Perodua to nearly double its investment in 2020 – to upgrade facilities in preparation for new DNGA model

At Perodua’s 2019 full-year review presentation earlier this week, the carmaker also highlighted its future investment plans, and it looks to be gearing up for some serious expansion this year.

The company revealed it is planning to nearly double its spending in investment for 2020. Last year, it invested RM569.2 million into factory upgrades and increasing its R&D activities, among other things, and this year, that spending is set to increase by RM490.1 million, to RM1.06 billion.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said that the bulk of the investment would be used on plant modernisation, building expansion as well as preparation for a new model, which is expected to the D55L SUV.

“Half of it, about RM500 million, is related to factory investments, in modernisation, expansion as well as preparation for a future model,” he said.

This suggests that the automaker is upgrading its facilities to cater for the new model, which Zainal said would sit on a Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform. The platform underpins the Rocky, a model that has been widely associated as the base for Perodua’s upcoming D55L B-segment compact SUV.

Elsewhere, the company will be upgrading its after-sales service in order to keep up with the increasing number of vehicles it is selling. “About 20% is for our sales-related improvements, on service. Last year, we focused on employee satisfaction, but this year it will be on customer satisfaction, with about RM200 million set to be allocated for this,” he said.

The automaker is also aiming to become the R&D hub for ASEAN, but the full movement towards that will only come next year. “In terms of R&D, the allocation this year is RM150 million, but this year our focus on R&D is to complete our test track,” he explained, adding that much of the R&D activities this year will focus on planning, with proper investment set to begin from 2021.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 23, 2020 at 11:42 am

Thank you Paultan writers for giving us all good news about Perodua for these 3 days. With this potential Game-Changing plan, Perodua can continue to be come the no.1 national carmaker and make rakyat proud by giving their innovative Game Changers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • History Bender on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Oh sure. What happening to your superior Japanese quality that everyone trusted hah? So everyone is trusted to die in them isit? Stupid comment from you.

I hope Toyota and Perodua learns from Proton how to make safer cars and not release these onto the market before thoroughly testing them. We know Perodua never test their new cars before launching and that is dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
      • Kong boyong on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:39 pm

Manusia tak sedar diri…puihhhhh…cermin diri dulu brader. Proton patut belaja dari perodua. Perodua jual 240k brader. Proton baru jer 100k dh nak bising gegar dunia. Hampehhh. Kecewa sangat la tu tiap thn kalah. Apakah daya dia tak sedar diri langsung. Proton kena blaja balik ABC dulu ni brader. Karang ni geely baik ajar betui betui proton ni. Kalau tidak, kong pun boyong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Belajar apa ye bro? Belajar jual rambutan? Piraahhhlaahh!! Orang jual 100k Musang King lebih baik dari ko jual 240k rambutan. Orang jual mutu kualiti, ko pulak jual kuantiti, kualiti tarak. Orang pakai keta P2 terbabas mati semua. Boleh ke buat bisnes mcm ni bro? Wang tu dapat semua haramnya. Berdosa tau.

Saya harap P2 insaflah sikit, jangan bahayakan nyawa manusia lain sekadar nak dapat wang saja.

• Celup King on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:14 pm

R&D expansion my foot. How much do need to replace the bumpers and badges. Don’t even bother talking about gamechanging cars because we heard that from you before. Back in 2003, Perodua was talking so confident about selling gamechanging Kenari Hybrid but 17 years later we don’t see where you Kenari Hybrid.

Better just double your investment to gameover your company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • FutureMan on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:47 pm

In the future, when after geely divorce proton and proton no where to go and cant survive. Who will come as proton saviour? Well of cos perodua. Perodua will come as saviour and help proton to take over all proton facilities and factory and change proton name to all perodua name. No more proton. Proton will only left history while perodua will keep stay as great living legend. Geely will somehow divorce proton in future.
      Or 2nd situation geely might even fully take over proton and terminate all local staff in proton and let all chinese works in geely proton. Local ex-p1 salesman will jump ship to p2. Others will jual kuih muih tepi jalan and jual sayur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Aura89 on Jan 23, 2020 at 9:30 pm

Goddamn! PaulTan please do something with these machine trollbots. It is so obviously these repeating comments are not made by humans.

• Eclipse on Jan 23, 2020 at 11:52 am

So that means after launching Perodua D55L SUV based on DNGA architecture in Malaysia, Toyota Raize will also launch here. Both pricing will be more different as D55L SUV cost RM55K to RM65K while Toyota Raize cost RM75K to RM90K because of specs and equipments.

• P2suv on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Way u go perodua. All the best. Rakyat support u. Bring in perodua rocky fast2 hihi. And dn f sedan.

• Got money to double investment why not double our bonus? So ciku this year. We know our cars are not developed by ourselves so why bother doing investment? We all are grateful to Daihatsu & Toyota for donating their cars to us for rebadging during the past 30 years and we will continue to rebadge until we close shop. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. We only wish you wouldn’t throw us your old and outdated models to do the rebadging. Malu tau, when customers asking why Daihatsu have newer cars and we still rebadging old models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • P1 fan will have lots of empty talk here later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Typical Malaysian on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:55 pm

same like you who like to talk cock at p1 posts. inbreds!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • face → mirror

• Abg Beruang on Jan 23, 2020 at 2:51 pm

Becos of your typical malaysian style and people follow wat u doin. So dont ambil hati. It is typically u.

• Muahahaha…kataxxx bawah tempurung eat Roti John, BTSH.

• Muahaha on Jan 23, 2020 at 3:01 pm

Muahahahaha at last u admit urself as kataxxx bawah tempurung. Hahahahaha. Well done.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:58 pm

Double the investment, but still 0% advanced high strength steel or hot press formed steel content? Still using 550MPa high strength steels with absolutely no gigapascal-class steels?

• CurtainsShare on Jan 23, 2020 at 8:30 pm

From the cassis/structure side,
      initially Proton X70 itself is a well buildup product from high-tensile thermoforming steel #1,650 Mpa,
      which is higher than Previous
      Proton Hot Press Forming’s #1,470 Mpa.

Do Note that most mass produced CKD-build Vehicles still incorporate Dual-phase high-strength steel #590 to 780 Mpa.

• U May Do It on Jan 24, 2020 at 9:25 am

……………..In the near future,

Post new models launching events,

Pls invite media journalists to do a quick first drive impression at your hidden test tracks

In ur HQ Showroom,
      pls Display at least one unit of Cut-Off models detailing Every bits & pieces inside it,
      so Potential buyers will see through the vehicle’s structural integrity as a whole.
      Peel off the skin initial impression.
      u may Invite PT for a quick walk around review

Just like the Good feedbacks received on the Toyota TNGA new improvements, a new Usp as you seen in the medias lately,

Pls upgrade ur USP and focus more on Chassis Rigidity and R&H Tuning.

Since money not the issue here, Just Bring the The Right skillsets in or u may outsourcing this Dept to 3rdParty Specialist.

• Safety First on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Perodua should use that investment to prevent this from happening on their cars
    https://paultan.org/2020/01/23/toyota-to-recall-3-4-million-cars-globally-over-airbags-that-may-not-deploy-not-related-to-takata-this-time/

• Engineer on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Proton started out in 1985 and within 20 years they could develop and produce their own cars and engines.

Yet Perodua 30 years on and still relied on Daihatsu and Toyota to rebadge their cars and use their engines.

How come in the same period Proton by themselves could come out with their own cars and engines, but Perodua with Daihatsu and Toyota support still continue to rebadge their cars and use their engines? Answer is hard work & Proton innovation.

• azrai on Jan 23, 2020 at 1:59 pm

For everyone info including P2 fanboys. P2 staffs get 8 months bonus for year 2019 thanks to relentless efforts and comments by Bezza fanboys. Congratulation.

• You think so, but those sales guys like us only got ciku bonuses because we didn’t hit our target last year. Maybe you might be referring to our online division but they are the real pain in butt for us frontliners. They spun way too many fantastical stories about our cars but it really is just a normal car. Those like me and my sales team are put under tremendous pressure by customers when asked to prove our cars got Japan technology, safest car in the market, prove to them our cars can hit 20km/L FC, and such. Many, many times we got scolded by them when we explained to them these are all lies and yes, lies by our own online team. We had to admit that to inquiries.

Because of that, our sales dropped and our bonuses got cut badly.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 23, 2020 at 9:31 pm

Kesian perodua sales team. Got backfired by their trolling fanboys.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 23, 2020 at 9:32 pm

Kesian perodua sales team. Got backfired by their trolling fanboys..