After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Din (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:51 am

Looks good. By making the NX-02 a four-door, Naza has made it very relevant to the mass market.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:53 am

Clone species! but good buy?

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:58 am

What a shame, we should be proud of our own design product not by CITAK ROMPAK others and claim OURs…This is what we call pirated goods that makes legally by someone and as for us Malaysian we bough it…What we have initially ours (i.e. PROTON) we KILL like no body biz. I am so suprised with you guys out there.

Even with CHINA made engine you still say fantastic..Only god knows what will happen to the cars on the road..No wonder the provide you guys with Dual AirBag…

• assimo (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:17 am

nothing special from ori 206…only price more cheaper..

Mr motopro,this is reality in Taxland country.Don't want to talking about it anymore….

Mr Din,i'm agree with you,4 doors has more practical…mmm..so cannot compare with SRM lah…..Just wonder how the original 206 owner feel now….?

• Ralliace (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:18 am

For kicks they should also release the 206 GTi (2 door wide body) with the full body kit…. similar to the once seen in the World Rally Championships in 2000 – 2002. I know Peugeot has that model sold as road cars in Europe. But I'm not to sure if its 2 litre 4WD Turbo-charged.

Now that should get the attention of the blokes. Otherwise, I see this car will attract the women.

• syahdeto (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:31 am

wahh…very cun ..i'm really luv tis car….dont care if citak rompak or whatever…!!! emmm..dun have interior shot??.. aNyway….good job paul!!!

• abe (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:44 am

uhh ,how come this company get national car status? wat atually naza can do.. buy, assemble and rebadging, again and again,

Can we call it "Illegal Piracy"?

>>By making the NX-02 a four-door, Naza has made it very relevant to the mass market.

For me,This word only relevan when Naza produce their own concept,design,engineering, casting, testing and son on.

Not only beli, pasang, tampal brand and jual.

Should be this word, i think,

Naza has bring relevant car to the mass market.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:48 am

So, to overcome CarTaxLand, then "cloning" is one of the solution? If that is the case, better waiting for more "clone" to come up!

• narrowband (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:15 am

Agree with Ralliace.

If this is the only way to go about selling cars with a lower price tag, I don't mind buying despite all that "clone" remarks.

Just as long as Malaysia don't claim it to be its own. Naza Ria is not Malaysia's first MPV – It's not even Malaysian. We cannot claim something that belongs to other country ours.

We only acquire the license to produce it here, under a rebadging scheme, etc. The technical background/engineering of the car still belonged to the original maker.

• johanbey (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:28 am

to be honest, i've just sat in a naza citra couple days ago, and actually i was a bit tempted to regret i brought an avanza without looking into a citra. for sub 80k mini-mvp,i really think naza is doing a decent job there. if i could afford it, would have jumped on the re-badged sorento 2 months back.

fact is, i think we have to come to accept naza, not being a glc, is doing a great job. yes, with all the political connection, job must be a little easier. but when i saw the transformation of the ugly looking china car to sutera, naza is going the right direction. (still i would prefer myvi over it anytime, toyota dna mah!)

the nx-02(pls dun call it bestari, i will laugh for years to come) is kinda step back judging from the spyshot, i dont mind rebadge, i was actually suggesting to my gf to swap the avanza for nx-02 (provided its not named bestari), but just tad dissapointted they didnt put a better effort. as paul have commented b4, naza dudes are cool front grill designers. actually paul's 206(wht) mock looks more naza to me, LOL! perhaps we all should a bit more like the indian guy in the ad!

with this hype of a 60k 206, you think p1 will do that cheapsake "place your booking with SRM instead!" crap marketing dungus in p1.

• i'm run (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:37 am

I should clone proton's car… maybe it'll got cheaper… You'll never know.. So, the price will match the quality… Hehe…

• chun202 (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:38 am

Remember, at first protong also “clone” from a Japan Car Maker. now protong able to produce their own car. so i believe in the future, Naza will produce their own car, and will have better quality than protong. coz Naza's car is "clone" diff. country (china, corea, europe).. NAZA had done the best in Malaysia Car Market (my personal point of view)

• shaun (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:46 am

Gosh the wheels are small.

They look like bloody 14-inches from here.

• shaun (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:47 am

"Engineered by Peugeot".

Should put "Badges/Logos by Naza. The rest by Peugeot"

• indigo (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 2:58 am

I prefer rebadged products than local "pride". How long we have to wait for P1 to launch its cars. I thought that after they restructured, they should come out more products in the future. Something like re-badging Mitsu or other cars will be better than wasting tax payers money to develop a new platform.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 3:35 am

many aspects can be seen, some of them are:

the positive – you guys can have europe or others clone with the badge of malaysian made and with the price of malaysian made. You also can convert it to their original made like kancil to mira, wira to lancer, NX-02 to 206 and not to forget NX-01 aka sutera to hafei labao.

the negative – we are worst than china, although they cilok others design, but they dare to rojak it as their own car – at least the tech will grow on car making rather than this cloning tech – cloning in malaysia was done by proton back 20 years ago and the results?..

As for our automobile industri we can say there's a phenomenon called attack of the clone.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 3:46 am

Hopefully malaysian car manufacturers clones a BMW, Audi, etc

• faizazmi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 4:50 am

I would say that, Naza is just simply a succesfull company, the ceo is juz doing exactly wut he intended to do, which is TO MAKE MONEY, regardless of wut people say bout naza bisnes is a threat to national pride and etc. sometimes those stuff r just words from jealous souls. mr nasimmuddin, i tabik u. if am the ceo, i dun mind of whatver models that naza produces as long as people will buy it. i bet altho ramai org against the rebadging strategy that naza has, esp this nx02, this peugeot clone will be a hit!

• stevarac (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:00 am

Well said Joe.

I have no qualm about Naza ability to produce cheaper car for the mass.

But somehow , with the little pride left in me , I still think they should not be accorded national car company status.The only reason they can sell cheap is the advantage of tax preference they enjoy.

Just for the sake of car assembling , I think Papua New Guinea will be able to produce NX 03 if given the chance. But hey , as some of you say

WHO CARES AS LONG AS MURAH, as long as labour cost is dirt cheap here.

• torch_love_evo (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:13 am

i wonder wat proton going to do?….maybe join venture with naza to make motorcycles n scooters :D…..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:37 am

stevarac – My earlier comment is from what so call "national car project" perspective.

Personally, purely from individual point of view as consumer, nothing is "clone", "copyright" , "trademark", etc as this is a legal means by biz organization to protect their commercial interest in term of sales and profits margin.

As far as the goods and services can be buy (including how much money I have) at value for money and at the lowest price with acceptable technical/product quality, then I will buy it as the need is arise, including cetak rompak VCD/DVD. Unless you are brand conscious and/or brand loyalty customer, then it is different story! Of course G or biz entities will put forward argument on integrity, "as a matter of principle", "gentlemen", etc. all gear toward to protect their commercial interest. How many private sector biz entities do not suck blood given a "free hand" and can monopoly, even not only suck money from your pocket but your "underwear also suck out"!

Naza move is in a right direction to "obliterate" NAP and contribute to consumer well being by lessen the quantum of "patriotic contribution". At least Naza never claim to be manufacturer by putting up "Licensed By Kia" or "Engineered by Peugeot"! This move is appropriate as far as current NAP and P1 still exist, and definitely Mr. Nasimuddin won't make this move if operate in open market, perhaps concentrate on nich market for luxury car segment only!

• sewell (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:38 am

is a pretty good car. waiting for naza to launch it then will go and get 1 and replace my old saga

• scudracer (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:42 am

Well, Malaysians are in a fix really with our glorious National PRIDE. Do you know the earning capacity of most Malaysians? A huge number of our population earn a total of below 2K per household!!!! Remember….household. So I guess the main criteria would be PRICE. So … so what if a guy rebadges or whatever. Who cares how much he makes as long as the Quality is good and the car is better than its competitors. Its being a businessman, and knowing supply and demand. No need to be jealous.

Yesterday I saw a horrific accident along the Federal Highway. An Iswara swung and crushed a kapcai behind it. I am sure the ones on the bike died. The policeman was trying to pull down some banner from a lamp post which I assume was to cover a dead body. Bikes are dangerous to ride here or anywhere for that matter. That is why I guess people don’t really have much to complain about Malaysian cars. They still do not see the need for a safe and comfortable car.

Hopefully the NX02 will set the standards higher. If Malaysian companies are not prepared to pay better salaries for better engineers to design better cars, their employee turnover will always be high and there will NEVER be a pool of highly skilled and motivated engineers to design proper stuff. It is better to assemble good foreign cars until there are better capabilities to do their own (maybe never?).

A friend of mine who is working as a web page designer and earning about RM2500 a month just took a 9YEAR LOAN (!!!!!!) for an RM80k+ Toyota Vios. He will be paying about RM900 a month for almost a decade of his life!!! That is 36% of his monthly income, not including fuel, lubricants, car wash, repairs, service, etc. It is disgusting but that is life here. A Vios costs almost THREE YEARS TOTAL ANNUAL INCOME!!! People are comfy with life but they do not realize that they will be choked by an establishment which encourages them to be slaves to debt and have no personal savings.

That is why till today, I still do not see the reason to buy a non-national car. You can save your money and buy low-end Japanese/European car for a thousands and thousands in cash. The only thing marginally worth buying for a loan is a house. Protons do suck, but I wouldn’t mind if it were CHEAP!! P1's like going through life, now at 22 and always getting a big red F!! No wonder people are rushing to buy unwanted Japanese toss away ASEAN region only trash like Vios, City, Avanza, etc.

BUT … they are not, so Tan Sri Nasimuddin, bring more! Forget pride. Pride is for people with no b@ll$ to face reality.

• kanasai (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:36 am

yeah…. pls CKD every car on Malaysia ASAP and just let proton die on it's own low quality product !!!! i had enuf with proton's cars…. it's really really sucks!! pls bring more choices here… it's far too long we let this little proton green monster (looks like the ad) alive in Boleh Land. i do not want my children to drive proton and not even my grandchildren… and my great great grand children… ever!!

• blazerSST (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:57 am

I wonder what is the excitement about since it's just the pegueot 206 which was launched so long ago/

• kanasai (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:02 am

blazerSST … din;t u notice the price diff?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:34 am

indigo, mystvearn, scudracer and kanasai, I agreed with your guys' views 100%.

• stevarac (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:48 am

Whew , the word " Pride " seemed to stir some pretty sensitive nerves around here today.

Let me make it straight my point of view. Is the idea of setting up our own national car project is a "no brainer" vision ? I don't think so.

Is the implementation and progress thus far acceptable ?

Shit big time !

Should we abandon the vision to be a full fledge car manufacturer ?,

for me 50/50. I still hope ( very small hope ) that P1 can improve and continue to survive towards the path of maybe the Korean way ?? Time is running out though.Maybe too many holes to patch up.

What I am saying is that the ability of Naza to sell a cloned car cheaper is nothing to be cherished. It only able to do so as long as the Gov NAP and the big gun allowed it to do so. It doesn't take a genius to know basically what kind of car and at what acceptable price that will sell well in our Bolehland.

Does Naza cars make me feel happy as consumer ? Yes to a certain extend. It could go cheaper.

Does Naza's car make feel proud as a Malaysian ? NO .

Am I that patriotic ? Nope. I'm just Malaysian !!!

One thing that I know for certain is that the Korean car industries will NOT be where they are today if there is no pride in their people in supporting their local cars industries.

Of course another thing is that they will NOT be where they are today if they had the same CEO & engineers as P! had.

Cheers everyone !!! Malaysia Boleh . Proton Boleh…..hidup/mati ???

• infinity (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:55 am

i still hv faith in proton.i do hope proton will do well..proton already got the designs of their cars right..now is jz the material issue..the engine is not best in the world,but still okla..though the market for srm wont be high,but this is the car tat will decides proton's future..if the quality is really good,then proton future is bright..otherwise,jz too bad for proton..and btw,y u ppl making so much noise bout naza rebadging cars?Perodua MyVi is also a rebadged car..y no issue bout it?as long as the rebadged car is good and cheap,no problem anymore..and by rebadging cars,it brings healthy competition to local car maker..it'll create a standard for the local carmaker to follow..

• infinity (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:56 am

i do hope proton will do well..proton already got the designs of their cars right..now is jz the material issue..the engine is not best in the world,but still okla..though the market for srm wont be high,but this is the car tat will decides proton's future..if the quality is really good,then proton future is bright..otherwise,jz too bad for proton..and btw,y u ppl making so much noise bout naza rebadging cars?Perodua MyVi is also a rebadged car..y no issue bout it?as long as the rebadged car is good and cheap,no problem anymore..and by rebadging cars,it brings healthy competition to local car maker..it'll create a standard for the local carmaker to follow..

• johanbey (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 10:06 am

i thought this is a blog on Naza, how it end up whipping on P1 again? that seem to be the trend in paul's blogs. i really hope the MD of P1 read these comments. maybe we can start a campaign here STOP BUYING PROTON spread the chain mails, provide a list of alternatives to P1 car, price and spec comparison, ie 40k u buy a satria or myvi or sutera or 10yr toyata? then cc it to MD of P1, perhaps it make a difference than us killings each other with comments.

btw, does anyone realize naza is not a glc, so they dont get like 20mil grant to built a so-called RnD warehouse with almost free land in tanjung malim? so, those who commented on national car status of naza, think again, coz i think pak lah just wanted to level the playground, give P1 a little whipping. and about korean national car and the whole crap about pride, samsung rebadge nissan sentra, toyota share aygo platform with peugeot n citreon, rexton is merc based, vw own swede volvo, renault owns nissan, oii! still living in 19th century kah? ever heard of globalisation, knowledge based economy, share technology, joint-venture?

so you think SRM will come out with savvy cheapsake ad strategy? "janitor makcik peaking at P1 supposingly hi-tech facilities? that gave me a laugh, shows how P1 manage their industrial secrets, hahahah!

• Paul Tan on May 16, 2006 at 10:25 am

volkswagen doesnt own volvo, ford does.

• johanbey (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:32 am

thank paul, my mistake. additional thoughts about the national car sentiment, i was in china couple of times for the past 2 years, most of major cities. knowing china is all about nation pride and stuff, but most of them are quite proud to drive an VW or Audi around. well history have it that VW was one of the 1st few to setup car manufacturing plant in china, so even the states govt drives VW or Audi as offical car. so, make u think twice about pride over practicality.

china is now the unofficial cetak rompak capital of the world, i mean anything you can imagine can be rebagde and reproduce in china in less than 48 hours. anyone heard of thr Haier story, i even saw a the movie made on how a determine businessman use 2nd german tech to make fridge and become the world 2nd largest home appliances manufacturer. the story of how they impressed the french by making 50 over variations of a product over 48 hours and how they built a factory in the states, now that real national pride.

so, we all have to take step back, admit we are not good enough as a car manufacturer and to enter the global market, admit we got lazy coz dr.m was protecting them, admit they cant even screw the door latch properly on a new gen2, admit P1 need more than just local training colleges in pekan or kota tinggi to provide good and intelligent workers, admit the BOD is over paid and need to go to the gym, admit they screwed up and wasted 20 year with the only thing to shout is that they owned lotus, but dont have enough IQ to make use of the advantage, and allow lotus spent silly money for jimmy clarkson show to tune a freaking lada, admit they wasted money on sponsoring silly endorsement but not re-newing karamjit contrat which happens to win someting, instead splashed their logo on a losing badminton team, admit all proton senior management need re-training and read management 101 text book, perhaps then they should talk about national pride. otherwise, i can see naza over taking proton in less than a decade, simply because its not a glc and they have no excuse but to make money as a car company (be it rebadge or originals). says who? say air asia while laughing at MAS everytime MAS says need recues package from PM office. i heard the story from datuk tony himself. anyone disagree?

• cyborgx (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:41 am

at least the ppl have more choices to choose from ,rather than getting protong's junks.

• honda_driver (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 4:58 pm

if proton launched a car tommorow, and said it was using a peuqeot engine, I'm pretty sure the same people here praising the nx02 will say, "junk, lousy engine, french engines are horrible..etc."

end of the day, it is still 100%, a discontinuted peuqeot model rebadged as a Naza. Nothing wrong with that at all. Proton rebadged discontinued mitsu models also and imho, the 206 is quite a nice car to drive.

What is interesting to me is, with such a bad rep for reliability, and expensive maintenance, and lack of sales as a peuqeot, will the 206 now actually be able to sell under the naza brand?

• mr42 (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Hmm…it is exactly the Peugeot 206….Do you guys know where to buy the Peugeot emblems and logos??

If I buy one, I"ll straightly change those Naza logos…and Presto…I'm the owner of a new Peugeot 206…:)

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:21 pm

erm johanbey, just curious, does Samsung make cars?

• whodz (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:23 pm

For that price, maybe I would like to have a Pujo's clone. But..naa, its not my taste..anyway, Samsung didn't make car, they made car kits. E.g. hp holder, hp cable, hp car charger..many more.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Actually the peugeot 206 is quite a proven model but however reliability especially the suspension left much to be desired. Now Naza rebadged the whole Peugeot 206. Wonder where they get the critical parts from. Engine and gear box definately imported, Chasis probably from the Gurun factory platform, as for the rest of accessories like suspension, rims, dashboard, seats, mirrors wud probably be from local vendors. The question is how are the reliabilities of the local parts of rebadged Peugeot 206 ?. The parts failure rate increases dramatically to about probably 20-30% of rebadged models within 2-3mths from date of production or OTR. This is common to all models of locally made cars esp P1, Naza and to some extent P2(though P2 did make improvements).It is irrelevent whether the model is a rebadged, new products or spin-off from the earlier version, it is the question of reliability and quality !!!!!. Sad to say that local manufacturers still have much to learn!!!!!.

• johanbey (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:02 pm

tbcheese, here you go:

Renault Samsung Motors (Korean: 르노삼성 자동차) is a South Korean car maker. It was first established as Samsung Motors in 1994 and started selling cars in 1998, just before South Korea was hit by the Asian financial crisis. Negotiations with Renault started in December 1998 and in September 2000 Renault bought a 70% stake for $512 million.

taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Samsung_Moto…

Pure bull-headedness may not work this time. Through the end of September, Samsung had sold barely half the autos it had projected for all of 1998, its first year of production. (And many of those sales were to Samsung employees.) The company estimates its auto operations will lose $286 million this year – analysts say the actual number is likely to be much bigger. Giving up will not be cheap. Samsung has reportedly invested more than $3 billion in automobile operations including plant and equipment – the entire group's debt is enormous. Within Samsung, debate is raging over whether the company should continue making cars. No one from Samsung is talking publicly, but inside sources say many more executives want the company out of the auto industry than the other way around.

taken from http://www.pathfinder.com/asiaweek/98/1106/biz_2_…

from my observation, samsung went into automotive industry is because of the owner's passion for car, sounds like how they started proton. but eventually, after failing to takeover Kia motors, everything look bleak and renault came in and bought stakes, sounds like what VW wanted to do. but proton didnt take the bait and decided to stay single in the age of marriage industry.

• suva (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:34 pm

I think NX02 is worth the price and I don't care wheather it is a rebadging or not….as long as the price is good. I am just an ordinary malaysian who is not rich and can't afford to buy an expensive car and for me this NX02 should be a good buy. Have seen the car and it is really good guys.

• tantan (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:39 pm

NAZA are coming out with cars that are so called 'copied' but at least NAZA put the effort on trying to produce other car in its own plant and i do believe that NAZA will come up with its own design and own car. NAZA NX-02 should be a good buy, the design of the peugeot are nice, we cant afford to get a peugeot then get a NAZA.

• narrowband (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:25 pm

Will there be a three-door (two + rear hatch door) version of this Naza Bestari? Or 206. Or NX02, whatever.

5 doors for such a small car is quite cramped. I heard NAZA will also be rebadging 307, is that true? The 307 is a muchh, muchh better buy, really! 5-door or not!

Besides, the 206 WRC rally car is so sexy. Wide body kit.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:31 pm

Happy that some company in malaysia did this sort of thing to let us buy good engineered cars at really affordable prices. But thnking that it's NAZA, the bloody money sucking machine, AP Queen punya. I felt reluctant to buy from them, but. .. NO CHOICE, since Rafidah so friend with our Government … they are the ones that could do all this sort of thing. I believe YTL is richer, and stronger, and have more transparent policies and processes, less rasuah, but if YTL wanna do somehting like NAZA? Government wont approve… i guess. anyway, good move. Oh, Proton? wats that? engine oil?

• tbcheese (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 9:14 pm

wow cool. Samsung and Hyundai are really into everything. From mobile phones to computer parts and household appliances to automobiles. respect

• wingz (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 9:38 pm

paultan.org rawks!!!

• gigganet (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 9:57 pm

i like the design of the 206 and i think it will sell. lets wait for the launch to see the real thing before deciding whether it is worth it or not. Oh yeah, forget about the 'pride' factor, competition is healthy and benefits consumers. can't deny that! I am sure that Proton is not in the list of many car buyers in Malaysia anymore, new model or not. the brand is dead!

malaysians have given up on homegrown designs, aka Proton designs. they suck. after the unpleasant experience of previous 'local' designs from Proton, now consumers feel safer to buy rebadged cars, at least it is proven. Who would want to be guinea pig a second time?

• aesthari (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Owners of Peugeot 206 must be feeling kinda ripped-off..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 10:17 pm

NAZA is making lots of money,but they are still selling junks. they maybe not a GLC but they have a lots of AP and AP Kings.just another crocs story

p/s we organised Formula One but rakyat always driving outdated cars at very high price.this 1.4 auto is not the French will encourage you to buy.Unless you like to have a practice on puching the big buzzer like hazard like buttons.

• superman (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:07 pm

Comment by johanbey — 16/5/2006 at 2:06 am

btw, does anyone realize naza is not a glc, so they dont get like 20mil grant to built a so-called RnD warehouse with almost free land in tanjung malim?

NAZA ain't a GLC but they get help in other ways.. like not paying full tax on RM730k Merc. Like selling the imported cars at full price but only giving a pitiful amount as "Tax & Excise Duty"

Comment by tantan — 16/5/2006 at 11:39 am

NAZA are coming out with cars that are so called ‘copied’ but at least NAZA put the effort on trying to produce other car in its own plant and i do believe that NAZA will come up with its own design and own car.

Incredibly , NAZA gets praise for doing the same thing Proton started out doing 20 yrs ago….

• honda_driver (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:25 pm

goingberserk, i suspect the NX02 is probably a complete CKD pack from peuqeot. The NAZA Kia's sold today are also almost 100% CKD, now with less than 15-25% local content (as claimed by NAZA), although the govt once said cars need to have more than 40% local content to qualify for National car status.

I still think the stigma of the NX02 being a peugeot will affect their sales somewhat. but thats just my opinion, i'm no expert unlike many of our fellow forummers here.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:40 pm

honda_driver.. I m too not sure abt this situation as Naza is putting the market in a dilemma. First thing is Naza Citra is almost made up of 50% local components while Ria is probably higher at 55-60%. This is the statement from the Naza chairman himself. Now if NX02 is a complete CKD from Peuqeot. then how the hell they qualify for the national car status ?. This is where i really dont understand. Is because of double or triple standards ?. Something is wrong somewhere. The whole NAP and auto industry in Malaysia is a ripped off. Really sucking all RAKYATS MONEY to feed all the big, overweight and fat bastards on top !!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:39 am

honda_driver & goingberserk – How to define local ocntents or local components. It is on the following criteria: –

1. If metal base, our country never produce iron, steel, copper perhaps with exception of tin (not us in car)all are from other countries – Australia is one of the biggest iron ore producer. So can we concluded that all metal base is not local contents. For local components, it may produce in our country, who is the owner, FDI, foreign tech but produce locally. How do they measure it – in term of weight, technological content, monetary value, percentage (%) etc, etc, etc?

2. If plastic or other non-ferrous material, where the material come from, do it entirely from Bolehland, I don't think so.

4. So one component a lone may gone through few thousand hand to process from many many many countries and end up the Proton is the "end user", can it say as local content/component.

5. How about say Continental tyre buy rubber and petroliam base product and bring back to Germany to produce high performance tyre. Later export back to Malaysia as end/finish product. Hw to classified it – "local content but imported car components"?

The classification as local/foreign content/component is very opaque and unnecessary! As it will create the "domino effect which subject to never ending argument" except as an excuse or use as weapon by G and NAP to suck more money from us to feed big fat crocs! Every individual like us and even P1 can argue on local content/component but on what basis and how to define it.

How about Johore's Rambutan from Air Hitam area export to Singapore, later process it and tin it as processed food, re-export as Made in Singapore "tropical longan"! WTF.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 2:33 am

Nice one Joe. but then again the first batch of NX 02 wud probably with high content of so-called ' local reimported components'. Subsequent batches wud see more 'so called pure' local components fitted into NX02 making it more of a 'OEM' version of national car. It's like taking an original DVD, cloned it, and sell it half the price to the market. Then again. who cares. as long it is cheap and realiable ! rite.. But oops.. not too sure abt realiability. too early to say !!!!

• johanbey (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:03 am

superman:

Naza using the AP edge is called seizing opportunity and being innovative in creating profit margin. anyway they are earning merc buyers money not low-income earner like myself, so, whats the fuss? and using that money to reinvest and come-out with a lower-than-40%-content-national-car, thats called creative business strategy. able to get china, korea and now french partners in less than 5 years, thats visionary CEO leadership, coz you dont put all eggs in 1 basket, coming out with almost no-missed rebadge, Ria-MPV, Citra-Mini MPV, Sorento-SUV, Sutera-K Car and now (god! pls dont) Bestari-Hot Hatch, thats call marketing 101 aka common sense. Unlike some of the forgettable keh-leh-feh (chinese for extra actors) Tiara-crap, Juara-more crap, Arena-shit load of crap. (n.n,)v

gen-2 & 206 : if you are buying, which would you choose?

• happymeal (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:56 am

i thought i saw these photos in autoworld before…

check out the last post of 16 may 06

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?su…

anyway car is out tomorrow, no point kicking a fuss about who posted wat first.

• scudracer (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 5:18 pm

I think a lot of people here are not in touch with the car industry. First of all, did you know all Honda cars sold in ASEAN, and Australia/New Zealand have bumpers & dashboards made in Johor? Secondly, Citra bumpers are made in Malaysia and exported to Indonesia? Indonesia Kia distributors liked the Citra looks so they use Naza parts in the Kia Carens sold there.

If you've been reading NST you will know that Naza has a big vendor park opposite the factory in Gurun, Kedah. The Koreans/French have had their vendors to give technical assistance to truly develop local vendors to improve quality.

The story about Naza & Raf!d@# is just a smokescreen spread by the 'other one' – the one that has NO factory, NO dealer network, nothing built with their own hands. Unlike Naza which started from humble beginnings in 1974 and slowly grew, these guys started in a flash of an eye and now all 3 of their directors own a HELICOPTER each!! Nasimuddin? He goes to work by car.

Sorry but I think all the sly comments are based more on jealousy than facts, so I'm putting in something to counter that. Be rational lah! What we need is more choice in the market so the big fellows can give more offerings to the MALAYSIAN CONSUMER!

You think the Japanese are not making TONS of money of the backs of Malaysians? Perodua is laughing all the way to the bank, Toyota too with 37,000 Avanza's sold, and Honda too. Their Thai & Indonesian plants make money with the KD pack, and the local Toyota/Honda assembler makes money too. All this money goes out of the country and Malaysians keep lining up to buy 80k+ Vios/City which aren't even sold globally! But when Nasimuddin earns big bucks, but also feeds over 20,000 Malaysians (own staff + vendors), its very wrong isn't it? The same opportunities were given to hundreds if not thousands of others but they just sat on their fat @$$es and made a quick buck, and didn't build up or invest in anything.

Crabs always pull down other crabs trying to get out of the bucket.

• superman (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Johan,

looks like you are a big fan of NAZA and Nasimuddin… oh well.

If you can abide a company that hold a MAJOR monopoly on APs, "cheat" the Govt on unpaid tax, under declare ALL their imported cars, in turn maximising their profits, which help fund their current business, then so be it.

as you said they are "innovative" in creating a profit….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Paul never mind take out photo as per owner request, you can take as many photos you want once NX-02 is launch and posted in your site!

• superman (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 12:31 am

With the car launching SOON I gueass we can all go to see how much a clone it is .. haha if lucky can probly see where the Peugeot badge old marking on the body before it was peeled off.

*that was a jike to the humor challenged

• superman (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 12:47 am

oops meant "joke" not jike. sorry

—————————————————

JohanBey

BTW if it was a normal GEN.2 1.6 or a 1.4/1.6 Naza 206 clone I'd buy neither. Unless it's a GEN.2 R3 (if they ever make it) or 206 GTi (2.0 16v 180bhp)

• TheMachine (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 1:42 am

Naza launches Bestari 206

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=co…

Why such a stupid sounding name ?

• intermilan (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 6:31 am

BTW if it was a normal GEN.2 1.6 or a 1.4/1.6 Naza 206 clone I’d buy neither. Unless it’s a GEN.2 R3 (if they ever make it) or 206 GTi (2.0 16v 180bhp)

================================

Superman,

206Gti 2.0 16v 180bhp can be order what?

but must got $$ la.. no point NATO only.. like got $$$..

hehehe..

• superman (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 5:52 pm

Intermilan,

I was just replying hypothetically to Johanbey.

With the cars I have I don't need for an overpriced FF Hot Hatch ;-)

I'm not, as you say, a NATO..muahaha

• jules (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Another rip off… we keep on complaining about Proton. True, Proton deserves the complains about them but at least they are a real manufacturer with their own designs not clone…and you talk about Saga, Wira etc. This is a clone of a previous generation car.. come on. Naza should call themselves as a merely car assembler. I remember few years ago I read from this British Magazine on a road test between our own Satria GTI..just launched in Britain and the outcome was our own GTI was the better car then the 206 GTI. Just imagine Stria is quite an old design…..??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:59 pm

The Brits love anything which has 'Lotus' in it. They didn't complain about the squarish steering wheel cross section, pedang lanun handle handbrake, NO glovebox, NO digital clock, NO cup holder just a complicated but not very useful cup ring, cleft palate front hood, meters which are not very visible at night, door mirrors with three ridges on them which don't seem to have any function and a roofline which hammers heads of passengers at the back whenever you go over bumps. Other than all that I suppose Gen2 is an OK car.