2021 Mazda 3 Turbo specs confirmed – 2.5L turbo four-cylinder; 227 hp and 420 Nm; six-speed auto and AWD

The 2021 Mazda 3 Turbo was teased several days ago, with Mazda USA announcing an official debut set for July 8. However, we won’t need to wait that long for more details, as Mazda Mexico has released a video that contains vital information about the turbocharged model.

It is confirmed that the new model will be powered by a SkyActiv-G 2.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with 227 hp and 420 Nm of torque, which is more than the Honda Civic with its smaller-displacement 1.5 litre turbo-four that offers 171 hp and 220 Nm – it also beats the Civic Type R (306 hp and 400 Nm) in terms of torque but not horsepower. The SkyActiv-G mill is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed torque converter automatic transmission and an all-wheel drive system to send drive to all four wheels.

These figures and overall setup are pretty much identical to what you’ll find in the CX-9 and CX-5, both of which are offered in Malaysia currently. As for performance and efficiency, we’ll have to wait for the official reveal to find out details like the zero to 100 km/h time, top speed and fuel economy.

For the Mexican market, the Mazda 3 Turbo will come 18-inch aluminium alloy wheels, seven airbags, an MZD Connect infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support, automatic LED headlamps, an electric sunroof, blind spot monitoring, electrochromic side mirrors, a 12-speaker Bose sound system, leather upholstery and shift paddles.

The model will be offered there in two hatchback variants, with the S Grand Touring being priced at 489,900 Mexican pesos (RM94,060), while the Signature goes for 529,900 Mexican pesos (RM101,742). The Mazda 3 is currently available in two non-turbocharged, hatchback variants – i Sport and i Grand Touring – in Mexico, both with a regular SkyActiv-G 2.5 litre four-pot (186 hp and 252 Nm) and front-wheel drive.

Bringing up the pricing for those variants, you’ll see that the turbocharged versions demand quite a premium when roughly compared, as the base i Sport that comes with only a six-speed manual retails at 379,900 Mexican pesos (RM72,886), while the i Grand Touring (six-speed auto only) is 429,900 Mexican pesos (RM82,479). Should (and if) we get the Mazda 3 Turbo in Malaysia, this rather large price gap, which extends to the SkyActiv-X versions, should be expected.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:28 am

honda seaweed fanbois
    before : my seaweed 1.5 only can tapao ur 2.0

after : eh not fair compare 2.5 vs our 1.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • Mexican Pay Low Tax on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:29 am

The model will be offered there in two variants RM94,060, Signature goes for RM101,742

The Mazda 3 is currently available in two N.A:
    2.5L 176hp/252Nm Manual – RM72,886
    2.5L 176hp/252Nm Auto – RM82,479

(Like) Proton X50 RM 50k
    (Dislike) Mazda 3 2.5NA RM 72k 2.5T RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
  • 300k in Malaysia?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:30 am

Welcome to the late-party, Mazda3. Just waiting Altis to come over.

• Late party? They have no time for Civic puny little turbo. CVT, save it for Hamleys or Toy R Us.

• romance on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:35 am

(Like) Mazda 3
    (Dislike) Honda Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Turbo on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:35 am

Anybody feel like moving to mexico after seeing the car prices there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Kelvin on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:57 pm

Lol, no thank you. I rather pay more for a car in a country i can drive safely without worrying that i’d be gunned down all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • No, just move to Canada instead. I had a 2004 SRT4 doing 0-100 in 5.2 secs at 21 working as an apprentice mechanic. 34k CDN on the road and I get free healthcare and now legal weed. I paid the same just recently for a 2015 used BRZ… because I could afford a real car that’s new. Move to Mexico and you will get car jacked the same day you bought the car and the cops are probably paid to look the other way.

• Ken Yap on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:41 am

More horsepower for Mazda 3. Definitely will be more power than Honda Civic. Even Mazda 3 will be more reliable too, especially this Mazda 3 comes with Mazda i-Activsense safety and driver asssistance systems. And now this time, we are hoping that Mazda 3 will come with CKD and make it cheaper soon which we have here with NA considered as fully imported unit.

• Ben Yap on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:12 pm

mazda should lower the engine displacement to 2.0 turbo charged. at 2.5L turbocharged, 227hp isn’t huge numbers for such a big cc. civic type r can produce over 300hp from a 2.0 engine.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:23 pm

If this Mazda 3 Turbo is priced as high as the CTR, then we can argue about this.

• Monana on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:42 pm

Ben Yap, look around first. Is there any 2.0 engine turboed by Mazda? They have their own reason, keep digging Paultan.org

• Manufacturers can increase the power if they want, it’s all about cost and efficiency. This Mazda 3 isn’t MPS.

• Nikbotak on Jul 12, 2020 at 6:13 pm

Yup, they’ll save the higher tune for the MPS. For a day to day car, thats diesel like torque will make this car effortless to drive

• msia driver on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:15 pm

top another 30k for add this 2.5T i think
    so 160+30 = RM190k (min)

• granny on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:27 pm

follow VW Golf price.
      VW Golf MK7 RM150k
      VW Golf GTi RM240k.

u top up RM90k la
      RM30k need pay 3x to feed Malaysia Government Tax

• just buy the CX-5 AWD 228hp/420Nm https://www.carbase.my/mazda/cx-5/kf/2.5t-high-skyactiv-g-awd-2019

RM 181k only, comes with Toyo Proxes R46, and 225/55R19

RM 190k? why sedan more expensive than SUV?

• Bieight on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:26 pm

No independent rear suspension no buy

• DARREN SEOW on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:55 pm

I will say bye bye to my f30 for this

• Matsuda on Jul 06, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Actually i think they try to compete with bmw 330i although 330i g30 is definitely better, but since everyone is just comparing with civic, they shud just make it less than 200k.

• Merc A35 AMG has a 2.0L four-cylinder turbo 302hp 400 Nm 4Matic.

This Mazda 3 Turbo has a 2.5L four-cylinder turbo 227HP 420Nm AWD.

Lets not even get into the A45 AMG’s figures.

Weak effort from the Mazda boys IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • can compare the price anot? don’t stupid ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Talking about engine output here bro, not price. its about comparing 2.0L turbo with xxx hp vs 2.5L turbo with xxx hp. Read, understand and then think before you type. Why so triggered? Mazda paying you commission is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Comparing a performance car with an everyday car? How clever. It all boils down to market position. If mazda want to make it, all they need is throw in a bigger turbine and change rods etc and there you go 350hp. And when they price it at 300k, people like you will shout.crazy price again. More than a decade ago mazda 2.3 MPS produced 260hp so you think mazda became stupid by producing lesser power with bigger cc?

• Ferrara on Mar 08, 2022 at 10:07 pm

People like that ah always barking.. majority of them I’ve met can’t even afford honda city

• davenport on Jul 06, 2020 at 2:29 pm

So they are going to go ahead and NOT call this the MPS?

• tricycle on Jul 06, 2020 at 5:01 pm

awesome mazda, now hopping for Honda to put 2.0turbo 250hp engine into its cr-v. And please no cvt transmission.

• vivizurianti on Jul 06, 2020 at 6:34 pm

When this Mazda 3 reaches Malaysia, suddenly become “K” spec….without siput, safety feature etc. The selling price however…..become higher by comparison.

Such mystery happens many times in Malaysia.

• johnwick on Jul 07, 2020 at 2:17 am

the current mazda3 in malaysia rm160k already so so so little ppl buy, u expect ppl to buy this turbo version with a higher expected price?..lel

• Kiernan on Jul 09, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Yes, I will do everything in my power to buy a Mazda 3 Turbo in Malaysia. I want the power of the 2.5L Turbo CX5 and the design of new Mazda 3.

• Torson Guy on Jul 12, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Torson Bar?

• Myvi Turbo King on Jun 27, 2021 at 10:30 pm

It’s been almost 1 year. And there’s no further announcement on whether we will get this model here.