Lotus cars could be made in China at new Geely plant

It appears that Geely is planning to start producing Lotus cars in China for the first time, with the opening of a new 9 billion yuan (RM5.47 billion) factory in Wuhan city. According to Reuters, the info was revealed through company job advertisements and government documents.

The move is in line with Geely’s ambitions to build more premium cars, which will help shake off its reputation for copycat designs and shoddy quality, the report states. For Lotus however, this could mean increased production volumes, as well as new models such as SUVs to boost sales.

Shanghai based analyst at LMC Automotive, Alan Kang said “for Geely, going high-end can help it take more market share. Geely needs to do that to better compete with global brands.” Currently, Lotus cars are all built in Norfolk, England.

In a joint statement, Geely and Lotus said while Norfolk was Lotus’ manufacturing home, a key part of the firm’s strategy to revive its brand was to expand its manufacturing footprint globally. “Details on additional locations and models will be confirmed in due course,” the company said in an e-mail to Reuters.

Lotus is rumoured to be working on Project Omega – an electric hypercar that will cost RM10 million each

Just recently, the planning authority of Hubei province (capital is Wuhan) approved of Geely’s plans for the plant – the factory will reportedly be able to manufacture 150,000 cars annually, according to a document posted on the authority’s website.

The Wuhan Development Zone, where the factory will be based, said in a statement posted on its website last month that production at the plant would include “Geely’s Lotus project.” It’s been approved to build all-electric cars, electric hybrids and combustion engine cars like Lotuses. The documents however, did not say when the plant would begin operations.

Job advertisements on Geely’s website show that the automaker is looking to fill at least 20 Wuhan-based roles for the Lotus project. Whether or not the plant will build Lotus’ existing range of sports cars remains unknown, and word is Geely wants to develop a luxury Lotus SUV to rival the likes of the Porsche Cayenne, which sells well in China.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Daddykasi on Jan 18, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Hope can be below rm200k in Malaysia for Lotus Elise

• Voiddance on Jan 18, 2019 at 7:27 pm

that Toyota engine in the Elise most desirabble.

• Muhammad Tahir on Jan 20, 2019 at 5:51 pm

Geely should have taken over Proton 20 years ago. We could have saved Rm20 billion in bailouts.

• Abu Kassim on Jan 22, 2019 at 9:43 am

Abang abang tak pandai. Must learn from China

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 18, 2019 at 8:03 pm

See how clever China is and how clever Geely is.

The 10 years we owned Lotus, local Proton CEOS never bothered to build the Lotus in Malaysia to save cost.

We wasted so much of money paying British and French people high pay.

See how clever Geely is. Managed to reduce cost tremendously.

Looks like China knows how to run a car business we..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Did you miss that “5.47 billion” part? If in the past news broke that Proton spent 5 billions on Lotus, I am 100% sure you and your kind will be the first to condemn. Hypocrite much, don’t you think?

• John Sayang Dedak on Jan 18, 2019 at 8:12 pm

Under Proton, Lotus could not make money. Just sucked all Proton’s money.

Now under Geely, Lotus making money!!!

• Like most car makers, Geely is oso a mass producer. Localising handbuilt Lotus cars will be totally diff than what they had been doing. They will need to get craftsmen and artisans to build them, not those human robots. But cheaper Lotus? Yes pls!

• john is craving for DEDAK on Jan 18, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Habisla! Now the quality will go downhill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Anonymous on Jan 20, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Lotus cars (well, British built cars in general) have never been known for quality and reliability. Dislodged turn lights, deteriorated plastic radiator fittings, worn steering rack, erratic air-conditioning, loose body parts. The most reliable part of a Lotus is the TOYOTA engine.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 18, 2019 at 8:04 pm

china is so clever. Why didn’t local CEOS think about this when we owned Lotus for 10 years.

• Becoz u keep bashing that made in China no gud. So they continue making in UK.

• Bringing in Lotus to Malaysia may not be cheaper in production cost. China have all part manufacturing factories there already, so cost will be lower. While we may need to import all parts.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2019 at 12:12 am

Vision. Look long-term.
    Proper strategy.
    Lotus >> Volvo.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2019 at 12:15 am

Made In England vs ‘made in China’.
    Imagine when your friends ask you.

• Carter on Jan 19, 2019 at 6:10 pm

Well even made in Germany or made in Japan also will never rectified if the situation is “User Problem”

• GobinDRAH on Jan 21, 2019 at 8:30 pm

What, u still thought most european cars are made there in europe??

Oh you sweet sweet poor child…

• old dog on Jan 20, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Geely will sell off Proton again! Either back to Malaysia Gov or some other manufacturer, as the whole target is Lotus in the first place.