Project NEF – Lotus 3.0 liter supercharged V6

apx_engine_left.jpgThe Project NEF engine aims to produce a high performance prototype engine without the need to resort to exotic materials or manufacturing technology, ensuring the transition from prototype to production with ease and speed. It was designed and developed by Lotus Engineering’s powertrain division.

The first in the engine family is the 3.0 litre supercharged DOHC 75 degree V6 engine found in the new Lotus APX prototype. The supercharged 3.0 litre V6 makes 300hp at 6250rpm and 360Nm of torque at 4500rpm. 80% of that 360Nm of torque (288Nm) is available from as low as 1500rpm. Acceleration should be very good. Pretty impressive stuff.

Other family models include a 2.2 litre and 3.0 litre normally aspirated versions, which compliment this supercharged one. They are all production feasible, but not planned for production, unless of course there is a customer who wants to buy it. Perhaps Proton would be one of the potential customers? Makes sense seriously.

The narrow 75 degree angle makes the engine compact. It also gives the engine better vibration characteristics, removing the need for a balance shaft and the extra cost and weight that comes with it. The engine is controlled by a 32-bit ECU capable of 200 million calculations a second.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 6:45 pm

75 degree angle?that sounds very small! i tot 90 degrees is the norm….bt figures wise,really impressive , all it needs a very good gearbox…i tink if proton buys it , it wil be mainly for export models as locally the damn tax structure is not feasible….

• theking (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 6:57 pm

The 2.2litre NA NEF engine has been testing in WAJA at proton s.alam for sometimes already.

• bummerboy (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 7:06 pm

VW VR6 engines has 15degree banks, and one engine head, that is amazing engineering.

But lotus engine sounds amazing. Maybe one day we'll have a Hyundai Azera rival from Proton.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 9:33 pm

Very impressive torque figures. Especially since it starts off at 1500 RPM onwards. The 32 bit ECU can rival the BMW M6 ECU as they have the same amount of calculations a second which is 200 million.

• chris (Member) on Feb 26, 2006 at 10:05 pm

Any rebadge for us?I dun care its proton or pelotong :P

• kody (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 10:33 pm

Wahlaueh…wahlaueh…

really cool engine… imagine… if they can scale down to 1.5liters with 150hp…. *_* then we will have chance to own a fantastic proton's car… If these 2 engines put in the perdana & price tag at 95k & 105k for higher spec then i will sure it will sells like a hot cakes… the front grill has some shadow of GEN2… :P

• rexis (Member) on Feb 28, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Hohohoho, anyone still want a supercharged 3.0 V6 now?

Kody that is a brilliant idea, FC should be better then a 2.0 V6

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 8:38 am

I've been drooling for this since the previous post. Lalala… I wonder if Proton have done a proper market survey for their new models line up. If they come out with this one, I don't mind queing for a test drive and maybe (most probably lah) burn my pocket lah! I won't even care if the RON97 is RM1.92/litre as long as I get a piece of this fine engineering!

Err…I wonder if they got the same plastic like the one in Gen-2.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 6:28 am

can somebody go to the p1 R&D center to spr on it? hehehe