2019 Proton Saga facelift receives 500 bookings daily

Undoubtedly the biggest news story last week was the launch of the facelifted Proton Saga, which made the headlines by ditching its CVT in favour of a conventional automatic gearbox. Given that the budget sedan remains the national carmaker’s bread and butter – despite the blockbuster success of the X70 SUV – we were pretty curious to see how well potential buyers have responded to the car.

Proton’s director of marketing Cheng Seng Fook declined to reveal the exact number of bookings during the ongoing media test drive, but when asked, he said that the company averaged more than 500 orders a day. Extrapolate that figure and you’ll arrive at over 4,000 bookings since the car was launched last Tuesday.

Cheng conceded that the figure is higher than the company’s production volume for the Saga, but he said a waiting list will not be an issue. “Not all the orders can be converted [into sales], especially for an entry-level car. The rule of thumb [within the industry] is that first-time buyers will generally find it difficult to get a loan,” he said, adding that the demand will level out as production ramps up.

We’re currently driving the facelifted 2019 Proton Saga, and we’ll have a full written review up on this site very soon, so stay tuned.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 15, 2019 at 9:46 am

Bravo all Malaysians strong support. Merdeka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • tikus on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:04 am

I am wondering why Proton needs to facelift this game over sedan. At the end of the day, sales is still slow and cannot beat Bezza sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 69
    • Faris on Aug 15, 2019 at 8:37 pm

Drove this car last weekend, the driving dynamics are thousands mile better than the Bezza I drove sometime last year. It takes small bumps better than the Myvi .

Ps: test drive before you reply ah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
      • LOL Ori on Aug 16, 2019 at 7:18 am

He is a Perodua salesman troll. Don’t waste your time on him.

• Better driving dynamic? U joking right! My 1st gen Myvi everyday potong and cucuk all the Saga on the highway.. Wonder why they are so slow?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
        • Dinamik on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Thats not driving dynamic, thats called a bery dynamic idiot.

• Anti Kunta on Aug 18, 2019 at 4:33 pm

Typical perodua driver.

• Smoke Myvi on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:19 am

Potong more and cucuk more
          When accident don’t cry
          drive well and don’t be rude on road
          Don’t forget there are still people waiting you at home

• Hotoyada on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:17 am

Stock Clearance? Understand? lul

Clear everything old first before introducing new one

• malaysian on Sep 11, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Guys pls dont agrue with this sales or not sales. It doesnt effect in our life. Malaysian just need a affordable car with low maintenance and longevity only.
      I just wonder why proton still using the same VVT engine. Geely should be have a better 1.3 engine right?

• badbad makan minyak on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:30 am

Buyer will regret buy saga. I gv away my 2013 saga 1.3 flx to my young cousin to commute him go college daily, bcos almost 2 yrs plus cannot get buyer n nobody wanna buy. Only alot called for asking and come view the car but no buy. So end up gv away to my young cousin. But he kompolen pulak fuel kuat makan. Already gv free also kompolen ka aiya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • Your Saga must be badly maintained, resulting in poor FC and never managed to sell. Any used car buyer seeing a bad condition car will run away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Honest on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:07 am

Another protong fan who only know to find and see people fault rather then improving himself. Well typical protong fan.
        Just to share, my uncle who used to be protong fan owned a very well maintained 1st gen saga megavalve 1.5 12v sedan, then 90s he bought iswara 1.3 ab, then wira sedan 1.5, then he bought waja 1.6 mitsu engine.
        Until now he still keep all the saga, iswara, wira and waja. I tell u, his saga, iawara and wira especially, engine sound so so smooth, halus, well maintained, but his ex blm n flx even he well maintain but sound harsh then his old saga.
        Then he bought 2008 saga blm, then his saga blm alot problem, head gasket always leaking like once in 2 yrs need to change, alot of mechanical problem, fuel consume bad, by 2012 he let go very cheap(have to sell cheap cos no rv n hard to sell, suprisingly his saga blm still in that 2nd shop til now fuhhh.)
        Then he bought 2012 saga 1.6 flx se, after 2-3 yrs he complaint high fuel consumption, long distance drive is ok, but city drive is headache. His old time saga and iswara has better fuel consumption. Then last year he sold his flx 1.6 se to his friend very cheap, then his friend bought 4g92 mivec halfcut ck and transplant into his flx se cos that campro 1.6 so so high fuel drinker.
        And same last year my uncle gv it a try and buy his 1st p2 car, a myvi, so far no komplen but he love it so much. He never wanna buy protong anymore. Even protong offer cheaper service cost but parts are damn expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Really? on Aug 16, 2019 at 2:13 pm

Your so-called true story is full of holes. If your ‘uncle’ allegedly complain the 1.3 BLM bad FC, why he went and buy a 1.6 version? Since he owned so many cars, surely he know that bigger engine equals to worse FC. Your story is typical hearsay horror stories used by salesmen. “Myvi only using for 1 year, wow love it so much. I am converting to P2 from P1 fan.” Puh-lease, read over your story first. Not all people so gullible.

• Oh really ignorant on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Dude he did mentioned his uncle owned waja 1.6 but no complaint about high fuel consumption. Read dude read. Saga no matter 1.3 or 1.6 still very high fuel consumption. I myself still driving my saga flx 1.3 and yes fuel consumption is high. You are living in denial dude. Dont be ignorant. Accept the fact. Too much denial in your life causes your hatred greater. Sorry for you dude. Baca dan hayati, bukan baca dengan kebencian!

• Lu lu gue gue on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:57 pm

Dun 4get he got sago 1.5 n wila 1.5. But saga 1.3 oso kuat minyak, apa lagi 1.6.

• Cik Ana Nimus on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:42 am

Saga flx was not bad at all.. Just outdated only..

• saja saja jer on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:40 am

Mean while on the day bezza launched 2016,

Perodua has achieved promising sales for the Bezza, with a total of 5,000 bookings received for the new model on the first day after its launch. During Perodua’s first half of 2016 review, it announced that it had received 10,115 bookings as of the morning of July 26, which averages out to about 1,000 cars per day since the Bezza was first opened for booking on July 16. On August 30, 2016 Perodua reported it had delivered 10,000 Bezzas, with the bookings at 25,000. In November 2018, it was reported that 138,800 Bezza have been produced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Bezza sales dropped a lot since then. Will drop even more after this Saga facelift is in full production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • grab ur bezzzzzzza on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:11 am

Sorry to tell u ahhh, bezza sales always out number saga sales every month. Saga have hard time to reach 3k sales monthly, while bezza easily 3-5k monthly. Sorry ahhh dude.

• Dude, it’s this Saga facelift you should be worried about. This booking numbers is early indicator of its popularity.

• sam123 on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:55 am

hopefully 90% of them are book PREMIUM, finally u nailed it proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Surendran Sreetharan on Aug 15, 2019 at 11:59 am

I don’t know what lies Proton is telling, this means 15,000 per month. In a year, 180,000 just from Saga alone.

Very hard to believe what Proton tells nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
      • Talking about lies, who can beat you RJ Raja Jamban. Read the article before blindly spew BS. Even Proton acknowledges not all bookings can result to sales due to loan rejection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • axrin on Aug 15, 2019 at 2:49 pm

No premium..because automatic transmission. We want manual for premium version..

• suomynona on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:24 am

Will result in small amount of sales to justify putting one in,

Early Iriz days, I miss it. Maybe one day they can do it again, once they are financially sound.

• Mana all those lunatics defending the punch cvt sebelum ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Aug 15, 2019 at 11:11 am

For the bezza saga service cost comparison,tyre size to be replace for saga us 15″ while for bezza only 14″.the battery for bezza is double the price of saga due to ‘start stop’ requirement.meanwhile persona sales increase because spanco bought a fleet of around 160 cars for the police force to replace the 5 year old preve.while for the prefacelift saga the sales are fuel by the arm forces use,those z plate la.

• No wonder P2 trolls working extra hard to spew BS and lies. Rupanya many their Bezza and Axia prospects booked the Saga.

• Ben Betol on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:07 am

Hows yur previous CVT Saga? tak menyesal ker..

• Seems like the Saga facelift still popular despite some people trying to spew lies, hearsay and BS.

• Yeah, yeah. Good that you know Bezza have no chance against the facelift Saga, until you need to take out old stories. The JD survey shows P2 is same as P1, despite some people claiming P2 cars how good, P2 SC so good and blah blah blah. In the end, only delusion.

• FTPHG on Aug 15, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Habislah P2. P1 is catching up.

• Those with old saga and wira, better change to new Saga for ride comfort and most important better safety not only for u, its also for other road user…Old car easily get out of control and make other road user as victim.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 15, 2019 at 1:15 pm

Sales figures matter.

I think only proton boast about booking figures. Syoik sendiri.

I could say to my friends that I booked 3 supercars last night….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Well, Proton did say it didn’t expect all bookings will result in sales due to loan rejection. If only you read before embarrassing yourself…

• Like Perodua basher always do/comment on Proton:-

Habislah, game over Bezza, game changing Saga rule the A segment.

• Amran on Aug 15, 2019 at 1:49 pm

U see proton? Using 4AT transmission u can sell saga very well.. Punch cvt is rubbish

• pailtin auto on Aug 15, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Peoples buying becoz of no more CVT.

• PROTON IS THE KING OF CARS !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • PROTON IS THE KING OF CARS !!!!!KEEP THE SPIRIT

• Sam KuntaKinte Loo on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:09 pm

Peoples buying Saga not only becoz no more ‘jerking’ Punch CVT, their nearest competitor ride like sampan, ultra thin and extremely light body shell, overpriced in both purchase price and maintenance cost, worse, no bloody temperature gauge only stupid cheap idiot light (if you ask this query, their SA surely bombard you). Some say Poodua got high RV, also high Regret Value since so many current Poodua owners keep visiting second hand car shop in order to dispose it off for so-called high RV.

• Rebadge on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:52 am

News: proton launching

Comment: perodua vs proton

News: toyota launching

Comment: honda vs toyota

• panjang on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:27 pm

I did go and see the car and from what is saw P1 must have pushed their current vendor to improve and have replaced some of them to get part from China. A plastic wrapping with only chinese wordings is a clear giveaway that some parts are sourced from China.

I also noticed the paint finish is very different from previous models.