New American Ford Verve Sedan Concept unveiled!

Ford Verve Sedan

Ford’s new Ford Verve Sedan Concept has been updated in its Detroit 2008 incarnation, and now features a new front fascia with a larger upper grille and new “more conservative” taillamps, if such a term could ever be used for a concept vehicle.

Ford confirms that North America will receive a new series of small cars as even the gas-guzzling American market is slowly moving towards small and fuel efficient cars now, rather than the likes of Lincoln Navigators. The first of the small cars will be a 4-door sedan based on this concept.

The new small cars are targetted at folks whom Ford calls “Mellennials”. These “Millenials” are a group of people aged 13 to 28 years, and will represent 28% of the US total population by 2010. They embrace eco-friendliness stay in constant touch using modern technology and demand best-in-class products from around the world.

More photos after the jump.

Ford Verve sedan unveiled in China
Ford Verve concept previews 2009 Ford Fiesta
Mazda 2 sedan unveiled for the Chinese market

Ford Verve Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 3:05 am

Hurm another car design with slopping roof.
    I guess 6 footers will have to squeeze in future cars.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 4:00 am

Looks like its going to be a replacement for the current ford mondeo

• Redline (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 6:48 am

Is it me or do i see design cues from the motorola RAZR on some of the control panels

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:28 am

Apparently the console was based on a “mobile phone” heehee… pretty neat

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 7:51 am

I find the 3 round knobs below the center console spoils the whole look. Red looks awesome tho.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:25 am

It’s very erm, European-Japanese Mazda Peugeot mix styling wise, but extremely American handling wise. Hoohoho.. would you agree handling is pretty much american, Paul? No B pillar too for a four door, they must’ve figured something out.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:25 am

Ford?
    Aiyah! Boring design.
    Should re badged it to Mazda!

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:56 am

Fuyohhhhh, all RED
    All I like

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:59 am

The Verve is to be a Fiesta replacement concept. This is much smaller than the Mondeo (which is based on the Iosis concept).

Can’t help it but see an edgier resemblence of the 2nd generation jellybean Taurus.

• BW (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:55 am

wow i love the interior…

• ilmondo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:04 pm

yeap its based on the fiesta. wat a design!
    they seem to integrate the butt nicely too.
    hope this comes to malaysia.
    focus 1.8 is bout 110k, wonder how much wil dis b.
    sweet handling, good safety(mazda 2 has got 5 euroncap starts if i’m not wrong), moto razr interior n so much more..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 12:14 pm

ford is already having an extremely hard time selling the focus in malaysia which is sad as its a pretty good car. i’m pretty sure this car will never come into malaysia, let alone any other ford car for that matter in the near future.

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:44 pm

there’s a lot of switches and illuminating buttons.. wondering how to make gear shifting with that kind of shifter stick.. and what are the buttons at the steering wheel for?
    too obsess with illuminating buttons i’d say..
    prefer a cleaner & simpler design

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 4:43 pm

nothing wrong with the lights and all… its a concept car, not a real car for mass production.. you’re supposed to push the boundaries of design and try to be as outrageous as possible with a concept to show what your company is capable off. it doesnt really have to translate into a real car.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

muscular or bulky?

anyway, nice interior……

if only real production version will be the same as the concept~

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 8:50 pm

its look like aston martin db9 at the front…but a little bit high…interior..i think it was cool n futuristic…nice car for a concept…i think the steering wheel design is similar like other concept i read before…from honda i think…

• szw (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 9:13 pm

i like the red theme…

• indigo (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:03 pm

USDM sedan. don’t ever think it will come to M’sia. Americans love fuel guzzing machines. Wanna complain fuel is expensive please stop using HEMI or LS engines.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 9:08 am

wah… the interior is so hot… plus with theme color n their design…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 5:09 pm

indigo, you should read the article properly before you comment la. the verve concept is supposed to be moving away from the traditional large fuel guzzling american cars. its supposed to be smaller, and more eco-friendly..etc. etc.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 10:47 pm

Very nice shape but the front wheels seem oddly large because of how far back the front lights extended to… right to middle of the wheel arch. The lower front emphasized that too.

@4G63T, this looks like a huge improvement over the current Fiesta. Grown quite a bit too. I wanna see what they’ll come up with for the Focus replacement!

• neurra (Member) on Jan 18, 2008 at 7:49 pm

looks like razr phone design in the interior.. lol