FIRST DRIVE: 2019 Kia Picanto GT Line – RM57,888

As far as compact cars go, the Kia Picanto has always stood out for the right reasons, and the introduction of the GT Line variant makes it an even more compelling proposition. Our man Jonathan Lee finds out if it’s a worthy alternative to the likes of the Proton Iriz and Perodua Myvi.

The GT Line sits above the EX in the local Picanto line-up, and at RM57,888 on-the-road without insurance, costs RM8,000 more than the EX. It’s powered by the same 1.2 litre Kappa II engine – offering 84 PS and 122 Nm – and four-speed automatic transmission, but there’s a lot of extra goodies for the extra dosh asked.

Exterior-wise, there’s a new front bumper with a larger lower apron and integrated fog lights, deeper side skirts and an aggressive rear diffuser design with twin exhaust tips. The look is further enhanced by contrast highlights on the grille, front intakes, side skirts and rear diffuser and 16-inch eight-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels.

Inside, you’ll find two-tone leather seats, a leather-wrapped flat-bottomed steering wheel, automatic air-conditioning, sunroof, Supervision instrument cluster, front armrest, an illuminated vanity mirror, cruise control and a tyre pressure monitoring system. The variant is also equipped with autonomous emergency braking (AEB), which the EX doesn’t get.

Standard kit identical to that on the EX includes six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, electronic stability control and hill start assist, automatic projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED taillights, keyless entry, push-button start, a reverse camera, six speakers and a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility.

GALLERY: Kia Picanto GT Line at KLIMS 2018

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• alldisc on Jul 01, 2019 at 9:10 pm

The most underrated car in Bolehland. Grab one real fast. Semi Knocked Down (SKD) assembly of vehicles gonna stopped soon, the KIA Picanto GT price bumped up to RM69k. Along with many SKD Kia, Peugeot, Hyundai and VW cars.

• Putu piring on Jul 01, 2019 at 9:34 pm

Both Kia Picanto and Perouda Myvi are game changers. I like both cars as they have a good-looking design and reputable brand, makes me feel confident when I park one of those cars in front of my friends and relatives. If I drive the game over Iriz and park it in front of my friends and relatives, they will laugh at me for buying a game over car. Clearly everyone knows which game changing hatchback is worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Honest rank on Jul 02, 2019 at 11:46 am

1. Proton Iriz
      2. Toyota Yaris
      3. Perodua Myvi.
      4. Kia Picanto GT
      5. Honda Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Correction on Jul 02, 2019 at 1:25 pm

1. Proton Iriz
        2. Kia Picanto GT
        3. Honda Jazz
        4. Perodua Myvi
        5. Toyota Yaris

• EDITOR on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:49 pm

10,000 people disagrees with you. That makes your opinion a 0.01% minority.

• You can expect a cut from your wage today for spelling your paymaster’s name wrong. Your quality of trollmanship has really taken a dive into longkang lately.

• I have ex model and going but gt keep two in garage

• I’ve driven this car multiple times on Socar before and i have to say as a daily driver, I’d gladly choose the Picanto over a Honda Jazz, Myvi, Iriz. The only downside is that the gearing is optimized for acceleration in city driving so the engine is revving at 3k RPM when you’re doing 100kmh.

• Rayson on Jul 02, 2019 at 11:36 am

You missed all the fun of driving. Thats the Iriz.

• Ethan on Jul 02, 2019 at 7:34 pm

I’m thinking about getting a picanto. My main criteria is no rattling issues. Does your car have any rattling sounda/ abnormal noises? Also, what’s your fuel consumption in km/l like? Thanks

• Tun F on Jul 02, 2019 at 8:26 am

Dear Anthony, is it the same engine that was use in Hyundai i10..? When you said it’s struggling when going up to hilly road, is it really that sluggish?… The sun roof features is a cool feature though I know it’s malaysia… Haha… Still…. Nobody in this segment can offer… Haha

• Amran on Jul 02, 2019 at 8:44 am

Very good small car. Far better than iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Ferox on Jul 02, 2019 at 9:39 am

Too bad no manual. May consider otherwise.

• Ben Yap on Jul 02, 2019 at 10:11 am

GT stands for Grand Tourer or Gran Turismo. It is about speed, style and comfort. With this Picanto powered by the a 1.2 litre Kappa II engine – offering 84 PS and 122 Nm – and four-speed automatic transmission, i don’t see that it fits the GT bill. It’s over promise, under deliver.

• I got GT-line in White, I can say it Best A Segment car with D Segment features. Only two cons for this car is engine(why dun giv us 1.0T?) and gearbox(Why 4 speed so lauya 1?), other than that overall all ok.

• Do you know how many 2019 kia picanto 1.2 gt lines there are in malaysia now?