 48
          • Md Rashidee on Oct 20, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Just use public transports.

Don’t need RM1.8 billion white elephants carpark

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 29
        • Steven Chia on Oct 21, 2017 at 10:06 am

DBKL and this guys have no sync. That is typical Malaysian style. They don’t know how to run the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • engdau on Oct 20, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Where is the parking with RM40+ daily charges?
        End of day, we can not deny that the parking rate is too exorbitant, especially the 1st hour rate at RM13. It may be worked in long term. Unless, it is Valet Parking at Lobby area.

• Maybe u never been to any CBD of other cities. BTW do u know what CBD is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • lima minit je tuan on Oct 20, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Easier to park by the side of the road. Coz some had the driver waiting behind the wheel while their bosses make some quick shopping. Others double-parked simply for 5 minutes only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • balldisc on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:43 pm

easier to uber. you never have to go to petrol kiosk again.

• LOL. RM13 starting fee. People are going to park on the roadside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • loler on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:41 pm

RM1.8 billion for carparks. Lmao

• 12yrsold on Oct 20, 2017 at 4:51 pm

The 1.8 billion is THE reason they charged RM13 starting fee

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 21, 2017 at 8:08 am

RM 1.8 billion is for 20 carparks, at 90 million per carpark.

It’s not your typical carpark where you park and then settle. The machinery costs alone may be 40% of the total cost. Add to that land acquisition cost & construction cost, 90 million doesn’t seem too expensive.

• Proton needs RM1.5B to do ‘R&D’, so…

• Rightwinger on Oct 21, 2017 at 2:30 pm

And DBKL will be waiting….

• The video is so dizzy making it unwatchable. I wonder who edited the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Film asspert on Oct 20, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Stupid idea implemented in hot climate country with many old vehicles around…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Nothing to do with mech parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 52
    • Worst is that they are using parking system from jepunis. Why can’t they get something designed by our local uni grads?

• 199 bays? are you kidding? not enough liao la

• Jln Tun Razak next to the BMW showroom?
    Why would anyone wanna park there, why not nearer to KLCC?

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 20, 2017 at 2:59 pm

There are office buildings near there. Plus those going to the US Embassy as well park there.

• camtakpro on Oct 20, 2017 at 8:19 pm

BMW will be parking their cars there. Cheaper than renting warehouse space.

• Rizal on Oct 20, 2017 at 2:45 pm

OMG RM 540.00 for 20 working days per month just for parking charges. That also base on 8 hours usage. Better take public transport or UBER then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Most people here assume it is meant for long term; this is meant for short term parking, or yes, for people flush with a parking budget.

The rates seem fair. As one commenter said, the CBD rates across all major cities are meant to pinch, to discourage driving into the city.

• 12yrsold on Oct 20, 2017 at 4:56 pm

In short, CBD is for Rich people. Poor people please plan your travelling time to save $$$ by using public transport. TQVM for your comment.

• longjaafar on Oct 20, 2017 at 2:57 pm

The system is good, but the location in Jln Tun Razak is not that strategic, because there are no shops or offices there, besides the US embassy and one or two buildings that already have car parks of their own. Anyway, time will tell, and I wish them all the luck. This is what we need in the city.

• Imma park in tha middle road on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:03 pm

parking tower = great idea

parking fee(RM13?) = bad idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • 12yrsold on Oct 20, 2017 at 5:00 pm

He he he. U are right. That is why they say are targeting to build 20 MAPS in the country next year at an investment of RM1.8 billion.

• lilytan on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:10 pm

‘Parking rates are RM13 per entry and RM2 for each subsequent hour..’ What the hell is this? Does it means that RM13 is just the entry fee and on top off that u have to pay another RM2 every hour? So if i am gonna park there for 1 hour, the fees would be RM15 (13 + 2) is it?

• pengayuhbasikal on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:14 pm

dulu bukan sudah ada kaa parking macam ni…sekarang sudah jadi double tree…

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 20, 2017 at 3:20 pm

By morning and lunchtime. Easily packed

You need at least 1000 bays.

• But so many above complain exp wor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
      • chewke on Oct 20, 2017 at 5:34 pm

MY high income nation, pipu can afford…

• Dollah on Oct 21, 2017 at 9:44 am

3 more years we become high income nation. Gomen say all earn USD$48k per year. That is USD$4k per month (RM18k per month)

So, we Malaysians can afford.

• The initial outlay is simply too high to justify its usage even taking into account the CBD location. They should have capped it at RM 10 for the initial payment. This is pushing it. Malaysians always look at the headline figure. Subsequently increasing the amount by RM 3 with a lower initial outlay would have been a better strategy.

• great but mahal on Oct 20, 2017 at 8:18 pm

the parking fee very much expensive, as a contractor, i think they want to get ROI faster. this system should yes require a big chunk of money for investment and to built but consider the volume of cars they should charge a lower fee to attract more people to park here and shall bare longer period of ROI…unless there are many big mouth really hungry (u know what i mean)

• No i dun get what u mean.
      They r targeting to install 20 units and to invest in that, they need to recoup the expenditure soonest possible, otherwise they will have cashflow deficit along the way. The only place they can charge that high a fee is in KL CBD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • C. P. MOHAN on Oct 21, 2017 at 10:06 am

I think it is a PREMIUM option so have no problem with it however finding suitable land in KL is an expensive affair, but more importantly will this premium-option take away the cheaper alternative, the reason why most choose to park.

• piupiu on Oct 21, 2017 at 1:05 pm

the high parking fee disincentivize people from taking their cars into the city. imagine if the authority set the parking fee at a cheap/ reasonable price.

• Lcians on Oct 22, 2017 at 8:27 am

so why spent to build RM1,800,000,000 carpark inda 1st place. when merely to disincentivize people from taking their cars into the city.

• JessieCCY on Oct 21, 2017 at 1:17 pm

I think its better to make it a season parking rather than a short trip parking place.
    They get to save electricity with less cars going in and out. I have seen the one in Trengganu, not bad many office ppl use it.

• Rawreng on Oct 23, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Hahaha.. Majority rather double park illegally and getting summons.. Look at High rise offices, apartments, shopping areas..

• chia sun meng on Apr 19, 2023 at 3:21 pm

pls contact me, i am a M&E consultant require a mech parking system, pls call 0122885219