Mercedes-AMG A45 engine to be used in larger models

With up to 421 hp and 500 Nm of torque from just 2.0 litres of displacement, the new M139 turbocharged four-cylinder engine in the latest Mercedes-AMG A 45 and CLA 45 is an impressive piece of engineering. But having spent so much time and effort to extract these headline figures, surely it would be a waste to confine it to Stuttgart’s smallest models, wouldn’t it?

Apparently Affalterbach feels the same way. Speaking to us at the Frankfurt Motor Show, AMG boss Tobias Moers confirmed that the engine won’t be limited to transverse applications. “The reason [why it makes so much power] is that we’re going to use that engine for further applications which are not necessarily east-west applications,” he said with a knowing smile.

This means that the engine has been developed for longitudinal use as well, opening the door for its implementation in larger rear-wheel drive models. The possibilities are endless, though don’t expect a C 45 to appear anytime soon.

The company makes no secret about the fact that it is heading down the path of electrification, with next-generation models set to feature hybrid powertrains. The M139, then, could play a big part of this push – augmented with a powerful electric motor, it may well make its way into AMG’s mid-tier 43 and 53 models, replacing their six-cylinder engines.

Moers added that the power outputs of future 63 models like the E 63 will likely continue to hover around the 600 hp mark even with the use of more powerful hybrid systems. As such, these cars will probably feature smaller, less potent engines compared to the thundering 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 currently being utilised.

Whatever it is, we won’t have to wait long before we’ll see the direction AMG will take for its future. Daimler chairman Ola Källenius told us the company will show “some ideas” for the brand later this year.

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG A 45 S 4Matic+ and CLA 45 S 4Matic+

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Expect 2.0L 4potter in new S-Class soon.

• Lembu Jinni on Sep 19, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Small displacement engine with high HP high torque will feel lethargic hauling big car and heavy mass vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Graduan UiTM on Sep 19, 2019 at 7:09 pm

This is the biggest joke I have ever heard. 400 Bhp engine find it difficult to haul big vehicle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • AM2284 on Sep 20, 2019 at 3:28 am

It takes a while for the engine to reach the max hp since it is only 2.0cc. Yes , I understand that engine have 400hp. But , if you still don’t understand about what I’m talking about , you need to 2.0 n/a civic fd and 1.5T civic fc . You will be understand later

• Ajrul on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:57 am

for economies of scale, this AMG A45 engine should be shared across Geely Benz Volvo Proton alliance & car models.

• Graduan zaman sekarang on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:37 am

Adik graduan…apa yg adik belajar kat kampus tu semuanya teori. Rajin2 kan dedahlan diri kat alam sebenar…paling penting jgn lupa byar balik pinjaman belajar.

• Faculty Professor on Sep 20, 2019 at 2:30 pm

You will never get the light foot throttle response driving 4 litre V8 versus driving 2 litre turbo. It’s the horsepower and torque available at low rpm range that matters.
          Suggest you should try driving Bentley or RollsRoyce then compare driving a similar weight big car but with smaller engine with turbo. Definitely you will feel the lag.

• JOACHIM on Sep 20, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Nobody drives a luxobarge and expects to race with a Ferrari. A 400BHP 2.0L is sufficient to move such a car, ponderous none the less.

• brandon c. on Sep 21, 2019 at 12:38 pm

Furthermore, this engine is tuned to feel like a n/a engine. If i’m not mistaken, the full 421hp and 500nm is only produced around 5500+rpm.

• In myvi

• just put the 1.33 turbo engine s class better,the most fuel saving leading in class.

• The next SLC perhaps , even more compact than current model , with fabric roof, to go head to head with the z4m

• Recko on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:21 pm

Audi should also consider putting their bonkers 5 cylinder engine into their larger vehicles e.g. A4/A5

• brandon c on Sep 21, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Bigger models? Probably only GLA 45 and GLB 45

• Kevin Schaum on Sep 23, 2019 at 8:43 pm

No please! V6 should be the was to go for ,,small” AMG V4 sounds horrible