New Mitsubishi Triton spotted ahead of Nov 9 debut

Mitsubishi has previously announced that the new Triton would make its debut on November 9, and we’ve already been shown a few teasers of the pick-up truck already. Now, a member of the New Triton Club Thailand Facebook page has managed to snap a photo of an undisguised unit ahead of the model’s official reveal.

We already know that the Triton will feature the brand’s Dynamic Shield design language at the front but there has been little indication what the rear will look like, even in previous spyshots. Thankfully, the uploaded photo gives us a rather good look at exactly that, and it is rather reminiscent of the GR-HEV Concept from the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show.

Based on the photo, the outgoing model’s large taillight clusters are now gone and replaced with slender light bars that are inspired by the concept and to a further extent, the Pajero Sport as well. Aside from the taillights, it also appears that the corners of the bumper are now more angular compared to the roundish look of the current model.

For now, Mitsubishi has yet to reveal any details about the pick-up truck’s specifications, specifically if it will continue on with the familiar 4N15 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel engine that makes 181 PS and 430 Nm of torque. The 4N15 mill is available with a six-speed manual or five-speed automatic.

GALLERY: New Mitsubishi Triton spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:15 pm

This car and the Hilux are top sellers. I don’t know why Proton made the disgraceful Arena aka jumback which had ZERO sales globally.

Proton should have made a good truck to compete with Ranger, Hilux and Triton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • At least Australia kind of like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • The Jumbuck is quite popular is Australia. That segment is called ute in that country. My dad also used to have one for his small business back then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • AkooIm on Oct 22, 2018 at 6:13 pm

U need to check back ur fact la bro…
      Proton Arena aka Jumbuck is one of Proton’s best seller overseas, especially in UK & Australia (known as Jumbuck)… go & google it urself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • Dunno ur facts now kena whack for blindly bashing. Serves u right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Pakulupapito on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:30 pm

The car itself was released way ahead of time. At that time, there is no pickup craze yet, not like the recent years. Release now, with upgraded everything, and maybe it can be sell. People nowadays are really searching for the secondhand arena.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 23, 2018 at 10:47 am

If Jumback sold so well in Australia and UK, why is Proton in financial difficulty now?

Also if Jumback so good, why does all UK car magazines and even Jeremy Clarkson say all Protons are rubbish?

Can google. It is all in public domain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Brian on Oct 23, 2018 at 1:47 pm

But Google told me that JC was so impressed with Proton cars that he made a racing duel segment just for it. It’s all in public domain & Youtube.

• Karma on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:51 pm

John, i think u havent had ur teh for today. Go have one, u r sounding gaga redi.

• P1 Arena sportier design.

• Roti Celuping John on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Finally, the All New Proton Arena is comming! So excited!

• Tough guy on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:30 pm

The japanese marque are built for tough..proton built just boleh la

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:41 pm

That’s means we may get the new Triton in 2020. The Pajero Sport hasn’t even been launched here either.

• Rakyatsuara on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:19 pm

The triton can make Storm this time?

• Y15ZR KCH on Oct 23, 2018 at 1:16 am

That tail light looks like the Nissan Titan Concept they unveiled a few years ago.. They copied the design or what?

• Rosmadi on Nov 11, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Berapa pulak harganya ni nanti