Lotus EVE Hybrid at the Proton Technology Week

Click for hi-res photo

Proton brought in the Lotus EVE Hybrid for its Proton Technology Week this weekend, and all journalists got to see was Pak Lah driving it really slowly, parking it, turning off the engine and getting out of the car. That last part was the most important though as it meant the car was left empty for a photo session.

As a recap on what the Lotus EVE Hybrid is, you can read the linked post but here is a brief summary on what makes it a hybrid. The EVE Hybrid combines a 110hp 1.6 litre Proton Campro engine with a 30kW (40hp) electric motor. Instead of the 4-speed auto typically found in a GEN2, the EVE gets a CVT transmission.

The car is claimed to be able to only consume 4.6 litres per 100km. City driving should be a breeze with a massive 233Nm (equivalent to a 2.4 litre engine) at a low 1,500rpm thanks to the boost from the electric motor. Horsepower is up to a combined peak of 141hp, and 0 to 100km/h takes 9 seconds. The electric motor is powered by a 144V battery in the boot.

Look after the jump for more photos and a video of the EVE Hybrid.

Click for hi-res photo

EVE Hybrid

VIDEO: Pak Lah drives the Lotus Eve Hybrid

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dadtho (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 3:43 pm

This car looks like normal and the cabin looks weird. I think there is a tv inside the car.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 4:14 pm

The thing on the dash looks like some hybrid monitor. What are those in the glovebox? Take is taking lots of space.

With rising fuel cost, Hybrid should be the way to go. Hopefully it is not another mere showcase and for PR.

• peromyvi (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 4:28 pm

i dont hav econfidence in proton. Toyota spend so many years to upgrade its prius to its third generation in 2009 but are we sure that this proton hybrid is efficient? It doesnt need to use 1.6 engine, couple with the electric motor a 1.3 engine will be more than enough.

• sxe10r (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:44 pm

Nice hybrid but y didn’t open the hook let us see ?? it is a good idea if selling this mod now .. but how about the cost ?? not bad it get one hybrid car since the petrol damn expensive … hope the toyota prius also coming in also …

• xenith (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:49 pm

Hey, they changed he rims of EVE. Didn’t they use Work Emotion CR-KAI last time?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:51 pm

a hybrid proton, what could be worse….

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:15 pm

A Hybrid Proton! Well, this is a step in the right direction. Hope they can test it well and introduce a variant to the market~

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:25 pm

What are those meters I see at the passenger side. Lots of it. That TV/sat nav to display hybrid engine problems? It looks like its mounted replacing that clock, which is ok but then limited visibility. Need to remove that as well.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:41 pm

u guys r really outdated…n dnt even read the article or even click the link provided by paul! tis gen2 eve concept was displayed in a car show i think in 2006! prius need improvement cz everything in this world need refinement, not bcz its not good enough, its just to improve what u have already…i dnt expect u guys to understand an engineer’s thought tho…the monitor in the center console isnt tv, its to show ur car’s statistic n condition, is it running electric motor or engine, or both together, n power level n other stuff for monitoring…stop making assumption that isnt logical or even near engineering logical…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:02 pm

“a hybrid proton, what could be worse….”

immature comments.

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:08 pm

Ha ha ha..

I caught some stupid arm-chair critics comparing Proton and Toyota Prius.

LOOK AT THE TITLE you dumb-ass.. It is a “LOTUS EVE HYBRID.

read again… L O T U S
    It was developed by Lotus.
    So compare Toyota and Lotus..

If Proton really want to make produce hybrid, they might get away with cheaper development cost because it owns Lotus…

As for the stuffs at the dash and boot.
    come on guys… This is a test prototype..
    Prototype ALWAYS messy..

Wait for production version la!!!!.

rt

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:22 pm

sxe10r,

obviously you were not at the plant today or yesterday.
    At the Plant today, as I have seen, the hood was WIDE OPENED!!!!

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:32 pm

Hello JULIANLEE…

Nice to read another piece from you..
    BTW, please read my previous comment (the one posted at 7:08pm).

regards
    RT

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:46 pm

emm….
    when the car arrive
    why got rattling noise 1?
    sumore tis car still not production ready yet
    all those controlling unit still slot at passenger compartment

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:54 pm

One little bird told me that the p1 ppl are using the Civic Hybrid as their “reference”? Correct me if I’m wrong.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:45 pm

hello rt, since when lotus made fuel effcient cars? plus toyota cars are crap

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:56 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:45 pm

————————————————————–

eve is from lotus…can u just study before comment?

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:57 pm

sigh,some car manufacturers do years and years of research to minimize any problems…and there comes plotong with its hybrid…i hope it wont explode when someone drives it….kihkihkihkih

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:02 pm

julianlee2, any cars r crap for u…go get urself a tank…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:08 pm

zerachiel1986 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:57 pm

sigh,some car manufacturers do years and years of research to minimize any problems…and there comes plotong with its hybrid…i hope it wont explode when someone drives it….kihkihkihkih

—————————————————————

they are researching now…lotus presented this car to the world in 2006…go and study first and ask julian to join u.

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 9:25 pm

strike 1 for benjo! :D 5yo club : 0

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Hello Mr.Wizard of Oz (Julianlee2), proton cars are crap, toyota cars also crap…what manufacture cars are damn good for you? Please la, spare me Ferrari, Lamborghini, Keonigsegg, Buggati, Zonda and the rest of exotics car makers. Read this…there’s NO SUCH THING as a PERFECT cars!! There’s only a better cars and there’s not. If you said Proton cars are crap, then let me say this…KIA cars are even crappier than Proton. Why? Because I used to own them both!! My Satria last with me for 6 years while the KIA Spectre last ONLY 6 months due to f*cking quality problems. Still, that doesn’t give a a f*cking license to bash blindly and offend some of the people here. Even I sometimes acknowlegde some of the great achivement that KIA have outdone themselves this couple of years. Cars is more than just a mere HORSEPOWER and TORQUE…it’s involves PASSION, DETERMINATION, ARTISTIC and TECHNOLOGY!! Sometimes you must see beyond the horizon and if you REFUSE to see it…then, RESPECT is the LAST thing people will ever (or never) give it to you. And if you were own a Ferrari, then we understand where your SNOB and COCKINESS comes from…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:10 pm

fastcx said,

August 3, 2008 @ 9:02 pm

julianlee2, any cars r crap for u…go get urself a tank…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    he loves german. lol
    So he likes german made cars. (You-know-what)

• cole planet (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:30 pm

hope it wont be that expensive as the malaysia first hybrid car aka honda civic hybrid

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:32 pm

dude,only toyota, proton and mercedes-benz cars are crap

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:42 pm

Bendol said…

“they are researching now…lotus presented this car to the world in 2006…go and study first and ask julian to join u.”

oh really,maybe their are doing research on how to make the worst car of the year…sigh,or maybe they are planning on how to make more holes on innocent consumers pockets….

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:58 pm

Walao u all, damn fighting each other, u all shud marry one another la, i agree with fastcx, coz they make it like this and that, with reason, not for fun, they can see what we dont see, coz they r the one who design it, sure there will be some mistake, but have u heard “learn from mistake” or “learns from others people mistake”?

Bash here and there, make ur own car, sure will satisfy ur needs… shud try to settle the problem, not give more problem !

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Julianlee has never had his ass kicked by a 6′ fat bald headed 20 something in olive jacket with a small flag on his left arm sleeve while disembarking from a train in Stuttgart has he?

He has never been asked by a 16year old boy in fatigues to buy that fightstick in a Hamburg store coz he’s underaged and cannot buy the telescopic black coloured weapon.

I have.

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:25 pm

I hope proton not sell this car only after 5 years of testing.

• torque (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:29 pm

God.of.War,

If people make their own cars, there won’t be a Proton!! People that give any reasonable comment and any critics whether positive or negative are actually for Proton own good. I agree some remarks are none others than nonsense but what about others? Will they too be label as a “bashing”? Proton have a long way to go my friend…a very very long way to go if they ever REALLY want to be one of the successful car manufacture in the world!!

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:45 pm

actually selling this concept to other car makers also will help lotus a bit in turning back to black…to cover it’s research cost, so when proton use it, will be cheaper cz parts n mould r available, while issues found out by other company can be apply to newer proton models, less white mouse(or so malaysian calls those consumers)…

everytime v buy a car, from any make, v are white mouse. everytime v claim warranty, its like software crash reports that sent to makers, so they know whats wrong n whose the supplier, n whom responsible…to make improvements on next batch.

till now i dnt see the same problem exist more than 1 batch from proton tis year, quite a good improvement, at least they do take action to improve on taking out defects

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:46 pm

haha. reading this reminds me of the LMG trekker hydroxene thing. awfully similar. most problably the same results

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:49 pm

torque, yes critiques are good, but pls dnt bash, comment have different meaning if presented differently…get what i mean? proton have a very long way to go, but gov tie it to people’s car…proton’s engineer also want their product to be good, but it’s gov’s order to produce cheap car with cheap parts they can get…

unless gov dnt involve, else, proton really have a very long way to go if they wan2 do it internationally…thats y u c different quality in last gen protons. export gets better quality to compete n give better image for long term investment.

all above comments are from myself, just some info from insiders that fill in all the myths…insider doesnt mean me

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:51 pm

topgunthang, hybrid is done by many manufacturer, do u mean they also similar n similarly will fail? hmm did u read the previous article from paul about this eve project? there arent any similarity between tis electric hybrid n tat hydroxyzine system

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Wow!~ JulianLee2 kena kao kao again ah!
    Comon guys, this is a prototype car. More improvements needed to do on it yet and normally prototype would have so many hidden problems one should slowly recognize and correct it back to the right track.
    I think our Pak Lah know this well on prototypes, if not why would he been driving that car so slow. hehe
    Besides, the real production car will not be available until few more years.

• linear_system (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:50 am

hey guys..

this JulianLee2 is there in every paultan post of proton..and he/she just bashed in all of his/her comments..maybe she/he just a 5yo kid that really wanna buy proton but his/her parents didnt let he/she buy it…thats why she/he always bashed proton..hahah

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:53 am

Fastcx,

It was YOU that have to differentiate between basher and people who critics!! There’s a positive and there’s a negative comment…both are for the good of the party which got commented. And BASH…there’s nothing more to it than just…Proton’s cars are CRAP…do you ever read I wrote those?! Or, Proton’s cars are just a pile of sh*t…again, do you ever read I ever wrote those?! NO! The answer is NO! I don’t bash like crap dude…if you don’t like my COMMENT, then that’s your problem man! Seriously, you need to READ more C.A.R.E.F.U.L.L.Y…..

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:28 am

sorry torque, just tis “There’s only a better cars and there’s not. If you said Proton cars are crap, then let me say this…KIA cars are even crappier than Proton. Why? Because I used to own them both!! My Satria last with me for 6 years while the KIA Spectre last ONLY 6 months due to f*cking quality problems.” makes me feel u comment thru emotion, like i said, kia isnt crappy now, u just cant put out statement tat is really not apply to current situation…yes v know kia is crap, but that is history..sorry, my bad for pulling my emo from the proton design n concept page to here.

• torque (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:43 am

Fastcx,

This is why I stated strongly to read my post and past post carefully man! PLEASE…try to browse through on the past KIA issues that Paul have put on this forum. I strongly will GUARANTEE that you’ll find my previous post that I DO acknowledge and congratulate them for their achievement. And I do stated that their Spectre5 that I test is far better improvement than my crappy Spectre Novus that I already get rid off! Friend, I don’t get emotional through my comment but I do got “emotional” when you call me a BASHER!! Read my comments and previous comments (Proton and others issue), you’ll find that I’m not a basher but rather NEUTRAL commenters. I’m SORRY if you find some of my FACT disagreeable but that’s the WHOLE POINT in a discussion on any matters. You don’t have to agree but you have no rights to simply called people “basher”!

• azrai (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:39 am

Please bring in the technology as fast as possible before the oil price drop further.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:19 am

Funny, pak lah want hybrid car, so he gets a car with a carplate “HYBRID”

So the purpose of this event is? To show that proton already has the blue print of making a hybrid car or they are launching it already?

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Should have 1.3 campro engine(diesel or NGV if possible) with a more powerful battery that drives the car most of the time.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Should have persona, saga and gen2 facelift hybrid wih 1.3 campro engine(diesel or NGV if possible) combined with a more powerful electric motor.
    It would be great if it is a plug-in hybrid.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:53 pm

zerachiel1986
    “more holes on innocent consumers pockets….”

there are no such thing as innocent consumers.. people choose and decide what they want to do with their money. i dont believe proton has found a miracle technology that can brainwash, or blind their customers.. people choose what they want, and pay for it.

Especially in todays market, where there are now several choices for consumers in the same price range as proton.. you have perodua, naza’s range of cars, and close on their heels is hyundai.. you DO NOT HAVE TO BUY A PROTON. besides that, their problems with quality, and service are well known among all malaysians and is no secret.

have you ever thought that maybe, just maybe, the thousands of people who have bought the persona and saga did so because the cars have actually improved over what was offered previously?

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:48 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,

August 3, 2008 @ 8:45 pm

————————————————————–

eve is from lotus…can u just study before comment?

Now JULIANLEE2 show how dumb he/she is. Come JULIANLEE2, give more stupid comment. It make you more dumber

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:34 pm

Someone asked “a hybrid proton” what could be worse. Simple – two hybrid protons

• rt (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:54 pm

JulianLee,

On your remarks on Lotus and fuel efficient.

To get the answer, open your internet browser, and google “lotus fuel efficient”

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:54 pm

what’s the big deal anyways…hybrid cars are already in production and no longer considered a concept..get it out on the market free from quality issues..then i’m impressed..

• ly60 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 6:25 pm

Hopefully Proton can roll out the hybrid as soon as possible. Whoever have doubt, there can always wait and see how will this hybrid perform, in term of quality, durability, performance and etc. Anyway i hope price is not too expensive. IMHO the best car is the car that have no more installments to pay and in good conditions.

• dream_png (Member) on Sep 19, 2008 at 6:05 pm

good work proton …. keep it up …