Proton to halt all business operations until March 31

Proton has announced that it will be complying with the government’s directive as outlined by the movement control order issued yesterday by prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

The company said that it will be halting all of its sales and after-sales operations as well as all production activities at its Tanjung Malim and Shah Alam plants from March 18 to 31 in an effort to help with the control of the spread of the coronavirus.

The national automaker said that in emergency cases such as breakdowns or accidents, customers can contact its Customer Care hotline at 1-800-88-8398 for urgent 24-hour assistance. Enquiries and complaints, meanwhile, can be addressed via email to [email protected].

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Zafrul on Mar 17, 2020 at 10:50 pm

Why Lockdown?!!! Stupid decision. Only 9 days in power, I’ve lost all my confidence in new gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
    • Justin on Mar 18, 2020 at 3:56 am

It is not a lockdown. It is merely a means of ensuring social distancing. This measure is indeed a good effort by the government. Anyone with basic intelligence will understand how this can help slow the spread of the virus.

• Tun F on Mar 18, 2020 at 8:25 am

Dude… What is wrong with you? Covid 19 has became worst and you with not smart comments??????

• Rendang ayam on Mar 18, 2020 at 9:33 am

Just as Proton started to rise with the help of China, now Proton will be Game Over again since Geely is facing trouble as well as Malaysia here started to lockdown. Coronavirus will affect Proton badly and Proton will be Game Over again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Karang kata bodoh marah… Harap kau kna covid-19

• Why So Serious on Mar 18, 2020 at 3:44 pm

Why? Do you prefer to die needlessly due to coronavirus? Then go ahead and expose yourself then jump off a cliff so you don’t contaminate others. There is no greater cure for stupidity.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 18, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Your type are the reason why COVID19 spread rate suddenly skyrocketed. Well done haters.

• Hantu Raya on Mar 18, 2020 at 8:26 am

then all other coutries that do the same is stupid also la, including US?

you la stupi! people dont want hospital facities to be overcrowded/ overloaded with patients. covid19 is highly infectious, and a lot of people end up in hospitals really fast. but we dont have infinite number of hospitals/ doctors/nurses/beds/drugs/equipments because 1.6million civil servants….

bingai punya manusial…