Police’s special unit on PLUS will make it easier for motorists involved in minor accidents to lodge a report

If you’re travelling on the North-South Expressway and happen to be involved in a minor accident, there’s no longer a need to make your way to a police station off the PLUS to lodge a report. That’s because the police’s new Highway Investigation Unit can assist with the handling of any minor mishaps on the highway, The Star reports.

According to Perak police chief commissioner Hasnan Hassan, the dedicated unit will investigate minor accidents along the expressway, its role being to help motorists save time and eliminate the hassle of having to head to the nearest police station.

“Those involved in minor accidents can either sort out the matter at the scene or at the unit’s offices located at major rest stops along the expressway. With the unit, we hope to facilitate any problem faced by motorists quickly and efficiently,” he said.

The unit, which was launched earlier this year, is divided into three zones (north, central and south) along the length of the PLUS. The north zone investigates cases from Perlis to Ipoh, while the central zone handles Ipoh to Seremban, and coverage of the south zone runs from Seremban to Johor.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Make it even better for all road incident reporting. People already in distress when accident happens, and we need to run around for the correct police station to lodge report. If everything is online, make all police stations friendly!

• policeman on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:21 pm

more fundings to spruce up derelict police station & supplies. during previous administration, esteemed abang2 polis hv to buy A4 papers out of their own poket for work use.

• Spin Too Much on Jun 20, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Cool story, bro. Ahh but for the fact that PDRM is now paperless. So what’s this fake news about buying A4 paper hmm?

• John May 9 Nangis on Jun 20, 2018 at 5:04 pm

There should be a special unit also to deal with deaths and not just minor accidents. When my father died of heart attack, I had to wait 5 hours beside the body in a pavement in town because until the polis came, I am not allowed to touch or remove the body.

Then when polis came, they ask me to go to the nearest polis station to lodge a report. I had to leave the body there alone until I drove 5 KM away just to find a polis station just to lodge a report.

• Syabas PDRM & PH gov. Kipidap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Nothing to do with PH gov. This was initiated since BN era. So syabas to BN gov then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Mikey on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:16 pm

According to Perak police chief commissioner Hasnan Hassan, the “Special Unit” is to help motorists save time & eliminate the hassle of having to head to the nearest police station.
    Now that’s what I call IMPROVEMENT. Good Job Hasnan.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 20, 2018 at 4:17 pm

That is certainly good news.

Hope they will issue a general guideline to what would constitute a “minor accident” (I assume, those that did not involve injury and loss of life) and have us go about our lives, given an accident in itself, however minor, is already a huge stressful inconvenience.

How about accidents on State and Federal Trunk Roads? They should still make it easier to make an accident report at any police station or the one closest to the accident.

• lets hope they are there to summon car drivers using emergency lanes. no respect to other car drivers that have patient to que.