New Petrol and Diesel Prices Effective 5th June 2008

The scene at Petronas Bukit Jelutong, 7:49PM 4th June 2008
The following are the new prices of petrol effective from midnight tonight:
| New Price | Old Price | |
| RON97 Petrol | RM2.704 per liter | RM1.92 per liter |
| RON92 Petrol | RM2.62 per liter | RM1.88 per liter |
| Diesel | RM2.581 per liter | RM1.58 per liter |
UPDATE: Despite the PM’s announcement saying RON97 will be priced at RM2.70, motorists found out today that the actual price at the pump is RM2.704. It looks like the PM’s department could have been overenthusiastic over the whole 5 sen rounding up mechanism that was launched recently, even applying it to their announcements. Diesel price is also not RM2.58 per liter, but RM2.581 per liter.
The new price of RM2.70 includes a 30 sen government subsidy, so it is reduced from what the Prime Minister says is a market price of RM3.00 per liter. The 30 sen subsidy will be a fixed amount of subsidy that will subsidise the market rate.
The market rate will be reviewed every month. This means the market rate is RM4.50 per liter next month, we will be paying RM4.20 per liter for fuel, and if it is RM7.00 per liter, we will be paying RM6.70 per liter.
The government will be giving an additional subsidy of RM625 a year for cars with engine displacements 2000cc and below liters (joy for Mercedes-Benz C200K and E200K owners with their 1.8 liter engines, I suppose), and pick-up trucks with engine capacities up to 2,500cc. Motorcycles under 250cc will get a subsidy of RM150 per year. RM625 is said to be an equivalent of 800 liters a year, which is roughly 78 sen per liter.
Basically for the first 800 liters of fuel used per year, you’ll still be paying the old price of RM1.92 per liter. 66 liters per month is the equivalent of nearly 2 full tanks for a small compact car, or just over 1 full tank for a typical sedan. Payment of the subsidy will be made via postal order to be issued when you renew your car’s road tax annually, and payment processing will begin on the 1st of July 2008.
For those who do not qualify for the subsidy, there is some reduction in road tax prices. For cars with engine displacement of above 2000cc, road tax will be slashed by RM200. Motorcycles above 250cc will have their road tax slashed by RM50.
These changes are only temporary. As mentioned by Datuk Shahrir Samad yesterday, this will only be step one in the final plan in restructuring the way we purchase fuel in our country. These prices are still controlled prices - future prices will be a floating market rate that is not capped by the government.
The government will be moving towards abolishment of the fuel subsidy in the future, so we’d better just get used to these new prices. There is already a hint in the Prime Minister Office’s announcement which states that the cash subsidy will be for vehicles with road tax expiring between the 1st of April 2008 until the 31st of March 2009. What happens after that?
READ: Full announcement at Prime Minister’s Office Website
UPDATE: The Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs has lifted the ban on foreign cars refilling their fuel tanks at petrol stations 50km from the country’s Thailand and Singapore borders. Foreign cars can now refuel as they wish.

June 4, 2008 @ 5:54 pm
Paul,
I thought this was only going to take effect in August? But as at now, i’m already receiving heaps of SMS and e-mails bout this and i’m very sure our kiasu Malaysians are all queuing up at the petrol stations now.
June 4, 2008 @ 5:56 pm
omg
so mahal ah
we should change the G
the problem will solve once and for all
June 4, 2008 @ 6:07 pm
man…..this is ridiculous….
and the process of getting the RM 625 will cost additional tracking, processes etc…. and you have to open a new deparment for that too…..
June 4, 2008 @ 6:07 pm
My friend serves as PA for P115 sent me this sms..
Better go queue up now.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:12 pm
800 lil? 5-6months for a short distance office.
4-5 months for long distance office, eg. K.L - cyberjaya
3-4 months for a sales rep..zzz
Yay, no one wants to work as sale anymore..
June 4, 2008 @ 6:13 pm
whew, good thing i pumped full all my cars yesterday, better be prepared than underprepared.
so i guess from here on out, our fuel prices will keep going up till it becomes market rate in august?
June 4, 2008 @ 6:14 pm
Paul, why not you start a politics forum?..
seems ur paultan.org automotive industry, had became
paultan.org politic forums..
Cheers Malaysia new G..
June 4, 2008 @ 6:18 pm
how about for all the lorries? so it means
fuel price increase –> transport for our food increase –> food increase
so we are going to get more expensive again, this is inflation la, why our G having a so simple mind until they never think of this?
June 4, 2008 @ 6:20 pm
i’m goin to fix my BM-X for now…
June 4, 2008 @ 6:20 pm
Cue long lines at petrol stations today.
Also, I guess those looking at Camry/Mazda 6/Accord may opt for the lower cc option now.
rm120, ok la…. that’s like my 2 months of my bike fuel bill covered
June 4, 2008 @ 6:24 pm
Well….the rise in fuel prices were not avoidable as we have seen how global fuel prices were affecting the market.
We just have to prepared to fork out the real market price when the time comes.
But what bugs me is the cash rebate when we renew our road taxes….why do we still need road taxes?
We are already paying a lot of tolls…what is the point of paying road taxes?…ok…so road taxes remain…is the Giverment or the relevant agencies going to consider reducing the toll charges in all the highways by 40% at least?…
Now the other thing that worries me is that how this new fuel pricing is gong to affect our livelihood.
People, brace for a substantial hike in consumer goods!
June 4, 2008 @ 6:25 pm
How about renewing the ROADTAX half-yearly? Is the amount of subsidy being pro-rated by Month/ days?
If its taking effect tonight, midnight, then those people who just register their car today have to WAIT full 12 months to get subsidy which means GOVT might be changed already. Then what’s the backup plan?
June 4, 2008 @ 6:27 pm
Craze! But then petrol will never get cheaper due to supply always exceeding demands. Long term solution, install NGV for my car until it gets too expensive, then revert to motorbikes or Kancils with NGV!
I hope the G will cut road tax further and reduce sales tax on cars to off set the high petrol prices.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:28 pm
how about the lorries? so that means our food price will increase?
fuel increase –> transport price increase –> food price increase
this is what we called inflation.
simple calculation and our G does know that
June 4, 2008 @ 6:29 pm
We’ll see more and more necessity items increase also. Is G indirectly ask us to talk with our employer demand for increment on our salary.
Please if any minsters read this. Don’t ask us to change our lifestyle, YOU should not us.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:30 pm
Dear G….
I have an idea. You can charge us the fuel prices without subsidy BUT you get rid of the sales tax….
June 4, 2008 @ 6:31 pm
Petrol price keep increase. one question can wira 1.5M injection use Ron 92? thinkin of using Ron 92 since its cheaper 8 sen per litre
June 4, 2008 @ 6:32 pm
here is another interesting point to ponder, with rising fuel prices, most malaysians may opt for public transport to commute to work.
Given the current state of our public transportation system, are the government and the relevant authorities planning to do anything about it?
i seriously dont know how the relevant agencies and transport operators are going to improved their sorry state of service.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:33 pm
How about those ppl with many cars but use only once in a while, can get free money from gov??
June 4, 2008 @ 6:34 pm
The thing is RM 625 barely cover for the running a car around town , but the bigger impact will be the downstream impact on all the basic items. Traders / hawkers will again use this excuse to increase price of foodstuff. RM625 will be peanuts compare to the expected price increase of essential items.Those without any own transport will also suffer GREATLY from this increase and yet they are not getting any subsidy. Looks like , again the POOR will be hit the hardest.
The gov must do better than this.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:35 pm
Hey..how about this?
My boss just mentioned this:
“Since we are paying real price for fuel, we should pay real price for cars too”
How about that?
June 4, 2008 @ 6:36 pm
It has been confirm by the local newspaper that the petrol price will increase midnight today. So better go and pump your petrol today
June 4, 2008 @ 6:41 pm
hmmm, now very concern is the commercial vehicles (lorries). how are they gonna survive unless some special subsidies are given. because that’ll probably increase the cost of production, then we’ll loss an edge to attract FDI. we already heard some strikes from UK’s lorry driviers and European fishermen back in a week before.
another major concern is middle and low income earners, this’ll give them a very hard time if monthly income’s less than 3k (my personal view). this’ll give a total hit to retail sector contributing to low consumption, low investment, growing unemployment (this’ll take longer term to be effect).
God bless. i hope we won’t fall near poverty line.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:42 pm
What happened to the Petronas RM600 billion cash reserves. Why can they use that money to stabilise the petrol and diesel price in here? I wonder how a person who monthly income amounting to RM2,000 or even RM4,000 can cope with the rising of the inflations? Crazy. I just hope that this coming UMNO AGM that new leadership will lower the price and not removing the subsidy of the petrol and diesel.
Well this is actually the beginning of the story of how plain roti canai price become RM2.00.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:43 pm
what about car with 1999 c.c?
June 4, 2008 @ 6:44 pm
RIDICULOUS!!!!!They keep saying our G cant afford the high subsidy.but aren’t we the petrol exporter??Petronas earn so much.i understand we will be the net petrol importer soon. but we have been paying one of the highest car tax for more than ten yrs. WHERE IS THE MONEY?can anyone tell me?I agree we should not use too much money on petrol subsidy. but the problem is under our BRILLIANT G management, our economy is still considered very poor relative to other country which do not have oil,gas,high car tax bla bla bla….Most of the rakyat standard of living is still poor. Our salary not increasing, but cost of living keep increasing. Why singapore does not suffer the inflation as much as we do?Becoz their economy is good,singaporean get good salary compare to their standard of living. Our G- please go to hell.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:46 pm
USED KANCIL PRICES GOING UP!!!!
June 4, 2008 @ 6:46 pm
At least most people will be subsidised… So good luck for those who drive big capacity car…
June 4, 2008 @ 6:49 pm
Ha ha … congrat to all BN voters …. voted for “Barang Naik”
NEW G will comin next election … he he … jangan maree ye …
June 4, 2008 @ 6:50 pm
One way to see how much you will be paying more for the next 1 year….
Average your fuel bill and total it to a year, say rm2800 p/a + 40% (which is the increase percentage i think), then minus rm600 for the subsidy.
We’re looking at an increase in expense for the above fella at around rm500, after subsidy.
June 4, 2008 @ 6:56 pm
Yet the G said they already stop protecting national car makers. Looks like Proton shares is going to go up….
June 4, 2008 @ 6:57 pm
I agree this is ridiculous too…
I sense a rebellion coming up……
June 4, 2008 @ 6:59 pm
This was also quoted by the Edge Online…
• Power sector gas raised to RM14 from RM6.40 per mmbtu; IPPs pay 30% windfall tax on PBIT; Tenaga can raise tariffs by next month.
Spiralling effect on increased cost of living if you ask me. Embrace for more sickening announcements.
June 4, 2008 @ 7:03 pm
The domino effect has already begun - tenaga nasional to raise electricity rates by 18% for home users and 26% for business users
June 4, 2008 @ 7:06 pm
So I guess now I will buy an Evo fun car….
and use its subsidies to feed the daily driven satria…hahaha
After all, after road tax is till 200 in the pocket for fuel.
Now, if these changes are only temporary, what about some of us that just renewed our roadtax? Is this thing even pro-rated?
So lets see, If i buy several small cc cars and keep at home, I can collect quite the number of subsidies? I can already see plenty of “ghost” cars. After all the road tax for a kancil is what? $30/yr? thats $600 in the pocket. hmm..I technically can fit 6 cars in my drive…..more if I cement up my lawn…..
June 4, 2008 @ 7:11 pm
ok… i dunno about u guys but my petrol bill for last year almost RM12k… & it was not lower than RM10k during last few year…
so, let me just go lesser.. RM11k per year so last year i’m using 477liters of petrol per month.. using the new price it should cost me RM1287.90 per month & RM 15,454.80 per year… an increase of RM4,454.80 if i’m still using the same amount of fuel…
G want to give me back RM625 via postal order? hahaha.. what a joke, i don’t want it!! now let us prepare for all thing to go up… good luck guys…
June 4, 2008 @ 7:18 pm
2 word to describe..
hai lat..
June 4, 2008 @ 7:21 pm
sigh..
even Mahathir abandon ship on BN and UMNO.
think smart and start voting for the other guy..
June 4, 2008 @ 7:21 pm
“No eye to see”
June 4, 2008 @ 7:25 pm
i dun understand why the price increase is always last minute. no grace period?
so anyone wanna rush out n spend 2k for a 30 year old car to qualify for the subsidy?
June 4, 2008 @ 7:27 pm
what the reasons for TNB move??? AFAIK TNB uses charcoal in 70% of its power plant (correct me if i’m wrong) and almost all of independent power plant ‘operator’ that supply power to TNB use the same fuel… the funny things is they (TNB) bought this fuel by contract which mean that the price already ‘locked’… so tell me why? and plz don’t bullsh*t me coz i’m in this line!
p/s: & yes, sometimes they do buy charcoal with the current market price but that not always the case, only if they had a shortage (coz some darn engineer miss calculated the amount of fuel they really need to run!!)
June 4, 2008 @ 7:27 pm
how did they work out rm625 to be 800litres per year??? if i get cash, n i bring it to the ump, won’t i be paying pump rates?????
June 4, 2008 @ 7:29 pm
Is this RM625 subsidy for per person? or can one person have many cars and claim for all cars?
June 4, 2008 @ 7:30 pm
so when we finally go market rates, i can guarantee we will not get any direct benefits back….bugger. no car tax reduction
June 4, 2008 @ 7:31 pm
anyway for most people TNB increase 18%, not much issue. If small family like mine, monthly about RM55 so new price RM65, no probs.
June 4, 2008 @ 7:35 pm
Donno what the hell is the gioverment is thinking…compensate subsidies vua postal,waht a “clever idea”…i bet in the end will got alor of “red tape” issue going on,& will see more wakil2 shouthing in the Parlimen…I donno why the hell we still need to pay for roadtax & rediculous car taxes…The goverment sekejap say wana implement Mykad subsidies system,tehn sekejap ban neighbour people for filling petrol within 50km range,then then sekejap say new petrol price will only be implement on August…haiz,i think just wait for another 5 yers,then we will see “Tsunami” again…
June 4, 2008 @ 7:52 pm
How many liters does a barrel of oil contain? Does a google search it was from 153 liters to 220 liters. Anyone has any idea?
June 4, 2008 @ 7:55 pm
REDUCE THE OTR PRICE OF HYBRID CARS!!!!
June 4, 2008 @ 7:58 pm
Abolish P1 and mobile import tax, sell me ur petrol at original price..I’ll enjoy it!!!!!
June 4, 2008 @ 7:59 pm
Worst, sell petronas crude to local market!!!
Where’s Annuar?
June 4, 2008 @ 8:04 pm
time to change government laaa…
very disappointed already…
Singapore: car exp, coe exp, but salary high, public transport excellent
Indonesia: car cheaper, petrol expensive
Thailand: car cheaper, petrol expensive
Bolehland: car EXPENSIVE, petrol NOW ALSO EXPENSIVE
need to go work oversea liaw..
t(=.=t)
June 4, 2008 @ 8:07 pm
At the end of the day, G won, We citizen lose..
Stop paying tax, see what can the G do..
June 4, 2008 @ 8:07 pm
V-Power is priced at RM3.15
June 4, 2008 @ 8:09 pm
farking arsehole G!what is rm625 only?wtf
June 4, 2008 @ 8:15 pm
i dont mind the price increase for petrol but G should ebolish all sales tax and import tax…
June 4, 2008 @ 8:16 pm
RM 2.7 from 1.92. That’s 40.6% increase! So, guys, multiply your monthly fuel expenses by 40.6%. On top of that, multiply electricity bill by 18%
Multiply your montly food expenses by 40%. Services (hair cut, car-wash etc) by 40%. Clothing -40%, Kids tuition fees by 40%. bla.. bla bla..
If your monthly expenses is RM 2K, now the bill jumps to RM 2.8K. That’s RM800 increase! …. and the gov will pay you back a pittance of RM 625 / 12 = RM52 a month.
Good, very good. Thank you Pak Lah!
June 4, 2008 @ 8:21 pm
this is ridiculous… i dont see any reduction in car import tax or road tax… rebates is not an answer…
the hard-core poor with no cars or motorcycles will have no subsidy at all… but remember that they need to eat everyday as well… they will feel the pinch with food prices rising over 50% increase over the last few years… inflation index might be saying 2-3% annual inflation, but it did not take into account what a normal person would eat… rice, fuel, electricity… the 3 main items has increased… while water is not so relevant as its too cheap to be considered for the hard core poor…
petronas is improving its profit every year,,, giving huge bonuses every year… and they are doing nothing to give back the rakyat… Petronas is built to help the rakyat, not to help it sponsor F1 or help some people that are being chaffuered around…
June 4, 2008 @ 8:26 pm
Great, now u can see less car on the road.
And i bet, the public transportation doesn’t looks well either..
Probably, the LRT, KTM or wat-so-over will have technical issue at higher frequent, know la…buatan Malaysia..Malaysia Boleh!
Or..buses flew everywhere, create more pollution, then Al-Gore will come with his private jet to hit our PM head..:P (immediate effect)
So we just walk like China? From Wangsa Maju to Kepong, or should i carry my laptop to see my client at Subang by walking there? Maybe cycling is the best way? People get exited on getting more civilized, and we’re playing reverse mode now, will the jap comes?
Or they’re inventing some alternative like the telepot portal?
Then the g probably charge walking tax, by-pass tax, for whoever walk through the portal?
Know la..the G will die if they stop looting the Rakyat money..
Then ends-up walking tax, by-pass tax, yawning tax, talking tax, shower tax or sleeping tax? Will they subsidy if I pee on grass?Bikin Dosa tau?..
Omg, this issue really drove me to MM mode..
Just bitching here, take it easy:)
June 4, 2008 @ 8:27 pm
PM must be dethroned n the G should start thinking like a normal consumer! Merdeka merdeka merdeka konon….I want to see how many ppl would celebrate merdeka this year. My roti canai breakfast used to cost 80 cents, then came the fuel price hike, it became RM1, now with the current hike, I’ll be eating grass and stones instead! When I had my 850cc Kancil, it took RM20 to fill a full tank, then RM25, then RM30. NOW?? OMG!! This is Malaysia lah, Pak Lah, not UK or US. We are original and if you’re good, fuel price is something I’m sure even Tun Mahathir would seldom touch on.
Another thing is they keep saying our fuel prices are still comparably cheap from other nations. Why compare price? Compare quality first la! Malaysia is a weird nation, OUT with the good oil and IN with the bad oil. As the DAP had mentioned, MAT DUK HEI GA (Everything increase price)!
One of our local politician mentioned to us, encourage your children to use public transport to go to school eg, bas sekolah n public buses. But his children goes to school by Mercedeses and Bimmers.
June 4, 2008 @ 8:27 pm
How is RM625 equivalent to 800 litres of petrol?
June 4, 2008 @ 8:28 pm
Who says RM625 for Kancil can last 3-4 months? I am a salesperson driving a Kancil.. RM625 will only last 2 months!
So is the Civic Hybrid a smart choice now??
June 4, 2008 @ 8:29 pm
How is RM625 equal to 800 liters of petrol?
Agreed. The many types of car taxes should be abolished or reduced. Save your money for hybrids now.
btw, prepare to eat instant noodles everyday
The truth has finally arrive. For people with low earning, it is like armargeddon for them. Our government always say a well develop country should has low % poor people. Instead of making less, they are creating more.
we should ask: “How are we going to survive?” Are your boss going to raise your pay tomorrow? Even if we survive today, can we survive tomorrow? Are we able to give our children a brighter tomorrow?
FYI, we at Sarawak here now is buying a pack of rice at the price of RM50++.
Working hard to earn money to have a better life instead, now … sad…
We serve the best for our country, what does they repay you.
Malaysia BOLEH… does this slogan still works?
Rich are getting more rich and poor are getting worst.
Sooner or later, there will be more robbering, break into houses case will happen. We will be living in darkness. With every step we make outside the house, will be nightmare. Home Sweet Home. Does it still exist?
Whats the reason of living if everyday we are fighting for MONEY.
When will tomorrow comes. ^_^
June 4, 2008 @ 8:31 pm
> Worst, sell petronas crude to local market!!!
> Where’s Annuar?
Anwar lah bodoh! not Annuar!
June 4, 2008 @ 8:35 pm
Phoenix,
let me help you there with your statement,
“Working hard to earn money to have a better life instead, now …”
now we’re working hard TO SURVIVE! The rich are getting wealthier and the poor are getting worse. WHY fuel price? Why Pak Lah!? Rice had gone from RM3+ to RM5+ a sack!
June 4, 2008 @ 8:36 pm
A fresh gratz with a Bachelor, gets RM2,600.00
Ehm, from my point of view..
Probably the fresh grads will have to squad by the road to eat grass..or waiting for the G “qualified/professional” personnel to pass-by for 1 Ringgit?
Lotz of fresh grads thou..every year..
The G “professional” is okay ‘la’..they earn here..n uses on their kids abroad..Not a big deal..
Why not using “Suk Hoi” and “Kapal Selam” commission to contribute into subsidy?Not bad wat, these commissionsss..
June 4, 2008 @ 8:37 pm
petrol price is one thing, prepare for all rise in a chain reaction……
June 4, 2008 @ 8:38 pm
Just got back from petrol station. Waited bout 10 mins to get petrol….
June 4, 2008 @ 8:40 pm
yay, tmr i’l’ bring my whole family + puppy to beg at petaling street..
Who wants to join me?we share transport, save petrol..
or u have other better spot?
June 4, 2008 @ 8:44 pm
No comment, just three words..WTF!!
June 4, 2008 @ 8:49 pm
revive, u r funny.
June 4, 2008 @ 8:56 pm
very drastic price increment… hoho.. our G want to “BALAS DENDAM” to rakyat i think for the PRU12..hehe.. OR… BALAS DENDAM to singaporean for ‘PULAU BATU PUTIH’ thehehe… yes, it is true they can use that money to create more mega project..but.. the labour still foreign labour, not malaysian at all…
June 4, 2008 @ 9:03 pm
ProtonSucks said,
June 4, 2008 @ 6:44 pm
RIDICULOUS!!!!!They keep saying our G cant afford the high subsidy.but aren’t we the petrol exporter??Petronas earn so much.i understand we will be the net petrol importer soon. but we have been paying one of the highest car tax for more than ten yrs. WHERE IS THE MONEY?can anyone tell me?I agree we should not use too much money on petrol subsidy. but the problem is under our BRILLIANT G management, our economy is still considered very poor relative to other country which do not have oil,gas,high car tax bla bla bla….Most of the rakyat standard of living is still poor. Our salary not increasing, but cost of living keep increasing. Why singapore does not suffer the inflation as much as we do?Becoz their economy is good,singaporean get good salary compare to their standard of living. Our G- please go to hell.
Things are relative ya know. I’d recommend reading up on global economics before making such a post. In just 50 years the quality of life of malaysians has improved substantially - ask any 70-80yr old person about prosperity… the youth dont see it as they are not old enough.
You cant compare a country with a city state like singapore. And if you thought that oil was a blessing, think again - almost every developing countriy blessed with oil ended up becoming hopelessly corrupt.
Affordability wise, cars have become much much much more affordable in the past years, hence the rise in car numbers on the roads. Car ownership is still considerably more expensive in our two neighbouring countries - thailand and singapore.
The only real point in your post, i believe, is the point about Petronas… although you must realize that our country’s wealth is supplemented rather than reliant on OnG revenue. Yup, a majority of our wealth comes from industry - not petroleum. OnG has supplemented the economy for some time now, and at current consumption levels it cannot continue to do so indefinitely.
The picture is alot more complicated in real life.
There is much beneath the surface.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:04 pm
What I don’t understand is why we need to pay expensive fuel and we are net exporting fuel country…
You out, BN…
June 4, 2008 @ 9:05 pm
I never bother to comment here before… but in the wake of today’s (tomorrow’s) fuel increases, something need to be said.
What consideration the G took with this announcement to curb the rises of goods around the country?
Retailers HAVE to increase the goods price since the suppliers WILL increase their prices. The business people, especially in RETAIL will effected and this will DIRECTLY effected US, consumer!
We are not talking just fuel prices here… like someone mentioned above, this will create a chain reaction that even the semi-rich will effected… just imagine what the mid-class and the poor will feel like??
It’s soo inconsiderate for the G to announce this without any master plan to curb massive goods prices increases and in the middle of SUKMA Games in Terengganu!
The G cant even wait for the SUKMA to end? I feel sorry for thousands of people/athletes outside Terengganu to go back to their states feeling betrayed by their own G!
June 4, 2008 @ 9:06 pm
We all should stop paying income tax. In consequences, polis come and stuff us in jail. ( but for sure, the jail in not enuf for the rakyat), Then, the whole malaysia economy comes to stand still.
The we shall see how the govt will do…….with zero income.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:07 pm
this price hike really make the town havoc, everywhere everyone cue at the petrol station waiting for their turn…. people in rush nvr thought of waiting in the long cue could cost them more as the petrol keep burning, end up they might be paying the same amount of $$ if they pump it next day with the new price…
we should more concern about the community as the price seems to be very expensive for the mat rempit to carry on their daily routine
June 4, 2008 @ 9:08 pm
enginerd_2008,
you wanna work as local labour?
I bet you won’t like the idea, so am I,so the rest of Malaysian.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:11 pm
i am damn pissed…oh hell yeah…damn freaking pissed off…
it’s so easy for them to announce the price of petrol going up…
what about our car prices? you want the petrol to be at market rate…fine…please sell the car at market rate also… so now we have expensive car as well as expensive petrol…
Barang Naik… yeah…thanks to you!!!
Petrol increase has nothing to do with politics. Its the global market demand. G forgot to mention that they need to hit mat rempits. Fuel increase, like this I can use my Realrewards card for my kriss1. Maybe RM10 full tank now..No its more. Nearly RM12
June 4, 2008 @ 9:16 pm
Paul, can you make a retrospective review of the fuel prices. How the hell did we started with subsidies to where with no subsidies now?
June 4, 2008 @ 9:21 pm
fear has come into realization; fuel subsidy removed. Damn it, what’s going on to this country? Everything “naik hargaâ€. Now I understand why the Islam teachings taught its followers to pay “zakatâ€, give “sedekah†and avoid “riba†(raising price of goods irresponsibly).
Now capitalism is having its finest moment. I’m very certain somebody is making money out from this chaos. The richer is getting much richer and the poor is getting much poorer. With the price of fuel increase, it is going to have a very high impact on our consumer’s goods and lifestyle. “Domino effect†is inevitable. The price of food, utilities bills, public transportation and other commodities will be affected as well. What the heck the big “G†is doing all this time?
Tun Dr. Mahathir is right; he had foreseen the weakness of our Prime Minister 1 year even before the general election. I really do suggest the UMNO members to form the “New UMNO: Semangat 35†to outcast Pak Lah and his gang from the cabinet. The only thing which hardly changes is our monthly salary. Damn it! Now I’m all out for war.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:22 pm
Dear All,
Our worst fear has come into realization; fuel subsidy removed. Damn it, what’s going on to this country? Everything “naik hargaâ€. Now I understand why the Islam teachings taught its followers to pay “zakatâ€, give “sedekah†and avoid “riba†(raising price of goods irresponsibly).
Now capitalism is having its finest moment. I’m very certain somebody is making money out from this chaos. The richer is getting much richer and the poor is getting much poorer. With the price of fuel increase, it is going to have a very high impact on our consumer’s goods and lifestyle. “Domino effect†is inevitable. The price of food, utilities bills, public transportation and other commodities will be affected as well. What the heck the big “G†is doing all this time?
Tun Dr. Mahathir is right; he had foreseen the weakness of our Prime Minister 1 year even before the general election. I really do suggest the UMNO members to form the “New UMNO: Semangat 35†to outcast Pak Lah and his gang from the cabinet. The only thing which hardly changes is our monthly salary. Damn it! Now I’m all out for war.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:25 pm
thanks a lot to all bn voters, because of them, we are in hell rite now. Barisan NAJIS!. f!@k pak lah. what about the poor people using old car? the food prices? the inflation? totally pak lah is a bengong pm. he has a lower minded coz rising the fuel prices is the alternative in his head. 7 TIMES OIL PRICES INCREASED UNDER BN, CRAZY!!!. DARAH PAK LAH HALAL DIBUNU…Hhhhhh
June 4, 2008 @ 9:26 pm
THats why global warming SUCKS!!! Pls reflect everything we do everyday. GLOBAL-crisis here.
June 4, 2008 @ 9:29 pm
hazremi said,
I bet you won’t like the idea, so am I,so the rest of Malaysia
–> i’m already an engineer..no need to work as a labour..hoohoho.. let’s see what will happen.. for sure, something will happen…
mystvearn said,
Petrol increase has nothing to do with politics.
yes. its true:) but, not all malaysian understand about the real problem as well Mr.Mystvearn.. so they will blame BN, i am really sure about that…
June 4, 2008 @ 9:33 pm
Sighs… I’m supposed to be out now but my transport is stuck in the jam since 7pm (now 9.30pm) all because of the long queue at the shell station near my house… the fuel up by 78 cents is really crazy.. My parents both are in a bad mood now all because of this fuel increase thingy..
June 4, 2008 @ 9:42 pm
hazremi said,
I bet you won’t like the idea, so am I,so the rest of Malaysia
–> i’m already an engineer..no need to work as a labour..hoohoho.. let’s see what will happen.. for sure, something will happen…
mystvearn said,
Petrol increase has nothing to do with politics.
yes. its true:) but, not all malaysian understand about the real problem as well Mr.Mystvearn.. so they will blame BN, i am really sure about that…
————————————————————
these two jackass had spoken. tell me that you are really happy by this announcement? petrol is related with politic, with food, with life. so bangang. if u anak menteri u can share with ur father’s oil,ok!? u r selfish and otak udang.
June 4, 2008 @ 10:00 pm
you guys are lucky for those who managed to squeeze thru in 10 mins time
there was chaos in esso sunway. a normal 5 minute affair finally took 30 mins. i went out at 8.45 pm and managed to pump petrol at 9:15 PM. i took some pics of the 1.92 price on the pump. thats just for memory sakes. anyways, i pity those people who queued so long and probably not getting any petrol. i think theres a quota in petrol stations like every week, so sudden increase in pumping would just deplete the station completely
June 4, 2008 @ 10:04 pm
yeahh….just got back …took an hour plus…the queue was so longggggg…….damn it…..”ubah gaye hidup” yeah rite…more like ubah kerajaan…..just cannot believe it went up 78 sens in an instant….i pity those who r frm the lower income group as well as students….imagine trying to support a famly of 5 with a 3k - 4k salary…its just crazy under these conditions….
June 4, 2008 @ 10:08 pm
finally,these had come,i sense revolt begin,rakyat time to speak out your word
June 4, 2008 @ 10:12 pm
Today will be one of the darkest days in Malaysia’s history.
The Gov has not done enough to imoprove the standard living of all Malaysians.
Well, eventhough the fuel prices in countries such as Indo and Thai are expensive, at least their car prices are much cheaper than ours.
The Gov simply needs to do more to compensate for the fuel hike than the RM625 yearly rebate for cars under 2000cc.
We Malaysians are deeply dissapointed by the news. To the lower income group, the news comes as a tragedy. Some might have to cut down a few meals a week to compensate for the higher oil prices.
Car taxes needs to be cut down and salary needs to be increased.
June 4, 2008 @ 10:16 pm
ezralimm said
Things are relative ya know. I’d recommend reading up on global economics before making such a post. In just 50 years the quality of life of malaysians has improved substantially - ask any 70-80yr old person about prosperity… the youth dont see it as they are not old enough.
You cant compare a country with a city state like singapore. And if you thought that oil was a blessing, think again - almost every developing countriy blessed with oil ended up becoming hopelessly corrupt.
Affordability wise, cars have become much much much more affordable in the past years, hence the rise in car numbers on the roads. Car ownership is still considerably more expensive in our two neighbouring countries - thailand and singapore.
The only real point in your post, i believe, is the point about Petronas… although you must realize that our country’s wealth is supplemented rather than reliant on OnG revenue. Yup, a majority of our wealth comes from industry - not petroleum. OnG has supplemented the economy for some time now, and at current consumption levels it cannot continue to do so indefinitely.
The picture is alot more complicated in real life.
There is much beneath the surface.
———————————-
First of all, no offense to u.
1)when we talk abt prosperity.Of coz it has improved substantially, and it has to be. We have so much resources and we should have done much much better than this.
2)If we dun compare the better, should i compare to Sierra Leone?if then we will never improve.
3)Again, “affordable wise”, u are comparing the past….. For most of the malaysians, they are only affordable less quality national car.
4)I agree the subsidy cannot continue indefinitely. I am more than agree if you said the corruption cannot continue indefinitely. This is the main point i indicated, hence i agree your last sentence - The picture is alot more complicated in real life. There is much beneath the surface.
June 4, 2008 @ 10:20 pm
I hope those who voted for BN have deep regrets now. This country is screwed for so long and yet the rakyat still support the G.
Now that the the PM is standing on very shaky grounds with not much $$$ to play with….what he is trying to do is to find some $$$ which he can savage before he leave office.
June 4, 2008 @ 10:21 pm
Good,now hopefully will have less jams on the road.Maybe this is just a tactic by the G to reduce traffic jams in M’sia…Good joB!
June 4, 2008 @ 10:21 pm
car prices should be cheaper as petrol prices rise…..
effect immediately…..
you will see all ‘barang’ and other thing prices will rise….
June 4, 2008 @ 10:22 pm
game over!!!
it’s crazy to raise it over 40% at one go. At least if $2.30/L still ok lar.
and wht?..RM 625?.Thts like 52 bucks a month only..whts the difference?..
This is just so WRONG! Nonsense!
Call up a big strike somewhere in KL 2mrw!
Finaldream, you are pointing your fingers to the wrong guy (read carefully) and the real idiot would be the guy who announce about price increase during the after office peak hour…. I bet he doesn’t know anything about after office traffic jam since he got his chauffered official car and police escorts… this thing never happen before, announcement were made during prime time news and save thousands from traffic jam…
June 4, 2008 @ 10:27 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOAkfhOZeoM&feature=related
look at this FIRST …we should sokong Anwar, hohoho… lets change the G! give him a chance..
June 4, 2008 @ 10:38 pm
I am going to buy one Honda C70 cub chai for going around nearby area (but not within walking distance)
June 4, 2008 @ 10:40 pm
dear all,
all disappointment noted.
other than work extra hard….what else can we do further?
lets hope the price will not change after Sept coz earlier rumours said…it could reach RM4.00/liter if it is 100% non subsidize and our G is moving to this direction.
June 4, 2008 @ 10:42 pm
fortunately, i manage to fill up full tank by coincident, hahahahahahaha
June 4, 2008 @ 10:44 pm
Thats why, at time like this, ‘work hard’ especially for those working for others, fixed salary is not enough to survive, because the employer will not raise the salary. So, in order to survive, we have to look for alternative solution to earn more income. Have u all notice when there is inflation, there is a lot of multi level marketing company appear in the market, n many ppl tat venture into this alternative business will have a turn around in life, to a better standard of living. Honestly, i’m into this business now, no other choice to survive, we have to work together with everyone to survive, help each other, tat is the purpose of network marketing, not working for ourself but working with ppls. Some of u might think joining this kind of mlm business is to cheat ppl money, i hav to say wat u think is not true. Yes, i also agree not everyone will succeed in this area, thats law of this universe, some will and some won’t. For any feedback on wat i said is most welcome, wat i just said is just giving out a solution, it’s up to u to accept it or not. Lets cheer for a better life coming ahead =)
June 4, 2008 @ 10:49 pm
can we change the G now???=.=
they only know how to increase, increase and increase the price to burden the people.
and they also like to compare our petrol to the imported country.
What the G is that??
game over now..
going back to the life of 2 wheels.
haiz
June 4, 2008 @ 10:49 pm
how to get the roadtax rebate?
June 4, 2008 @ 10:54 pm
sigh… received about 30-40 sms since afternoon, claiming that fuel price will go crazy again starting tomorrow…. SWEAT~
Government, F**K you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! why not discard the road tax?????
the fuel price is now almost same with neighbouring countries, but we are still getting old Euro standard, F**K you again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
minyak naik harga, beras naik harga, soon electricity also naik harga….. damn it…..
June 4, 2008 @ 10:57 pm
a18 said,
dear all,
lets hope the price will not change after Sept coz earlier rumours said…it could reach RM4.00/liter if it is 100% non subsidize and our G is moving to this direction.
——————————————————–
ya lor, everyone very very dissapointed…
June 4, 2008 @ 11:07 pm
wah~~!!
rushing out just now
lot of petrol station already dry of petrol d
June 4, 2008 @ 11:15 pm
I think the G should also seriously consider to abolish the mad tax on non-national car. Get Accord 2.4 to sell at around RM100k as this is the price now selling in Langkawi.
Doing away with the subsidies is a good idea provided that the savings are fairly distributed to all the rakyat as well as channeled to more productive means.
Kinda hard to digest as we have petronas and why the price has gone up so much?
June 4, 2008 @ 11:17 pm
POLITICAL TSUNAMI in March…….
NOW…. PETROL TSUNAMI…….
WHAT”S NEXT??? POOR PEOPLE TSUNAMI???
June 4, 2008 @ 11:19 pm
Brilliant idea from the government, now no car under 2000cc will dodge paying road tax:P
June 4, 2008 @ 11:21 pm
tomorow all cars stay at home… All Malaysian walking to office
June 4, 2008 @ 11:21 pm
are we suppose to help the low and middle income?? why gov give the rebate to all car under 2000cc?? this is nonsense…. rich or poor u will still get the rebate!! plz come with a better way to do this… or plz DSAI take over the country to help malaysian in distress…. ;(
June 4, 2008 @ 11:22 pm
freeze said,
June 4, 2008 @ 7:31 pm
anyway for most people TNB increase 18%, not much issue. If small family like mine, monthly about RM55 so new price RM65, no probs.
—> again our famous Malaysian answer.. “tak apa”.. sigh… my question is what is TNB reason for this simultaneously price hike?? hmmm… NONE!! (that i can accept)
——————–
a18 said,
dear all,
—>unfortunely, work harder meaning that we need more fuel.. doing 2,3 jobs etc. etc
—> pray harder my bro…
June 4, 2008 @ 11:22 pm
From now onwards, things won’t get any better. So I have to switch back to riding motorcycle to work as an cheaper alternative. Be prepared for more expensive daily needs coming soon.
I’m very shocked and disappointed with the news. It’s quite scary just like something struck the country like in the movies but this time it’s real. Really pity the people with low incomes who finds it hard to eat 3 meals a day, having children, having house and/or vehicle loans to pay….. It’s a nightmare to everyone.
Have to ride motorcycle to work from July as my boss just bought the monthly parking sticker for month June. Have to save as much as possible. Save a penny for a rainy day……
June 4, 2008 @ 11:24 pm
Let’s all learn to accept that petrol price will never be the same again. However, if we are able to buy a Toyota Vios for RM50k (without sales tax) instead of RM80k, we will save RM30k. That amount divided by RM625 subsidy per year (RM30k/RM625) will give us an equivalent of 48 years of subsidized petrol.
How bout that G? Willing to abolish sales tax??
June 4, 2008 @ 11:27 pm
why G nv give people time??? Be fair and kind to us who paying your salary
Announce and proceed straight a way.
What democratic we had now???
All the petrol stations are still keeping the old stock.. but we have to pay for new rate…
all this issue will never stop… God we need another tsunami pls!!!
June 4, 2008 @ 11:35 pm
It’s unfair to blame the G for price hike bcoz no G can tahan this kind of price hike. Do u think G run by non BN will not do the same?
It’s a pity that we don see the underlying factors here, the price hike in commodities, including oil are to a great extent due to the act of speculators, just think that someone who does not need oil is buying oil, for better return in their investment purposes, this is creating a lot of havoc as the fundamentals is not a major reason for price hike.
It’s a pity also that the most powerful country in this world is not doin for the economic wellfare of the people but they choose to go to war especially in countries with oil. They keep a lot of oil for themselves for strategic reasons and they also consume oil like no tomorrow. The war has drag down their currency as well as the economy plus the subprime, so there more reasons for speculators to push the oil price higher.
OPEC doesnt care about price hike.
June 4, 2008 @ 11:37 pm
GO ON STRIKE!!!!!!!!!
June 4, 2008 @ 11:43 pm
This is Paul Tan’s Automotive Forums! right?:) by now, any idea how to solve rakyat problems? if u drive,and then u turn without no signal, of course others will blame u, and for this situation, with ‘no signal’, our G suddenly increase the price. So, this cause a big trouble..
for NGO, push the G by doing a lot of congregation, of course rakyat can do in this BOLEHLAND.. like what rakyat do to Grand Saga..:)
June 4, 2008 @ 11:45 pm
Maybe we can compare the petrol price here
http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm122/eeey3500/gasprice.jpg
June 4, 2008 @ 11:45 pm
We have been enjoying subsidized fuel for far too long. Learning how to cope with higher fuel prices is difficult. If one has read the PM’s press release, transport companies, cooking gas etc is left intact no excuse for higher food prices. Look at Indonesia they used to be a net exporter of oil but now import oil. Everyone is angry but learning to take the bitter pill now is better than to suffer later. Just hope this A-hole governments doesn’t run the foreign reserves low and bail out on us.
June 4, 2008 @ 11:49 pm
Thats why, at time like this, ‘work hard’ especially for those working for others, fixed salary is not enough to survive, because the employer will not raise the salary. So, in order to survive, we have to look for alternative solution to earn more income. Have u all notice when there is inflation, there is a lot of multi level marketing company appear in the market, n many ppl tat venture into this alternative business will have a turn around in life, to a better standard of living. Honestly, i’m into this business now, no other choice to survive, we have to work together with everyone to survive, help each other, tat is the purpose of network marketing, not working for ourself but working with ppls. Some of u might think joining this kind of mlm business is to cheat ppl money, i hav to say wat u think is not true. Yes, i also agree not everyone will succeed in this area, thats law of this universe, some will and some won’t. For any feedback on wat i said is most welcome, wat i just said is just giving out a solution, it’s up to u to accept it or not. Lets hope for a better life coming ahead =)
June 4, 2008 @ 11:52 pm
Maybe we can compare the petrol price
Gas Price on Oil Producing Countries
Venezuela RM 0.16/litre
Turkmenistan RM 0.25/litre
Nigeria RM 0.32/litre
Iran RM 0.35/litre
Saudi Arabia RM 0.38/litre
Kuwait RM 0.67/litre
Qatar RM0.68/litre
Bahrain RM 0.87/litre
Egypt RM 1.03/litre
UAE RM 1.19/litre
MALAYSIA RM 2.70/litre
June 4, 2008 @ 11:53 pm
STRIKE!!
June 4, 2008 @ 11:55 pm
Woa! what a forum!~ so many comments turn up.
I wanted to buy a car be this year end, but i think i need to drag that plan back. Hey, oil increase! every damn thing increase. Cement increase, metal increase, do you still think that there are houses selling at less than 250k for a double storey terrace house?
So better aim your target right now.
I know this is an automotive forum, but i got to say that I’m aiming houses instead of vehicles now.
I can’t really see much future on local cars that run on petrol now. Who know what kind of fuel may design out and we are force to use it…..
June 4, 2008 @ 11:57 pm
Dear All,
As stipulated by some forumers in here that fuel price increase is a worldwide dilemma; yes its true. Even if the opposition took the helm of our country they would be troubled with the same issue as well. Please do not get me wrong, I still hate our PM and his gang at the cabinet. You can find more info of their wrong doings and acquisition of certain stocks and companies from Tun Dr. Mahathir’s Blog at chedet.com. Please read it thru all and you’ll find it enlightening.
Furthermore, other than blaming the government, the blame should also fall upon our GREEDY bosses at the private sector. Please bear in mind, all bosses, regardless of his/her race is actually a businessman of a business entity (of whatever it is). Employer will try their best to pay you (employee) the lowest salary in the market and put you to work day and night. And when asked about salary increase (during appraisal) and bonus take-out at the end of the year, you will always here this out: “Aiyark, business not doing well, not much contract this year”. Or, “Aiyark, itu kerajaan banyak cilakak, cukai itu cukai ini, pasal itu saya tarak dapat bayar banyak” … and lots-lots more stupid examples. TETAPI, what really baffles me; how come there’s a new BMW 7 Series park in front of the office. The Boss’ wife drives a brand new Honda City and the Boss’ children (which is just 18 years old) drives a brand new Subaru Impreza. How about the workers? Most of them ride “Kapchais” (motorcycle) to the office and these workers are the actual power-horse of the company. Just another good “Malaysian Boss” example. I’m sure we ALL have quite the similar experience. That’s why most Malaysians are job-hoppers because only then you can demand a better salary. Now everything is useless when the stupid big “G” suddenly increased the oil price by 78 cents WITHOUT providing us with better alternatives. Even the dear Tun Dr. Mahathir last time only dare to increase by merely 10 to 30 cents. Now I’m all out for war!
June 4, 2008 @ 11:59 pm
BN is digging their own grave
June 5, 2008 @ 12:02 am
Count down has end..
Welcome to expensive world
June 5, 2008 @ 12:03 am
Predicted a mob or riot very soon~~
althou the price hike is unavoidable but still we cant withstand the petrol hike
our income didn’t have a raise also
the G shud announce the price hike now but take effect in next 2months,for instance for us to get prepared for every domino-affected stuff
now is causing everybody economically-panic
June 5, 2008 @ 12:12 am
come on man, why can’t they just abolish the car taxes so the cheaper savings from reduced price will offset any subsidy required.
just do it la….still push this and that.
BN gonna fall.
as of now, wave goodbye to RM 1.92/Liter petrol.
June 5, 2008 @ 12:25 am
I think Badawi already knows he’s going to step down. So before going, create all kinds of havoc.
June 5, 2008 @ 12:26 am
yeah totally inflation.
so whats next?
as far as i know, soon there will be increase in consumer products, food and etc. moreover, pak lah did mention that he dun want any demonstartion tomorrow regards to this matter and he did this to make both sides happy. easy for him to say that, cuz all minister get free petrol*. Yup, Government facing losses cuz of the subsidy, but this is not the best solution at the moment. though, gov subsidies by giving that small sum, its still a burden for low n middle income class.
as for me, if government can put new gasoline rate in over one night, why dun they, increase the salary of government and non-gov servent immediately. tomorrow?
June 5, 2008 @ 12:27 am
Another way to put this is that THE GOVERNMENT IS PUNISHING US BECAUSE PETRONAS IS GETTING RICHER. Makes no sense.
June 5, 2008 @ 12:28 am
i dunno if it is just me, but i really irritated by the narrow-minded idea of abolishing the import tax. think properly..it only benefits the first-time car owner.if the tax is removed, you think you can save money buy buying a new car? at the end of the day, you actually spend more money. so i guess you are hoping to sell your current car at current used car price, and then buy a new taxless imported car. and who do you think want to buy your used P1 or P2 car if people can buy a new taxless imported car at almost the same price as your sorry a$$ used one? and how on earth this will benefit the hard core poor citizen?
June 5, 2008 @ 12:32 am
Actually, I am surprise that nobody ” F ” OPEC yet ?
Every body suffer in the world except them…………???
The Saudi’s probably gain the most in terms of $$$……they said demand is high and they can’t cope…………rising food prices with over stupidity of bio- fuel…………….which nobody think it’s gonna work.
Many years ago Tun ask the Saudi’s to use black oil to control the WORLD and they did just that……………
June 5, 2008 @ 12:33 am