Irankhodro to lead Islamic car project

Irankhodro LogoIran’s Irankhodro will spearhead the development of the proposed “Islamic car” to be built only in Islamic states for Muslim markets, announced its chief executive Manouchehr Mantheghi on the 12th of December 2007.

A meeting between OIC (Organization of Islamic Conference) delegates, Turkey and Proton to prepare the framework of the project will be held in January 2008, and the plans would be presented at the OIC summit in March 2008.

If the OIC decides to take up the project, work will begin in March itself and the car will take an estimated 3 years of development at a cost of US$200 million to US$500 million. The project will be based on either Iran or Malaysia, but Irankhodro will lead the project.

Irankhodro is the Middle East’s largest car manufacturer and the company mainly rebadges Peugeot cars.

Proposed Islamic car angers IKIM director-general
Iran wants Proton to develop Islamic cars?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:19 pm

didnt one of the prominent figures from our islamic council was against the idea? probably iran didnt hear it at all, sad

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:30 pm

Shia in Malaysia can ka?

• kazai (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:36 pm

if can sell well in middle east, why not. It’s still a car btw

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:43 pm

News update from the future:

3 years and $500 million later, Irankhodro has successfully rebadge a Peugeot’s car as an “Islamic car”

LOL

• bobdbilder (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 3:11 pm

If they can refine plutonium with the Western world against them, a car is a piss.

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 3:55 pm

hahahaha once more this issue out but i think its ok maybe its not suitable in our country but its for middle east market why not lor proton just build it and its good opurtunity to proton just go for it proton but make sure that $200-$500 million is from iran not our g hehehehehe

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 4:04 pm

w_lighter said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 2:43 pm

News update from the future:

3 years and $500 million later, Irankhodro has successfully rebadge a Peugeot’s car as an “Islamic car”

LOL
    —-

Good one. Very good one.

LOL

• nmh (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 4:25 pm

How they measure the profit….why dont just built a “car for everyone”

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 4:44 pm

I still don’t think this is a good idea..

but well.. there’s christian car already.. a chevrolet. (there’s a cross)
    :D :D :D

and pak aji wont buy aveo by that reason…

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:51 pm

Alfa Romeo also got cross!

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:53 pm

i wonder how they would make the compass precise, with altitude, road senget and such.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:11 pm

if there is a need, and people are willing to buy, i dont see why not.

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Hope that IranKhodro don’t turn a 407 or 308 to an islamic car…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:39 pm

i am very ashamed now when every time i drives my persona OTR. fcuk u potong.!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 11:38 pm

eks if u hate proton why buy persona ptaii?

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 3:36 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 8:39 pm

i am very ashamed now when every time i drives my persona OTR. fcuk u potong.!
    =============================================
    cursing your own car is not a good idea…for what ever reason….scarry…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 10:42 am

why ashamed after buying Persona??

if u don’t like proton why buying it in the 1st place?? aiyoo..

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 5:50 pm

islamic car, purposely for certain market,

italian alfa put a cross on its badge,

pug has lion,

-which ever car ,nissan honda produa toyota proton alfa mercedes volvo ,
    want to buy alfa, ok
    want to buy proton ok
    want to buy toyota ok

-is there a problem there?

• Apathy (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 11:34 am

if they wanna put a compass or whatever navigation system, compartment fits for a standart size Quran or A4 size paper, is fine with me. JUST DROP the ISLAM or ISLAMIC word from the car’s name. as a Muslim, i feel insulted whenever some product or political ideology opted the ISLAM term to it. period.

• haroldz (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 2:50 pm

this show the mentality of their top management team
    manipulating religion for profit
    it’s halal dat y they will do it!!

• proton12vauto (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 5:51 pm

rubbish…

• dancing sideways (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 9:32 am

this is not new as a product but as an automotive product this is new. instead of the ‘LULUS’ (passed) sticker on the rear window they are going to change it to ‘HALAL’ i have been told.