2006 Fiat Sedici

fiat_sedici_1.jpg

The Fiat Sedici marks Fiat’s return to the world of 4X4. It is a compact 4X4, with crossover looks. It’s the official car for the 2006 Turin Winter Olympic Games and was designed by Giorgetto Giugiaros Italdesign company.

fiat_sedici_2.jpg

You might find the look for the Fiat Sedici a bit familiar. It’s actually the same car as the Suzuki SX4, as the Fiat Sedici and the Suzuki SX4 were the result of a joint development program between Fiat and Suzuki. The word Sedici means 16, which is what you get when you multiple 4X4. Clever huh? It’s somewhat of a crossover, combining the comforts of a saloon with the off-road ability of a 4X4, which is the direction most SUVs are going these days anyway.

It comes with two engine options, a variable valve timing 1.6 litre petrol (107hp at 5600rpm, 145Nm torque at 4000rpm) and a 1.9 litre Multijet diesel (120hp at 4000rpm, 280Nm torque at 2050rpm). The car has a 4X4 gearbox with 3 modes, 2WD, AUTO and LOCK. These modes are selectable through buttons on the dashboard. Unlike most 4WD vehicles which power the rear wheels in 2WD mode, the Fiat Sedici is front-wheel drive in 2WD mode. In Auto mode, it runs on front wheel drive by default and channels power to the rear wheels when extra traction is needed. Safety features include Electronic Stability Control, and the usual ABS and EBD. It offers up to 6 airbags, 2 front, 2 side and 2 curtain airbags.

fiat_sedici_3.jpg

fiat_sedici_4.jpg

fiat_sedici_5.jpg

fiat_sedici_6.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 2:51 am

the engine underpower la… 1.6 = 107bhp???.. suv??.. even gen2 1.6 = 110bhp…. can go aa this suv??

like the meter.. look like choronograph…

• Paul Tan on Apr 13, 2006 at 2:54 am

The US market Suzuki SX4 has a 2.0 DOHC petrol. I think that will be fairly powerful. The engine for this one seems like, just enough to move the thing.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 2:58 am

Yalah… keep the thing moving canlah… if not they should use our very own campro 1.6… it makes me feel proud a bit..

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:20 am

Renault megane front?

Savvy radio control panel?

Not sure if FIAT is planning to capture the world with this

• go_go (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 5:23 am

wau..this thing is impressive…

• altis_fan (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 6:25 am

Why they produce car 'kontot' like this ha? Honda Jazz, Getz, etc are all

kontot type cannot isi many barang lah. But for sure, price is not kontot !

• i'm run (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 7:14 am

Hey what happen if Proton and Perodua (same as Fiat and Suzuki) work together and built some nice model.. maybe an MPV, SUV or something…

And both of them sell the model in our 'boleh land'… Who would you choose??? Proton or Perodua…?? I will choose Perodua… because of their QC…. what do you guys think??

• acbc (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 8:24 am

Bah! Not another Murano look-a-like!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:11 am

i'm run said,

Hey what happen if Proton and Perodua (same as Fiat and Suzuki) work together and built some nice model.. maybe an MPV, SUV or something…

And both of them sell the model in our ‘boleh land’… Who would you choose???

Haha, I don't think that's gonna happen for lotsa reasons, but I'd go for a Perodua too if there's a choice between the two.

• honda_driver (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 3:55 pm

for an SUV, this is not so important = 107hp at 5600rpm,

This is what you should be looking at = 145Nm torque at 4000rpm. By 4000rpm the car is making more torque than most 1.8 litre cars.

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 4:32 pm

Interior look the same as the current Suzuki Grand Vitara on sale locally but looks good to me anyway. Sttering looks exactly the same except for the logo mounted in the center. However, 1.6L is underpowered and undertorque as well. Renault RX4 looks good too you know and is also a 2.0L. For me, my current favourite 2.0L SUV is Suzuki Grand Vitara against the competitor like CRV, RAV4 and X-Trail.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 5:54 pm

haimehh!! 145Nm – 4000rpm.. so what??.. so great meh??… even gen2 produce 148Nm – 40000rpm… this SUV engine lacking la.. with 1.6, move only canlah..look great only..

ps: time to bash other cars.. tired bashing poton only…

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 9:35 pm

agree with motorhead… just because its italian, it does not mean it has everything. its a bit like berlusconi, but with extra pasta sauce… in other words, only the name is italian, overall it's rubbish

• ToiletBowl (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:26 pm

damn, nice looking..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 13, 2006 at 11:45 pm

Is that just like Kembara, or less! but outside have nice elegant looks!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 7:08 pm

You should take a look at the rally version…

• cottoncandy on Aug 03, 2009 at 12:35 am

to honda_driver

for an SUV, this is not so important = 107hp at 5600rpm,

This is what you should be looking at = 145Nm torque at 4000rpm. By 4000rpm the car is making more torque than most 1.8 litre cars.

what does that mean *sigh* when can i excel in automotive knowledge, so sad