Shell V-Power Ferrari F1 Advertisement

smallf1ferrarileft.jpgThis aurally orgasmic advertisement for Shell V-Power was created to celebrate 60 years of collaboration between Shell and Ferrari in Formula 1. The advertisement shows generations of F1 cars running at high speeds through cities from Rome to Rio, and finally London. The advertisement looks like one of the most expensive TV commercials ever made, and took a month to shoot. Check out the video after the jump.

Video: Shell V-Power Ferrari F1 Advertisement

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chunky (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 2:55 pm

Wow … nice. Isn't the last stop Monte Carlo, instead of London? or maybe you're referring to the Shell Station in London…

• WarBlade (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:23 pm

The final city actually is Monte Carlo, Monaco. n i don't think there's any London landmark.

beautiful clip btw..

• ed0r (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 3:36 pm

nice….!

Go!! Kimi go!! Anyone going to Sepang this April? :D

• carisacar (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:19 pm

Nice ad! Yes, Ferrari's engine noise is music to some ears, but "aurally orgasmic"??? There must must a real good reason to use such innuendo. Rather inappropriate in my opinion.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:28 pm

csrisacar..

Why not?

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Classical.

Is like the revolution of F1.

• funbox (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:08 pm

YES! KIMI… Yes! KIMI… GOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOO GOOOOOOooooooo Ferrari!!!

• funbox (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:09 pm

YES! KIMI… Yes! KIMI… zooooooooooomzoooooooooooooooooom Ferrari!!!

• khimfoh (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:12 pm

One word to describe this commercial…

AWESOME!!!!.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Cool!! F1 car tearing down the streets.

• Raphael (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:05 pm

carisacar,

there is a big difference between aurally and orally…

Awesome ad. Will have to listen through a big stereo and piss off the neighbours

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:12 pm

The last u-turn is confirmed to be Monte Carlo.. But the Shell station. er.. No idea whr it is.. :D

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Nice ad! I like the 2nd car they showed! Very good cinematography!

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:44 pm

love this ad… it wud be cooler (imho) if they really put model-to-mode and morphed them along the way… hehehe

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:17 pm

I'm going to sepang this april want to watch together with schumi, I got free ticket then can go la.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 7:45 pm

nice one… the evolution of f1…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 8:13 pm

notice a famous metal gated shifter on one of that old ferrari f1 carried through until the F50 model,

• bolo (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 9:04 pm

The lineage is not complete. The cars during the Agip sponsership years are missing! That is almost 20 years of missing link there! The flat12 engined models are not there, the ground effect cars are not there, so are the turbo models and the V12 models. But then again this is about Shell not Ferrari.

• bolo (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 9:05 pm

The lineage is not complete. The cars during the Agip sponsership years are missing! That is almost 20 years of missing link there! The flat12 engined models are not there, the ground effect cars are not there, so are the turbo models and the V12 models. But then again this is about Shell AND Ferrari only.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 9:52 pm

from some forest (maybe england), to rome, to new york, to hong kong, to rio, to monaco and to some shell station and back to rio, great stuff, love the engine roar

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 10:00 pm

mycar_stolen,

schummi the red baron won't be in sepang this april. sorry to dissappoint you. he and his family busy moving and settling in in their new mansion.maybe you just go cheer for kimi next tue for the 3 days test session at sepang.it is free entry for the public.

cheers

• armandd (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 11:31 pm

the sound… WOW!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 2:01 am

armand, really the sound "WOW" ah, I view from office computer and there is no speaker. I shall go back to home to view one more time, turn Vol to loud, hopefully I enjoy the "roaring WOW" sound as well!

• armandd (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 2:53 am

hahaha.. =P

• viceice (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 7:55 am

raptorclans is right.. this clip is good, but cleaner and more fluid transitions would have made it epic.

• Joe Cole (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 10:21 am

kimi boleh

• happymeal (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 9:39 pm

old school V12…. yuummmmyyy…..

i think having it transform fluidly will make it too predictable and run off the mill…

the F310B running through rio sounds weird though….

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 25, 2007 at 5:14 am

WOOOOOOWAWE!!!!!!

• carisacar (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Raphael,

I know what the difference between aurally and orally and I hope you are not suggesting I did not know the difference. At no time was I insinuating any oral implication and I hope you are not suggesting it either. Perhaps it is your own subconscious needs to be reassessed. All I was opining was that the word "orgasmic" is perhaps not a appropriate journal jargon for a car blog. Plenty of teenagers are readers of this popular blog, we can do no harm to keep it free of innuendos.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 7:01 pm

The country side and he petrol station is in Maranello……..

Forza Ferrari……….but Kimi is so boring, just like Mika………..another great driver, but not a legend……….

• pavithran (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 1:53 pm

Wow! Brilliant clip man! Wish I could download this.