Mini Cooper vs Ford F-150 Crash Test

Let’s have a look at crash test results again shall we. These tests were done by the American Insurance Institute For Highway Safety (IIHS), an independent, nonprofit, scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses from crashes in the US.

Let’s have a look at crash test results for two very different vehicles – a 2002 designed Mini Cooper and a 1997 designed Ford F-150 large pickup, which has not been redesigned until recently last year.

The 2002 Mini Cooper – a small car running an inline-4 cylinder 1.6 litre engine. Weighs about 1132 kgs.

The Ford F-150 is about 2029kgs. It’s in the large pickup class, which is about nowhere available here in Malaysia, though I’ve heard the Fire and Rescue department purchased some to modify as fire trucks. Powered by a 4.6 litre V8 engine.

Pretty good results – kudos to BMW. These tests are done at 40 mph I think, which is about 64km/h.

Restraints/dummy kinematics — Dummy movement was reasonably well controlled. During rebound, the dummy’s head leaned partway out the open side window.

Injury measures — Measures taken from the dummy indicate a low risk of any significant injuries in a crash of this severity.

The Mini Cooper got a ‘best pick’ award from the institute and scored an overall good result. Structure, head/neck protection, chest protection, left foot and right foot protection all scored good, and dummy kinematics (how much you get flung around during the crash) scored an average. Likely because during the kinematics test, the dummy’s left forearm hit the dummy’s head during the rebound.

The Ford F-150 is a different story altogether. As you can see, the central safety cell is totally screwed. Look at how the crash test dummy is sandwiched inside between the dashboard and the seat.

Restraints/dummy kinematics — Dummy movement wasn’t well controlled. The airbag deployed too late, and there was too much rearward and far too much upward steering wheel movement, which contributed to the dummy’s head bottoming out the airbag and hitting the steering wheel. The driver seat was tilted so far forward that the dummy’s head was confined to a narrow space between the steering wheel and head restraint during much of the crash.

Injury measures — Measures taken from the chest indicate low risk of injuries to this body region in a crash of this severity. Forces on the head and neck indicate that injuries to the neck would be likely and injuries to the head would be possible. Forces on both tibias indicate that injuries to the lower legs would be possible.

Overall score was poor. With the breakdown – structure poor, head/neck poor, chest good, left foot average, right foot marginal, and dummy kinematics poor.

Shows the huge different in crash engineering for the two vehicles. Like the Jiangling Landwind, I’m sure you expected the Ford F-150 to do better than this.

This particular Ford F-150 model has been on the roads for 7 years before Ford updated the design in 2004 with better safety features.

The new 2004 model Ford F-150 scored good for all aspects, including the dummy kinematics test which the Mini Cooper only managed to get an average. It even won a best pick award.

Amazing what some re-engineering can do!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• holy moly!!

• December on Nov 08, 2005 at 5:28 pm

Now..where have you been for four days?

• ah LIM on Nov 08, 2005 at 5:35 pm

i hope that potong can follow the same concept……… mayB 2024……. or 2100……. ahak ahak ahak…. hi PAUL……

• Conan on Nov 08, 2005 at 6:18 pm

wow… awesome… btw, a bit of topic, anyone know of any blogs which talk about latest handphones???

• Nameless on Nov 08, 2005 at 6:23 pm

good car safety structure always the better safety to driver.Hope all car sales in market will honestly demonstrate this car crash test to confident buyer. Think of Proton…………,they will not so SOON to carried out this test lah

• HumanSanzz on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:06 pm

If someone crashed his proton so badly and appeared on the front page of newspaper.Everyone would said :Proton mar mesti macam tu mia.Hehe.It would be the first thought from public one.

• willp on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:15 pm

Re-engineering or Re-costing ??

• Marmitecrab on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:17 pm

Keeping an eye on daily newspaper reports on car crashes. You would think that with so many loss of life, it would make sense to put safer cars on the roads, right? Instead, what does our G do? Speed traps and cameras. Waste of human resources and taxpayer money. Make it mandatory for safer cars and P1 & 2 will have no choice but to comply. Also force them to produce it at no extra costs as lives are more important than profits. Once we have that kind of mentality, deaths on roads will decrease. Which brings me to another point, with tougher cars, people will drive more recklessly (thinking they'll be safe in case of accident). So what does it all boil down to? Mentality.

• Wilfred on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:25 pm

setting stupid rules and regulations help no one…

they should make it mandatory for all cars which to be on the road in malaysia must passed crash test with some minimal score.

Same for the AP cars….lol…

• E-nabill on Nov 08, 2005 at 7:29 pm

OOOOUUUUUCCCHHH!!!…..US car makers are always a big myth…thy market their product like no othr giving the impression of super product…if u been to US,check any ford,chrysler or Gm car,go inside the car n sit in the interior,believe me….its not miles aways from our own proton or korean cars..plastics everywer.close the door,thousand parts rattle…ONLy european are great wen it comes to attention to details…

• rafreez on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:06 pm

agree with marmitecrab…I support p1 n p2 but the safety features is really bad, 2 days ago, an accident at LPT killing 3 siblings driving on a Kelisa…just bcos the driver lost control and cars hitting deviders, u can see the engine just went into the passanger cabin…is this Daihatsu/toyota tech that you guys r so proud of…I regret buying a Kelisa for my wife after seeing that…I should spend a few thousand more to buy Waja for her, at least from paul prev blog on crash test comparison done in UK between Waja, Toyota n Ford, Waja at least have 3 stars n passanger cabin still intact…

• SEE FU on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:16 pm

If POTONG car Top up RM10k for Airbags and ABS.

Let's say WAJA new car price RM75K, who wanna to buy??

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! :)

• Jason on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:38 pm

Well, that's a very good improvement for Ford. Interesting to know about the F-150 in Malaysia. Usually i can only see Scania and Mercedes Firetrucks.

• kkrit ilovewasa on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:50 pm

IF 40 mph = 64 kph……….

and then "2001" Ford F-150 = 2005 Jiangling Landwind !?!?!?!?!?!

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/09/30/jiangling-…

• aksMs on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:54 pm

Rafreez and others,

LPT is probably the best place for the speed demons. Brand new, long straights, but for me it's not up to the standard. Standard of workmanship. I believe they have found the best layout. But they failed in implimenting it. Bad alignments. Rain water flowing everywhere. Bumps everywhere. Even a Beemer end up in an accident because of the bumps. (The car totaled, luckily the driver survive). And for the poor Kelisa, he might have skidded because of the flowing water across the highway. I'm quite familiar with that stretch.

As you can see Ford improved the design even thou only after 7 years. Its the step that they take that counts. Which is the other way around for Proton. Waja is an old model already and I haven't seen any improvement to the current design (read structure strength, not facelift). They should improve the safety features at least if they are not replacing the model in the nearest future.

And please. Stop selling the Iswara, now!

• stewpid on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:58 pm

re-enginnering… :)

• Prometheus on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:24 pm

Malaysia got facility to test like that ah? Liddat, can really be interesting to test all the cars on our Malaysian roads and rate them properly lah.. I think the waja, wira and iswara might do OK, but the Kancil, being a K class car.. heh heheh, with an 850 cc engine sorry lah.. I'm sure the cars which would do the worse would be the Korean cars.. Don't forget that our Proton cars are still Old Japanese technology (they made cars for some time already), whereas some Korean cars are pure korean only tech..

The Ford test shows something that all of us always overlook.. Size doesn't always matter

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:35 pm

i tot ford build is tough.

waja /w 2 airbags cost less than 70k.

• eMalaysian on Nov 08, 2005 at 10:53 pm

if waja /w 2 airbags cost less than 70k, then why not pay for a new city? But you get smaller cc engine lah.

• PROTON please send Savvy for the test and show us about its mentioned strong and rigid bodyshell. That way, if it pass the test, it is a marketing boost for Proton. Dare to challenge and pass the test.

• Flizzardo on Nov 09, 2005 at 3:49 am

proton boleh!

• gegaoff on Nov 09, 2005 at 4:26 am

emm… what kind of enginerring the FORD put to this FORD F150? it improve a lot.. damm nice.

even 9years cars they still willing to do improvement, emm… and is a safety features. well done. they did this with their pride, i guess. :D

POTONG? yupe, i agree that G must force all the car manufacturer to add in air bag and ABS to their product, and with most minimum cost. 3K maximum!! well, i wondering what barrier that G face to implement this as a laws? emm… anyone know?

cheerss…

• macspeed on Nov 09, 2005 at 4:54 am

waja now selling for 62k…..WITH TWIN AIRBAGS WOH….

• kanasai on Nov 09, 2005 at 6:46 am

waja for 62 k got ABS + EBD ka? only passive safety is not enuf… we need more active safety feature …

• Prometheus on Nov 09, 2005 at 3:29 pm

Even the H line Gen 2 sells with 2 airbags, EBD, ABS for about 60,000 if i'm not mistaken.. My friend survived a Gen2 rolling few times, without a scratch.. Estimated repair cost: 20,000 ringgit, 4 month old gen 2. Hospital Bill, 0 ringgit!

It seems "see fu" Kau chor already. Waja selling for 62,000 with 2 air bags, so is the Gen 2 also 2 airbags, EBD, ABS

• SEE FU on Nov 09, 2005 at 4:38 pm

Hei Kawan!!

Here is the price list from EON. (Waja 1.8L without Airbags but with ABS)

The price is near to RM70K
    http://www.eon.com.my/images/default/articles/113…

And this one is Waja 1.6L with Airbag but no ABS.The price is near to RM66K

Also this one. Waja 1.8L with Airbags and ABS. Price nearly RM77k.

Therefore, if you need Waja 1.6L with both Airbags and ABS the price is nearly RM73K to RM75K. TOP UP about …..close to RM10k for Both safety features!! (This calculation is very very ROUGH only, plus the profit taken by maker for installation, so do argue on the price especially on Accessories differences)

It's resonable??? Please correct me if I am wrong!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!! :)

• eMalaysian on Nov 09, 2005 at 4:47 pm

Does this mean kancil better than saga?

• Hi Paul,

You are correct that Ford F series have been used by our Bomba but it is F-250 Super Duty and not F-150.

• honda_driver on Nov 09, 2005 at 8:50 pm

its got nothing to do with the make of car imho. its the driver. Its nice to know that the car you own has passed with max stars in some crash test somewhere, but its better to avoid the accident in the first place.

if thousands of cars can drive on LPT everyday without an accident, one bmw driving there and then crashing because of the bumpy surface?

• MutantTomato on Nov 09, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Uhmm… what is LPT? I know its some highway or other la, but which one is it?

And uh, how safe do y'all think the seatbelt attached to the seat is? Look at the Ford pictures la… I mean, if there is a severe impact from the rear, severe enough to push the seat forward, won't it mean the seatbelt is quite ineffective? Maybe there are other methods to preventing this… Someone care to enlighten me? :)

• I still want an F150, it's nice to be able to drive over kancils. So long as you don't bang on the wall head on at 60+ km/h, it's all good.

What other trucks can you get that can rival an Evo in quarter mile time?

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:45 am

1.8 waja still in production ah? I thought stop already.. not in sunday star new cars also..

Anyway, list price on Star newspapers.AmBank Car price Guide, 6 november 2005,

Waja 1.6 (m) version C metallic 62,047.58,

Waja (A) Version c metallic 65,938.97

These are the 2 highest end WAJA.

Honda city 1.5 I-DSI (entry level honda) 84,900.00

Toyota Vios (entry level) 79481.18

Mitsu Lancer (only level)1.6L 102309.50

Kia Spectra 1.6A 69888.00

Kia Spectra 1.6A novus 78000.00

This one never count the intrest of financing for 7-10 years yet lah.. (Since seefu brought up other hidden costs)

lambat laun, sure kau chor. "please note that there is no shouting in my reply"

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:47 am

Forgot…

Gen 2 H-line (m) 59931.50

Gen 2 H-Line (a) 63495.50

• Prometheus on Nov 10, 2005 at 6:48 am

Sound like James Lew..

• honda_driver on Nov 11, 2005 at 1:25 am

LPT is the pantai expressway.

• MutantTomato on Nov 11, 2005 at 2:28 am

ohhh….LPT is NPE la….. chiewwwwwww! Was trying my best to figure out just what the heck LPT was… Here's some nonsense I came up with! :P

1. Lebuhraya Pantai Timur

2. Lebuhraya Petaling Tenggara

3. Lebuhraya Putrajaya "terror"

• LPT is Lebuhraya Pantai Timur lah, trust me!

• CarNut on Nov 17, 2005 at 2:07 am

i've seen the signs on the highway but it does write NPE. new Pantai Expressway.

on a different view, take back 20 years, the car would be roughly what we get now, lousy design, no airbags, ABS, EBD, etc. How are the fatalities then, in America and the Europes.

i would guess that Malaysia still has the higher death per capita on the roads.

• ferarri on Dec 23, 2005 at 5:09 pm

Car Nuts,

For starters, 20 years ago, cars in US are built big and strong even though they dont have airbags and abs. The roads in US are well kept and very wide. As US is a very big country, there are not many cars in the surburbs. PPl working downtown usually takes the train or subway. Traffic jams are unavoidable but generally drivers are well behaved and patient – unlike the monsters on wheels here. If someone come to a stop look go sign, they stopped, looked, then wait for the other person who stopped before them to go first. In Malaysia, we don't obey any signs at all. With our clunker milo tins as cars, no wonder our casuality rates are one of the highest in the world. Highest car prices, highest death rates aside, malaysians still continue speeding as there is no tomorrow. For some, there won't be.

• adamccl (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 10:11 pm

I love F-150! Why? 1st, spacier footwell for better spaced-out pedals arrangements. Working in Proton, I have a bit of problems with most of the Proton models because I can hardly move my feet, you know, once I accidentally hit on both the brake and the accelerator at the same time! Lucky my left foot was on the clutch and I was in neutral. 2nd, wider pedals. This will help me avoid foot slip-off (happens a lot to me on Asian Manual transmission pedals, of which slipping-off the clutch means stalling the engine). Finally, tough body. Savvy has a tough body, but its drawback is that it doesn’t have the 1st 2 reasons mentioned. If not, it will be quite a perfect car for me.