PSA Group selects Punch Powertrain as electrified transmission supplier – dual-clutch with 48-volt motor

Transmission manufacturer Punch Powertrain has been selected by PSA Group as its supplier of electrified transmission systems. The Belgian company will supply its patented electric dual-clutch transmissions (e-DCT) to the French carmaker by 2022.

Punch’s dual-clutch transmission design has been cited by PSA as the main reason for the partnership, as it is claimed to use fewer components, resulting in a lighter, more compact transmission. It is also said to deliver on both performance and fuel economy at a competitive cost. The next-generation version with an integrated 48-volt motor will be utilised by PSA in its vehicles.

The move to secure Punch’s supply of e-DCTs is part of PSA’s push towards the development of electrified vehicles such as mild hybrids, plug-in hybrids and electric vehicles. The carmaker aims to electrify 100% of its vehicle range by 2025. To its end, Punch has invested heavily to meet the requirements of this project, including the acquisition of power electronics expert Apojee.

Does the name Punch sound familiar to you? It should – it supplies continuously variable transmissions (CVTs) to Proton. The national carmaker was also in talks with PSA Group for a strategic partnership before saddling up with eventual partner Geely.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Geng Cukur on May 08, 2018 at 7:47 pm

PSA Group mantap!! Cukurrr

• Mike Lam on May 08, 2018 at 8:21 pm

Pity Proton did not marry PSA. Cause if we did, today we will have EV and Hybrid Protons.

All over the world car companies are moving towards EV and Hybrid, except our Proton….all fast asleep.

By time they move to EV, it will be 2050. By then, the world EV market would have moved 10000 steps forward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 34
      • kzm (Member) on May 08, 2018 at 9:04 pm

enough la kunta.. boring already. come thumb me down at least 200 dislike kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 218
          • topkek on May 09, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 162
        • Mike Lam on May 09, 2018 at 1:10 pm

time for you to stop blaming the world kzm for your problems. My name is Lam and not kunta.

Look at your ownself before blaming the world for your problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 146
      • Rightwinger on May 09, 2018 at 2:49 am

t(‘.’t)

• Anonymous on May 10, 2018 at 10:43 am

Oh please. All this talk of wanting for Proton to “move up in the world”, “go into EV and hybrids” and s***, you’re probably the same ones asking for the Proton SUV to be as cheap as a golf buggy.
        Yeah, if Proton made a B-segment hybrid and announced that it will cost RM85k, you’d be all, “I’d rather top up an extra 5k and get a City Hybrid”, “same price as SUV?”, “why is our national car so expensive?”, “stupid Proton the rakyat cannot buy this”.
        FYI, that’s the price of a Toyota Yaris hybrid, in the UK. Our people won’t even pay the premium for conventional technology, just look at how successful the old and outdated Myvi and Toyota Vios were. All of a sudden people want to pay for a hybrid Proton?

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 259 Thumb down 700
  • kzm (Member) on May 08, 2018 at 9:00 pm

hahahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Luncai on May 08, 2018 at 10:07 pm

Hepppi…As if Proton bought Punch cvt. HAHAHAHAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • My england is bad on May 09, 2018 at 11:52 am

Basher buat buat Tak faham, all the time basher bash punch CVT as dreaded la jerking la. So now what happened? In semua sarahan gomen according to them

• rightwinger on May 09, 2018 at 9:50 pm

happy because if proves you haters have shit for brains- hating on Punch, the company, because of its relation with P1 via the CVT (not the best in market but certainly not the worst), if y’all were just bitchin’ about that tranny and not painting the company as some hopeless imbecile, then fine.

some more later when Geely jv with Aisin for geaqrbox developement, got voices condeming P! for not engaging with Aisin- dey my 2008 Persona Hi-line is already equiped with Aisin 4 speed auto box!!!

just goes to show haters got no knowledge.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 09, 2018 at 11:08 am

OMG….wish PSA the best with Punch DCT. Malaysians have enough of this gearbox brand.

• pailtin auto on May 09, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Punch supplies lousy cvt to proton or proton bought low quality cvt to cut cost.which is which?

• Neither. Punch CVT on P1 wasnt that bad but its just unrealistic perception. Honda hybrid DCT oso got same same problem but u dun see bashers complain cuz its “jepunis”.

• Anonymous on May 10, 2018 at 10:03 am

They’re not lousy, they just have a learning curve. You kind of have to feel for the clutch. The clutch in the punch CVT is that of a manual, but you control it with the throttle. You ease in the throttle, and the clutch will respond accordingly.
      They don’t work so well when you expect them to behave like automatics with torque converters. They just don’t work that way.

• hahaha on May 11, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Yang kutuk2 punch CVT tu pakai myvi vavi axia je, hahahahahahaha

• peugeot cars are terrible, period..

• But NVH beats jepunis cars

• Ollie on May 14, 2018 at 12:07 pm

Exactly, and these ignorants arguing about PSA and Punch should know that both are known for unreliable junk just like their beloved Potong.