May 2020 week four fuel price – RON 95 goes up to RM1.38, RON 97 to RM1.68, diesel increases to RM1.51

It’s Friday, and as such, time for the regular weekly fuel price update. Not so pleasant news for motorists as fuel prices – which climbed last week following a month where it remained unchanged – have gone up again across the board for the coming May 23-29 week.

The ministry of finance has announced that Euro 4M RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM1.38 per litre, up by seven sen from the RM1.31 last week. Likewise, there’s a seven sen increase for RON 97, which will now go for RM1.68 per litre in the coming week (RM1.61 last week).

As for Euro 2M diesel, that sees a six sen increase to RM1.51 per litre (RM1.45 last week), so this means that Euro 5 diesel, which costs 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel, will now be priced at RM1.61 per litre for the coming week.

These prices will remain in effect until May 29, when the next fuel price update is announced. This is the 20th edition of the weekly fuel pricing format for 2020 and the 72nd edition in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 22, 2020 at 6:52 pm

RON95 go up, Balik kampung this raya mahal wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Spin Too Much on May 22, 2020 at 11:55 pm

How to balik kampung, gomen already banned. At least now we can save more money. Kudos to the gomen to lighten our burden. Well done!

• Rosman on May 22, 2020 at 11:56 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/05/21/cmco-interstate-travellers-will-now-be-fined-not-just-forced-to-u-turn-raya-travels-will-not-be-authorised/

Thank you so much! Now we can save more money. Our gomen cares about us. We are so lucky to have PN.

• Vader on May 23, 2020 at 1:05 am

Gahmen say no need balik kampung edy. Tenkiu gahmen!

• Truckers on May 23, 2020 at 9:27 am

Ban on Hari Raya balik kampung is in place, so expected not to have traffic jams as per usual Eve the years before. I can see why MoT is allowing free movement of logistics during this period. I hope our minorities don’t take the chance to go back as well and endangering their lives not just on the road amongst heavy trucks but potentially bring COVID virus back home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 23, 2020 at 1:40 pm

masa MCO murah … CMCO orang keluar makin naik

• radzi on May 23, 2020 at 11:57 pm

Expensip Ron95 gudfor petronas..ugaiz sapot

• Bukulima on May 24, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Biasakla. Low consumption, cheap price. High consumption, high price.

• Ghani on May 24, 2020 at 10:51 pm

Many ahbengs going back to villages complaining about expensip fuel while abangkakaks Raya kat rumah never complain. Funny.

• Ada otak cannot think and understand what is MCO. Ada mata cannot see ada roadblock and danger of COVID19.

Must be too gila to balik their villages, these Ah Bengs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:01 am

Kasihan, kerajaan menipu rakyat yang nak Beraya ni. Naik lagi harga minyak. Sepatutnya, kalau kira harga satu barrel USD sekarang, Ron 95 should be 90 sen se liter.

Kenapa kerajaan buat begini? Kasihan orang susah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
      • Western Star on May 23, 2020 at 11:17 am

Susah apo? Government alrdy ban from celebrating Raya so if no Raya no expense, problem solved.

• Mohd Ralzan Asmudi on May 23, 2020 at 10:31 am

I think we are being conned with price of petrol in Malaysia. How can it go up by 7 sen? Now Brent did not go up so high past 1 week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
      • Western Star on May 23, 2020 at 11:15 am

Crude Intermediate went up 7sen, deswai….

• Celup King on May 23, 2020 at 12:32 pm

Up only a little bit why complain. 7sen is only USD 0.02 cent even Brent went up higher than that. Syukur a little bit for cheap petrol price during this Raya. I remembered last year Raya so suffering when RON97 was Rm2.63. I now pay 50% less than last year when we were under PH. Now my cost of living has slashed by 50%, that is such a good news.

• panjang on May 24, 2020 at 7:41 am

Eh…petrol price must go up. Or else i kept on spilling some fuel when filling up my EX5…hahahaha

• EDITOR on May 24, 2020 at 1:33 pm

Number one, get a better attitude.

Number two, there was no con if Perikatan has never promised to set fuel prices according to any metric, unlike Pakatan that had promised Rm1.50 per liter petrol but never fulfilled it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • Angry Voters on May 24, 2020 at 10:47 pm

Exactly! The reason why PH collapsed. They angered the voters by not fulfilling their election promises.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on May 23, 2020 at 10:33 am

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha What a great Raya present!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • Smoke Gets In My Eyes on May 23, 2020 at 11:40 am

Yesss yess yess yess yess!!!!!!! What a great present, no need to go back Raya this year!!!! I can keep my atuk & nenek safe from covid19. Next year I can get to see them!!!!!!! Such a great present from our kind gomen!!!!!!!!!!

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 22, 2020 at 6:58 pm

I am happy with the price of our Ron 95. We must stop grumble about this and be syukur how lucky we are. If anything also, we must CMCO to continue with the super low prices we are enjoying now.

I hope the minorities don’t play-play and try to balik their villages despite gomen orders to prevent interstate travel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 16
    • Sigh Malaysian on May 22, 2020 at 11:15 pm

No food, No job, No income. Lagi minyak naik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • Rosman on May 23, 2020 at 12:00 am

Duduk rumah why worry about minyak naik. #StayHome

• No food no problem, ada BSH
        No job no problem, ada BPN
        No income no problem, ada nyawa.
        So long we live, we can overcome issues.
        So what’s the problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
      • So you prefer we open back early and become like this: https://paultan.org/2020/05/22/covid-19-ford-production-in-the-us-off-to-a-patchy-restart-as-infections-parts-shortages-force-closures/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:05 am

Gomen only gip RM1600 this past few months. Rm1000 last month and RM600 this month. Mana cukup?

UK Government gip 2500 pounds every month to all working members of the public. Furlough scheme so good one.

Why my gomen gip so little?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
        • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 23, 2020 at 11:42 am

Adik. UK juga ada 254,000 kes dan 36,000 kematian banding dgn Mesia hanya 7,000 kes dan 115 kematian saja. Lu mau Mesia jadi macam UK ke? Lagi baik susah hidup dari mati katak di UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Sick & Tired on May 23, 2020 at 12:22 pm

If left to PH, we would also have UK infection rates and death tolls. PN is still the best in handling this crisis.

• Calvin on May 23, 2020 at 12:38 pm

Majority oppo supporter in Malaysia demanding for help because the affirmative policy has help many of those less fortunate than them and yet they still feel entitled for help. So how to change their mentality like this?

Tell them don’t be envious and be thankful for what they have and they still want more while complaining about whose deserving help. Endless greed & entitled mentality among them must be fixed first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:03 am

so many deviant people want to balik kampung past few days. Already over 1 million people managed to balik kampung because road block so lembap. Get ready to see Covid increasing in the kampung. Kasihan Opah dan Ibu dapat Covid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • Amran on May 23, 2020 at 12:16 pm

These deviants cannot stand seeing the majority had balik kampung during MCO so they now want to go back their own new villages. Punish them kaw-kaw for defying the Government!

• Mohd Ralzan Asmudi on May 23, 2020 at 10:32 am

Obvious the dirty back door PN is cheating the rakyat now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 45
      • His Friend on May 23, 2020 at 11:30 am

I don’t mind them cheat us with low petrol prices. PH had been cheating us with high petrol prices during their 22 months stay, so I am grateful for lower petrol price now.

• Obvious the dirty lying cheating PH was cheating the rakyat with high petrol prices during their 22 months stay. Give us backdoor anytime.

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on May 23, 2020 at 10:34 am

This what happens when you come into power illegally and fraud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Sick & Tired on May 23, 2020 at 11:36 am

yes Kunta we bilip you. This is why your gomen failed the rakyat and PN is doing a great job now.

• History Bender on May 23, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Hitler came to power legally and without fraud but it was a big mistake, just like PH.

• Engineer on May 24, 2020 at 1:11 am

When a house collapses, it is not due to a backdoor being opened but because the foundation its structure built on was shaky and not solid.

• Angry Voters on May 24, 2020 at 10:44 pm

Agreed. Which is why PH collapsed. They cannot keep up the charade of coming to power illegally with their fraudulent promises, thereby angering the voters.

• Manifesto Dicapati on May 22, 2020 at 7:20 pm

I hope this week nobody comes again asking for cheaper petrol. Please work hard.

Work hard and stop asking for bantuan kerajaan, discounts and special privileges. No other country in the world pampers all of its rakyat like how Malaysia does, including those opposition people who had complained about dedak & handout. Now they come here complain not enough dedak & handout.

Time to get rid of this entitlement attitude. Work hard. Time for these ungrateful people to give up this selfish entitlement attitude of expecting help but begrudge others receiving help. These people should work hard in life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 7
    • Arman hero on May 22, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Abang2 should please workhard. Dont only berangan curi2 sneak back to balik kampung … Abang Ismail Sabri oredy said canot interstate. So jangan tak paham bahasa. There is skype, zoom and google meet. these people can still see their relatives online. celebrate and give duit raya online, gomen PN kami prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • S.Ibrahim on May 24, 2020 at 10:35 pm

Heres the problem, 60 years independence and still they dunno Bahasa. When polis tell them dont go back their villages, they plea ignorance that they dunno Bahasa so they dont understand the meaning DudukRumah. PN gahmen should teach them Bahasa and forcibly remove their 60 years of ignorance.

• Dream on on May 23, 2020 at 1:11 am

Entitlement will always be there. It is one of the reason why a lot want PN in power.

• Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:17 am

Majority in Malaysia demanding for help because the affirmative policy has made them like this. So how to change their mentality like this?

Tell them don’t balik kampung also they curi curi want to balik kampung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • Copy Paste on May 23, 2020 at 4:22 pm

Copy paste: “Majority oppo supporter in Malaysia demanding for help because the affirmative policy has help many of those less fortunate than them and yet they still feel entitled for help. So how to change their mentality like this?

Tell them don’t be envious and be thankful for what they have and they still want more while complaining about whose deserving help. Endless greed & entitled mentality among them must be fixed first.”

• Mohd Adnan on May 24, 2020 at 11:03 pm

Biasala…. this is what happens when sesetengah rakyat tak mau belajar bahasa malaysia…

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on May 23, 2020 at 10:35 am

yes john we bilip you. This is why gomen got no money now to help the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • Sick & Tired on May 23, 2020 at 11:33 am

Kunta please don’t try our abang-abang & kakak-kakak frontliner’s patience by attempting to balik your village. Now they have taken my word not to show mercy to stubborn idiots that insist to break the law and go back, I hope they show you no mercy if you dare try.

• Copy Paste on May 23, 2020 at 4:24 pm

Copy paste: “yes kunta, we bilip you and ur 100 other dupes. oh yes we do. trust us. lol”

• Troll Hunter on May 24, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Please go back into your cave. Trolls are not welcomed outside in the sun.

• M’sia gahmen no money because of PH 22 months robbing the coffers. When PN came in they found it empty. So how?

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 22, 2020 at 7:36 pm

syukur naik 7 sen aje, gomen ini protec kita

back when i was menteri, this wouldnt have happened, we would naik fuel price during raya. sighs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:15 am

During your time which was 1997, I remember paying 90 sen for petrol. And If i wanted to save more, I would pay 80 sen and get ROn 92 instead of Ron 97

My Waja still can use Ron 92 well. And yet global price per barrel was over USD50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Ghani on May 23, 2020 at 10:26 am

Well said, fully agreed….

• vivizurianti on May 22, 2020 at 11:28 pm

Aisehman, balik kampung for raya now cost more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Rosman on May 22, 2020 at 11:57 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/05/21/cmco-interstate-travellers-will-now-be-fined-not-just-forced-to-u-turn-raya-travels-will-not-be-authorised/

Thank you so much! Now we can save more money. Our gomen cares about us. We are so lucky to have PN.

• I see our Ah Bengs still insist to balik their villages and of course they can easily afford Rm1k samans. Polis must be stricter and issue Rm1k saman PER PERSON PER CAR, and confiscate the car, to be auctioned off and use the proceeds to provide better support for our frontliners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • thepolygon on May 23, 2020 at 9:56 am

Saman RM1k @ gombak tol, duduk rumah bhai.

• Ku Nan RM1 bil - Rm 2mil small change on May 23, 2020 at 10:13 am

Cost keep on going higher and higher 2 weeks in a row despite global barrel price naik so little.

No logic. Past 3 months when global price per barrel keep falling, our price never move at all.

Is our gomen cheating us? Looks like we are subsidizing petrol for the Government. We pay extra 60 sen per litre now compared to floating global prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • EDITOR on May 24, 2020 at 12:21 am

We always grumble that we never earn enough to make ends meet. This problem is not new, and has been in existence for thousands of years, right since money first came into being. This has nothing to do with the government cheating us or who subsidising who.

We don’t have enough money because our expectations from life have been rising.

We are no longer contented with a modest cup of RM1.30 Hainanese coffee but a RM13 gourmet brew. We don’t go for neighborhood food stall for dinner any more, but posh seafood restaurant. The year-end family trip is not to Cameron Highlands but snowy Hokkaido, and our first car is not a Proton but a Honda.

The more we expect from life, the more cash we would need to get ourselves satisfied. This, nevertheless, is not a bad thing but a positive force to move the human race forward.

• syukur…our gomen target our country to be a high income nation

as long as their minister become billionaires, our high income nation target will be achieved

• azrai on May 23, 2020 at 10:20 am

Abang-abang still syukur because for them RM1.38 is still less than RM1.50,which we may see in two weeks time.

• Ghani on May 23, 2020 at 10:27 am

Up a little bit, still lower than during PH era. Syukurrrr….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • C.P. MOHAN on May 23, 2020 at 1:07 pm

Speaking for myself, as long as RON95 do not exceed RM 1.60 per litre not unduly worried.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • vivizurianti on May 23, 2020 at 4:40 pm

With petrol still murah, abang abang will still wanna balik kampung beraya gaya.

Abang abang no worry when getting caught and issued saman RM1k, becoz at year end, PDRM will give 50% discount, plus lucky draw. Best, right?

• azrai on May 25, 2020 at 7:27 pm

RM1k compound must be paid at Pejabat Kesihatan Daerah,the same as breeding aedes larvae.It is not a traffic summon.