Gentari EV Charge Go – “mobile powerbank” 30 kW DC charger built from Proton Exora and Toyota Hiace

Gentari subsidiary EV Charge Go has shown its mobile EV charger on Twitter, and this mobile EV charger is a portable charging unit installed into a Proton Exora.

This will be part of a three-month-long pilot project for a mobile EV charging solution aimed at businesses, and will offer a means of keeping electric vehicles charged when deployed for prolonged running in the course of events such as trade shows and exhibitions, as well as customer engagement events including track days, said EV Charge Go.

Currently we hear the fee that the service are planning to charge are RM10 for service fee per booking and RM0.80 per minute.

The mobile charger-equipped Exora can output up to 30 kW via CCS2 or CHAdeMO, and is powered by a 30 kWh battery pack. EV Charge Go has three units of this Exora. It also has another Toyota Hiace with a 60 kWh battery pack, able to output 30 kW as well.

The Exoras and Hiace were built by Proton subsidiary Automotive Conversion Engineering (ACE). ACE is the same company that converts standard Protons to executive and limousine models.

This charging solution eliminates the need for lengthy and costly charging installations, making it accessible and convenient for business partners. For now, EV Charge Go has yet to announce an official launch date, as well as charging rates for using this service.

Earlier this month, a similarly mobile charging setup was unveiled by BMW Group Malaysia with EV Connection at the Malaysia Autoshow 2023, shown in prototype form using a combustion-engined van. This setup uses 16 units of repurposed BMW battery modules, housing a capacity of 20 kWh and capable of providing up to 20 kVA of three-phase AC power.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Look at the effort to rescue EV cars in the name of environment. Can’t it be simpler like getting someone on bike to buy petrol filled in a container?

• todak on May 30, 2023 at 2:29 pm

A less elaborate & less complex alternative would be to use one of those pasar malam type portable gensets.

• Haha, that one you spend RM100 on petrol/charge until morning will probably get you 5% of the total batt capacity.

• todak on May 30, 2023 at 7:47 pm

Which genset model are you referring to?

• 500W?

• todak on May 31, 2023 at 10:12 am

You may or may not have noticed that not every portable genset has an output power rating of 500W.

• Which genset you have in mind for the job?

• todak on May 31, 2023 at 7:33 pm

Not the one you claimed to have spent RM100 on petrol to charge until next morning & probably got 5% of the total battery capacity.

• Then why don’t you tell the model?

• todak on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:59 am

Did you tell which genset model you claimed to have spent RM100 on petrol to charge until next morning & probably got 5% of the total battery capacity?

• Sohai on May 30, 2023 at 5:04 pm

And this Exora runs on petrol?

• malaysia slowpoke on May 31, 2023 at 5:26 pm

In China and Europe, they already started some EV models with battery subscription services. You just need to drive to one of these stations (ala gas station), the battery is swapped out from under the car and replaced with a full charged one (all automated). All done in less than 3 minutes.

• Adult Toks on Sep 01, 2023 at 5:02 pm

Who manufactures the purple battery and charging equipment?